DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 03/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. Examiner suggests that title maybe changed to provide more description regarding the instant invention. Therefore, a new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “exchange unit”, “ranging unit”, “data transmission unit”, “transmission unit”, “ranging start unit”, “continuous execution unit”, “search unit”, and “acquisition unit”.
A review of the specification, according to PG-Pub, shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
exchange unit - step S705: operation of an exchange unit performed by CPU 202, paragraphs 148-149.
ranging unit - TWR ranging, described hereinafter, is performed by the UWB communication controller 506 (ranging unit), paragraph 110.
transmission unit - step S711: operation of a transmission unit performed by CPU 202, paragraph 198.
data transmission unit - step S711: operation of a transmission unit performed by CPU 202, paragraph 198.
identification unit - step S712: operation of an identification unit performed by CPU 1201, paragraph 205.
ranging start unit - CPU 1201 shifts to loop processing in a step S713 to start ranging between the image forming apparatus 104 and the ranging target (operations of a ranging start unit and a continuous execution unit), paragraph 205.
continuous execution unit - CPU 1201 shifts to loop processing in a step S713 to start ranging between the image forming apparatus 104 and the ranging target (operations of a ranging start unit and a continuous execution unit), paragraph 205.
search unit - mage forming apparatus-searching section 403 (search unit), paragraph 96.
acquisition unit - mobile terminal 101 can transmit the login ID of the logged-in user as the information for identifying the ranging target (operations of the transmission unit and the acquisition unit), paragraph 200.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-18 & 21 of 18/594190 (which has been allowed but patent hasn’t been issued yet). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are just a differently structured with slightly different elements and wording than the issued patent as can be seen from the analysis below where some independent claims of instant application appear to be broader version of the patented application.
In regards to claims 1-20 of the instant application and in comparison, to claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-18 & 21 of 18/594190:
18/594258
18/594190
1. A data processing system including a mobile communication device and an information processing apparatus that can communicate with each other by first wireless communication and second wireless communication, comprising:
an exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the second wireless communication between the mobile communication device and the information processing apparatus by the first wireless communication;
a ranging unit configured to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication, ranging request data from the information processing apparatus to a ranging target that performs the second wireless communication, and receive, at the information processing apparatus, ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus;
a data transmission unit configured to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added, from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus by the second wireless communication based on the communication setting information exchanged by the exchange unit;
and a ranging start unit configured to start ranging by the ranging unit when the data is transmitted from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus, and transmit the ranging request data to the ranging target based on the information of the ranging target added to the data.
6. The data processing system according to claim 1, further comprising a continuous execution unit configured to perform continuous execution of the ranging started by the ranging unit until a distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies a first condition, and wherein in a case where the distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies the first condition and the continuous execution is terminated, account control on a user having logged in the information processing apparatus is performed for the information processing apparatus, and after the account control, the information processing apparatus executes a predetermined job.
18. The mobile communication device according to claim 17, further comprising a search unit configured to search for an apparatus which serves as a data transmission destination candidate, by receiving a beacon transmitted from outside by the first wireless communication, and a search condition user interface for receiving a wireless communication standard supported by the apparatus which serves as the data transmission destination candidate, from a user, to set the received wireless communication standard as a search condition.
2. The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless communication is BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy).
3. The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second wireless communication is UWB (Ultra Wide Band) based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard.
4. The data processing system according to claim 3, wherein the communication setting information is information for identifying a UWB tag based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard and at least includes information of a role of the UWB, information of a ranging method, and address information of a packet transmission destination.
5. The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the bidirectional ranging method is TWR (Two Way Ranging) based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard.
7. The data processing system according to claim 6, further comprising a user interface for selectively receiving at least one condition for causing the ranging start unit to start ranging, from a plurality of combinations of conditions, by a user operation, and wherein the plurality of conditions include a type of the data to which the information of the ranging target is added.
8. The data processing system according to claim 7, wherein the information processing apparatus is an image forming apparatus that executes a print job, and wherein the type of data to which the information of the ranging target is added is job data of the print job, and the predetermined job is the print job reserved until the account control is terminated.
9. The data processing system according to claim 7, wherein the mobile communication device includes a sensor for detecting a specific motion of the user, and wherein the type of data to which the information of the ranging target is added is data including a notification indicating that the sensor has detected the specific motion of the user.
10. The data processing system according to claim 9, wherein the sensor is at least one of a GPS sensor, a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, and a touch sensor.
11. The data processing system according to claim 6, wherein the mobile communication device includes a ranging authentication user interface for receiving user selection as to whether or not to perform the account control on the user for the information processing apparatus in a case where the first condition is satisfied.
12. The data processing system according to claim 6, wherein the user account control is login authentication based on a user account registered in the information processing apparatus in association with the information of the ranging target added to the data.
13. The data processing system according to claim 6, further comprising a user interface for selectively receiving at least one ranging termination condition for terminating the continuous execution of the ranging, from a plurality of combinations of conditions, by a user operation, and wherein one of the conditions is logout from the information processing apparatus.
