Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the invention is directed at an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 1 recites a method and is thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of
patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 1 recites
translating the one or more encoded values into a structured query; (This limitation is a mental process as it could be performed mentally or with pen and paper by a human performing translation between data formats and is thus a mental process of observation/evaluation/judgement (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2))).
Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 1 further recites additional elements of
A method, comprising: receiving a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
inputting, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
receiving, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt, wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
inputting the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and outputting the content items to the user. (i.e., the broadest reasonable interpretation of outputting a data instance is mere data outputting, which is an insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II))).
Therefore, claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 1 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
A method, comprising: receiving a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
inputting, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
receiving, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt, wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
inputting the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and outputting the content items to the user. is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 1 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 2:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 2 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 2 further recites additional elements of
wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about the user. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 2 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 2 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about the user. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 2 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 3:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 3 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 3 further recites additional elements of
wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 3 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 3 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 3 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 4:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 4 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 4 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 4 further recites additional elements of
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 4 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 4 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 4 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 5:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 5 recites the same abstract idea as claim 4. Therefore, claim 5 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 5 further recites additional elements of
wherein: the instruction comprises a second question about the context with at least two or more further possible answers; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 4 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and one of the at least two or more further possible answers. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 4 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 5 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 5 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 4 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 4 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 5 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 6:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 6 recites the same abstract idea as claim 5. Therefore, claim 6 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 6 further recites additional elements of
wherein the one or more encoded values comprise a first encoded value that indicates both the one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and the one of the at least two or more further possible answers to the second question. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 5 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 6 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 6 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 5 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 6 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 7:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 7 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 7 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 7 further recites additional elements of
wherein the encoded output format is a binary string, and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 7 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 7 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the encoded output format is a binary string, and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 7 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 8:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 8 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 8 further recites additional elements of
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 8 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 8 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 8 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 9:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 9 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 9 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 9 further recites additional elements of
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 9 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 9 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 9 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 10:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 10 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 10 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 10 further recites additional elements of
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the content library suitable for the context. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 10 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 10 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the content library suitable for the context. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 10 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 11:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 11 recites
wherein translating the one or more encoded values into the structured query comprises: applying the one or more encoded values to structured query generation logic that produces structured queries conditioned on the one or more encoded values. (This limitation is a mental process as it further defines the mental process from claim 1 of performing translation between data formats and is thus a mental process of observation/evaluation/judgement (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 11 does not further recite any additional elements. Therefore, claim 11 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
Since there are no additional elements, claim 11 does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone or in combination. Therefore, claim 11 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 12:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 12 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 12 further recites additional elements of
wherein the response does not include natural language text. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 12 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 12 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the response does not include natural language text. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 12 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 13:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 13 recites the same abstract idea as claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 13 further recites additional elements of
wherein the response does not include one or more attribute-value pairs. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 13 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 13 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
wherein the response does not include one or more attribute-value pairs. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 13 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 14:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 14 recites One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to. Therefore, claim 14 recites a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 14 recites
translate the one or more encoded values into a structured query; (This limitation is a mental process as it could be performed mentally or with pen and paper by a human performing translation between data formats and is thus a mental process of observation/evaluation/judgement (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2))).
Therefore, claim 14 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 14 further recites additional elements of
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
input, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
wherein the encoded output format is a binary string; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
receive, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and output the content items to the user. (i.e., the broadest reasonable interpretation of outputting a data instance is mere data outputting, which is an insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II))).
Therefore, claim 14 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 14 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
input, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
wherein the encoded output format is a binary string; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
receive, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and output the content items to the user. is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 14 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 15:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 15 recites the same abstract idea as claim 14. Therefore, claim 15 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 15 further recites additional elements of
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14 (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 15 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 15 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14 merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 15 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 16:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 16 recites the same abstract idea as claim 15. Therefore, claim 16 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 16 further recites additional elements of
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15 (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
wherein: the instruction comprises a second question about the context with at least two or more further possible answers; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 15 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and one of the at least two or more further possible answers. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 15 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 16 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 16 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15 merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein: the instruction comprises a second question about the context with at least two or more further possible answers; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 15 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and one of the at least two or more further possible answers. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 15 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 16 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 17:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 17 recites the same abstract idea as claim 16. Therefore, claim 17 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 17 further recites additional elements of
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16 (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
wherein the one or more encoded values comprise a first encoded value that indicates both the one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and the one of the at least two or more further possible answers to the second question. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 16 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 17 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 17 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16 merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein the one or more encoded values comprise a first encoded value that indicates both the one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and the one of the at least two or more further possible answers to the second question. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 16 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 17 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 18:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 18 recites the same abstract idea as claim 14. Therefore, claim 18 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 18 further recites additional elements of
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14 (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and an identification of the content library suitable for the context. (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
Therefore, claim 18 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 18 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14 merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and an identification of the content library suitable for the context. only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from claim 14 (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 18 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 19:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 19 recites A system comprising: one or more processors; Therefore, claim 19 recites a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 19 recites
translate the one or more encoded values into a structured query; (This limitation is a mental process as it could be performed mentally or with pen and paper by a human performing translation between data formats and is thus a mental process of observation/evaluation/judgement (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2))).
