DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 & 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartel et al. (US Patent # 7,635020) in view of Tilton et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2008/0093054).
Regarding Claim 1, Hartel discloses a liquid cooling manifold, comprising:
a manifold body (i.e. coolant-conducting element 20) including an inlet flow channel (i.e. inflow conduit 21.1), an outlet flow channel (i.e. outflow conduit 21.2) and an expansion channel (i.e. separation wall 21.3/hollow chamber 11);
a plurality of distribution inlet connectors (i.e. access openings 22 on the right which can contain connecting elements) coupled to the manifold body and in fluid communication with the inlet flow channel;
a plurality of distribution outlet connectors (i.e. access openings 22 on the left which can contain connecting elements) coupled to the manifold body and in fluid communication with the outlet flow channel; and
a heat exchanger (i.e. water/water heat exchanger 36/air/water heat exchanger 38) coupled (i.e. through inflow branch 35.2 and outflow branch 35.3) to the manifold body (Fig. 1-4; Abstract; Column 1, lines 28-52, 56-57; Column 2, lines 44-52; Column 3, lines 15-41; Column 3, line 65- Column 4, line 15; Column 4, lines 50-52; Column 5, lines 6-30).
Hartel does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the inlet flow channel or the outlet flow channel is in fluid communication with the expansion channel.
Tilton teaches that at least one of the inlet flow channel (i.e. supply chamber 72) or the outlet flow channel (i.e. return chamber 73) is in fluid communication with the expansion channel (i.e. venting chamber 74) (Fig. 5, 10, 11; Abstract; Paragraphs 0035-0036, 0043-0044, 0049-0050, 0053).
Tilton teaches that it is well known in the art of liquid cooling manifolds to have an expansion/venting chamber in fluid communication with the supply chamber/inlet flow channel and return chamber/outlet flow channel in order to provide a place for the vertical separation of the liquid coolant, vaporized coolant and non-condensables (e.g. air) as part of the active venting system. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide such fluid communication between the inlet flow channel and outlet flow channel of Hartel and the expansion channel, as taught by Tilton, in order to provide a place for the vertical separation of the liquid coolant, vaporized coolant and non-condensables (e.g. air) as part of the active venting system and thus ensure efficient functioning of the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Hartel discloses that the expansion channel (i.e. separation wall 21.3) includes at least one pressurized shape (i.e. insulator 21.4) disposed within the expansion channel, the at least one pressurized shape being configured to expand and contract (Column 1, lines 43-52; Column 3, lines 15-38).
Regarding Claim 3, Hartel discloses that the manifold body (i.e. coolant-conducting element 20) is an elongated structure having the heat exchanger (i.e. water/water heat exchanger 36/air/water heat exchanger 38) provided at an end of the manifold body (Fig. 4; Column 5, line 6-38).
Regarding Claim 4, Hartel discloses that an inlet connector of the plurality of inlet connectors and an outlet connector of the plurality of outlet connectors are configured to be secured to mating connectors of a cold plate (i.e. cooling elements 34) (Fig. 4; Column 5, line 6-23).
Regarding Claim 5, Hartel discloses that the cold plate (i.e. cooling elements 34) is configured to support components (i.e. plurality of electronic components 31) of a power module (Fig. 4; Column 5, line 6-38).
Regarding Claim 6, Hartel discloses that the cold plate (i.e. cooling elements 34) includes a pump (i.e. pump or ventilator) to distribute and disperse cooling fluid within the cold plate (Column 3, line 65- Column 4, line 15).
Regarding Claim 7, Hartel discloses that the cold plate plate (i.e. cooling elements 34) is a generally rectangular, planar structure that includes a corner having a structure including the inlet connector and the outlet connector (Fig. 4; Column 5, line 6-38).
Regarding Claim 9, Hartel discloses that the inlet flow channel (i.e. inflow conduit 21.1) is configured to receive cooled fluid (i.e. coolant or air) and the outlet flow channel (i.e. outflow conduit 21.2) is configured to receive heated fluid (i.e. heated coolant or air) (Column 4, line 2-7).
Regarding Claim 10, Hartel discloses that the expansion channel (i.e. separation wall 21.3) is disposed between the inlet flow channel (i.e. inflow conduit 21.1) and the outlet flow channel (i.e. outflow conduit 21.2) (Fig. 1-3; Column 1, lines 43-52; Column 3, lines 15-38).
Regarding Claim 11, Hartel discloses that the inlet flow channel (i.e. inflow conduit 21.1) and the outlet flow channel (i.e. outflow conduit 21.2) of the manifold are configured to seal a fluid (i.e. liquid coolant) including at least one of water, glycol or a water/glycol mixture (Column 3, lines 29-33).
Regarding Claim 12, Hartel discloses a cooling system (i.e. liquid cooling system) comprising manifolds, each manifold including the liquid cooling manifold of claim 1 (Column 4, line 64- Column 5, line 38).
Hartel does not explicitly disclose that the cooling system comprises three manifolds.
Tilton teaches the cooling system comprises multiple manifolds (Paragraph 0054).
Tilton teaches that it is well known in the art of cooling systems for servers to use multiple manifolds in order to cool multiple arrays of servers. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use three manifolds in the cooling system of Hartel, as taught by Tilton, in order to cool multiple arrays of servers. It has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 13, Hartel in view of Tilton discloses that the heat exchanger (i.e. water/water heat exchanger 36) of each manifold is connected to lines (i.e. inflow branch 35.2 and outflow branch 35.3) to provide cooled fluid to and return heated fluid from the heat exchanger (Fig. 4; Column 5, line 6-23).
Regarding Claim 14, Hartel in view of Tilton discloses that the lines are connected to an external chiller (i.e. re-cooling installation 37) configured to cool the heated fluid delivered to the chiller by a first line and to return cooled fluid to the heat exchangers of the manifold by a second line (Fig. 4; Column 5, line 6-38).
Regarding Claim 15, Hartel in view of Tilton discloses that the cooling system is configured to cool an uninterruptable power supply (Fig. 4; Column 5, line 6-38). Although Hartel does not explicitly mention a power supply, the liquid cooling system is used for a server cabinet/ rack 32 which includes a plurality of electronic components 31 which each comprise at least one CPU which would
require a power supply.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartel et al. (US Patent # 7,635,020) in view of Tilton et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2008/0093054) and in further view of Wang et al. (US Patent Application Publication # 2023/0039526).
Regarding Claim 8, Hartel does not explicitly disclose that the manifold includes a receiving member configured to mate with an alignment pin of a cold plate.
Wang teaches that the manifold includes a receiving member (i.e. hole 31) configured to mate with an alignment pin (i.e. guide part 11) of a cold plate (Fig. 2-6; Paragraphs 0029-0034).
Wang teaches that it is well known in the art of cooling structures/manifolds to have an alignment pin and a receiving member/hole which mate together when connecting or coupling the cooling structure and the server body or component in order to ensure alignment and facilitate connection. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use such an alignment pin with a corresponding receiving member in the liquid cooling system of Hartel, as taught by Wang, in order to ensure alignment and facilitate connection between the components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Hartel does not disclose that “at least one of the inlet flow channel or the outlet flow channel is in fluid communication with the expansion channel” as now claimed. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and has addressed the new limitation in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RJA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847