DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2024 and 04/09/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al., US 20240205775 A1 (hereinafter “He”) in view of Chockalingam et al., US 20160360462 (hereinafter “Chockalingam”).
Regarding Claim 1, He teaches a network handover method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
determining whether a set of event types includes at least one first event type in response to determining to hand over the electronic device from a first wireless network to a second wireless network, the set of event types including types of events to be reported to a first base station by the electronic device, the at least one first event type being associated with network handover for the electronic device (He, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 147-150, Fig. 18, terminal 1810, base station 1820-1, 1820-2, handover may be performed by adjusting a threshold under condition that QoS is maintained, measurement report trigger threshold [MRTTHD]; Page 13, Paragraphs 161-162, Fig. 21, S2101, terminal receives information related to threshold of signal strength for triggering measurement report), the electronic device being connected to the first base station through a radio resource control connection (He, Page 5, Paragraph 72, RRC), the first base station corresponding to the first wireless network, and a second base station corresponding to the second wireless network being detected by the electronic device (He discloses handover from a first base station to second base station but does not specify each base station corresponding to a respective wireless network, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 149-150, Fig. 18, terminal 1810, first base station 1820-1, second base station 1820-2);
determining whether a measurement signal measured by the electronic device is capable of triggering a first event of the at least one first event type in response to determining that the set of event types includes the at least one first event type, the measurement signal of the electronic device indicating one of,
both a signal of the first wireless network and a signal of the second wireless network, or the signal of the second wireless network (He, Page 12, Paragraph 150-154, Fig. 19, threshold of signal strength for handover initiation may be adjusted according to a type of events to which threshold is applied);
modifying the measurement signal to obtain a first modified measurement signal in response to determining that the measurement signal is not capable of triggering the first event, the first modified measurement signal being capable of triggering the first event (He, Page 13, Paragraph 158, MRTTHD adjustment value may be selected by terminal); and
transmitting a first measurement report to the first base station, the first measurement report being based on the first modified measurement signal (He, Pages 13-14, Paragraph 163, Fig. 21, S2103, transmit measurement report to base station based on information related to threshold).
He fails to fully teach the limitation:
the first base station corresponding to the first wireless network, and a second base station corresponding to the second wireless network being detected by the electronic device
However, Chockalingam further teaches the limitation:
the first base station corresponding to the first wireless network, and a second base station corresponding to the second wireless network being detected by the electronic device (Chockalingam, Page 5, Paragraphs 32-33, heterogenous wireless communication system)
Although He addresses the remaining limitations of claim 1, Chockalingam demonstrates the following limitations of a teaches a network handover method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
determining whether a set of event types includes at least one first event type in response to determining to hand over the electronic device from a first wireless network to a second wireless network, the set of event types including types of events to be reported to a first base station by the electronic device, the at least one first event type being associated with network handover for the electronic device (Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 48-51, Fig. 5, UE 502, serving eNodeB 506, eNodeB of the neighbor cell 504; Table 1, measurement reporting events), the electronic device being connected to the first base station through a radio resource control connection, the first base station corresponding to the first wireless network, and a second base station corresponding to the second wireless network being detected by the electronic device (Chockalingam, Page 5, Paragraphs 32-33, heterogenous wireless communication system);
determining whether a measurement signal measured by the electronic device is capable of triggering a first event of the at least one first event type in response to determining that the set of event types includes the at least one first event type, the measurement signal of the electronic device indicating one of,
both a signal of the first wireless network and a signal of the second wireless network, or the signal of the second wireless network (Chockalingam, Page 7, Paragraph 50, measured metrics of serving eNodeB, neighbor base stations, identify breach of defined handover/reselection threshold[s]);
modifying the measurement signal to obtain a first modified measurement signal in response to determining that the measurement signal is not capable of triggering the first event, the first modified measurement signal being capable of triggering the first event (Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 53-58, the wireless communication device modifies measurement report values to indicate that event condition[s] met); and
transmitting a first measurement report to the first base station, the first measurement report being based on the first modified measurement signal (Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraph 56, measurement report reported to serving cell to trigger handover).