14. The data processing system according to claim 13, wherein the logout from the information processing apparatus is executed in a case where the distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies a second condition while the continuous execution of the ranging is being executed.
15. The data processing system according to claim 6, further comprising a user interface for receiving the first condition at least one of the information processing apparatus and the mobile communication device.
16. An information processing apparatus that is capable of communicating with a mobile communication device by first wireless communication and second wireless communication, comprising: an exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the second wireless communication with the mobile communication device, by the first wireless communication; a ranging unit configured to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication, ranging request data to a ranging target that performs the second wireless communication, and receive ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus; an acquisition unit configured to acquire the data to which the information of the ranging target is added, from the mobile communication device by the second wireless communication, based on the communication setting information acquired by the exchange unit; and a ranging start unit configured to start the ranging by the ranging unit when the data is acquired by the acquisition unit from the mobile communication device, and transmit the ranging request data to the ranging target based on the information of the ranging target added to the data.
20. A method of controlling an information processing apparatus that is capable of communicating with a mobile communication device by first wireless communication and second wireless communication, the information processing apparatus including a ranging unit configured to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication, ranging request data to a ranging targe that performs the second wireless communication, and receive ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus, the control method comprising: exchanging communication setting information for use in the second wireless communication, with the information processing apparatus by the first wireless communication; and transmitting data to which information of the ranging target is added, to the information processing apparatus by the second wireless communication, based on the communication setting information acquired by said exchanging.
1. (Currently Amended) A data processing system including a mobile communication device and an information processing apparatus that can communicate with each other by first wireless communication and second wireless communication, comprising:
an exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the second wireless communication between the mobile communication device and the information processing apparatus by the first wireless communication;
a ranging unit configured to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication, ranging request data from the information processing apparatus to a ranging target that performs the second wireless communication, and receive, at the information processing apparatus, ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus;
a transmission unit configured to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added as the information for identifying the ranging target from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus by the second wireless communication based on the communication setting information exchanged by the exchange unit;
an identification unit configured to identify the ranging target at the information processing apparatus based on the information for identifying the ranging target;
a ranging start unit configured to start, when the ranging target is identified by the identification unit, ranging by the ranging unit, and transmit the ranging request data to the ranging target identified by the identification unit; and
a continuous execution unit configured to continue execution of the ranging started by the ranging start unit until a distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies a first condition,
wherein in a case where the distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies the first condition, and the continuous execution of the ranging is terminated, account control on a user having logged in the mobile communication device is performed for the information processing apparatus,
wherein after the account control is performed, the information processing apparatus executes a predetermined job, and
wherein the mobile communication device includes:
a search unit configured to search for the information processing apparatus as a data transmission destination candidate by receiving a beacon transmitted from outside by the first wireless communication; and
a search condition user interface for receiving a wireless communication standard supported by the information processing apparatus as the data transmission destination candidate, from a user, to set the received wireless communication standard as the search condition.
2. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless communication is BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy).
3. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the second wireless communication is UWB (Ultra Wide Band) based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard.
4. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 3, wherein the communication setting information is information for identifying a UWB tag based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard and at least includes information of a role of the UWB, information of a ranging method, and address information of a packet transmission destination.
5. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the bidirectional ranging method is TWR (Two Way Ranging) based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard.
7. (Currently Amended) The data processing system according to claim1,
further comprising another user interface for selectively receiving at least one condition for causing the ranging start unit to start ranging, by a user operation from a plurality of combinations of conditions,
wherein the plurality of conditions include a type of the data to which the information of the ranging target is added.
8. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 7,
wherein the information processing apparatus is an image forming apparatus that executes a print job, and
wherein the type of data to which the information of the ranging target is added is job data of the print job, and the predetermined job is the print job reserved until the account control is terminated.
9. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 7,
wherein the mobile communication device includes a sensor for detecting a specific motion of the user, and
wherein the type of data to which the information of the ranging target is added is data including a notification indicating that the sensor has detected the specific motion of the user.
10. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 9, wherein the sensor is at least one of a GPS sensor, a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, and a touch sensor.
12. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the mobile communication device includes a ranging authentication user interface for receiving user selection as to whether or not to perform the account control on the user for the information processing apparatus in a case where the first condition is satisfied.
13. (Currently Amended) The data processing system according to claim 1, wherein the account control on the user is login authentication based on a user account registered in the information processing apparatus in association with information of the ranging target identified by the identification unit.
18. (Original) The information processing apparatus according to claim 17,
wherein the information for identifying the ranging target is a login ID of a user having logged in the mobile communication device, and
wherein the identification unit acquires information of the ranging target registered in the information processing apparatus in association with the login ID.
14. (Currently Amended) The data processing system according to claim 1,
further comprising another user interface for selectively receiving at least one ranging termination condition for terminating the continuous execution of the ranging, by a user operation from a plurality of combinations of conditions,
wherein one of the conditions is logout from the information processing apparatus.
