DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2024, 10/23/2025 and 07/08/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daniel US 20190163172 A1 .
Regarding claim 1 Daniel Teaches,
A system for torch maintenance ([0002] “systems and methods supporting predictive and preventative maintenance in a manufacturing environment”), comprising: one or more sensors (variety of sensors, includes camera, wear, flow [0049], Fig 8) configured to monitor one or more conditions of a welding torch ([0049] “sensing wear of a component (e.g., a contact tip 710)”, sensing flow through a gas nozzle 720 Fig. 8); and control circuitry (central controller [0054], Fig. 9) configured to: receive feedback corresponding to the one or more conditions (data collection 910, Fig 9) from the one or more sensors (variety of sensors [0049], Fig 8 ); determine that the feedback received from the one or more sensors violates one or more thresholds ([0054] “the set of aggregated cell data is analyzed (e.g., by the central controller applying a machine learning technique) to generate a predictive model related to future maintenance of the component type.” Analysis 920 Fig. 9); and command the system to prepare for torch maintenance when the feedback violates the one or more thresholds ([0055] “the predictive model is executed (e.g., by the central controller) to determine when the component of that component type within each respective manufacturing cell should be serviced or replaced.” Predictive model steps 930, 940, 950, 960 Fig. 9).
Daniel Fig. 8
Daniel Fig. 9
Regarding Claim 2 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1,
wherein the one or more sensors (variety of sensors [0049], Fig 8) comprises a camera (camera 810, Fig. 8) configured to obtain one or more images.
The recitation of “camera configured to obtain one or more images.” recited in the claim has been considered recitation of configured to language. The prior art structure is capable of performing such that they can be used as intended. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II).
Regarding Claim 3 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 2,
wherein the camera (camera 810, Fig. 8) comprises one or more apertures and is further configured to obtain the one or more images using the one or more apertures based on the one or more conditions being monitored (contact tip wear variables [0049 - 0052]).
The recitation of “one or more apertures and is further configured to obtain the one or more images using the one or more apertures” recited in the claim has been considered recitation of configured to language. As a camera inherently has an aperture in order to filter light onto the sensor. Thus, the prior art structure is capable of performing such that they can be used as intended. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997); MPEP §2111.02 II).
Regarding claim 5 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more conditions is a measurement of wear of a tip bore (contact tip wear variables and tracking [0049-0051], contact tip 710 Fig. 7), and the one or more thresholds correspond to an amount of wear on the tip bore ([0051] “Using these interrelated variables as cell data, a predictive model can be created for contact life and replacement schedules based on the specific use cases. Contact tip replacements can then be organized to minimize waste (replacing too early) and maximize productivity (avoiding failures from replacing too late).”).
Daniel Fig. 7
Regarding claim 6 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more conditions is a measurement of wear of a torch nozzle ([0049] “A sensor may be a flow sensor 820 for sensing air flow or gas flow through or over a component (e.g., a gas nozzle 720)”), the one or more thresholds corresponding to an amount of wear on the torch nozzle (gas nozzle wear variables and tracking [0052]).
Regarding claim 8 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors is a thermal sensor ([0033] “the sensor 63 may be … a temperature sensor”) configured to monitor a temperature of the welding torch or welding cable ([0033] “The quality parameter may be related to, for example, a weld position on the workpiece/part 22, a weld bead size, weld penetration, weld fusion, weld porosity, weld cracking, weld inclusion, a weld discontinuity, an arc plasma type, or an arc plasma temperature”), and the feedback is provided via an insulated cord set (wire conduit 730, wire liner 740, electrical cable 750 Fig. 7)
Regarding claim 9 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprises a camera (camera 810, Fig. 8) configured to monitor one or more visual indicators related to a temperature of the welding torch. ([0033] “The quality parameter may be related to, for example … an arc plasma type, or an arc plasma temperature.”).
Regarding claim 10 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry (Controller 1200 Fig. 12) is further configured to: receive a signal corresponding to the one or more visual indicators; ([0048] “The sensors are configured to sense parameters associated with the operation, the performance, or the servicing of the components and report the parameters, directly or indirectly (e.g., indirectly via a controller of a welding power source), to the respective cell controller of the respective manufacturing cell as cell data.”) and command the system to stop welding (stopping for welding maintenance preparation [0063]).
Regarding claim 11 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry (Controller 1200 Fig. 12) is further configured to command the system to pause for maintenance ([0063] “The welding equipment of the manufacturing cell(s) receiving the set of updated welding parameters are commanded (e.g., by the cell controller of the appropriate manufacturing cell(s)) to use the set of updated welding parameters to counter the degradation of the identified weld(s). This results in being able to delay having to perform maintenance on one or more components of the welding equipment, assuming the set of updated welding parameters eliminate the degradation of the weld(s).”) after a welding procedure in response to the one or more visual indicators. ([0066] “Sensors of the types in FIG. 8 are configured to sense quality parameters associated with generating welds of a weld sequence (i.e., the sensors are configured to observe welds created on the parts) and report the quality parameters, directly or indirectly, as weld data to the respective cell controllers of the respective manufacturing cells.”)
Regarding claim 12 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more conditions is a tool center point measurement ([0059] “the weld data may include data captured by sensors that is related to a weld position on the workpiece/part”).
