Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application (CIP of 17/099,273, filed 16 November 2020, which is a CIP of 15/729,005, filed 10 October 2017, which has PRO 62/405,583, filed 07 October 2016) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species C, directed to an aquaculture system, and Subspecies 19, drawn to singlet oxygen generation with an external light source, in the reply filed on 16 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4 and 5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species and subspecies, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a second light source that is disposed inside of the elongated plenum”; and
it is further noted that Claims 4 and 5 would similarly be objected to, but these claims have been withdrawn.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein each fin of the plurality of elongated fins”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, a membrane cannot be a polymer as recited: “wherein the superhydrophobic membrane is a polymer…”. Please amend to indicate that the membrane comprises a polymer.
Regarding Claim 9, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the wavelength”.
Regarding Claim 15, it is unclear whether the phrase “at a thickness” modifies the claimed hydrophobic sensitizer or the superhydrophobic membrane, i.e., is the hydrophobic sensitizer disposed at a thickness between 2 nm and 100 nm or is the hydrophobic sensitizer disposed on the superhydrophobic membrane where the membrane is between 2 nm and 100 nm thick? The Examiner will assume the former.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 10, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JONES (US 2010/0312312 A1) in view of ALDEN (US 6,743,249 B1) and JONES (US 2014/0288351 A1) with evidentiary support from ASRAFALI et al. (“Rapid Transformation in Wetting Properties of PTFE Membrane Using Plasma Treatment”. Polymers, 2023, 15, 3874).
Regarding Claims 1, 19, and 20, JONES ‘312 discloses a device for photodynamic therapy utilizing a photoreactive photocytotoxin (PCT) compound, (e.g., zinc phthalocyanide compounds, i.e., hydrophobic sensitizers) to generate reactive oxygen singlets when exposed to an appropriate light spectrum (p0026, p0028). Briefly, the device comprises a light probe 299 with a fiber/ribbon 200 length containing a transparent fiber optic core (i.e., an elongated plenum with a longitudinal axis; a fluid inlet at a proximal end of the elongated plenum) ending in a tip 230 covered by membrane/filter layer 201 (i.e., a fluid outlet at a distal end of the elongated plenum) supported by a polyethylene or polytetrafluoroethylene protective coating 208 (i.e., a membrane; FIG. 10; p0066). As best shown in FIG. 11, high luminance light 220 of a desired wavelength is directed along the optically coated fiber 200 to the tip section (i.e., a light source) whereupon the light 220 is emitted and activates PCT compounds that have colocalized at a target analyte to release singlet oxygen (i.e., having a hydrophobic sensitizer; a light source configured to illuminate the hydrophobic sensitizer; p0038). While JONES ‘312 is deficient in explicitly disclosing the membrane/filter layer 201 with PTFE protective coating 208 is superhydrophobic having a surface with a water contact angle of at least 140°, a “neat” PTFE surface (i.e., unmodified) is shown to have a water contact angle of 141.9° as evidenced by ASRAFALI (§3.2, par. 2) (i.e., the superhydrophobic membrane having a surface with a water contact angle of at least 140°).
[AltContent: textbox (End tip)][AltContent: textbox (Luminance light)][AltContent: textbox (PTFE coating)][AltContent: textbox (Fiber/ribbon)][AltContent: textbox (Luminance light)][AltContent: textbox (End tip)][AltContent: textbox (PTFE coating)][AltContent: textbox (Fiber/ribbon)][AltContent: textbox (Membrane/filter layer)]
JONES ‘312 further discloses that the fiber optic includes multifibers and fiber bundles (p0067); however, JONES ‘312 is deficient in disclosing a plurality of elongated fins within the elongated plenum that extend along the longitudinal axis or that the elongated plenum extends normal to an edge wall by an angle that is 90°±45° (Claim 19) or wherein the angle is 90°±15° (Claim 20).
ALDEN discloses a light-emitting treatment device including one or more light-emitting elements for irradiating a treatment region for photodynamic therapy (abstract). As shown in FIG. 1, the light-emitting treatment device 10 includes multiple light-emitting elements/optical fibers 18/20 connected via an optical fiber cable 38 coupled to a remote light source (i.e., a plurality of elongated fins within the elongated plenum that extend along the longitudinal axis; c5/66-c6/4). Advantageously, the multiple optical fibers 20 are disposed throughout the treatment region to uniformly and efficiently disperse light energy throughout the operative area (c6/4-8). Other fiber optic patterns are also considered (c6/9-11). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide multiple fiber optic elements extending along a longitudinal axis as taught by ALDEN for the photodynamic light therapy device of JONES ‘312.
[AltContent: textbox (Optical fiber cable)][AltContent: textbox (Light-emitting elements)][AltContent: textbox (Optical fibers)]
Furthermore, regarding the angle at which the elongated fins extend from the plenum, such limitations are considered mere optimizations obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. ALDEN discloses the use of multiple extending fibers such that light can be uniformly distributed throughout a treatment region; if such uniformity requires the claimed angle values, then such a configuration of the multiple fibers would be obvious to orient accordingly. The claimed parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable as taught by the prior art and can be optimized through routine experimentation (MPEP §2144.05 II B). Thus, the claimed values of 0°±45° (Claim 19) or 90°±15° (Claim 20) would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention.
Modified JONES is deficient in disclosing a thermally conductive substrate in direct contact with the light source configured to conduct heat away from the light source.