15. (Original) The data processing system according to claim 14, wherein the logout from the information processing apparatus is executed in a case where the distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies a second condition while the continuous execution of the ranging is being performed.
16. (Currently Amended) The data processing system according to claim 1, further comprising another user interface for receiving the first condition at at least one of the information processing apparatus and the mobile communication device.
17. (Currently Amended) An information processing apparatus that is capable of communicating with a mobile communication device by first wireless communication and second wireless communication, comprising:
an exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the second wireless communication with the mobile communication device, by the first wireless communication;
a ranging unit configured to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication, ranging request data to a ranging target that performs the second wireless communication, and receive ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus;
an acquisition unit configured to acquire data to which information of the ranging target is added as the information for identifying the ranging target from the mobile communication device by the second wireless communication based on the communication setting information exchanged by the exchange unit;
an identification unit configured to identify the ranging target based on the information for identifying the ranging target;
a ranging start unit configured to start, when the ranging target is identified by the identification unit, the ranging by the ranging unit, and transmit the ranging request data to the ranging target identified by the identification unit; and
a continuous execution unit configured to continue execution of the ranging started by the ranging start unit until a distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies a first condition,
wherein in a case where the distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies the first condition, and the continuous execution of the ranging is terminated, account control on a user is performed for the information processing apparatus,
wherein after the account control is performed, the information processing apparatus executes a predetermined job, and
wherein the mobile communication device includes:
a search unit configured to search for the information processing apparatus as a data transmission destination candidate by receiving a beacon transmitted from outside by the first wireless communication; and
a search condition user interface for receiving a wireless communication standard supported by the information processing apparatus as the data transmission destination candidate, from a user, to set the received wireless communication standard as the search condition.
21. (Currently Amended) A method of controlling an information processing apparatus that is capable of communicating with a mobile communication device by first wireless communication and second wireless communication, comprising:
exchanging communication setting information for use in the second wireless communication, with the mobile communication device by the first wireless communication;
transmitting, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication, ranging request data to a ranging target that performs the second wireless communication, and receiving ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus;
acquiring data to which information of the ranging target is added as the information for identifying the ranging target from the mobile communication device by the second wireless communication based on the communication setting information exchanged by said exchanging;
identifying the ranging target based on the information for identifying the ranging target;
starting, when the ranging target is identified by said identifying, the ranging, and transmitting the ranging request data to the ranging target identified by said identifying;
continuing execution of the ranging started by said starting until the measured satisfies a first condition; and
performing, in a case where the measured distance satisfies the first condition, and the continuous execution of the ranging is terminated, account control on a user for the information processing apparatus,
wherein after the account control is performed, the information processing apparatus executes a predetermined job, and
wherein the mobile communication device searches for the information processing apparatus as a data transmission destination candidate by receiving a beacon transmitted from outside by the first wireless communication, and receives a wireless communication standard supported by the information processing apparatus as the data transmission destination candidate, from a user, to set the received wireless communication standard as the search condition.
Instant claims 17 and 19 are analogous to claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-18 of the not yet issued patent and therefore similarly rejected by under the Double Patenting doctrine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoda et al., US 2022/0060601 in view of Benson et al., US 2018/0276367.
Regarding claim 1, Hosoda discloses a data processing system (as shown in fig. 1) including a mobile communication device (mobile terminal 102-103, fig. 1) and an information processing apparatus (MFP 101, fig. 1) that can communicate with each other by first wireless communication (Bluetooth I/F in mobile terminal, paragraph 63) and second wireless communication (Bluetooth I/F in MFP, paragraph 61) (MFP 101 and the mobile terminals 102, 103 comprise a Bluetooth communication function as a short-range wireless communication function, and in a range in which Bluetooth radio waves reach can perform communication, after connecting to one another, paragraph 58, fig. 1), comprising:
exchange information for use in the second wireless communication between the mobile communication device and the information processing apparatus by the first wireless communication (when a range in which Bluetooth radio waves reach can perform communication via short-range communication then connection is made and information is exchanged between the mobile terminal and MFP after connecting to one another, paragraphs 58, 66, 90);
a ranging unit (CPU 201, fig. 2) configured to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication (bidirectional wireless communication between mobile terminal and MFP, paragraph 58), ranging request data from the information processing apparatus to a ranging target that performs the second wireless communication (Bluetooth Advertising Packet from the MFP which is usually transmitted from the MFP 101 and received by the mobile terminal, paragraph 135, this step can instead be performed wherein, mobile terminal 102 transmits the advertisement packet, and the MFP 101 receives this, paragraph 205), and receive, at the information processing apparatus, ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus (mobile terminal calculates the distance between the MFP 101 and the mobile terminal 102 from the RSSI. Here, for example, the distance is calculated from a difference between the RSSI and information relating to an intensity of a transmission radio wave transmitted by the MFP 101, paragraph 136, but this step instead be performed, wherein MFP 101 receives the RSSI and information relating to an intensity of a transmission radio wave transmitted by the mobile terminal and MFP calculates the distance between the MFP 101 and the mobile terminal 102, paragraphs 205, 221-222);
a data transmission unit (CPU 211, fig. 2) configured to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added, from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus by the second wireless communication based on the information exchanged (the MFP 101 and the mobile terminal 102 use a Bluetooth Low Energy communication standard to mutually communicate. Here, a service requested of the MFP 101 by the mobile terminal 102 includes control so as to automatically log in in accordance with a user ID transmitted from the mobile terminal 102, which is located within a predetermined distance from the MFP 101, paragraph 215);
and a ranging start unit (CPU 211, fig. 2) configured to start ranging by the ranging unit when the data is transmitted from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus, and transmit the ranging request data to the ranging target based on the information of the ranging target added to the data (when mobile and MFP are within a predetermined distance at which to start usage of the MFP 101 then CPU 211 establishes a communication connection with the MFP 101 via Bluetooth, and then CPU 211 issues a login request to the MFP 101, wherein, when login is succeeded, the menu screen is shown where user can select print services, paragraph 137, 143, 199, 163, 124).
