DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1, 3, and 5-21 are pending in the application, claims 14 and 15 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 2 and 4 have been cancelled. Claims 16-21 have been added.
Amendments to the claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 14, filed on 5 June 2026, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Answers to Applicants' Arguments
Applicants' arguments in the response filed 5 June 2026, regarding the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn in view of the applicants' arguments and amendments to the claims. However, upon further consideration and search a new grounds of rejection has been made in view of Shingo et al. (JP 2005-088520 A).
New and Repeated Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0168351 A1) in view of Shingo et al. (JP 2005-088520 A).
Regarding Claim 1: Cho discloses a home appliance (e.g., refrigerator (ref. #100), oven (ref. #200), and/or dishwasher (ref. #300)) including a main body (ref. #110, #210, or #310) provided to form an exterior of the home appliance, and a panel (ref. #1) for the home appliance configured to form at least one surface of outer surfaces of the main body or doors of the home appliance, wherein the panel for the home appliance includes a base material layer (ref. #10) formed of a metal material, a pattern layer (ref. #20) formed on the base material layer, a color layer (ref. #30) disposed on the pattern layer to develop a color, a coupling layer (ref. #40) applied on the pattern layer to couple the base material layer and the color layer, and a protective layer (ref. #50) disposed on the color layer (figures 1 to 6C, [0002]-[0004], [0011]-[0014], [0023], [0028], [0043]-[0051], [0060]-[0063], [0067]-[0074] of Cho). Cho also discloses that the home appliance (e.g., refrigerator (ref. #100), oven (ref. #200), and/or dishwasher (ref. #300)) may include a cabinet (ref. #111, #211, or #311) having storage compartments (not shown), and doors (ref. #112, #212, or #312) rotatably installed at the cabinet to open and close the storage compartments and configured to form the exterior together with the cabinet, wherein the door can form a front exterior of the home appliance (figures 1 to 3 and [0044]-[0046] of Cho). Specifically, Cho provides for --a home appliance, comprising: a main body having an opening; a door configured to open and close the opening; and a color panel on at least one of the main body or the door, the color panel including: a base panel including: a front surface, and an uneven pattern portion on the front surface; and a color layer on the uneven pattern portion--.
Cho fails to disclose --the uneven pattern portion on the front surface, including at least one of an embossed pattern including an upper surface and an engraved pattern including a bottom surface; a color layer including: main ink dots having a main ink dot size, and sub ink dots having a sub ink dot size that is smaller than the main ink dot size, wherein at least one sub ink dot of the sub ink dots is between each two adjacent main ink dots of the main ink dots, wherein with the uneven pattern portion including the embossed pattern, at least a portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of the upper surface of the embossed pattern, and at least another portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of a lower portion of the embossed pattern that is below the upper surface of the embossed pattern, and wherein with the uneven pattern portion including the engraved pattern, at least a portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of the bottom surface of the engraved pattern, and at least another portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of an upper portion of the engraved pattern that is above the bottom surface of the engraved pattern--.
Shingo discloses a decorative building panel having a full-color printed layer on the design surface of the building panel, wherein full-color print layer is formed from a pattern of colored dots of inks, wherein the surface of the building panel is an uneven surface (i.e., a brick pattern or tile pattern), and wherein the color pattern comprises colored dots and auxiliary dots arranged in a pattern with one auxiliary dot between four adjacent colored dots, and the auxiliary dots being bigger than the color dots (figures 1, 6, 9, [0011]-[0017], [0019], [0037], and [0050] of Shingo). (In the instant case, the constant pattern of Shingo would result in some of the smaller "sub ink dots" being disposed along a periphery of the upper surface of the embossed patter, the lower portion of the embossed pattern, the bottom surface of the engraved pattern, and/or the upper portion of the engraved pattern.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the coating of Shingo with the home appliance of Cho in order to have --the uneven pattern portion on the front surface, including at least one of an embossed pattern including an upper surface and an engraved pattern including a bottom surface; a color layer including: main ink dots having a main ink dot size, and sub ink dots having a sub ink dot size that is smaller than the main ink dot size, wherein at least one sub ink dot of the sub ink dots is between each two adjacent main ink dots of the main ink dots, wherein with the uneven pattern portion including the embossed pattern, at least a portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of the upper surface of the embossed pattern, and at least another portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of a lower portion of the embossed pattern that is below the upper surface of the embossed pattern, and wherein with the uneven pattern portion including the engraved pattern, at least a portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of the bottom surface of the engraved pattern, and at least another portion of the sub ink dots is applied along a periphery of an upper portion of the engraved pattern that is above the bottom surface of the engraved pattern--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the coating of Shingo with the home appliance of Cho, from the stand-point of manufacturing decorative building panels that enable accurate full-color printing of desired color tones, with improved production efficiency and significantly reduced production costs ([0011] of Shingo).