Therefore, claim 19 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 19 further recites additional elements of
A system comprising: one or more processors; (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user, one or more contextual factors about the user, and one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
input, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
receive, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it only further defines the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; (This element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it recites insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g))).
and output the content items to the user. (i.e., the broadest reasonable interpretation of outputting a data instance is mere data outputting, which is an insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II))).
Therefore, claim 19 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 19 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
A system comprising: one or more processors; merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user, one or more contextual factors about the user, and one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
input, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
receive, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context; only further defines the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" from the above limitation (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
and output the content items to the user. is the well understood, routine, and conventional activity of "transmitting or receiving data over a network" (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II); OIP Techs., Inc., V. Amazon.com, Inc., 788F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)).
Therefore, claim 19 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding claim 20:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 20 recites
wherein translating the one or more encoded values into the structured query comprises: applying the one or more encoded values to structured query generation logic that produces structured queries conditioned on the one or more encoded values. (This limitation is a mental process as it further defines the mental process from claim 19 of performing translation between data formats and is thus a mental process of observation/evaluation/judgement (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2))).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 20 further recites additional elements of
The system of claim 19 (the generic computer components recited in this limitation merely add the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
Therefore, claim 20 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 20 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea
itself, taken alone and in combination because
The system of claim 19 merely recites steps that apply generic computer components as a tool to perform judicial exceptions, which represents merely adding the words “apply it”, or an equivalent, which are not indicative of an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Therefore, claim 20 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user; (Guo, pg. 1 Abstract, “Text-to-SQL aims at generating SQL queries [A method] for the given natural language questions [comprising: receiving a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user;]”).
inputting, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format; (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Step 1: Simplify” and Guo, pg. 5, “We simplify natural language questions by prompting the LLM [inputting, into a large language model, a prompt] with instructions…Specifically, we construct a prompt template prompt(.): “Replace the words as far as possible to simplify the question, making it syntactically clear, common and easy to understand: [QUESTION]”, where “[QUESTION]” represents the original natural language question. [comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format;]”).
receiving, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt, wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context; (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Step 1: Simplify” and Guo, pg. 5, “Specifically, given a new question Qo, we first obtain its simplified sentence Qr.”).
translating the one or more encoded values into a structured query; (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Dynamic Revision Chain” and Guo, pg. 6 “We employ the LLM to generate an initial SQL query, and then we iteratively revise the generated SQL queries based on fine-grained feedback [translating the one or more encoded values into a structured query;], forming a dynamic revision chain...The dynamic revision chain contains two stages: (1) assembling prompt based on the fine-grained feedback (see Sec. 3.2.1), and (2) generating SQL via iterative prompting (see Sec. 3.2.2).”).
While Guo teaches a method of translating natural language queries into structured queries, Guo does not explicitly teach:
inputting the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library;
and outputting the content items to the user.
However, Hwang teaches inputting the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; (Hwang, pg. 1, col 2 and pg. 2, col 1, “This interface allows the user to express queries in an SQL-like language that we have developed...This query language allows the user...to retrieve relevant video segments from one or more movies. [to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library;]”, Hwang, pg. 2, col 1, “The query engine executes these queries using a formal model of video data structures [inputting the structured query into a retrieval engine]”).
Hwang also teaches and outputting the content items to the user. (Hwang, pg. 3, col 2, “returning video segments to the user. [and outputting the content items to the user.]”).
Guo and Hwang are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo and Hwang to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that the prior art contained a base method, the use of a large language model to create structured queries of Guo, upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. The claimed invention is an improvement because the added steps of querying a content library and outputting content items gives a function to which the structured query can be applied. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base method would have yielded the predictable result of using the structured query to retrieve content items and resulted in an improved system. The retrieval and output steps would have been expected to make the query generation process useful in a production environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of Hwang to the query generation method of Guo. This would yield the predictable result of a query generation and content retrieval method (See MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 13, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo also teaches wherein the response does not include one or more attribute-value pairs. Guo, Fig. 1 “Step 1: Simplify”
(Examiner’s Comment: the examiner interprets the highlighted text to be the response not including attribute-value pairs)
The motivation to combine is the same as claim 1 above.
Claims 2-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”) and further in view of Akerlund, et al., U.S. Patent US11907674B1 (“Akerlund”).
Regarding claim 2, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about the user.
However, Akerlund teaches wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about the user. (Akerlund, col. 3, lines 41-47, “the user context can include a geographical region in which the user is located when the NL based input is received, a user account status of a user account of the user of the client device, historical NL based inputs provided by the user of the client device, or user preferences of the user of the client device, and/or other user contexts. [wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about the user]”).
Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including user context allows the system to autonomously tailor its responses according to users’ needs/preferences. (cf. Akerlund, col. 3, lines 47-55, “The user context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the user desires multi-modal responses (or desires multi-modal responses in certain situations) and/or otherwise indicate whether a multi-modal response should be generated. In all of the above instances, the system can cause the NL based input and/or the LLM input to be augmented with a prompt that indicates a multi-modal response that includes multimedia content should be generated.”).
Regarding claim 3, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user.
However, Akerlund teaches wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user. (Akerlund, col. 3, lines 28-33, “the client device context can include a display size of a display of the client device of the user, network bandwidth of the client device of the user, connectivity status of the client device of the user, a modality by which the NL based input was received, and/or other client device contexts. [wherein the context includes one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user.]”).
Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including context about a user's device allows the system to autonomously make decisions about the type and form of content to retrieve. (cf. Akerlund, col. 3, lines 33-40, “The client device context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the client device is capable of efficiently rendering multimedia content (e.g., in view of bandwidth and/or connectivity considerations), whether the client device is well suited for rendering different types of multimedia content (e.g., whether the client device includes speaker(s) and/or a display), and/or otherwise indicate of whether a multi-modal response should be generated.”).
Regarding claim 8, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items.
However, Akerlund teaches wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items. (Akerlund, col. 3, lines 28-33, “The client device context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the client device is capable of efficiently rendering multimedia content (e.g., in view of bandwidth and/or connectivity considerations), whether the client device is well suited for rendering different types of multimedia content”). Examiner’s Comment: The attributes of the client device in the context are interpreted to be “an intent of the context usable…to filter content items”
Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including context which can be used to filter content allows the system to only retrieve content which is well suited to the user and their device. (cf. Akerlund, col. 3, lines 33-40, “The client device context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the client device is capable of efficiently rendering multimedia content (e.g., in view of bandwidth and/or connectivity considerations), whether the client device is well suited for rendering different types of multimedia content (e.g., whether the client device includes speaker(s) and/or a display), and/or otherwise indicate of whether a multi-modal response should be generated.”).
Regarding claim 9, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context.
However, Akerlund teaches wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context. (Akerlund, col. 4, lines 21-28, “the multimedia content tags [wherein the one or more attributes] may…indicate that the multimedia content to be included in the multi-modal response is video content, audio content, gif content, and/or other multimedia content. In these instances, the system can cause the multimedia content queries to be submitted over video search systems, audio data search systems, or gif search systems, respectively. [comprises: an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context]”).
Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including attribute(s) in the context that identify a suitable retrieval engine allows the system to directly query only the relevant retrieval engine(s). (cf. Akerlund, col. 4, lines 3-12, “the system can utilize the multimedia content tags to determine multimedia content queries to obtain multimedia content items to be included in the multi-modal response. For example, the system can determine corresponding multimedia content queries of “image of The Colosseum in Rome”, “image of The Roman Forum in Rome”, “image of The Pantheon in Rome”, or the like, and cause the multimedia content queries to be submitted (e.g., directly by the system or by the client device associated with the user) to an image search system.”).
Regarding claim 10, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the content library suitable for the context.
However, Akerlund teaches wherein the one or more attributes comprises: an identification of the content library suitable for the context. (Akerlund, col. 4, lines 21-25, “the multimedia content tags [wherein the one or more attributes] may additionally, or alternatively, indicate that the multimedia content to be included in the multi-modal response is video content, audio content, gif content, and/or other multimedia content. [comprises: an identification of the content library suitable for the context.]”). Examiner’s Comment: the “multimedia content tags” that indicate the type of content to be included in the response is interpreted to be “an identification of the of the content library suitable for the context”.
Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including attribute(s) in the context that identify a suitable content library allows the system to directly retrieve content from only the relevant content libraries. (cf. Akerlund, col. 12 and 13, lines 65-67 and 1-5, “the multimedia content items can be obtained from other multimedia search systems (e.g., video search systems, audio search systems, gif search systems, and/or other multimedia content search systems). In these implementations, the search system utilized to obtain the multimedia content items may be dependent on what type of multimedia content is indicated by the multimedia content tags.”).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”) and further in view of Madan, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202452A1 (“Madan”).
Regarding claim 4, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers;
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question.
However, Madan teaches wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the prompt generator 128 may call the ML model with a generated prompt and additionally with embedded questions [wherein: the instruction comprises] asking the ML model to indicate if it would benefit from more context to provide model output [a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers;], more information to provide model output, and/or to respond if some aspect of the prompt is not clear.”).
Madan also teaches and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question. (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the model output, which may include any of a variety of types of content (e.g., text, images, programmatic output, code, instructions for a 3D printed object, etc.) [and the one or more encoded values in the response]...the ML model may provide intermediate output including one or more requests for additional lookup by the prompt generator 128, retrieval of additional context [indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question], information, prompt templates, etc., and/or other instructions for producing model output.”).