JONES ‘351 discloses a light source apparatus for photodynamic therapy (abstract). Briefly, JONES’ 351 discloses the use of heat conduction to remove additional heat from a light source (in this case, LEDs; p0185), e.g., a heat sink system to cool LEDs (i.e., a thermally conductive substrate in direct contact with the light source configured to conduct heat away from the light source; p0189-0191), to advantageously mitigate heat-related discomfort (p0186) and to allow for higher light intensities to be used (p0192). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a thermally conductive substrate in direct contact with a light source configured to conduct heat away from the light source as taught by JONES ‘351 for the device made obvious by modified JONES.
The limitation “that converts triplet oxygen to singlet oxygen upon exposure to light” is directed to an intended result from the use or practice of the claimed system. The prior art of record discloses the use of photocytotoxin compounds,specifically zinc phthalocyanide compounds, which are disclosed to produce singlet reactive oxygen species. Even though the prior art fails to explicitly disclose triplet oxygen, the generation of singlet oxygen is inherently conducted in the presence of triplet oxygen. The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer (Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947, Fed. Cir. 1999; MPEP §2112 I).
Regarding Claim 2, modified JONES makes obvious the system of Claim 1. JONES ‘312 further discloses a remote light source through the fiber optic cable (i.e., the light source is disposed outside the elongated plenum; p0052). Further JONES ‘312 discloses the fiber optic is transparent (i.e., the elongated plenum comprises an optically transparent window; p0066).
Regarding Claim 3, modified JONES makes obvious the system of Claim 2. The prior art is deficient in disclosing a second light source disposed outside the elongated plenum and the elongated plenum comprising a second optically transparent window. However, such limitations are directed toward a duplication of parts, namely the light source of Claim 1 and the optically transparent window of Claim 2. The mere duplication of parts or process steps has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960); MPEP §2144.04). Whether only a first light source or a plurality of light sources are used with corresponding transparent windows, the end result is that the first light source and plurality of light sources will enter the elongated plenum, i.e., no new or unexpected results are produced.
Regarding Claim 6, modified JONES makes obvious the system of Claim 2. JONES ‘312 further discloses that a light source may be located under the protective cover or coating of the membrane/filter (p0064) or that an additional point light source may be located at the tip section 230 (i.e., a second light source that is disposed inside of the plenum; p0067).
Regarding Claim 7, modified JONES makes obvious the system of Claim 1. JONES ‘312 further discloses a PTFE protective coating of the filter layer (i.e., the superhydrophobic membrane [comprises] a polymer selected from… PTFE; p0066).
Regarding Claim 10, modified JONES makes obvious the system of Claim 1. While the prior art is deficient in explicitly disclosing a central fin and an outer fin, JONES ‘312 further discloses that the fiber optic includes multifibers and fiber bundles (p0067), i.e., a fiber bundle inherently includes a central fiber and an outer fiber (i.e., the plurality of elongated fins includes a central fin disposed central in the elongated plenum and an outer fin disposed proximate the light source).
The limitation “the central fin receiving at least half light intensity as the outer fin” is directed toward a method of use of the claimed system and is not subject to patentable weight. The manner or method in which an apparatus is to be utilized is not subject to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself (In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); MPEP §2115).
Regarding Claim 18, as explained in the rejection of Claim 1, modified JONES makes obvious the singlet oxygen generating system of Claim 1. JONES ‘312 further discloses photodynamic therapy for selective reactivity with cells, bacteria, fungi, and other materials (p0002). While intended for cancer or pathogenic cells, it is noted that the claimed invention “[a] water treatment system” broadly encompasses any type of water, including those found in the human body.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JONES (US 2010/0312312 A1) in view of ALDEN (US 6,743,249 B1) and JONES (US 2014/0288351 A1) and further in view of KAPLAN et al. (US 2014/0343348 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified JONES makes obvious the system of Claim 1. Modified JONES is deficient in disclosing the superhydrophobic membrane has pores with a diameter between 20 µm and 5,000 µm.
KAPLAN discloses the treatment of tissues by preparing using a conduit coated with a PTFE tissue barrier (p0124). Said tissue barrier is of fine mesh with a pore size of 100-300 µm (p0126), which reads upon the claimed range of 20 µm to 5,000 µm. Advantageously, such a tissue barrier mesh size prevents tissue ingrowth, i.e., from penetrating through the barrier (p012, p01263). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide a pore dimension of between 20 µm and 5,000 µm as taught by KAPLAN for the PTFE protective layer taught by JONES ‘312.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JONES (US 2010/0312312 A1) in view of ALDEN (US 6,743,249 B1) and JONES (US 2014/0288351 A1) and further in view of XIE et al. (US 2015/0320885 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, modified JONES makes obvious the system of Claim 1. While JONES ‘312 further discloses the use of zinc phthalocyanide compounds, i.e., hydrophobic sensitizers) to generate reactive oxygen singlets when exposed to an appropriate light spectrum (p0026), JONES ‘312 is deficient in explicitly disclosing zinc hexadecafluorophthalocyanine.
However, XIE teaches the use of zinc hexadecafluorophthalocyanine as a photosensitizer in a photodynamic treatment (p0101). The nature of the problem to be solved would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective, individual functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP §2143(I)A). Thus, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize zinc hexadecafluorophthalocyanine as a sensitizer as taught by XIE for the system made obvious by modified JONES.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12, 13, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Ryan B Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772