Regarding Claim 3: Cho in view of Shingo discloses that with the uneven pattern portion including the embossed pattern, the embossed pattern further includes a lateral side between the upper surface of the embossed pattern and the lower portion of the embossed patter, and some of the sub ink dots being on the lateral sides of the embossed pattern (figures 1, 6, and 9 of Shingo). (In the instant case, there would be at least some of the sub ink dots disposed on the later side.).
Regarding Claim 5: Cho in view of Shingo discloses that with the uneven pattern portion including the engraved pattern, the engraved pattern further includes a lateral side between the bottom surface of the engraved pattern and the upper portion of the engraved patter, and some of the sub ink dots being on the lateral sides of the engraved pattern (figures 1, 6, and 9 of Shingo). (In the instant case, there would be at least some of the sub ink dots disposed on the later side.)
Regarding Claim 8: Cho in view of Shingo discloses that the color panel further includes a transparent layer (ref. #15; "clear layer") at least partially covering the color layer (figure 6 and [0045] of Shingo).
Regarding Claim 9: Cho in view of Shingo discloses that a shape of the transparent layer corresponds to a shape of the uneven pattern portion (figure 4 of Cho; figure 6 of Shingo).
Regarding Claim 11: Cho in view of Shingo discloses that the base panel further includes a coating layer (ref. #40, "coupling layer" of Cho; ref. #131, "primer layer" of Shingo) on the front surface, and the color layer is on the coating layer (figure 4 and [0060] of Cho; figure 6 and [0043] of Shingo).
Regarding Claim 13: Cho in view of Shingo discloses that a shape of the coating layer corresponds to a shape of the uneven pattern portion (figure 4 of Cho; figure 6 of Shingo).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0168351 A1) in view of Shingo et al. (JP 2005-088520 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schum et al. (US 2015/0367543 A1).
Cho in view of Boniface is relied upon as stated above.
Regarding Claim 6: Cho in view of Boniface failed to disclose --the height difference between the upper surface of the embossed pattern and the lower portion of the embossed pattern is 30 micrometers or more, and/or a height difference between the bottom surface of the engraved pattern and the upper portion of the engraved pattern is 30 micrometers or more--.
Schum discloses three-dimensional patterns in a plastic molding, wherein the surface has protuberances and/or depressions which can have a height/depth from about 10 µm to a few centimeters ([0014]-[0015] of Kim); which overlaps the presently claimed range of --30 micrometers or more--. Schum differs from the claims by failing to disclose an anticipatory example or a range that is sufficiently specific to anticipate the claimed range. However, it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Schum, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP §2144.05. Schum further discloses that the patterned sheet can be combined with pigmentation and additional printing or coating processes ([0030] of Schum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the three-dimensional pattern of Schum with the home appliance disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo in order to have --the height difference be 30 micrometers or more--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the three-dimensional pattern of Schum with the home appliance disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo, from the stand-point of achieving particular optical effects, functional coatings, and/or decorative coatings ([0002] of Schum).