Guo in view of Hwang and Madan are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. query response systems). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Madan to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including questions about the context in the instructions for the LLM causes it to produce more responsive output. (cf. Madan paragraph [0029], “In this way the ML model can generate intermediate output with these requests as opposed to the user receiving unresponsive output and having to determine through trial and error what could improve the ML model output.”).
Regarding claim 5, Guo in view of Hwang and further in view of Madan teaches The method of claim 4. Madan also teaches:
wherein: the instruction comprises a second question about the context with at least two or more further possible answers; (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the prompt generator 128 may call the ML model with a generated prompt and additionally with embedded questions [wherein: the instruction comprises] asking the ML model to indicate if it would benefit from more context to provide model output, more information to provide model output, and/or to respond if some aspect of the prompt is not clear. [a second question about the context with at least two or more further possible answers]”).
(Examiner’s Comment: the examiner interprets the question “asking the ML model...to respond if some aspect of the prompt is not clear” to be a second question about the context.)
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and one of the at least two or more further possible answers. (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the model output, which may include any of a variety of types of content (e.g., text, images, programmatic output, code, instructions for a 3D printed object, etc.) [and the one or more encoded values in the response]...the ML model may provide intermediate output including one or more requests for additional lookup by the prompt generator 128, retrieval of additional context [indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question], information, prompt templates, etc., and/or other instructions for producing model output. [and one of the at least two or more further possible answers]”).
The motivation to combine is the same as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 6, Guo in view of Hwang and further in view of Madan teaches The method of claim 5. Madan also teaches:
wherein the one or more encoded values comprise a first encoded value that indicates both the one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and the one of the at least two or more further possible answers to the second question. (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the model output, which may include any of a variety of types of content (e.g., text, images, programmatic output, code, instructions for a 3D printed object, etc.) [the one or more encoded values]...the ML model may provide intermediate output including one or more requests for additional lookup by the prompt generator 128, retrieval of additional context, information, prompt templates, etc., and/or other instructions for producing model output. [a first encoded value that indicates both the one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and the one of the at least two or more further possible answers to the second question]”).
The motivation to combine is the same as claims 4 and 5 above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”) and further in view of Schillace, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202582A1 (“Schillace”).
Regarding claim 7, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein the encoded output format is a binary string, and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values.
However, Schillace teaches wherein the encoded output format is a binary string, and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values. (Schillace, paragraph [0020], “A generative model...used according to aspects described herein may generate any of a variety of output types...and may be a generative transformer model and/or a large language model (LLM)”, Schillace, paragraph [0079], “generative model output 506 may each include any of a variety of content types, including, but not limited to...binary output [wherein the encoded output format is a binary string, and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values.]”).
Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. query response systems). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that supporting different output formats, such as binary, makes the system more flexible and capable of handling different tasks. (cf. Schillace paragraph [0079-80], “generative model output 506 may have different content types...As such, generative model package 504 may be used in any of a variety of scenarios and, further, a different generative model package may be used in place of generative model package 504 without substantially modifying other associated aspects”).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”) and further in view of Rahmfeld, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20210390096A1 (“Rahmfeld”).
Regarding claim 11, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein translating the one or more encoded values into the structured query comprises: applying the one or more encoded values to structured query generation logic that produces structured queries conditioned on the one or more encoded values.
However, Rahmfeld teaches the above limitation (Rahmfeld, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], “The NL translation component may translate utterances expressed in natural language and data conversation context into one or more intermediate structured query language statements. The intermediate structured query language statements may be constructed so as to: (i) largely be structured query language dialect agnostic, (ii) compactly represent existing standard SQL statements (e.g., ‘SELECT’, ‘COUNT’) and (iii) encode system-specific actions that capture a higher-level user intent (e.g., operations on or querying of one or more previous result sets in the data conversation) [conditioned on the one or more encoded values]...The post-processing component may convert the intermediate structured query language statements to one or more executable structured query language statements [translating the one or more encoded values into the structured query comprises: applying the one or more encoded values to structured query generation logic that produces structured queries]).
Guo in view of Hwang and Rahmfeld are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. query response systems). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Rahmfeld to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that translating a natural language query to a structured query allows for querying a database. (cf. Rahmfeld paragraph [0023], “The executable structured query language statements may interface with a specific database schema either directly and/or through dataset(s) that were returned by previous user utterances in the data conversation (which themselves may be represented as queries on the database schema).”).
Regarding claim 12, Guo in view of Hwang teaches The method of claim 1. Guo in view of Hwang does not teach:
wherein the response does not include natural language text.
However, Rahmfeld teaches the above limitation: Rahmfeld, paragraph [0022], “The NL translation component may translate utterances expressed in natural language and data conversation context into one or more intermediate structured query language statements. [wherein the response]”, Rahmfeld, paragraphs [0104]-[0107],
[does not include natural language text.]