Chockalingam and He are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of controlling handoff arrangements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have He to incorporate the teachings of Chockalingam for the first base station corresponding to the first wireless network, and a second base station corresponding to the second wireless network being detected by the electronic device. Doing so would broaden the capability of handover arrangements with consideration to network-defined thresholds in a heterogenous wireless communication system.
Regarding Claim 9, He in view of Chockalingam teaches a network handover method, the method comprising:
determining, by an electronic device, whether a set of event types includes at least one first event type in response to determining that the electronic device is to hand over from a first wireless network to a second wireless network, the set of event types including types of events to be reported to a first base station by the electronic device, the at least one first event type being associated with network handover for the electronic device, the electronic device being connected to the first base station through a radio resource control connection, the first base station corresponding to the first wireless network, and a second base station corresponding to the second wireless network being detected by the electronic device (He, Pages 11-13, Paragraphs 147-150, adjusting a threshold under condition that QoS is maintained, measurement report trigger threshold [MRTTHD]; Paragraphs 161-162, terminal receives information related to threshold of signal strength for triggering measurement report; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 48-51, UE 502, serving eNodeB 506, eNodeB of the neighbor cell 504; Table 1, measurement reporting events);
determining, by the electronic device, whether a measurement signal measured by the electronic device is capable of triggering a first event of the at least one first event type, the measurement signal indicating one of,
both a signal of the first wireless network and a signal of the second wireless network, or the signal of the second wireless network (He, Page 12, Paragraph 150-154, threshold of signal strength for handover initiation may be adjusted according to a type of events to which threshold is applied; Chockalingam, Page 7, Paragraph 50, measured metrics of serving eNodeB, neighbor base stations, identify breach of defined handover/reselection threshold[s]);
modifying, by the electronic device, the measurement signal to enable the modified measurement signal to trigger the first event in response to determining that the measurement signal is not capable of triggering the first event (He, Page 13, Paragraph 158, MRTTHD adjustment value may be selected by terminal; Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 53-58, the wireless communication device modifies measurement report values to indicate that event condition[s] met);
transmitting, by the electronic device, a measurement report to the first base station, the measurement report being based on the modified measurement signal (He, Pages 13-14, Paragraph 163, transmit measurement report to base station based on information related to threshold; Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraph 56, measurement report reported to serving cell to trigger handover);
generating, by the first base station, network handover indication information based on the measurement report in response to receiving the measurement report; and
transmitting, by the first base station, the network handover indication information to the electronic device (He, Pages 13-14, Paragraphs 163-164, terminal receives handover command generated in response to base station receiving measurement report; Chockalingam, Page 7, Paragraph 48, serving node receiving measurement report triggers handover).
Regarding Claim 10, He in view of Chockalingam teaches an electronic device, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to (He, Page 6, Paragraphs 80-84, Fig. 4, terminal, control unit 420; Chockalingam, Page 2, Paragraph 20, UE; Page 6, Paragraphs 40-41, Fig.4, processing circuitry 402),
determine whether a set of event types includes at least one first event type in response to determining to hand over the electronic device from a first wireless network to a second wireless network, the set of event types including types of events to be reported to a first base station by the electronic device, the at least one first event type being associated with network handover for the electronic device, the electronic device being connected to the first base station through a radio resource control connection, the first base station corresponding to the first wireless network, and a second base station corresponding to the second wireless network being detected by the electronic device (He, Pages 11-13, Paragraphs 147-150, adjusting a threshold under condition that QoS is maintained, measurement report trigger threshold [MRTTHD]; Paragraphs 161-162, terminal receives information related to threshold of signal strength for triggering measurement report; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 48-51, UE 502, serving eNodeB 506, eNodeB of the neighbor cell 504; Table 1, measurement reporting events),
determine whether a measurement signal measured by the electronic device is capable of triggering a first event of the at least one first event type in response to determining that the set of event types includes the at least one first event type, the measurement signal of the electronic device indicating one of,
both a signal of the first wireless network and a signal of the second wireless network, or
the signal of the second wireless network (He, Page 12, Paragraph 150-154, threshold of signal strength for handover initiation may be adjusted according to a type of events to which threshold is applied; Chockalingam, Page 7, Paragraph 50, measured metrics of serving eNodeB, neighbor base stations, identify breach of defined handover/reselection threshold[s]),
modify the measurement signal to obtain a first modified measurement signal in response to determining that the measurement signal is not capable of triggering the first event, the first modified measurement signal being capable of triggering the first event (He, Page 13, Paragraph 158, MRTTHD adjustment value may be selected by terminal; Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 53-58, the wireless communication device modifies measurement report values to indicate that event condition[s] met), and
transmit a first measurement report to the first base station, the first measurement report being based on the first modified measurement signal (He, Pages 13-14, Paragraphs 163-164, terminal receives handover command generated in response to base station receiving measurement report; Chockalingam, Page 7, Paragraph 48, serving node receiving measurement report triggers handover).