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0168351 A1) in view of Shingo et al. (JP 2005-088520 A) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Boniface (US 2018/0056671 A1).
Cho in view of Shingo is relied upon as stated above.
Regarding Claim 7: Cho in view of Shingo failed to disclose --the main ink dots and the sub ink dots include a material that is curable by ultraviolet light--.
Boniface discloses a surface coating, the coating comprising at least two superposed layers (ref. #6 and #6'), the layers comprising a plurality of droplets (ref. #4, #4', and #5) arranged in each layer according to a predetermined pattern (ref. #7 and #7'), wherein the coating can be formed in reliefs on an apparent face (ref. #1') of a body (ref. #1), and wherein the first layer is a colored layer (ref. #6) (figures 1A to 2D, [0021] [0024]-[0027], [0034]-[0037], and [0043] of Boniface). Boniface also discloses that it is possible to deposit droplets (ref. #4) of small size in an aligned manner along the outer lateral edges of each new layer (ref. #6) of coloring substance, the droplets thus forming a peripheral frame for positioning and holding larger droplets (ref. #4'), and that it is possible to deposit droplets (ref. #4) of small size in rows between adjacent rows of larger droplets (ref. #4') (figures 3A to 4C, [0028], [029], [0065], and [0067] of Boniface). Boniface further discloses that the droplets can be from UV inks (e.g., white, black, cyan, yellow, magenta) that can be cured with UV light ([0067] of Boniface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the UV inks of Boniface as the main ink dot material and sub ink dot material of the color layer disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo in order to have --the main ink dots and the sub ink dots include a material that is curable by ultraviolet light--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the UV inks of Boniface as the main ink dot material and sub ink dot material of the color layer disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo, from the stand-point of having a coating or surface decoration capable of providing visual effects, namely high color intensity, and a certain depth of field or 3D effect ([0018] of Boniface). (Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the UV inks of Boniface as the main ink dot material and the sub ink dot material of the color layer disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.)
Regarding Claim 12: Cho in view of Shingo failed to disclose that --the coating layer has a white color--.
Boniface further discloses a first layer of a bonding primer (e.g., white) ([0052] of Boniface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the white primer layer of Boniface as the coating layer (i.e., primer layer) disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo in order to have --the coating layer have a white color--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the white primer layer of Boniface as the coating layer (i.e., primer layer) disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo, from the stand-point of having a coating or surface decoration capable of providing visual effects, namely high color intensity, and a certain depth of field or 3D effect ([0018] of Boniface). (Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the white primer layer of Boniface as the coating layer (i.e., primer layer) disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0168351 A1) in view of Shingo et al. (JP 2005-088520 A) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2008/0053334 A1).
Cho in view of Shingo is relied upon as stated above.
Regarding Claim 10: Cho in view of Shingo discloses a transparent layer, but fails to disclose --the transparent layer includes a transparent ink--.
Kim discloses printing a transparent ink on a surface of an object on which a color paint is printed ([0014]-[0015] of Kim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the transparent ink of Kim with the transparent layer of the home appliance disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo in order to have --the transparent layer include a transparent ink--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the transparent ink with the transparent layer of the home appliance disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo, from the stand-point of having a surface of an object representing different textures and different external glosses without changing the color of the object ([0013] of Kim).
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0168351 A1) in view of Shingo et al. (JP 2005-088520 A) and Kwon et al. (EP 3623168 A1).