(Examiner’s comment: the examiner interprets the highlighted text to be the response not including natural language text.)
Guo in view of Hwang and Rahmfeld are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. query response systems). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Rahmfeld to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that a response format not including NL text can more efficiently represent query statements while still capturing user intent. (cf. Rahmfeld paragraph [0022], “The intermediate structured query language statements may be constructed so as to: (i) largely be structured query language dialect agnostic, (ii) compactly represent existing standard SQL statements (e.g., ‘SELECT’, ‘COUNT’) and (iii) encode system-specific actions that capture a higher-level user intent (e.g., operations on or querying of one or more previous result sets in the data conversation).”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”) and further in view of Schillace, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202582A1 (“Schillace”).
Regarding claim 14, Guo discloses:
receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user; (Guo, pg. 1 Abstract, “Text-to-SQL aims at generating SQL queries for the given natural language questions [receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user;]”).
input, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Step 1: Simplify” and Guo, pg. 5, “We simplify natural language questions by prompting the LLM [input, into a large language model, a prompt] with instructions…Specifically, we construct a prompt template prompt(.): “Replace the words as far as possible to simplify the question, making it syntactically clear, common and easy to understand: [QUESTION]”, where “[QUESTION]” represents the original natural language question. [comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format]”).
receive, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt, wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Step 1: Simplify” and Guo, pg. 5, “Specifically, given a new question Qo, we first obtain its simplified sentence Qr.”).
translate the one or more encoded values into a structured query; (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Dynamic Revision Chain” and Guo, pg. 6 “We employ the LLM to generate an initial SQL query, and then we iteratively revise the generated SQL queries based on fine-grained feedback [translate the one or more encoded values into a structured query;], forming a dynamic revision chain...The dynamic revision chain contains two stages: (1) assembling prompt based on the fine-grained feedback (see Sec. 3.2.1), and (2) generating SQL via iterative prompting (see Sec. 3.2.2).”).
While Guo teaches a method of translating natural language into structured queries, Guo does not explicitly teach:
input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library;
and output the content items to the user.
However, Hwang teaches input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; (Hwang, pg. 1, col 2 and pg. 2, col 1, “This interface allows the user to express queries in an SQL-like language that we have developed...This query language allows the user...to retrieve relevant video segments from one or more movies. [to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library;]”, Hwang, pg. 2, col 1, “The query engine executes these queries using a formal model of video data structures [input the structured query into a retrieval engine]”).
Hwang also teaches and output the content items to the user. (Hwang, pg. 3, col 2, “returning video segments to the user. [and output the content items to the user.]”).
Guo and Hwang are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo and Hwang to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that the prior art contained a base method, the use of a large language model to create structured queries of Guo, upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. The claimed invention is an improvement because the added steps of querying a content library and outputting content items give a function to which the structured query can be applied. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base method would have yielded the predictable result of using the structured query to retrieve content items and resulted in an improved system. The retrieval and output steps would have been expected to make the query generation process useful in a production environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of Hwang to the query generation method of Guo. This would yield the predictable result of a query generation and content retrieval method (See MPEP 2143).
While Guo in view of Hwang teaches a query translation and content retrieval system, Guo in view of Huang does not explicitly teach:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to
wherein the encoded output format is a binary string;
and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values;
However, Schillace teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Schillace, paragraph [0099], “computer storage media examples (e.g., memory storage). Computer storage media may include RAM, ROM, electrically erasable read-only memory (EEPROM), flash memory or other memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD) or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other article of manufacture which can be used to store information [One or more non-transitory computer-readable media]”, Schillace, paragraph [0114], “memory storing instructions [storing instructions] that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations. [when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to]”).
Schillace also teaches wherein the encoded output format is a binary string; (Schillace, paragraph [0079], “generative model output 506 may each include any of a variety of content types, including, but not limited to...binary output”).
Schillace also teaches and the one or more encoded values comprise one or more binary values; (Schillace, paragraph [0079], “generative model output 506 may each include any of a variety of content types, including, but not limited to...binary output”).
Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. query response systems). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that supporting different output formats, such as binary, makes the system more flexible and capable of handling different tasks. (cf. Schillace paragraph [0079-80], “generative model output 506 may have different content types...As such, generative model package 504 may be used in any of a variety of scenarios and, further, a different generative model package may be used in place of generative model package 504 without substantially modifying other associated aspects”).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”), Schillace, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202582A1 (“Schillace”) and further in view of Madan, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202452A1 (“Madan”).
Regarding claim 15, Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14. Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace does not teach:
wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers;
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question.
However, Madan teaches wherein: the instruction comprises a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers; (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the prompt generator 128 may call the ML model with a generated prompt and additionally with embedded questions [wherein: the instruction comprises] asking the ML model to indicate if it would benefit from more context to provide model output [a first question about the context with at least two or more possible answers;], more information to provide model output, and/or to respond if some aspect of the prompt is not clear.”).