Regarding Claim 19, it differs from Claim 1 only in that it discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement the network handover method of claim 1. (He and Chockalingam teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in He, Page 7, Paragraphs 46-47 and Chockalingam, Page 1, Paragraph 13). It recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and He in view of Chockalingam discloses them.
Regarding Claim 2, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 1. He does not teach the method of claim 2. Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one first event type comprises a B1 type or a B2 type defined in 3GPP specification 38.331 (Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, Table 1, measurement report, measurement reporting events B1, B2).
Regarding Claim 3, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one first event type includes the B1 type, the measurement signal is a signal Mn of the second wireless network, and the modifying comprises:
determining whether the signal Mn is greater than a value P1, and
modifying the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Mn to trigger a B1 event in response to determining that the signal Mn is greater than the value P1 (He, Page 12, Page 12, Paragraph 150-154, threshold of signal strength for handover initiation may be adjusted according to a type of events to which threshold is applied; Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 52-58, Fig. 6A, Steps 608-616, serving cell SC, neighbor cell NC, network-defined threshold[s]);
the at least one first event type includes the B2 type, the measurement signal is a signal Ms of the first wireless network and the signal Mn of the second wireless network, and the modifying comprises:
determining whether the signal Mn is greater than the value P1, and
modifying the signal Ms or the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Ms or the modified signal Mn to trigger a B2 event in response to determining that the signal Mn is greater than the value P1 (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, relationship between increase/decrease of threshold time, advance/delay of handover time may be define and operated according to type of events which a measurement report deals with; Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 52-58, Fig. 6A, Step 612); or
the at least one first event type includes both of the B1 type and the B2 type, the measurement signal is a signal Mn of the second wireless network, and the modifying comprises:
determining whether the signal Mn is greater than the value P1, and
modifying the measurement signal according to a rule to enable the first modified measurement signal to trigger the B1 event or the B2 event, in response to determining that the signal Mn is greater than the value P1 (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152; Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraphs 56-58, Fig. 6A, Step 618).
Regarding Claim 4, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the modifying the measurement signal according to the rule comprises:
comparing the signal Mn to a first threshold T1 and a second threshold T2, the first threshold T1 being defined in the B1 event, and the second threshold T2 being defined in the B2 event; and
modifying the measurement signal based on a result of the comparing to enable the first modified measurement signal to trigger the B1 event or the B2 event (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, comparing signal strength of base station according to type of even to which threshold[s] applied; Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraphs 54-56, comparison of channel quality metrics).
Regarding Claim 5, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the signal Mn, the first threshold T1 and the second threshold T2 each represents a corresponding value; and
the modifying the measurement signal based on the result of the comparing comprises:
modifying the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Mn to trigger the B1 event in response to T1-Mn not being greater than T2-Mn, and
modifying the signal Ms or the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Ms or the modified signal Mn to trigger the B2 event in response to T1-Mn being greater than T2-Mn (He, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 149-152, threshold value, adjustments, according to event[s]; Chockalingam, Page 4, Paragraphs 26-28, event condition triggering handover, UE can account for event condition triggering handover from serving cell to neighbor cell, modification of measurement signal parameters).