Regarding Claim 16: Cho discloses a home appliance (e.g., refrigerator (ref. #100), oven (ref. #200), and/or dishwasher (ref. #300)) including a main body (ref. #110, #210, or #310) provided to form an exterior of the home appliance, and a panel (ref. #1) for the home appliance configured to form at least one surface of outer surfaces of the main body or doors of the home appliance, wherein the panel for the home appliance includes a base material layer (ref. #10) formed of a metal material, a pattern layer (ref. #20) formed on the base material layer, a color layer (ref. #30) disposed on the pattern layer to develop a color, a coupling layer (ref. #40) applied on the pattern layer to couple the base material layer and the color layer, and a protective layer (ref. #50) disposed on the color layer (figures 1 to 6C, [0002]-[0004], [0011]-[0014], [0023], [0028], [0043]-[0051], [0060]-[0063], [0067]-[0074] of Cho). Cho also discloses that the home appliance (e.g., refrigerator (ref. #100), oven (ref. #200), and/or dishwasher (ref. #300)) may include a cabinet (ref. #111, #211, or #311) having storage compartments (not shown), and doors (ref. #112, #212, or #312) rotatably installed at the cabinet to open and close the storage compartments and configured to form the exterior together with the cabinet, wherein the door can form a front exterior of the home appliance (figures 1 to 3 and [0044]-[0046] of Cho). Specifically, Cho provides for --a home appliance, comprising: a main body having an opening; a door configured to open and close the opening; and a color panel on at least one of the main body or the door, the color panel including: a base panel including: a front surface, and an uneven pattern portion on the front surface; and a color layer on the uneven pattern portion--.
Cho fails to disclose --an uneven pattern portion on the front surface and including: a raised portion that forms an upper surface on the front surface, a recessed portion that forms a lower surface of the front surface, a middle surface between the upper surface and the lower surface, such that there is a first height difference between the upper surface and the middle surface and a second height difference between the middle surface and the lower surface, upper lateral sides that extend between the upper surface and the middle surface, and lower lateral sides that extend between the lower surface and the middle surface, and a color layer including: main ink dots having a main ink dot size, and sub ink dots having a sub ink dot size that is smaller than the main ink dot size, wherein at least one sub ink dot of the sub ink dots is between each two adjacent main ink dots of the main ink dots, and at least some of the sub ink dots are on at least one of the upper lateral sides or the lower lateral sides--.
Shingo discloses a decorative building panel having a full-color printed layer on the design surface of the building panel, wherein full-color print layer is formed from a pattern of colored dots of inks, wherein the surface of the building panel is an uneven surface (i.e., a brick pattern or tile pattern), and wherein the color pattern comprises colored dots and auxiliary dots arranged in a pattern with one auxiliary dot between four adjacent colored dots, and the auxiliary dots being bigger than the color dots (figures 1, 6, 9, [0011]-[0017], [0019], [0037], and [0050] of Shingo). (In the instant case, the constant pattern of Shingo would result in some of the smaller "sub ink dots" being disposed along a periphery of the upper surface of the embossed patter, the lower portion of the embossed pattern, the bottom surface of the engraved pattern, and/or the upper portion of the engraved pattern.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the coating of Shingo with the home appliance of Cho in order to have --an uneven pattern portion on the front surface and including: a raised portion that forms an upper surface on the front surface, a middle surface, such that there is a first height difference between the upper surface and the middle surface, upper lateral sides that extend between the upper surface and the middle surface, and a color layer including: main ink dots having a main ink dot size, and sub ink dots having a sub ink dot size that is smaller than the main ink dot size, wherein at least one sub ink dot of the sub ink dots is between each two adjacent main ink dots of the main ink dots, and at least some of the sub ink dots are on at least one of the upper lateral sides--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the coating of Shingo with the home appliance of Cho, from the stand-point of manufacturing decorative building panels that enable accurate full-color printing of desired color tones, with improved production efficiency and significantly reduced production costs ([0011] of Shingo). (In the instant case, because the coating is the collection of ink dots, there would exist at least some of the sub ink dots on the upper lateral sides.)
Cho in view of Shingo fails to disclose --an uneven pattern portion on the front surface and including: a raised portion that forms an upper surface on the front surface, a recessed portion that forms a lower surface of the front surface, a middle surface between the upper surface and the lower surface, such that there is a first height difference between the upper surface and the middle surface and a second height difference between the middle surface and the lower surface, upper lateral sides that extend between the upper surface and the middle surface, and lower lateral sides that extend between the lower surface and the middle surface, and a color layer including: main ink dots having a main ink dot size, and sub ink dots having a sub ink dot size that is smaller than the main ink dot size, wherein at least one sub ink dot of the sub ink dots is between each two adjacent main ink dots of the main ink dots, and at least some of the sub ink dots are on at least one of the upper lateral sides or the lower lateral sides--.