Regarding claim 13 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors is a camera or an optical sensor (camera 810, Fig. 8) configured to monitor a tool center point measurement ([0033] “the sensor 63 is configured to observe welds created on the workpiece 22. For example, the sensor 63 may be a visual spectrum sensor (e.g., a camera)… The quality parameter may be related to, for example, a weld position on the workpiece/part…”)
Regarding claim 14 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors is a laser (laser sensor 1130 Fig. 11) configured to monitor a tool center point measurement (weld position on the part Fig. 1 [0006] [0033] [0059] [0062]).
Regarding claim 15 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry (Controller 1200 Fig. 12) is further configured to provide a notification to a user (User interface output devices 1220 Fig. 12, Block 1060 Fig. 10) when the one or more thresholds are violated (steps 1020 and 1030 Fig. 10).
Daniel Fig. 12
Daniel Fig. 10
Regarding claim 16 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry (Controller 1200 Fig. 12) is configured to command the system to prepare the welding torch for maintenance (welding maintenance preparation [0063]) by at least one of:
sending a command to disable welding,
sending a command to interrupt a welding procedure,
sending a command to reset the welding procedure or the system,
sending a command to position the welding torch for the maintenance that will be performed (welding maintenance preparation [0063]. Block 1060, Fig. 10), and sending a notification to an operator (Block 1060, Fig. 10, [0065] “a welding sequencer operation of the manufacturing cell can revert to the weld sequence step corresponding to the degraded weld and display work instructions associated with that step to an operator.”)
Regarding claim 17 Daniel teaches,
A welding system (Fig. 1 – refer below), comprising:
a welding torch (welding equipment Fig. 7);
one or more sensors (methods of sensing [0049], Fig 8) configured to monitor one or more conditions of the welding torch ([0049] “sensing wear of a component”, contact tip 710, gas nozzle 720 Fig. 8);
and control circuitry (central controller [0054], Fig. 9) configured to:
receive feedback corresponding to the one or more conditions from the one more sensors; (Methods of sensing [0049], Fig 8 ) determine that the feedback received from the one or more sensors violates one or more threshold values; ([0054] “the set of aggregated cell data is analyzed (e.g., by the central controller applying a machine learning technique) to generate a predictive model related to future maintenance of the component type.” Analysis 920 Fig. 9)
and command the welding system to prepare for torch maintenance when the feedback violates the one or more threshold values. ([0055] “the predictive model is executed (e.g., by the central controller) to determine when the component of that component type within each respective manufacturing cell should be serviced or replaced.” Predictive model steps 930, 940, 950, 960 Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel US 20190163172 A1 in view of Hsu US 20160267806 A1.
Regarding claim 4 Daniel teaches,
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors includes a camera or an optical sensor (camera 810, Fig. 8)
While Daniel doesn’t teach mounting sensors onto a helmet, Hsu discloses mounting a camera onto a helmet. ([0088] “The example headwear 20 is a helmet comprising a shell 306 in or to which are mounted: one or more cameras 414 comprising optical components 302” [0089] “optics 302a and 302b for two cameras may be positioned approximately centered with the eyes of a wearer of the headwear 20 to capture images” Fig. 3A and 4C)
Hsu Fig. 3A and 4C
Hsu is an analogous prior art as it pertains to the field of welding vision systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the plurality of sensors and analysis systems as disclosed by Daniel with the mounted welding helmet as disclosed by Hsu to create a welding system capable of monitoring a wide array of wear parameters throughout the welding process to ensure proper maintenance for equipment within the manufacturing environment.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel US 20190163172 A1 in view of Dadig US 20210063014 A1
Regarding claim 7 Daniel teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensors comprises a camera (camera 810, Fig. 8)
Daniel teaches observing a robot joint on the weld gun ([0031] “a sensor 61 is mounted on an arm of the robot 14 near a joint of the robot 14… the sensor 61 may be a different type of sensor mounted elsewhere within the manufacturing cell 10. For example, the sensor 61 may be a camera for sensing wear of a component”, 60, 61 and 63 Fig. 1). However, doesn’t specifically teach monitoring the gap between a gooseneck and a coupling component. A gooseneck and coupling component can be seen in Figure 1.
Daniel Annotated Figure. 1
Dadig teaches a gooseneck and a coupling component (compressive collar) and a rational for doing so. Stating the following: ([0004] “The compressive collar has a fixed amount of travel that is defined by the slit or gap between the two halves of the compressive collar. If the mating end of the gooseneck yields or deforms past the travel allowed by the gap between the two halves of the compressive collar, the gooseneck will not be locked, nor will there be a sufficient compression for an electrical connection. The amount of current used in handheld MIG welding can be 400 amps or higher. Arching between the gooseneck and welding torch body can occur when there is a poor electrical connection, and at the currents used in welding torches, severe damage can occur.”)
Dadig is an analogous art for being within the field of welding components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the compressive collar as taught by Dadig with the means of monitoring welding equipment by Daniel in order to ensure that the gooseneck and coupling component do not suffer intense wear and damage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ingraham US 20140319110 A1 discloses a robotic welding equipment station capable of detecting deviation of the welding torch via use of sensors.
Lizotte US 20200376583 A1 discloses a monitoring system that determines the impedance of a welding torch to monitor its decay.
/A.T.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761