Hosoda fails to explicitly disclose an exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the wireless communication between the mobile communication device and the information processing apparatus by the wireless communication; to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added, based on the communication setting information exchanged by the exchange unit.
However, Benson teaches an exchange unit (processing units, 2110, fig. 21) configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the wireless communication between the mobile communication device (watch 520, fig. 8, paragraph 87) and the information processing apparatus (laptop computer 510, fig. 8, paragraph 87) by the wireless communication (initial connection to exchange (at 115) ranging connection information (e.g., bootstrap information) used to set up a ranging connection (e.g., over WiFi) between the devices, paragraph 60);
to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the wireless communication, ranging request data from the information processing apparatus to a ranging target that performs the wireless communication, and receiving ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target when distance is in proximity between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus (at 120, the process 100 establishes a ranging connection between the trusted and target devices. In some embodiments, the ranging connection is a wireless channel that is used to exchange ranging information in order to determine whether the target and trusted devices are within a particular range, wherein, target device also sends (at 320) bootstrap information to set up the ranging connection for performing ranging operations between the target and trusted devices such that distance between a second device and a first device is detected by continuously searches for nearby devices that are performing broadcast advertising on wireless short-range radio frequencies, such Bluetooth frequencies. The process 2000 starts when it detects an advertisement from the second device that is within a first distance from the first device. In some embodiments, a range calculator of the communication manager iteratively performs ranging operations to identify the distance between the first device and the second device, paragraphs 60, 81, 187);
to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added, from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus by the wireless communication based on the communication setting information exchanged by the exchange unit (the initial connection of some embodiments is a secure, standardized wireless connection method (e.g., Bluetooth pairing) that is ubiquitous and efficient. The established initial connection is then used to exchange ranging connection information, which is used to establish a ranging connection. In some embodiments, the ranging connection is used to exchange ranging information to determine whether the target and trusted devices are within a particular range, paragraph 78 such that the process 100 establishes a ranging connection between the trusted and target devices. In some embodiments, the ranging connection is a wireless channel that is used to exchange ranging information in order to determine whether the target and trusted devices are within a particular range, wherein, target device also sends (at 320) bootstrap information to set up the ranging connection for performing ranging operations between the target and trusted devices, paragraphs 60, 81);
and to start ranging when the data is transmitted from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus, and transmit the ranging request data to the ranging target based on the information of the ranging target added to the data (process 2000 starts when it detects an advertisement from the second device that is within a first distance from the first device. In some embodiments, a range calculator of the communication manager iteratively performs ranging operations to identify the distance between the first device and the second device, paragraphs 186-187).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches wherein the first wireless communication is BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy) (Hosoda, Bluetooth radio waves, paragraph 58 and Benson, paragraphs 59, 78).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches a continuous execution unit configured to perform continuous execution of the ranging started by the ranging unit until a distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies a first condition (Benson, continuously searching for nearby devices that are performing broadcast advertising on wireless short-range radio frequencies, such Bluetooth frequencies. The process 2000 starts when it detects an advertisement from the second device that is within a first distance from the first device. In some embodiments, a range calculator of the communication manager iteratively performs ranging operations to identify the distance between the first device and the second device, paragraphs 181, 187),
and wherein in a case where the distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies the first condition and the continuous execution is terminated, account control on a user having logged in the information processing apparatus is performed for the information processing apparatus, and after the account control, the information processing apparatus executes a predetermined job (Hosoda, indicating that the logout request is performed when the mobile terminal 102 is a distance of 5 m or more apart from the MFP 101, also predetermined distance or more is, for example, 5 m or more, wherein a service requested of the MFP 101 by the mobile terminal 102 includes control so as to automatically log in in accordance with a user ID transmitted from the mobile terminal 102, which is located within a predetermined distance from the MFP 101, and automatically logout when they become further apart than a predetermined distance such that Advertising Packet of a Bluetooth Low Energy communication transmitted from the mobile terminal 102 is received, and a service is executing in response to a login request, a print job input, or the like from the mobile terminal 102. By authentication on the MFP 101 by the mobile terminal 102 that the user possesses, the user can not only execute the print job, but can also cause a transition of the operation screen of the MFP 101 to an operation menu screen or the like, and obtain authorization to use the MFP 101, paragraphs 94, 137, 139, 210-217).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 11, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches wherein the mobile communication device includes a ranging authentication user interface for receiving user selection as to whether or not to perform the account control on the user for the information processing apparatus in a case where the first condition is satisfied (Hosoda, user interface as discussed in paragraphs 66, 150 and as shown in fig. 4 comprising of authentication, wherein, when predetermined distance condition is satisfied, it is decided by user by pressing buttons whether to account control such as login or logout, paragraphs 94, 177-180, 217).