Madan also teaches and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question. (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the model output, which may include any of a variety of types of content (e.g., text, images, programmatic output, code, instructions for a 3D printed object, etc.) [and the one or more encoded values in the response]...the ML model may provide intermediate output including one or more requests for additional lookup by the prompt generator 128, retrieval of additional context [indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question], information, prompt templates, etc., and/or other instructions for producing model output.”).
Guo in view of Hwang/Schillace and Madan are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. query response systems). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Madan to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including questions about the context in the instructions for the LLM causes it to produce more responsive output. (cf. Madan paragraph [0029], “In this way the ML model can generate intermediate output with these requests as opposed to the user receiving unresponsive output and having to determine through trial and error what could improve the ML model output.”).
Regarding claim 16, Guo in view of Hwang, Schillace and Madan teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15. Madan also teaches:
wherein: the instruction comprises a second question about the context with at least two or more further possible answers; (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the prompt generator 128 may call the ML model with a generated prompt and additionally with embedded questions [wherein: the instruction comprises] asking the ML model to indicate if it would benefit from more context to provide model output, more information to provide model output, and/or to respond if some aspect of the prompt is not clear. [a second question about the context with at least two or more further possible answers]”).
(Examiner’s Comment: the examiner interprets the question “asking the ML model...to respond if some aspect of the prompt is not clear” to be a second question about the context.)
and the one or more encoded values in the response indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and one of the at least two or more further possible answers. (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the model output, which may include any of a variety of types of content (e.g., text, images, programmatic output, code, instructions for a 3D printed object, etc.) [and the one or more encoded values in the response]...the ML model may provide intermediate output including one or more requests for additional lookup by the prompt generator 128, retrieval of additional context [indicate one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question], information, prompt templates, etc., and/or other instructions for producing model output. [and one of the at least two or more further possible answers]”).
The motivation to combine is the same as claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 17, Guo in view of Hwang, Schillace and Madan teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16. Madan also teaches:
wherein the one or more encoded values comprise a first encoded value that indicates both the one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question and the one of the at least two or more further possible answers to the second question. (Madan, paragraph [0029], “the model output, which may include any of a variety of types of content (e.g., text, images, programmatic output, code, instructions for a 3D printed object, etc.) [the one or more encoded values]...the ML model may provide intermediate output including one or more requests for additional lookup by the prompt generator 128, retrieval of additional context [a first encoded value that indicates both the one of the at least two or more possible answers to the first question], information, prompt templates, etc., and/or other instructions for producing model output. [the one of the at least two or more further possible answers to the second question]”).
The motivation to combine is the same as claim 16 above.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”), Schillace, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202582A1 (“Schillace”) and further in view of Akerlund, et al., U.S. Patent US11907674B1 (“Akerlund”).
Regarding claim 18, Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14. Guo in view of Hwang and Schillace does not teach:
wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items;
an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context;
and an identification of the content library suitable for the context.
However, Akerlund teaches wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of: an intent of the context usable by the retrieval engine to filter content items; (Akerlund, col. 3, lines 28-33, “The client device context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the client device is capable of efficiently rendering multimedia content (e.g., in view of bandwidth and/or connectivity considerations), whether the client device is well suited for rendering different types of multimedia content”). Examiner’s Comment: The attributes of the client device in the context are interpreted to be “an intent of the context usable…to filter content items”
Akerlund also teaches an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context. (Akerlund, col. 4, lines 21-28, “the multimedia content tags may…indicate that the multimedia content to be included in the multi-modal response is video content, audio content, gif content, and/or other multimedia content. In these instances, the system can cause the multimedia content queries to be submitted over video search systems, audio data search systems, or gif search systems, respectively. [an identification of the retrieval engine suitable for the context]”).
Akerlund also teaches and an identification of the content library suitable for the context. (Akerlund, col. 4, lines 21-25, “the multimedia content tags [wherein the one or more attributes] may additionally, or alternatively, indicate that the multimedia content to be included in the multi-modal response is video content, audio content, gif content, and/or other multimedia content. [and an identification of the content library suitable for the context.]”). Examiner’s Comment: the “multimedia content tags” that indicate the type of content to be included in the response are interpreted to be “an identification of the of the content library suitable for the context”.
