DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ortmann (IEEE vol. 30, no.4, ISSN:0885-8993).
Regarding claim 1, Ortmann teaches an AC/DC converter (figure 1), wherein the AC/DC converter is disposed between an alternating current power supply (figure 1 items va, vb and vc) and power-consuming equipment (figure 1 item r0), the AC/DC converter comprising:
a circuit of at least one phase that comprises
an inductor (figure 1 inductor items Lba, Lbb, Lbc),
an autotransformer (figure 1 item Ta, Tb, Tc),
a first switching unit (Figure 1 item Sa1), a second switching unit (Figure 1 item Saj),
at least two first rectifier units corresponding to the first switching unit (Figure 1 item Da1p and Da1n), and
at least two second rectifier units corresponding to the second switching unit (Figure 1 item Dajp and Dajn),
the autotransformer comprises a first winding corresponding to the first switching unit (shown in figure 1 wherein autotransformer item Ta includes a first winding corresponding to switching unit Sa1 ) and a second winding corresponding to the second switching unit (shown in figure 1 wherein autotransformer item Ta includes a second winding corresponding to switching unit Saj ),
a first end of the inductor is coupled to the alternating current power supply (figure 1 shows inductor item Lba connected to alternating current power supply item Va), and
a second end of the inductor is coupled to a first end of the first winding and a first end of the second winding (figure 1 shows inductor item Lba connected a first end of a first winding and second winding in Ta),
a second end of the first winding is coupled to a winding connection end of the first switching unit (figure 1 shows a second end of a first winding of Ta coupled to a winding connection end of a first switching unit Sa1), and
a second end of the second winding is coupled to a winding connection end of the second switching unit (figure 1 shows a second end of a first winding of Ta coupled to a winding connection end of a first switching unit Saj),
a bus connection end of the first switching unit is coupled to a bus of the AC/DC converter through the at least two first rectifier units, a bus connection end of the second switching unit is coupled to the bus of the AC/DC converter through the at least two second rectifier units, and the bus of the AC/DC converter is coupled to the power-consuming equipment (figure 1 shows a bus connection end of the first switching unit item Sa1 coupled to a bus of the ACDC converter through rectifier units items Da1p and Da1n); and
at least two groups of switching circuits are comprised between the winding connection end of any one of the switching units and a ground cable connection end of the switching unit (figure 1 shows at least two groups of switching circuits Sa1 and Saj comprised between windings in Ta and a ground connection at the end),
[AltContent: textbox (Ortman figures 1 and 2 show an ACDC converter system)]
wherein each group of switching circuits comprises a diode and a controllable switch connected in series to the diode, and the controllable switch is configured to control a connection or disconnection between the winding connection end and the ground cable connection end of the switching unit comprising the controllable switch (figures 1 and 2 show switching circuit comprising diodes D1 and D2 and controllable switches connected to the diodes).
Regarding claim 3, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter (figure 1) according to claim 1,
wherein the at least two groups of switching circuits comprised in any one of the switching units (figure 1 switching items Sa1 and Saj) comprise
a first group of switching circuits and a second group of switching circuits (figures 1 and 2 show switching items Sa1 and Saj),
wherein the first group of switching circuits comprises a first diode and a first switch tube, the second group of switching circuits comprises a second diode and a second switch tube (figures 1 and 2 show switching groups including a diode and a switch), and the bus of the AC/DC converter comprises a positive bus and a negative bus (figure 1 shows a bus of the ACDC converter with a positive and negative); and
both an anode of the first diode and a cathode of the second diode are coupled to the second end of the winding corresponding to the switching unit, both a cathode of the first diode and a first end of the first switch tube are coupled to the positive bus of the AC/DC converter by using one rectifier unit in the two rectifier units corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows rectifier units items Da1p and Da1n), both an anode of the second diode and a second end of the second switch tube are coupled to the negative bus of the AC/DC converter by using the other rectifier unit in the two rectifier units (figure 1 shows rectifier units items Da1p and Da1n) corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows switching units items Sa1 and Saj), and both a second end of the first switch tube and a first end of the second switch tube are coupled to a ground cable of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 shows switches connected to a ground).