Regarding Claim 6, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether the set of event types includes at least one second event type in response to determining that the set of event types does not include the at least one first event type (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, measurement report events; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, Table 1, measurement report, measurement reporting event A2);
determining whether the measurement signal is capable of triggering a second event of the at least one second event type in response to determining that the set of event types includes the at least one second event type, the second event indicating a worsening of a signal of the first base station (He, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 149-150, Fig. 18, handover may be performed by adjusting a threshold so as to maximize battery efficiency of a terminal under a condition that QoS is maintained);
modifying the measurement signal to obtain a second modified measurement signal in response to determining that the measurement signal is not capable of triggering the second event, the second modified measurement signal being capable of triggering the second event (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, relationship between increase/decrease of threshold time, advance/delay of handover time may be define and operated according to type of events; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, Table 1, measurement report, measurement reporting event A2); and
transmitting a second measurement report to the first base station, the second measurement report being based on the second modified measurement signal (He, Pages 13-14, Paragraph 163, Fig. 21, S2103, transmit measurement report to base station based on information related to threshold; Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraph 56, measurement report reported to serving cell to trigger handover).
Regarding Claim 7, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the at least one second event type includes an A2 type defined in 3GPP specification 38.331 (Chockalingam, Page 8, Table 1, measurement reporting event A2);
the measurement signal is a signal Ms of the first wireless network (He, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 149-150, Fig. 18, handover trigger time capable of maximizing battery efficiency of the terminal; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, Table 1, measurement reporting events, A2); and
the modifying the measurement signal to enable the second modified measurement signal to trigger the second event comprises modifying the signal Ms to enable the modified signal Ms to trigger an A2 event (He, Page 12, Paragraphs 152, relationship between increase/decrease of threshold time, advance/delay of handover time may be defined and operated according to type of events which a measurement report deals with).
Regarding Claim 8, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the electronic device is to hand over from the first wireless network to the second wireless network based on the second wireless network being searched by the electronic device and at least one of the following conditions is met,
a battery level of the electronic device being below a power threshold,
a data throughput of the electronic device being less than a throughput threshold, or
a screen of the electronic device being in a closed state,
wherein a power consumption of the electronic device connected to the first wireless network is greater than a power consumption of the electronic device connected to the second wireless network (He, Page 13, Paragraph 158, data throughput less than predetermined value; Page 13, Paragraph 158, data throughput, remaining battery power, state of terminal; Chockalingam, Page 8, Paragraph 52, A2 event satisfied).
Regarding Claim 11, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 10. He does not teach the electronic device of claim 11. Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the at least one first event type comprises a B1 type or a B2 type defined in 3GPP specification 38.331 (Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, Table 1, measurement report, measurement reporting events B1, B2).
Regarding Claim 12, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the at least one first event type includes the B1 type, the measurement signal is a signal Mn of the second wireless network, and the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine whether the signal Mn is greater than a value P1, and
modify the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Mn to trigger a B1 event in response to determining that the signal Mn is greater than the value P1 (He, Page 12, Page 12, Paragraph 150-154, threshold of signal strength for handover initiation may be adjusted according to a type of events to which threshold is applied; Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 52-58, Fig. 6A, Steps 608-616, serving cell SC, neighbor cell NC, network-defined threshold[s]);
the at least one first event type includes the B2 type, the measurement signal is a signal Ms of the first wireless network and the signal Mn of the second wireless network, and the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine whether the signal Mn is greater than the value P1, and
modify the signal Ms or the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Ms or the modified signal Mn to trigger a B2 event in response to determining that the signal Mn is greater than the value P1 (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, relationship between increase/decrease of threshold time, advance/delay of handover time may be define and operated according to type of events which a measurement report deals with; Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 52-58, Fig. 6A, Step 612); or
the at least one first event type includes both of the B1 type and the B2 type, the measurement signal is a signal Mn of the second wireless network, and the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine whether the signal Mn is greater than the value P1, and
modify the measurement signal to enable the first modified measurement signal to trigger a B1 event or a B2 event in response to determining that the signal Mn is greater than the value P1 (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152; Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraphs 56-58, Fig. 6A, Step 618).