Guo in view of Hwang/Schillace and Akerlund are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang/Schillace and Akerlund to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including attribute(s) in the context that can be used to filter content, identify a suitable retrieval engine and identify a suitable content library allows the system to only retrieve content which is well suited to the user and their device, directly query only the relevant retrieval engine(s) and retrieve content from only the relevant content libraries. (cf. Akerlund, col. 3, lines 33-40, “The client device context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the client device is capable of efficiently rendering multimedia content (e.g., in view of bandwidth and/or connectivity considerations), whether the client device is well suited for rendering different types of multimedia content (e.g., whether the client device includes speaker(s) and/or a display), and/or otherwise indicate of whether a multi-modal response should be generated.” , Akerlund, col. 4, lines 3-12, “the system can utilize the multimedia content tags to determine multimedia content queries to obtain multimedia content items to be included in the multi-modal response. For example, the system can determine corresponding multimedia content queries of “image of The Colosseum in Rome”, “image of The Roman Forum in Rome”, “image of The Pantheon in Rome”, or the like, and cause the multimedia content queries to be submitted (e.g., directly by the system or by the client device associated with the user) to an image search system.”, Akerlund, col. 12 and 13, lines 65-67 and 1-5, “the multimedia content items can be obtained from other multimedia search systems (e.g., video search systems, audio search systems, gif search systems, and/or other multimedia content search systems). In these implementations, the search system utilized to obtain the multimedia content items may be dependent on what type of multimedia content is indicated by the multimedia content tags.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”), Akerlund, et al., U.S. Patent US11907674B1 (“Akerlund”) and further in view of Schillace, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202582A1 (“Schillace”).
Regarding claim 19, Guo discloses:
receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user (Guo, pg. 1 Abstract, “Text-to-SQL aims at generating SQL queries for the given natural language questions [receive a context, wherein the context includes a natural language query from a user]”).
input, into a large language model, a prompt comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Step 1: Simplify” and Guo, pg. 5, “We simplify natural language questions by prompting the LLM [input, into a large language model, a prompt] with instructions…Specifically, we construct a prompt template prompt(.): “Replace the words as far as possible to simplify the question, making it syntactically clear, common and easy to understand: [QUESTION]”, where “[QUESTION]” represents the original natural language question. [comprising the context and an instruction to produce a response about the context in an encoded output format]”).
receive, from the large language model, the response generated based on the prompt, wherein the response comprises one or more encoded values corresponding to one or more attributes about the context (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Step 1: Simplify” and Guo, pg. 5, “Specifically, given a new question Qo, we first obtain its simplified sentence Qr.”).
translate the one or more encoded values into a structured query; (See Guo, Fig. 1 “Dynamic Revision Chain” and Guo, pg. 6 “We employ the LLM to generate an initial SQL query, and then we iteratively revise the generated SQL queries based on fine-grained feedback [translate the one or more encoded values into a structured query;], forming a dynamic revision chain...The dynamic revision chain contains two stages: (1) assembling prompt based on the fine-grained feedback (see Sec. 3.2.1), and (2) generating SQL via iterative prompting (see Sec. 3.2.2).”).
While Guo teaches a method of translating natural language into structured queries, Guo does not explicitly teach:
input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library;
and output the content items to the user.
However, Hwang teaches input the structured query into a retrieval engine to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library; (Hwang, pg. 1, col 2 and pg. 2, col 1, “This interface allows the user to express queries in an SQL-like language that we have developed...This query language allows the user...to retrieve relevant video segments from one or more movies. [to retrieve content items that correspond to the context from a content library;]”, Hwang, pg. 2, col 1, “The query engine executes these queries using a formal model of video data structures [input the structured query into a retrieval engine]”).
Hwang also teaches and output the content items to the user. (Hwang, pg. 3, col 2, “returning video segments to the user. [and output the content items to the user.]”).
Guo and Hwang are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo and Hwang to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that the prior art contained a base method, the use of a large language model to create structured queries of Guo, upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. The claimed invention is an improvement because the added steps of querying a content library and outputting content items gives a function to which the structured query can be applied. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base method would have yielded the predictable result of using the structured query to retrieve content items and resulted in an improved system. The retrieval and output steps would have been expected to make the query generation process useful in a production environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of Hwang to the query generation method of Guo. This would yield the predictable result of a query generation and content retrieval method (See MPEP 2143).
While Guo in view of Hwang teaches a query translation and content retrieval system, Guo in view of Huang does not teach:
one or more contextual factors about the user
and one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user;
However, Akerlund teaches one or more contextual factors about the user (Akerlund, col. 3, lines 41-47, “the user context can include a geographical region in which the user is located when the NL based input is received, a user account status of a user account of the user of the client device, historical NL based inputs provided by the user of the client device, or user preferences of the user of the client device, and/or other user contexts.”).
Akerlund also teaches and one or more contextual factors about a device used by the user; (Akerlund, col. 3, lines 28-33, “the client device context can include a display size of a display of the client device of the user, network bandwidth of the client device of the user, connectivity status of the client device of the user, a modality by which the NL based input was received, and/or other client device contexts.”).
Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that including user context and device context allows the system to autonomously tailor its responses according to a user’s need/preferences. (cf. Akerlund, col. 3, lines 47-55, “The user context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the user desires multi-modal responses (or desires multi-modal responses in certain situations) and/or otherwise indicate whether a multi-modal response should be generated. In all of the above instances, the system can cause the NL based input and/or the LLM input to be augmented with a prompt that indicates a multi-modal response that includes multimedia content should be generated.”, Akerlund, col. 3, lines 33-40, “The client device context can, for instance, serve as a proxy for whether the client device is capable of efficiently rendering multimedia content (e.g., in view of bandwidth and/or connectivity considerations), whether the client device is well suited for rendering different types of multimedia content (e.g., whether the client device includes speaker(s) and/or a display), and/or otherwise indicate of whether a multi-modal response should be generated.”).
While Guo in view of Hwang and Akerlund teaches a query translation and content retrieval system, Guo in view of Huang and Akerlund does not explicitly teach:
A system comprising: one or more processors;
and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to
However, Schillace teaches A system comprising: one or more processors; (Schillace, paragraph [0114], “the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations.”).
Schillace also teaches and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Schillace, paragraph [0099], “computer storage media examples (e.g., memory storage). Computer storage media may include RAM, ROM, electrically erasable read-only memory (EEPROM), flash memory or other memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD) or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other article of manufacture which can be used to store information [One or more non-transitory computer-readable media]”, Schillace, paragraph [0114], “memory storing instructions [storing instructions] that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations. [when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to]”).
Guo in view of Hwang/Akerlund and Schillace are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. content retrieval). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo, Hwang, Akerlund and Schillace to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that the prior art contained a base method, the use of a large language model to create structured queries and retrieve content or Guo, Hwang and Akerlund, upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. The claimed invention is an improvement because the added processor computer-readable media allow the method to be run on a computer. The technique disclosed in Schillace, using a processor and computer-readable media, applies to the base method because it prompts LLMs to retrieve content. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique to the base method would have yielded the predictable result of a query generation and content retrieval system that runs on a computer and resulted in an improved system. A processor and computer-readable media would have been expected to make it possible to perform the method on a computer and therefore usable in a production environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of Schillace to the query generation and content retrieval method of Guo, Hwang, and Akerlund. This would yield the predictable result of a query generation and content retrieval system which can be run on a computer (See MPEP 2143).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Retrieval-augmented GPT-3.5-based Text-to-SQL Framework with Sample-aware Prompting and Dynamic Revision Chain” (“Guo”) in view of Hwang, et al., Non-Patent Literature “Querying Video Libraries” (“Hwang”), Akerlund, et al., U.S. Patent US11907674B1 (“Akerlund”), Schillace, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20240202582A1 (“Schillace”) and further in view of Rahmfeld, et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication US20210390096A1 (“Rahmfeld”)..
While Guo in view of Hwang, Akerlund and Schillace teach The system of claim 19, Guo in view of Huang, Akerlund and Schillace does not teach:
wherein translating the one or more encoded values into the structured query comprises: applying the one or more encoded values to structured query generation logic that produces structured queries conditioned on the one or more encoded values.
However, Rahmfeld teaches the above limitation (Rahmfeld, paragraphs [0022]-[0023], “The NL translation component may translate utterances expressed in natural language and data conversation context into one or more intermediate structured query language statements. The intermediate structured query language statements may be constructed so as to: (i) largely be structured query language dialect agnostic, (ii) compactly represent existing standard SQL statements (e.g., ‘SELECT’, ‘COUNT’) and (iii) encode system-specific actions that capture a higher-level user intent (e.g., operations on or querying of one or more previous result sets in the data conversation) [conditioned on the one or more encoded values]...The post-processing component may convert the intermediate structured query language statements to one or more executable structured query language statements [translating the one or more encoded values into the structured query comprises: applying the one or more encoded values to structured query generation logic that produces structured queries]).
Guo in view of Hwang, Akerlund, Schillace and Rahmfeld are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. query response systems). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Guo in view of Hwang, Akerlund, Schillace and Rahmfeld to teach the above limitations. The motivation for doing so is that translating a natural language query to a structured query allows for querying a database. (cf. Schillace paragraph [0023], “The executable structured query language statements may interface with a specific database schema either directly and/or through dataset(s) that were returned by previous user utterances in the data conversation (which themselves may be represented as queries on the database schema).”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Kurka, et al., US Pre-Grant Publication US20250217591A1 “Lossless and lossy large language model-based text compression via arithmetic coding” discloses using an arithmetic encoding scheme to compress LLM output.
Gilbert, et al., “Semantic Compression With Large Language Models” discloses a method of “approximate compression” which uses LLMs to compress and decompress text and code while retaining semantic information.
Palaniappan, et al., US Patent Publication US11954102B1 “Structured query language query execution using natural language and related techniques” discloses a method of converting natural language queries to structured queries using LLMs prompted with smaller chunks of a larger database schema.
Wang, et al., “DBCopilot: Scaling Natural Language Querying to Massive Databases” discloses a text-to-sql framework using a copilot neural network to generate a routed schema corresponding to natural language questions and an LLM to generate sql based on the schema and questions.
/D.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2148 /MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148