Regarding claim 4, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter (figure 1) according to claim 1,
wherein the at least two groups of switching circuits comprised in any one of the switching units comprise a first group of switching circuits and a second group of switching circuits (figure 1 shows switching units items Sa1 and Saj),
wherein the first group of switching circuits comprises a third diode and a third switch tube, the second group of switching circuits comprises a fourth diode and a fourth switch tube (figures 1 and 2 show switching groups including a diode and a switch), and
the bus of the AC/DC converter comprises a positive bus and a negative bus (figure 1 shows a bus of the ACDC converter with a positive and negative); and
both a cathode of the third diode and a first end of the third switch tube are coupled to the positive bus of the AC/DC converter by using one rectifier unit in the two rectifier units corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows rectifier units items Da1p and Da1n),
both a second end of the third switch tube and a first end of the fourth switch tube are coupled to the second end of the winding corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows switching units items Sa1 and Saj), both an anode of the fourth diode and a second end of the fourth switch tube are coupled to the negative bus of the AC/DC converter by using the other rectifier unit in the two rectifier units corresponding to the switching unit, and both an anode of the third diode and a cathode of the fourth diode are coupled to a ground cable of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 shows switches connected to a ground).
Regarding claim 5, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter (figure 1 ) according to claim 3, further comprising: a first capacitor and a second capacitor, wherein the first capacitor is coupled between the positive bus of the AC/DC converter and the ground cable of the AC/DC converter, and the second capacitor is coupled between the negative bus of the AC/DC converter and the ground cable of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 shows a first and second capacitor item Con and Cop and a ground cable connected between).
Regarding claim 6, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter according to claim 1, wherein the AC/DC converter comprises a three-phase circuit, and a sum of phasors of currents in the three-phase circuit is zero (figure 1 and 7 and equations 16 and 18 show a three phase circuit and the sum being zero).
Regarding claim 7, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter according to claim 2, wherein the controller is further configured to: control duty ratios of the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal to be less than 0.5 when a voltage of the alternating current power supply is less than half of an output voltage of the AC/DC converter; or control duty ratios of the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal to be greater than 0.5 when the voltage of the alternating current power supply is greater than half of the output voltage of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 and equations 17-19 show peak phase voltages value Vg and half the output voltage of ACDC converter).
Regarding claim 8, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter according to claim 1, wherein winding turns of the first winding and the second winding are equal (figure 1 shows wherein the coils with the same inductances and winding turns in equation 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9- 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortmann (IEEE vol. 30, no.4, ISSN:0885-8993) in view of Lee (US 20180248495)
Regarding claim 2, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter (shown in figure 1) according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a controller configured to: send a first pulse control signal to a first controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the first switching unit, wherein the first pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the first controllable switch; send a second pulse control signal to a second controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the second switching unit, wherein the second pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the second controllable switch; and the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal have a same frequency, with a phase difference of 180°.
Lee teaches a controller configured to: send a first pulse control signal to a first controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the first switching unit, wherein the first pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the first controllable switch; send a second pulse control signal to a second controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the second switching unit, wherein the second pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the second controllable switch; and the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal have a same frequency, with a phase difference of 180° (paragraphs [0114] – [0015] discloses wherein a first pulse control signal is provided by a controller item 550 to control a switch. A second switching element is controlled by the controller item 550. Paragraph [0115] discloses wherein the switches are operated with a phase difference of 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the converter system of the Ortmann reference with the controller system of the Lee reference so that output power is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein reducing loss of output power is taught.
Regarding claim 9, Ortmann teaches an AC/DC converter (figure 1), wherein the AC/DC converter is disposed between an alternating current power supply (figure 1 items va, vb and vc) and power-consuming equipment (figure 1 item r0), the AC/DC converter comprising:
a circuit of at least one phase that comprises
an inductor (figure 1 inductor items Lba, Lbb, Lbc),
an autotransformer (figure 1 item Ta, Tb, Tc),
a first switching unit (Figure 1 item Sa1), a second switching unit (Figure 1 item Saj),
at least two first rectifier units corresponding to the first switching unit (Figure 1 item Da1p and Da1n), and
at least two second rectifier units corresponding to the second switching unit (Figure 1 item Dajp and Dajn),
the autotransformer comprises a first winding corresponding to the first switching unit (shown in figure 1 wherein autotransformer item Ta includes a first winding corresponding to switching unit Sa1 ) and a second winding corresponding to the second switching unit (shown in figure 1 wherein autotransformer item Ta includes a second winding corresponding to switching unit Saj ),
a first end of the inductor is coupled to the alternating current power supply (figure 1 shows inductor item Lba connected to alternating current power supply item Va), and
a second end of the inductor is coupled to a first end of the first winding and a first end of the second winding (figure 1 shows inductor item Lba connected a first end of a first winding and second winding in Ta),
a second end of the first winding is coupled to a winding connection end of the first switching unit (figure 1 shows a second end of a first winding of Ta coupled to a winding connection end of a first switching unit Sa1), and
a second end of the second winding is coupled to a winding connection end of the second switching unit (figure 1 shows a second end of a first winding of Ta coupled to a winding connection end of a first switching unit Saj),
a bus connection end of the first switching unit is coupled to a bus of the AC/DC converter through the at least two first rectifier units, a bus connection end of the second switching unit is coupled to the bus of the AC/DC converter through the at least two second rectifier units, and the bus of the AC/DC converter is coupled to the power-consuming equipment (figure 1 shows a bus connection end of the first switching unit item Sa1 coupled to a bus of the ACDC converter through rectifier units items Da1p and Da1n); and
at least two groups of switching circuits are comprised between the winding connection end of any one of the switching units and a ground cable connection end of the switching unit (figure 1 shows at least two groups of switching circuits Sa1 and Saj comprised between windings in Ta and a ground connection at the end),
wherein each group of switching circuits comprises a diode and a controllable switch connected in series to the diode, and the controllable switch is configured to control a connection or disconnection between the winding connection end and the ground cable connection end of the switching unit comprising the controllable switch (figures 1 and 2 show switching circuit comprising diodes D1 and D2 and controllable switches connected to the diodes).