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 12, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches wherein the user account control is login authentication based on a user account registered in the information processing apparatus in association with the information of the ranging target added to the data (Hosoda, processing proceeds to step S1109, and the CPU 201 compares/matches the obtained the IC card number with the IC card numbers registered in the user information list (refer to TABLE 1) already registered in the MFP 101 in advance, performs authentication of the user who possesses that IC card, and the processing proceeds to step S1116, also, user information that is authenticated, the service UUID that can be accepted, and the distance to the transmission source at which login is possible are registered in the MFP 101 in advance, paragraphs 160-162, 218).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 13, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches a user interface for selectively receiving at least one ranging termination condition for terminating the continuous execution of the ranging, from a plurality of combinations of conditions, by a user operation, and wherein one of the conditions is logout from the information processing apparatus (Hosoda, indicating that the logout request is performed when the mobile terminal 102 is a distance of 5 m or more apart from the MFP 101, also predetermined distance or more is, for example, 5 m or more, wherein a service requested of the MFP 101 by the mobile terminal 102 includes control so as to automatically log in in accordance with a user ID transmitted from the mobile terminal 102, which is located within a predetermined distance from the MFP 101, and automatically logout when they become further apart than a predetermined distance, user interface as discussed in paragraphs 66, 150 and as shown in fig. 4 comprising of authentication, wherein, when predetermined distance condition is satisfied, it is decided by user by pressing buttons whether to account control such as login or logout, paragraphs 94, 139, 177-180, 212-217).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches wherein the logout from the information processing apparatus is executed in a case where the distance measured by the ranging unit satisfies a second condition while the continuous execution of the ranging is being executed (Hosoda, indicating that the logout request is performed when the mobile terminal 102 is a distance of 5 m or more apart from the MFP 101, also predetermined distance or more is, for example, 5 m or more, wherein a service requested of the MFP 101 by the mobile terminal 102 includes control so as to automatically log in in accordance with a user ID transmitted from the mobile terminal 102, which is located within a predetermined distance from the MFP 101, and automatically logout when they become further apart than a predetermined distance, paragraphs 94, 139, 210-217).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 15, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches a user interface for receiving the first condition at at least one of the information processing apparatus and the mobile communication device (Hosoda, predetermined distance condition is to be satisfied, wherein, distances can be modified by a user of the mobile terminal 102, and by user of MFP 101 by taking configuration so as to obtain settings of the above distances, paragraphs 94-95, 137, 139, 143)
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 16, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches an information processing apparatus that is capable of communicating with a mobile communication device by first wireless communication and second wireless communication (Hosoda, MFP 101 and the mobile terminals 102, 103 comprise a Bluetooth communication function as a short-range wireless communication function, and in a range in which Bluetooth radio waves reach can perform communication, after connecting to one another, paragraph 58, fig. 1), comprising: an acquisition unit (Hosoda, CPU 211, fig. 2). Rest of the claim recites similar features as claim 1 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, Hosoda discloses a mobile communication device (mobile terminal 102-103, fig. 1) that is capable of communicating with an information processing apparatus (MFP 101, fig. 1) by first wireless communication (Bluetooth I/F in mobile terminal, paragraph 63) and second wireless communication (Bluetooth I/F in MFP, paragraph 61) (MFP 101 and the mobile terminals 102, 103 comprise a Bluetooth communication function as a short-range wireless communication function, and in a range in which Bluetooth radio waves reach can perform communication, after connecting to one another, paragraph 58, fig. 1), the information processing apparatus including a ranging unit (CPU 201, fig. 2) configured to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the second wireless communication (bidirectional wireless communication between mobile terminal and MFP, paragraph 58), ranging request data to a ranging targe that performs the second wireless communication (Bluetooth Advertising Packet from the MFP which is usually transmitted from the MFP 101 and received by the mobile terminal, paragraph 135, this step can instead be performed wherein, mobile terminal 102 transmits the advertisement packet, and the MFP 101 receives this, paragraph 205), and receive ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target, to thereby measure a distance between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus (mobile terminal calculates the distance between the MFP 101 and the mobile terminal 102 from the RSSI. Here, for example, the distance is calculated from a difference between the RSSI and information relating to an intensity of a transmission radio wave transmitted by the MFP 101, paragraph 136, but this step instead be performed, wherein MFP 101 receives the RSSI and information relating to an intensity of a transmission radio wave transmitted by the mobile terminal and MFP calculates the distance between the MFP 101 and the mobile terminal 102, paragraphs 205, 221-222), the mobile communication device comprising: to exchange information for use in the second wireless communication, with the information processing apparatus, by the first wireless communication (when a range in which Bluetooth radio waves reach can perform communication via short-range communication then connection is made and information is exchanged between the mobile terminal and MFP after connecting to one another, paragraphs 58, 66, 90); and a transmission unit (CPU 211, fig. 2) configured to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added, to the information processing apparatus by the second wireless communication, based on the information acquired (the MFP 101 and the mobile terminal 102 use a Bluetooth Low Energy communication standard to mutually communicate. Here, a service requested of the MFP 101 by the mobile terminal 102 includes control so as to automatically log in in accordance with a user ID transmitted from the mobile terminal 102, which is located within a predetermined distance from the MFP 101, paragraph 215).