Kwon discloses a decorative panel comprising a base layer (ref. #100) having a surface with an engraved part (ref. #500), wherein the engraved part includes a plurality of engraved grooves (ref. #500A, #500B, and #500C) extending different heights into the base layer, and wherein a decoration layer (ref. #200) is printed with ink onto the surface thereof (figures 4 to 8, [0001], [0002], [0019], [0043], [0048], [0051], [0052], [0110], and [0111] of Kwon). (In the instant case, the upper most surface of the base layer is considered equivalent to the claimed "upper surface", the surface of the lowest/deepest groove is considered equivalent to the claimed "lower surface", and wherein the surfaces of grooves (ref. #500B and #500C) can be considered equivalent to the claimed "middle surface".)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the decorative panel of Kwon with the home appliance disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo in order to have --an uneven pattern portion on the front surface and including: a raised portion that forms an upper surface on the front surface, a recessed portion that forms a lower surface of the front surface, a middle surface between the upper surface and the lower surface, such that there is a first height difference between the upper surface and the middle surface and a second height difference between the middle surface and the lower surface, upper lateral sides that extend between the upper surface and the middle surface, and lower lateral sides that extend between the lower surface and the middle surface, and a color layer including: main ink dots having a main ink dot size, and sub ink dots having a sub ink dot size that is smaller than the main ink dot size, wherein at least one sub ink dot of the sub ink dots is between each two adjacent main ink dots of the main ink dots, and at least some of the sub ink dots are on at least one of the upper lateral sides or the lower lateral sides--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the decorative panel of Kwon with the home appliance disclosed by Cho in view of Shingo, from the stand-point of having a surface with a real wood texture ([0049] of Kwon). (In the instant case, the recesses of Cho in view of Shingo would be adjusted to have at least different depths.)
Regarding Claim 17: Cho in view of Shingo and Kwon discloses that the first height difference is greater than or equal to the second height difference (figure 5, [0110], and [0111] of Kwon). (In the instant case, since Kwon discloses that the depth of the second groove (ref. #500B) is deeper than the depth of the first groove (ref. #500A) and the depth of the third groove (ref. #500C) is deeper than the depth of the second groove (ref. #500B), it would have been obvious to have adjusted the depth of the second groove and first groove to have -- the first height difference is greater than or equal to the second height difference--, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the depth of the first groove or second groove. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).)
Regarding Claim 18: Cho in view of Shingo and Kwon discloses that the first height difference is less than or equal to the second height difference (figure 5, [0110], and [0111] of Kwon). (In the instant case, since Kwon discloses that the depth of the second groove (ref. #500B) is deeper than the depth of the first groove (ref. #500A) and the depth of the third groove (ref. #500C) is deeper than the depth of the second groove (ref. #500B), it would have been obvious to have adjusted the depth of the second groove and first groove to have -- the first height difference is less than or equal to the second height difference--, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the depth of the first groove or second groove. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).)
Regarding Claim 19: Cho in view of Shingo and Kwon discloses that an upper lateral side of the upper lateral sides extends substantially perpendicular to the upper surface (figure 5 of Kwon).
Regarding Claim 20: Cho in view of Shingo and Kwon discloses that a lower lateral side of the lower lateral sides extends substantially perpendicular to the lower surface (figure 5 of Kwon).
Regarding Claim 21: Cho in view of Shingo and Kwon discloses that the uneven pattern portion is configured to form a texture on the front surface that is perceivable to a viewer of the front surface (e.g., a real wood texture) ([0049] of Kwon).
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONALD M FLORES JR/
Donald M. Flores, Jr.Examiner, Art Unit 1781