Ortmann does not explicitly teach an electric meter, and the electric meter is connected in series between an alternating current power supply and the AC/DC converter which is disposed between an alternating current power supply and power-consuming equipment, and the electric meter is configured to measure electric energy supplied by the alternating current power supply to the power-consuming equipment.
Lee teaches an electric meter, and the electric meter is connected in series between an alternating current power supply and the AC/DC converter which is disposed between an alternating current power supply and power-consuming equipment, and the electric meter is configured to measure electric energy supplied by the alternating current power supply to the power-consuming equipment (shown in figure 1 item 80 defined in paragraph [0029] as a gateway which detects the output electrical energy or the AC Current and AC voltage output from the AC power supply, interpreted as a photovoltaic module producing AC power).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the converter system of the Ortmann reference with the controller system of the Lee reference so that output power is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein reducing loss of output power is taught.
Regarding claim 10, Ortmann teaches the charging apparatus according to claim 9, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a DC/DC converter disposed between the AC/DC converter and the power-consuming equipment; and the AC/DC converter transmits, via the DC/DC converter to the power-consuming equipment, the first direct current obtained by converting the alternating current output from the alternating current power supply, and the DC/DC converter is configured to: convert the first direct current to obtain a second direct current, and supply the second direct current to the power-consuming equipment.
Lee teaches further comprising: a DC/DC converter disposed between the AC/DC converter and the power-consuming equipment; and the AC/DC converter transmits, via the DC/DC converter to the power-consuming equipment, the first direct current obtained by converting the alternating current output from the alternating current power supply, and the DC/DC converter is configured to: convert the first direct current to obtain a second direct current, and supply the second direct current to the power-consuming equipment (figure 4 item 530 discloses a DCDC converter interpreted as a boost converter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the converter system of the Ortmann reference with the controller system of the Lee reference so that output power is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein reducing loss of output power is taught.
Lee Figure 4 shows a DCDC converter system within the ACDC conversion system.
Regarding claim 11, Ortmann teaches the charging apparatus (figure 1) according to claim 9, but does not explicitly teach wherein the AC/DC converter further comprises a controller configured to: send a first pulse control signal to a first controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the first switching unit, wherein the first pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the first controllable switch; send a second pulse control signal to a second controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the second switching unit, wherein the second pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the second controllable switch; and the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal have a same frequency, with a phase difference of 180°.
Lee teaches wherein the AC/DC converter further comprises a controller configured to: send a first pulse control signal to a first controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the first switching unit, wherein the first pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the first controllable switch; send a second pulse control signal to a second controllable switch comprised in each group of switching circuits in the second switching unit, wherein the second pulse control signal is used to control on or off of the second controllable switch; and the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal have a same frequency, with a phase difference of 180° (figure 4 item 530 discloses a DCDC converter interpreted as a boost converter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the converter system of the Ortmann reference with the controller system of the Lee reference so that output power is reduced.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Lee reference in paragraph [0005] wherein reducing loss of output power is taught.