Hosoda fails to explicitly disclose an exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the wireless communication between the mobile communication device and the information processing apparatus by the wireless communication; to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added, based on the communication setting information exchanged by the exchange unit.
However, Benson teaches an exchange unit (processing units, 2110, fig. 21) configured to exchange communication setting information for use in the wireless communication between the mobile communication device (watch 520, fig. 8, paragraph 87) and the information processing apparatus (laptop computer 510, fig. 8, paragraph 87) by the wireless communication (initial connection to exchange (at 115) ranging connection information (e.g., bootstrap information) used to set up a ranging connection (e.g., over WiFi) between the devices, paragraph 60);
to transmit, as an execution entity of ranging in a bidirectional ranging method of the wireless communication, ranging request data from the information processing apparatus to a ranging target that performs the wireless communication, and receiving ranging response data associated with the ranging request data from the ranging target when distance is in proximity between the ranging target and the information processing apparatus (at 120, the process 100 establishes a ranging connection between the trusted and target devices. In some embodiments, the ranging connection is a wireless channel that is used to exchange ranging information in order to determine whether the target and trusted devices are within a particular range, wherein, target device also sends (at 320) bootstrap information to set up the ranging connection for performing ranging operations between the target and trusted devices such that distance between a second device and a first device is detected by continuously searches for nearby devices that are performing broadcast advertising on wireless short-range radio frequencies, such Bluetooth frequencies. The process 2000 starts when it detects an advertisement from the second device that is within a first distance from the first device. In some embodiments, a range calculator of the communication manager iteratively performs ranging operations to identify the distance between the first device and the second device, paragraphs 60, 81, 187);
to transmit data to which information of the ranging target is added, from the mobile communication device to the information processing apparatus by the wireless communication based on the communication setting information exchanged by the exchange unit (the initial connection of some embodiments is a secure, standardized wireless connection method (e.g., Bluetooth pairing) that is ubiquitous and efficient. The established initial connection is then used to exchange ranging connection information, which is used to establish a ranging connection. In some embodiments, the ranging connection is used to exchange ranging information to determine whether the target and trusted devices are within a particular range, paragraph 78 such that the process 100 establishes a ranging connection between the trusted and target devices. In some embodiments, the ranging connection is a wireless channel that is used to exchange ranging information in order to determine whether the target and trusted devices are within a particular range, wherein, target device also sends (at 320) bootstrap information to set up the ranging connection for performing ranging operations between the target and trusted devices, paragraphs 60, 81).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Regarding claim 20, is a method version of claim 16 reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoda et al., US 2022/0060601 in view of Benson et al., US 2018/0276367 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Lim, US 2023/0336980.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Hosoda with Benson fails to further teach wherein the second wireless communication is UWB (Ultra Wide Band) based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard.
However, Lim teaches wherein the second wireless communication is UWB (Ultra Wide Band) based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard (UWB may mean a short-distance high-speed wireless communication technology using IEEE802.15.4z standard, paragraphs 41-42, 51-52).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable with Lim because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda and Benson to incorporate the teachings of Lim for the benefit of efficiently and effectively utilizing advanced UWB technological features for improved wireless communications as taught by Lim at paragraphs 9-10.
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Hosoda with Benson and Lim further teaches wherein the communication setting information is information for identifying a UWB tag based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard and at least includes information of a role of the UWB, information of a ranging method, and address information of a packet transmission destination (Lim, ranging refers to an action of measuring a distance between a UWB device (fob) and another UWB device (anchor), data structure may conform to IEEE802.15.4z standard, and about 200 us may be consumed for transmitting one packet, paragraph 52).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable with Lim because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda and Benson to incorporate the teachings of Lim for the benefit of efficiently and effectively utilizing advanced UWB technological features for improved wireless communications as taught by Lim at paragraphs 9-10.
