DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is CHRISTOPHER.LEGENDRE@USPTO.GOV.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant's remarks/arguments filed 20 October 2025 addressing the previously applied prior art references in light of amended claims 1 and 8 have been fully considered. The Office respectfully notes that the previously applied references Shohei, Kuniyoshi, Koichi, and Metscher disclose (see below prior art rejections; see attached human-assisted AI translations of Shohei, Kuniyoshi, and Koichi) a controller that controls the frequency of the respective oscillator, and that the associated claim limitations of “scale removal” and/or changing “node” positioning are necessarily achieved by such control and/or amount to statements of intended use/result that do not further limit the structure of the claimed invention.
Applicant's remarks/arguments filed 20 October 2025 stating “Using a high frequency of 10 kHz or higher for scale removal is not described in the prior art and is not merely a design matter” have been fully considered. The Office respectfully notes that Shohei discloses a frequency of 500 kHz.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4, --that-- should be added before “controls”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a controller” (claims 1 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “a frequency that can remove scale that cannot be removed” renders the claim indefinite since “that cannot be removed” is necessarily excluding of “remove scale”. Due to an identical instance, this rejection also applies to claim 8. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-5, 7, and 9.
In claim 1, the limitation recited as “a portion of node of the vibration mode”/”the portion of node of the vibration mode” renders the claim indefinite since it is semantically/grammatically unclear. Due to an identical instance, this rejection also applies to claim 8. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 2-5, 7, and 9.
In claim 8, the limitation recited as “The steam turbine” renders the claim indefinite since it lacks antecedent basis (see MPEP 2173.05(e)). To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing “The” to --A--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shohei et al. (JP S62251405 A - hereafter referred to as Shohei; previously cited; see attached human-assisted AI translation).
In reference to claim 1 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Shohei discloses:
A turbine blade comprising:
a blade part (i.e., the assembly of elements 2, 3, and the airfoil extending therebetween - Figure 1); and
an oscillator ((1) 9 or 9’ - Figure 1, OR (2) 24 - Figure 9) mounted on the blade part to vibrate the blade part, and
a controller controls the oscillator (see page 7 of the human-assisted AI translation stating “A high-frequency power supply (not shown) capable of arbitrarily setting the frequency and applied voltage is provided outside the casing, and a high-frequency voltage is applied to the vibrator 9.9' via high-frequency power lines 11.11' and 12.12'. The frequency of the high frequency power is appropriately adjusted to generate ultrasonic standing waves 15”)(note: vibrations from elements 9,9’ will propagate into the identified blade part),
wherein the oscillator is configured to change a frequency at which the blade part is vibrated (see page 7 of the AI-human translation stating “A high-frequency power supply (not shown) capable of arbitrarily setting the frequency and applied voltage is provided outside the casing, and a high-frequency voltage is applied to the vibrator 9.9' via high-frequency power lines 11.11' and 12.12'. The frequency of the high frequency power is appropriately adjusted to generate ultrasonic standing waves 15”)(note: vibrations from elements 9,9’ will propagate into the identified blade part), and
the controller changes the frequency of the oscillator to a frequency that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part (note: the recitation that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the part is considered as a statement of intended use/result that does not structurally limit the claimed invention - Applicant’s disclosure indicates that the instant recitation is a mere byproduct of changing the frequency, and it is noted that the applied reference is capable of achieving the instant result due to its ability to change the frequency), where a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part changes (note: the recitation a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part necessarily results from a change in frequency).
In reference to claim 3
Shohei discloses:
The turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the turbine blade is a stator blade, and the blade part includes a blade portion (i.e., airfoil) and a blade ring (2 or 3) supporting the blade portion.
In reference to claim 4
Shohei discloses:
The turbine blade according to claim 3, wherein the oscillator (9 or 9’) is mounted on an exterior (9 - see Figure 4; 9’ – see Figure 1) of the blade ring (2 or 3).
In reference to claim 5
Shohei discloses:
The turbine blade according to claim 3, wherein the oscillator (9’) is mounted on the blade ring (2) which is provided radially inward of the blade portion.
In reference to claim 7
Shohei discloses:
A steam turbine comprising the turbine blade according to claim 1.
In reference to claim 9
Shohei discloses:
The steam turbine according to claim 1 wherein the oscillator is configured to vibrate the blade part at a high frequency of 10 kHz or higher (i.e., 500 kHz - see page 7 of human-assisted AI translation).
