This office action is in response to continuing application filed 3/4/2024. Claims 1-21 are pending. Priority date: 11/22/2021
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11367290. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The main difference (underlined) includes simultaneously executing neural networks and using counts in control.
Instant Application
Patent No. 11367290
A controller for controlling one or more autonomous machines each coupled to
a plurality of sensors generating input data, the controller comprising:
a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a first
training data set and configured to generate first output data after processing a set of input data;
a second neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a
second training data set and configured to generate second output data after processing said set of input data; and
a comparator receiving and comparing the first output data and second output
data, the comparator configured to detect a difference between the first and second
output data and produce a result, wherein the controller controls the one or more
autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator.
1. A controller for an autonomous machine coupled to a plurality of sensors generating input data, the controller comprising:
a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a first
training data set and configured to generate first output data after processing a set of input data;
a second neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a
second training data set and configured to generate second output data after processing said set of input data, the first and second neural networks being executed simultaneously; and
a comparator receiving and comparing the first output data and second output data,
the comparator configured to detect a minimum difference between the first and second output data and produce a result,
a counter for counting instances of the comparator detecting the minimum
difference between the first and second output data, wherein the controller stops using the first output data to control the autonomous machine when the counter counts more than a predetermined number during a predetermined time period,
wherein the controller controls the autonomous machine using the first output data and the result of the comparator.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a comparator and neural networks in claim 1 and neural networks in claim 17.
Claim Objections
1. In claim 17, the term, “detect”, in “a means for comparing the first output data and second output data and detect a minimum difference” may be changed to ‘detecting’.
2. Claims 6-7, 15 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 1, neither the spec nor the claim provides structural description of a comparator. For example, the spec (e.g., [0030], [0171]) recites a comparator used for comparison, but fails to define it to be hardware or software. Note that receiving and detecting as broadly recited can be functions of a hardware device or a software program. In claim 17, the corresponding structure for the means-for step includes the comparator. Claims 2-9 and 18-21 are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 1-9, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is not clear whether neural networks in claims 1 and 17 are software or hardware. In the spec, a neural network (e.g., [0067], “each node has a memory”) can be either. In claim 1, the structural information of a comparator is not defined. Claims 1 and 17 fail the definite requirement. Claims 2-9 and 18-21 are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1:
Step 1. The claim recites a controller.
Step 2a, prong 1. The claim recites an abstract idea. Steps, comparing the first output data and second output, to detect a difference between the first and second
output data and produce a result, to generate first output data after processing a set of input data, and to generate second output data after processing said set of input data, fall under mental processing. Detecting and producing, as broadly recited, amount to observing, evaluating and determining. Human can make observations, evaluation and determination. Generating outputs from inputs, as broadly recited, amounts to evaluating and determining a set of data.
Step 2a, prong 2. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements include a controller for controlling one or more autonomous machines each coupled to a plurality of sensors generating input data, a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a first
training data set, a second neural network deployed on the autonomous machine,
trained with a second training data set, a comparator receiving, the controller controls the one or more autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator. The controller recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception (e.g., [0030]). The autonomous machine is recited as a generic controlled machine (e.g., [0092]). Mere inclusion of such a machine without describing how it operates or causes a state change does not apply judicial exception beyond generally linking to a technological field. The neural networks are described at a high level and used to apply the abstract idea without placing limitations on how the neural networks operate. Generic sensors are included to perform data collection. comparing the first output data and second output data The claim recites trained with data or training, but provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement abstract idea of numerical calculation on a computer. The comparator, as recited at a high level, is merely used to perform the judicia exception. The function receiving, as recited at a high level, amounts to an extra solution data gathering activity. The claim limitation that the controller controls the autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator recites only a use of outcomes, but provides no technical details of how the use is implemented or effecting a state change of the machine and thus, does not apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking to a technological field.
Step 2b. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The controller is used as a tool to perform the judicial exception. The comparator and neural networks are equivalent of adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Deploying neural networks on a machine or using sensors for data collection is well understood, conventional or routine activity (e.g., Stein). Receiving, as recited at a high level, amounts to receiving or transmitting data over a network (Berkheimer). Training neural networks without technical details is a well-understood or WURC activity (e.g., Stein). Controlling a machine with outcomes form neural network is a well-understood or WURC activity (e.g., Stein). The additional elements taken individually or in an ordered combination represent mere instructions to apply an exception, insignificantly extra solution activity or well understood, conventional or routine activities and thus, do not provide an inventive concept. Claim 1 is not eligible.
Claim 10:
Step 1. The claim recites a process.
Step 2a, prong 1. The claim recites an abstract idea. Steps, detecting a minimum difference between the first output data and second output data and producing a result, inferencing to generate first output data, inferencing to generate second output data, fall under mental processing. Detecting, as broadly recited, amounts to observing and evaluating. Human can make observation and evaluation. Inferencing, as broadly recited, amounts to evaluating, calculating and determining. Human can perform evaluation or calculation.