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Hosoda with Benson and Lim further teaches wherein the bidirectional ranging method is TWR (Two Way Ranging) based on the IEEE 802.15.4z standard (Lim, two-way ranging (TWR) method such as (a) a double sided TWR (DSTWR) and (b) a single sided TWR (SSTWR) based on IEEE802.15.4z standard, paragraphs 59-60).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable with Lim because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda and Benson to incorporate the teachings of Lim for the benefit of efficiently and effectively utilizing advanced UWB technological features for improved wireless communications as taught by Lim at paragraphs 9-10.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoda et al., US 2022/0060601 in view of Benson et al., US 2018/0276367 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Kimura et al., US 2005/0100378.
Regarding claim 7, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches receiving at least one condition for causing the ranging start unit to start ranging, from a plurality of combinations of conditions and wherein the plurality of conditions include data to which the information of the ranging target is added (Hosoda, when mobile and MFP are within a predetermined distance which is selected/modifiable by user from plurality of proximity distance choices, the usage of the MFP 101 starts by CPU 211 establishing a communication connection with the MFP 101 via Bluetooth, and then CPU 211 issues a login request to the MFP 101, wherein, when login is succeeded, the menu screen is shown where user can select print services, paragraph 137, 143, 199, 163, 124 and Benson, process 2000 starts when it detects an advertisement from the second device that is within a first distance from the first device. In some embodiments, a range calculator of the communication manager iteratively performs ranging operations to identify the distance between the first device and the second device, paragraphs 186-187).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Combination of Hosoda with Benson fails to further teach a user interface for selectively receiving at least one condition for causing to start a process, from a plurality of combinations of conditions, by a user operation, and wherein the plurality of conditions include a type of the data to which the information is added.
However, Kimura teaches a user interface for selectively receiving at least one condition for causing to start a process, from a plurality of combinations of conditions, by a user operation, and wherein the plurality of conditions include a type of the data to which the information is added (CPU 1201 controls to permit start of execution of a print process of print data of the secure print job under the condition that a password, which matches a password (corresponding to a password that has already been input by the user via the designation field 803 of the password setup window in FIG. 8 displayed on the operation unit of the PC upon inputting the print job in this example) set in advance by the user for the secure print job to be processed (the secure print job selected via the job list window in FIG. 11B in this example) is input via the operation window (e.g., that shown in FIG. 13A) displayed on the display unit 1206 of the print apparatus, paragraph 134).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable with Kimura because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communicating between devices based on settings.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda and Benson to incorporate the teachings of Kimura for the benefit of providing technique that can print while maintaining security even when a trouble that requires interruption of a print process has occurred, and the print process restarts after the trouble is removed as taught by Kimura at paragraph 13.
Regarding claim 8, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches wherein the information processing apparatus is an image forming apparatus (Hosoda, MFP 101, fig. 1, paragraph 58) that executes a print job (Hosoda, a print job input to the MFP 101 is printed by the printer 206, paragraph 210), and wherein the type of data to which the information of the ranging target is added is job data of the print job, and the predetermined job is the print job reserved until the account control is terminated (user login information is added to the type of print job data that needs to be printed, which is stored until user is logged out and connection to the MFP is terminated, paragraphs 66, 126, 210-217).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoda et al., US 2022/0060601 in view of Benson et al., US 2018/0276367 further in view of Kimura et al., US 2005/0100378 as applied in claim 7 above and further in view of Fujii et al., US 2013/0163039.
Regarding claim 9, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches wherein the type of data to which the information of the ranging target is added is data (Hosoda, when mobile and MFP are within a predetermined distance which is selected/modifiable by user from plurality of proximity distance choices, the usage of the MFP 101 starts by CPU 211 establishing a communication connection with the MFP 101 via Bluetooth, and then CPU 211 issues a login request to the MFP 101, wherein, when login is succeeded, the menu screen is shown where user can select print services, paragraph 137, 143, 199, 163, 124).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Combination of Hosoda with Benson and Kimura fails to further teach wherein mobile communication device includes a sensor for detecting a specific motion of user, and wherein the type of data to which information target is added is data including a notification indicating that the sensor has detected the specific motion of the user.
However, Fujii teaches wherein mobile communication device includes a sensor (mobile terminal 10 includes a CPU 11, a ROM 12, a RAM 13, a storage 14, an acceleration sensor 15, a touch sensor 16, a touch panel display 17, paragraph 27) for detecting a specific motion of user (acceleration sensor 15 corresponds to a motion detection unit that detects motions of the user of the mobile terminal 10, paragraph 30 such that acceleration sensor 15 can detect the motions applied to the mobile terminal such as the motions of "shaking" and "tilting" the mobile terminal, paragraph 31), and wherein the type of data to which information target is added is data including a notification indicating that the sensor has detected the specific motion of the user (operation determining unit 19 determines or calculates which motion or operation is performed on the basis of values acquired by the acceleration sensor 15 and the touch sensor 16, paragraphs 35, 61, and causing, by a notification unit, the operation display unit to display a notification promoting a user to select the data or to determine the external apparatus when the motion is detected by the motion detection unit, claims 7, 15 to select a printer as shown in fig. 6).