Claims 1, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuniyoshi et al. (JP S61106901 A - hereafter referred to as Kuniyoshi; previously cited; see attached human-assisted AI translation).
In reference to claim 1 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Kuniyoshi discloses:
A turbine blade comprising:
a blade part (i.e., the assembly of elements 1, 2, and 3 - Figure 1);
an oscillator (9 - Figure 1) mounted on the blade part to vibrate the blade part, and
a controller (see page 5 of the human-assisted AI translation stating “As shown in FIG. 1, the electrodes 10, 10' are connected to power supply lines 12, 13 which communicate with an external high frequency power supply”) controls the oscillator
wherein the oscillator (9) is configured to change a frequency (see page 6 of the human-assisted AI translation stating “In particular, if the frequency t of the vibrators 9, 9' is increased to a high frequency in the ultrasonic range, this high frequency will cause a resonance phenomenon on the liquid surface of the water vent flow, causing the wave surface to break up and become fine water droplets”) at which the blade part is vibrated, and
the controller changes the frequency of the oscillator to a frequency that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part (note: the recitation that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the part is considered as a statement of intended use/result that does not structurally limit the claimed invention - Applicant’s disclosure indicates that the instant recitation is a mere byproduct of changing the frequency, and it is noted that the applied reference is capable of achieving the instant result due to its ability to change the frequency), where a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part changes (note: the recitation a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part necessarily results from a change in frequency).
In reference to claim 3
Kuniyoshi discloses:
The turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the turbine blade is a stator blade, and the blade part includes a blade portion (1) and a blade ring (2 or 3) supporting the blade portion.
In reference to claim 7
Kuniyoshi discloses:
A steam turbine comprising the turbine blade according to claim 1.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koichi et al. (JP H04284103A - hereafter referred to as Koichi; previously cited; see attached human-assisted AI translation).
In reference to claim 1 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Koichi discloses:
A turbine blade comprising:
a blade part (i.e., the assembly of element 3 and the radially inner and outer bands attached thereto - Figure 3); and
an oscillator (14) mounted on the blade part to vibrate the blade part, and
a controller (i.e., power supply circuit 15 - see par. [0010] of the human-assisted AI translation) controls the oscillator
wherein the oscillator (14) is configured to change a frequency (see par. [0010] of the human-assisted AI translation stating “when the frequency of the AC voltage applied to the piezoelectric element 14 from the power supply circuit 15 is changed”) at which the blade part is vibrated, and
the controller changes the frequency of the oscillator to a frequency that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part (note: the recitation that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the part is considered as a statement of intended use/result that does not structurally limit the claimed invention - Applicant’s disclosure indicates that the instant recitation is a mere byproduct of changing the frequency, and it is noted that the applied reference is capable of achieving the instant result due to its ability to change the frequency), where a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part changes (note: the recitation a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part necessarily results from a change in frequency).
In reference to claim 2
Koichi discloses:
The turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the blade part is formed with a hollow part (i.e., the space defined by elements 3 and 12 - Figure 2), and the oscillator (14) is mounted (see Figure 2) inside the hollow part.
In reference to claim 3
Koichi discloses:
The turbine blade according to claim 1, wherein the turbine blade is a stator blade, and the blade part includes a blade portion (3) and a blade ring (i.e., either of the radially inner and outer bands) supporting the blade portion.
In reference to claim 7
Koichi discloses:
A steam turbine comprising the turbine blade according to claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Metscher (DE 102005021781; previously cited).
In reference to claim 8 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Metscher discloses:
The steam turbine comprising:
a turbine blade (15) comprising a blade part (i.e., at least an airfoil);
a turbine casing (13) supporting the turbine blade;
an oscillator (i.e., oscillatory element 16) mounted on a wall face of the turbine casing vibrating the wall face of the turbine casing to vibrate the blade part, and
a controller (i.e., a control device - see page 7, last paragraph of machine translation) controlling the oscillator,
wherein the oscillator (16) is configured to change a frequency at which the blade part is vibrated (see page 7, last paragraph of machine translation), and the controller changes the frequency of the oscillator to a frequency that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part (note: the recitation that can remove scale that cannot be removed from a portion of node of the vibration mode of the part is considered as a statement of intended use/result that does not structurally limit the claimed invention - Applicant’s disclosure indicates that the instant recitation is a mere byproduct of changing the frequency, and it is noted that the applied reference is capable of achieving the instant result due to its ability to change the frequency), where a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part changes (note: the recitation a position of the portion of node of the vibration mode of the blade part necessarily results from a change in frequency).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745