Regarding claim 12, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter (figure 1) according to claim 9,
wherein the at least two groups of switching circuits comprised in any one of the switching units comprise a first group of switching circuits and a second group of switching circuits (figure 1 shows switching units items Sa1 and Saj),
wherein the first group of switching circuits comprises a third diode and a third switch tube, the second group of switching circuits comprises a fourth diode and a fourth switch tube (figures 1 and 2 show switching groups including a diode and a switch), and
the bus of the AC/DC converter comprises a positive bus and a negative bus (figure 1 shows a bus of the ACDC converter with a positive and negative); and
both a cathode of the third diode and a first end of the third switch tube are coupled to the positive bus of the AC/DC converter by using one rectifier unit in the two rectifier units corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows rectifier units items Da1p and Da1n),
both a second end of the third switch tube and a first end of the fourth switch tube are coupled to the second end of the winding corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows switching units items Sa1 and Saj), both an anode of the fourth diode and a second end of the fourth switch tube are coupled to the negative bus of the AC/DC converter by using the other rectifier unit in the two rectifier units corresponding to the switching unit, and both an anode of the third diode and a cathode of the fourth diode are coupled to a ground cable of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 shows switches connected to a ground).
Regarding claim 13, Ortmann teaches the charging apparatus (figure 1) according to claim 9,
wherein the at least two groups of switching circuits comprised in any one of the switching units comprise a first group of switching circuits and a second group of switching circuits (figure 1 shows switching units items Sa1 and Saj),
wherein the first group of switching circuits comprises a third diode and a third switch tube, the second group of switching circuits comprises a fourth diode and a fourth switch tube (figures 1 and 2 show switching groups including a diode and a switch), and
the bus of the AC/DC converter comprises a positive bus and a negative bus (figure 1 shows a bus of the ACDC converter with a positive and negative); and
both a cathode of the third diode and a first end of the third switch tube are coupled to the positive bus of the AC/DC converter by using one rectifier unit in the two rectifier units corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows rectifier units items Da1p and Da1n),
both a second end of the third switch tube and a first end of the fourth switch tube are coupled to the second end of the winding corresponding to the switching unit (figure 1 shows switching units items Sa1 and Saj), both an anode of the fourth diode and a second end of the fourth switch tube are coupled to the negative bus of the AC/DC converter by using the other rectifier unit in the two rectifier units corresponding to the switching unit, and both an anode of the third diode and a cathode of the fourth diode are coupled to a ground cable of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 shows switches connected to a ground).
Regarding claim 14, Ortmann teaches the charging apparatus (figure 1) according to claim 13, wherein the AC/DC converter further comprises a first capacitor coupled between the positive bus of the AC/DC converter and the ground cable of the AC/DC converter and a second capacitor coupled between the negative bus of the AC/DC converter and the ground cable of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 shows a first and second capacitor item Con and Cop and a ground cable connected between).
Regarding claim 15, Ortmann teaches the charging apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the AC/DC converter further comprises a three-phase circuit and a sum of phasors of currents in the three-phase circuit is zero (figure 1 and 7 and equations 16 and 18 show a three phase circuit and the sum being zero).
Regarding claim 16, Ortmann teaches the charging apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to: control duty ratios of the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal to be less than 0.5 when a voltage of the alternating current power supply is less than half of an output voltage of the AC/DC converter; or control duty ratios of the first pulse control signal and the second pulse control signal to be greater than 0.5 when the voltage of the alternating current power supply is greater than half of the output voltage of the AC/DC converter (figure 1 and equations 17-19 show peak phase voltages value Vg and half the output voltage of ACDC converter).
Regarding claim 17, Ortmann teaches the AC/DC converter according to claim 9, wherein winding turns of the first winding and the second winding are equal (figure 1 shows wherein the coils with the same inductances and winding turns in equation 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20170310120 A1 Electrical Energy Storage Device Birkl; Christoph Et Al.
Us 20220190619 A1 Pulsed Charging Fasching; Rainer Et Al.
Us 20210359606 A1 Power Conversion Circuit Han; Shuang Et Al.
Us 10637251 B2 Modular Energy Storage Converter System Helling; Florian Et Al.
Us 20160111881 A1 Power Supply System Ide; Akihiko Et Al.
Us 20140009117 A1 Electrical Storage System And Mobile Body Ishii; Yohei Et Al.
Us 20230253810 A1 Semiconductor Transformer-Based Energy Storage Device Jeong; Byung Hwan Et Al.
Us 20240332996 A1 Battery Energy Storage System Jing; Long Et Al.
Us 20200127458 A1 Power Storage System Kato; Masaki Et Al.
Us 10651739 B1 Power Converters Li; Chen Et Al.
Us 20220103088 A1 Multi-Phase Module-Based Energy System Frameworks And Methods Related Thereto Slepchenkov; Mikhail Et Al.
Us 20150002099 A1 Battery Management Converter System Smedley; Gregory Et Al.
Us 20220021221 A1 Dynamic Balancing Power In A Battery Pack Tyagi; Sunit Et Al.
Us 20150149799 A1 Power Coordination System Ye; Yanzhu Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859