DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, “ad” appears to be a typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chase (US 20250216894 A1).
For claim 1. Chase discloses A shade and sound enclosure for a cell phone (intended use) comprising, a base enclosure portion (base 10 of the case) and a top enclosure portion (lid 12 of the case) hinged together (Abstract, [0009], [0016], [0046]-[0048], figure 1, lid 12 of the case and base 10 of the case), said base enclosure portion (base 10 of the case) having upstanding sidewalls and interconnecting end walls, said top enclosure portion (lid 12 of the case) having upstanding sidewalls at interconnecting end walls there between, a sound panel (top visor panel 14, e.g. blocking surrounding sound noises) hinged from one of said top portion's sidewalls movable from a first position to a second position, a pair of oppositely disposed sound panel supports (lower side panels 18b) hinged from said top portion.
For claim 2. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein said base enclosure and said top enclosure are of equal registration dimension and aligned with one another when in hinged closed position (figures 1-5).
For claim 3. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein said sound panel and said sound panel supports are configured so that they can fold within said top enclosure portion (figures 1-5, [0048]).
For claim 5. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein the dimensions of said sound panel is less than the known dimension of said top enclosure portion (figures 1-5).
For claim 7. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein said base and top enclosure portions are of a rectangular dimensional configuration (figures 1-5).
For claim 8. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein said sound panel supports folding sequentially in both collapsing and deployment positions (figures 1-5).
For claim 9. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein said top enclosure portion is movable from a first closed position in registration on said base enclosure portion to a second open position in angular orientation to said base enclosure portion (figures 1-5).
For claim 10. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein said sound panel first position is folded within said top enclosure portion and said second position is hinged from said top enclosure to one of said base portion sidewalls ad said respective sound panel supports (figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chase (US 20250216894 A1) in view of Myles (US 5887777 A).
For claim 4. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase discloses wherein said sound panel and said sound panel supports upon deployment will define a shade (Abstract, figure 1).
But fails to mention sound transparent enclosure.
This teaching is disclosed by Myles (figures 2, 3, 6, column 4 lines 18-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Myles into the art of Chase as to allow more speaker sound through the panel to improve user experience.
For claim 6. The shade and sound enclosure set forth in claim 1 Chase fails to disclose wherein said sound panel has a sound transparent surface.
This teaching is disclosed by Myles (figures 2, 3, 6, column 4 lines 18-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Myles into the art of Chase as to allow more speaker sound through the panel to improve user experience.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
January 29, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643