DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 13-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,950,923. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are directed to an obvious broadening of a mammal implanted controller in combination with a mobile device and remote server associated with a communications network for providing treatment and data analysis as claimed in claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,950,923.
Claims 13-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,238. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are directed to an obvious broadening of a mammal implanted controller in combination with a mobile device and remote server associated with a communications network for providing treatment and data analysis as claimed in claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,238.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jha et al (US 2013/0247194).
Regarding claim 13, Jha discloses a bioelectronic medical system for treating a medical condition, comprising:
a controller 120a-120c comprising an insulin pump and a pacemaker, see paragraphs [0007] and [0048] implantable within a patient to monitor bioelectronic signals indicating a health condition of the patient, the controller 120a-120c having a probe connectable to a target organ or a region within the patient and associated with at least one of: a sensor 240, a neurocode treatment module, and a communication module, see paragraph [0089];
at least one of: a mobile device 130 and a resident treatment pod 160 external to and associated with the patient and adapted to communicate with the controller 120a-120c;
a remote server 140 that receives recorded data representing the bioelectronic signals from the controller 120a-120c over a digital data communication network 150 from at least one of the mobile device 130 and the resident treatment pod 160 associated with the patient and communicating with the controller 120a-120c;
wherein the remote server 140 evaluates the bioelectronic signals and provides neurocoded treatment signals to cause a change in a biological function of an organ of the patient through at least one of the mobile device 130 and the resident treatment pod 160 for further transmission to the controller 120a-120c, wherein a medical condition of the patient is treated via administration of the neurocoded treatment signals to the patient to cause the change in the biological function of the organ of the patient by the controller and wherein at least one of the controller 120a-120c and the remote server 140 engage in ongoing analysis of the bioelectronic signals, see paragraph [0091].
Regarding claim 14, Jha discloses the mobile device comprises at least one of a smartphone 130 and a neurocode treatment module.
Regarding claim 15, Jha discloses short-range data communications comprising Bluetooth/ZigBee with the controller 120a-120c and communications with the remote server 140 via a data network to obtain periodic remote analysis and access to neurocodes for application as a medical treatment to the patient based on the periodic remote analysis for treating the medical condition, see paragraphs [0089] and [0091].
Regarding claim 16, Jha discloses the resident treatment pod comprises an electronic device 160 associated with an environment containing the patient and a neurocode treatment module and short-range data communication with the controller and data network communications with the remote server 140 via a data network to obtain periodic remote analysis and access to neurocodes for application as a medical treatment to the patient for the medical condition of the patient based on the periodic remote analysis, see paragraphs [0089] and [0091].
Regarding claim 19, Jha discloses method for providing neurocode medical treatments to a patient, the method comprising:
obtaining real-time monitoring of a patient condition of a patient in the form of a bioelectronic signal by a controller 120a-120c implanted in the patient utilizing communications to at least one of a mobile device 130 and a resident treatment pod 160 provided in association with the patient;
providing recordings of the bioelectronic signal representing real-time monitoring from the at least one of the mobile device 130 and the resident treatment pod 160 to a remote server 140 via a data communications network 150 for analysis of the patient condition represented by the bioelectronics signal, the patient condition comprising a medical condition of the patient, see paragraph [0115];
providing the at least one of the mobile device 130 and the resident treatment pod 160 with treatment updates in the form of neurocodes from the remote treatment server 140 over the data communications network 150 for local transmission to the controller 120a-120c from the at least one of the mobile device 130 and the resident treatment pod 160 for application to the patient in the form of at least one neurocode for administration to the patient from the controller 120a-120c based on the analysis by the remote server 140; and
providing neurocodes as treatment from the controller 120a-120c as feedback in response to the real-time monitoring and remote treatment server 140 analysis, wherein the treatment is provided to cause a change in biological function of an organ of the patient, see paragraph [0091].
Regarding claim 20, Jha discloses the controller 120a-120c continues monitoring the patient for condition changes and reports changes in condition to at least one of the mobile device 130, a resident treatment pod 160, and a remote treatment server 140 when change is detected to obtain feedback treatment in the form of neurocodes, see paragraph [0091].
Regarding claim 21, Jha discloses a method of treating a patient having a medical condition, the method comprising:
reading a medical condition of a patient in real-time with a controller 120a-120c implanted in the patient, wherein the controller 120a-120c monitors the medical condition of the patient, the medical condition associated with an organ of a patient; and
custom delivering individualized bioelectric therapy comprising at least one bioelectric signal to the patient and/or the organ of the patient in response to the reading,
wherein the bioelectric therapy acts to cause a change in a biological function of the organ of the patient, see paragraphs [0041] and [0091].
Regarding claim 22, Jha discloses the individualized bioelectric therapy is delivered to the patient and/or organ by a device comprising:
a probe in the controller 120a-120c for determining a resident electrical signal found in the organ;
a computer system comprising a processor for modifying each determined resident electrical signal to form at least one electrical signal unique to each determined resident electrical signal,
data storage for storing all bioelectronic signals, see paragraph [0177]; and
a probe in the controller 120a-120c for applying a bioelectronic signal to the organ for the bioelectronic therapy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahony et al (US 2013/0321168).
Regarding claim 17, Jha meets all of the claimed limitations except for the resident treatment pod 106 being installed within at least one of: a treatment facility, a hospital or a private residence in association with a patient comprising the patient.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the doctor to use the resident treatment pod 106 as a smartphone while treating patients is a hospital or treatment facility because it is well known to carry a smartphone to such facilities.
Regarding claim 18, Jha meets all of the claimed limitations except for the controller 120a-120c being rechargeable electromagnetically while implanted in the patient.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to electromagnetically recharge the implanted controller 120a-120c because it is well known to recharge device batteries electromagnetically and implanted medical devices that use battery power are well known to be recharged using electromagnetic energy to avoid removing the implanted device while recharging.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fullam (US 2015/0130613) and Mahony et al (US 2013/0321168) disclose related bioelectronic medical systems comprising controllers with wireless communication systems.
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
2/20/2026