Hosoda, Benson and Kimura are combinable with Fujii because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communicating between plurality of devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda, Benson and Kimura to incorporate the teachings of Fujii for the benefit of providing technique that make a mobile terminal to enable an instruction of outputting data to be intuitively given as taught by Fujii at paragraph 9.
Regarding claim 10, Combination of Hosoda with Benson, Kimura and Fujii further teaches wherein the sensor is at least one of a GPS sensor, a gyro sensor, an acceleration sensor, and a touch sensor (Fujii, mobile terminal 10 includes a CPU 11, a ROM 12, a RAM 13, a storage 14, an acceleration sensor 15, a touch sensor 16, a touch panel display 17, gyro sensor, paragraphs 27, 73)
Hosoda, Benson and Kimura are combinable with Fujii because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with communicating between plurality of devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda, Benson and Kimura to incorporate the teachings of Fujii for the benefit of providing technique that make a mobile terminal to enable an instruction of outputting data to be intuitively given as taught by Fujii at paragraph 9.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosoda et al., US 2022/0060601 in view of Benson et al., US 2018/0276367 as applied in claim 17 above and further in view of Komatsu, US 2021/0132876.
Regarding claim 18, Combination of Hosoda with Benson further teaches a search unit searching for an apparatus which serves as a data transmission destination candidate (Benson, communication manager continuously searches for nearby devices that are performing broadcast advertising on wireless short-range radio frequencies, such Bluetooth frequencies, paragraph 187).
Hosoda and Benson are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda to incorporate the teachings of Benson for having exchange unit configured to exchange communication setting information for the benefit of providing more secure methods for detecting the range of a trusted device before allowing the trusted device to unlock a target device as taught by Benson at paragraph 5.
Combination of Hosoda with Benson fails to explicitly teach search for an apparatus, by receiving a beacon transmitted from outside by the first wireless communication, and a search condition user interface for receiving a wireless communication standard supported by the apparatus which serves as the data transmission destination candidate, from a user, to set the received wireless communication standard as a search condition.
However, Komatsu teaches a search unit configured to search for an apparatus which serves as a data transmission destination candidate (data processing apparatus 101 searches for print processing apparatuses on the wireless LAN, the data processing apparatus 101 broadcasts a search request using mDNS. A print processing apparatus having responded to the search request transmits an IP address thereof to the data processing apparatus 101, paragraph 47), by receiving a beacon transmitted from outside by the first wireless communication (method using the Bluetooth® Low Energy advertisement packet transmitted from a print processing apparatus such as a packet in a predetermined format including AirPrint Bluetooth Beacon which enables the user to identify the distance to each print processing apparatus found in the search, and also identify a print processing apparatus relatively close to the user, paragraph 48), and a search condition user interface (as shown in fig. 7) for receiving a wireless communication standard supported by the apparatus which serves as the data transmission destination candidate, from a user, to set the received wireless communication standard as a search condition (processing for searching for print processing apparatuses performed by the data processing apparatus 101 in order to display the selection screen 701 illustrated in fig. 7 and fig. 8 is a flowchart illustrating the processing for searching for print processing apparatuses performed by the CPU 202 in the data processing apparatus 101 in which the print application 401 is being executed, wherein searching includes the received IP address to request detailed information of the print processing apparatus using IPP communication or IPPS communication (wireless LAN communication as wireless standard), and obtains the detailed information from the print processing apparatus, paragraphs 49, 47, 66).
Hosoda, Benson are combinable with Komatsu because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between choice of devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda, Benson to incorporate the teachings of Komatsu for the benefit of providing technique for enabling a user to easily identify a desired print processing apparatus from search results in a case where the user searches for print processing apparatuses using a mobile terminal as taught by Komatsu at paragraph 7.
Regarding claim 19, Combination of Hosoda with Benson and Komatsu further teaches a user interface configured to display at least one device including the mobile communication device in a state selectable as the ranging target by a user (data processing apparatus 101 displays the selection screen 701 as illustrated in FIG. 7. The user selects a print processing apparatus as the print instruction destination while viewing the search results of the print processing apparatuses displayed on the data processing apparatus 101, as illustrated in FIG. 7, and returns to the top menu screen. Items 702, 704, 706, and 708 correspond to pieces of information of the print processing apparatuses 104, 105, 106, and 107 found in the search, respectively. Distances 703, 705, 707, and 709 indicate the distances from the data processing apparatus 101 to the print processing apparatuses 104, 105, 106, and 107, respectively, paragraph 66).
Hosoda, Benson are combinable with Komatsu because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with wirelessly communicating between choice of devices.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosoda, Benson to incorporate the teachings of Komatsu for the benefit of providing technique for enabling a user to easily identify a desired print processing apparatus from search results in a case where the user searches for print processing apparatuses using a mobile terminal as taught by Komatsu at paragraph 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al., US 2021/0014844
Kunimatsu, US 2019/0239259
Watanabe, US 2017/0339743
Banno, US 2015/0189025
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683