Regarding Claim 13, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the at least one first event type includes both of the B1 type and the B2 type (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152; Chockalingam, Pages 8-9, Paragraphs 52-58, Fig. 6A, Step 612); and
the processing circuitry is configured to:
compare the signal Mn to a first threshold T1 and a second threshold T2, the first threshold T1 being defined in the B1 event, and the second threshold T2 being defined in the B2 event, and
modify the measurement signal based on a result of the comparison to enable the first modified measurement signal to trigger the B1 event or the B2 event (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, comparing signal strength of base station according to type of even to which threshold[s] applied; Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraphs 54-56, comparison of channel quality metrics).
Regarding Claim 14, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the signal Mn, the first threshold T1 and the second threshold T2 each represents a corresponding value; and
the processing circuitry is configured to:
modify the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Mn to trigger the B1 event in response to T1-Mn not being greater than T2-Mn, and
modify the signal Ms or the signal Mn to enable the modified signal Ms or the modified signal Mn to trigger the B2 event in response to T1-Mn being greater than T2-Mn (He, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 149-152, threshold value, adjustments, according to event[s]; Chockalingam, Page 4, Paragraphs 26-28, event condition triggering handover, UE can account for event condition triggering handover from serving cell to neighbor cell, modification of measurement signal parameters).
Regarding Claim 15, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine whether the set of event types includes at least one second event type in response to determining that the set of event types does not include the at least one first event type (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, measurement report events; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, Table 1, measurement report, measurement reporting event A2);
determine whether the measurement signal is capable of triggering a second event the at least one second event type in response to determining that the set of event types includes the at least one second event type, the second event indicating a worsening of a signal of the first base station (He, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 149-150, Fig. 18, handover may be performed by adjusting a threshold so as to maximize battery efficiency of a terminal under a condition that QoS is maintained);
modify the measurement signal to obtain a second modified measurement signal in response to determining that the measurement signal is not capable of triggering the second event, the second modified measurement signal being capable of triggering the second event (He, Page 12, Paragraph 152, relationship between increase/decrease of threshold time, advance/delay of handover time may be define and operated according to type of events; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, measurement report, measurement reporting event A2; and
transmit a second measurement report to the first base station, the second measurement report being based on the second modified measurement signal (He, Pages 13-14, Paragraph 163, Fig. 21, S2103, transmit measurement report to base station based on information related to threshold; Chockalingam, Page 9, Paragraph 56, measurement report reported to serving cell to trigger handover).
Regarding Claim 16, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the at least one second event type includes an A2 type defined in 3GPP specification 38.331 (Chockalingam, Page 8, Table 1, measurement reporting event A2);
the measurement signal is a signal Ms of the first wireless network (He, Pages 11-12, Paragraphs 149-150, Fig. 18, handover trigger time capable of maximizing battery efficiency of the terminal; Chockalingam, Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 50-51, Table 1, measurement reporting events, A2); and
the processing circuitry is configured to modify the signal Ms to enable the modified signal Ms to trigger an A2 event (He, Page 12, Paragraphs 152, relationship between increase/decrease of threshold time, advance/delay of handover time may be defined and operated according to type of events which a measurement report deals with).
Regarding Claim 17, He in view of Chockalingam teaches the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
determine that the electronic device is to hand over from the first wireless network to the second wireless network based on the second wireless network being searched by the electronic device and at least one of the following conditions is met,
a battery level of the electronic device being below a power threshold,
a data throughput of the electronic device being less than a throughput threshold, or
a screen of the electronic device being in a closed state,
wherein a power consumption of the electronic device connected to the first wireless network is greater than a power consumption of the electronic device connected to the second wireless network (He, Page 13, Paragraph 158, data throughput less than predetermined value; Page 13, Paragraph 158, data throughput, remaining battery power, state of terminal; Chockalingam, Page 8, Paragraph 52, A2 event satisfied).
Conclusion
/GABRIELLE N DAI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2681
/AKWASI M SARPONG/ SPE, Art Unit 2681