Step 2a, prong 2. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements include an autonomous machine coupled to a plurality of
sensors generating input data, a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine and trained with a first training data set, on a second neural network deployed
on the autonomous machine and trained with a second training data set, controlling the autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the detecting step. The autonomous machine is recited as a generic controlled machine (e.g., [0092]). Mere inclusion of such a machine without describing how it operates or causes a state change of a particular machine does not apply judicial exception beyond generally linking to a technological field. Generic sensors are included to perform data collection. The neural networks are described at a high level and used to apply the abstract idea without placing limitations on how the neural networks operate. The claim recites trained with data or training, but provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement abstract idea of numerical calculation on a computer. The claim limitation that controlling the autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the detecting step recites only a use of outcomes, but provides no technical details of how the use is implemented or effecting a state change of the machine and thus, does not apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking to a technological field.
Step 2b. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The neural networks are equivalent of adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Deploying neural networks on a machine or using sensors for data collection is well understood, conventional or routine activity (e.g., Stein). Training neural networks without technical details is a well-understood or WURC activity (e.g., Stein). Controlling a machine with outcomes from neural network is a well-understood or WURC activity (e.g., Stein). The additional elements taken individually or in an ordered combination represent mere instructions to apply an exception or are URC activities and thus, do not provide an inventive concept. Claim 10 is not eligible.
Claim 17:
Step 1. The claim recites a controller.
Step 2a, prong 1. The claim recites an abstract idea. Steps, comparing the first output data and second output, detect a minimum difference between the first and second
output data and produce a result, to generate first output data after processing a set of input data, and to generate second output data after processing said set of input data, fall under mental processing. Detecting and producing, as broadly recited, amount to observing, evaluating and determining. Human can make observations, evaluation and determination. Generating outputs from inputs, as broadly recited, amounts to evaluating and determining a set of data.
Step 2a, prong 2. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements include a controller for controlling one or more autonomous machines each coupled to a plurality of sensors generating input data, a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a first
training data set, a second neural network deployed on the autonomous machine,
trained with a second training data set, the controller controls the one or more autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator. The controller recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception (e.g., [0030]). The autonomous machine is recited as a generic controlled machine (e.g., [0092]). Mere inclusion of such a machine without describing how it operates or causes a state change does not apply judicial exception beyond generally linking to a technological field. The neural networks are described at a high level and used to apply the abstract idea without placing limitations on how the neural networks operate. The claim recites trained with data or training, but provides nothing more than mere instructions to implement abstract idea of numerical calculation on a computer. The claim limitation that the controller controls the autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator recites only a use of outcomes, but provides no technical details of how the use is implemented or effecting a state change of the machine and thus, does not apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking to a technological field.
Step 2b. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The controller is used as a tool to perform the judicial exception. The neural networks are mere instructions to apply an exception. Deploying neural networks on a machine or using sensors for data collection is well understood, conventional or routine activity (e.g., Stein). Training neural networks without descriptions of technical details is a well-understood or WURC activity (e.g., Stein). Controlling a machine with outcomes from neural network is a well-understood or WURC activity (e.g., Stein). The additional elements taken individually or in an ordered combination represent mere instructions to apply an exception, insignificantly extra solution activity or well understood, conventional or routine activities and thus, do not provide an inventive concept. Claim 17 is not eligible.
Dependent claims 2-5, 8-9, 11-14, 16 and 18-20 recite further claim limitations, in claim 2 and 18, the first neural network and the second neural network are deployed in different memory spaces (field of use, as the claim limitation recites storage), in claims 3 and 19, the first and second neural networks are deployed on different virtual machines (field of use, as the claim limitation recites a generic virtual machine), in claims 4, 13 and 20, the one or more autonomous machines includes multiple autonomous machines (WURC, e.g., Stein, multiple modules of processors), and the first neural network is deployed on one of the autonomous machines and the second neural network is deployed on another of the autonomous machines (WURC, e.g., Stein, neural networks run by different modules), in claim 5, the comparator is further configured to detect a minimum difference between the first output data and the second output data and produce the result (mental processing, as detecting amounts to observing and evaluating), in claims 8 and 14, the first and second training data sets are identical to each other (field of use), in claims 9 and 16, wherein each of the one or more autonomous machines is an autonomous land vehicle (field of use), in claim 11, wherein the first neural network and the second neural network are deployed in different memory spaces on the autonomous machine (field of use, as the claim limitation recites storage), in claim 12, the first and second neural networks are deployed on different virtual machines on the autonomous machine (field of use, as the claim limitation recites a generic virtual machine). Adding an abstract idea to another abstract idea (e.g., independent claims) does not make the claim non-abstract. Claims 2-5, 8-9, 11-14, 16 and 18-20 are not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein et al. (US 10872433), in view of Gang et al. (CN 113111814A) (in English translation).
1. A controller for controlling one or more autonomous machines each coupled to a plurality of sensors generating input data (Stein: e.g., col 3, lines 23-27, vehicles with sensors, where Fig 2, 21 or 28, a module in the computing device or the image and control processor is an example of a controller), the controller comprising:
a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a first training data set and configured to generate first output data after processing a set of input data (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 35-38, col 10, lines 44-46, col 4, lines 4-7, a first ANN to produce a first output based on a provided data set with training using training data sets including, col 6, lines 49-50, 57-59, sensor data or images, where the training data for training the first ANN is an example of a first training data set);
a second neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a second training data set and configured to generate second output data after processing said set of input data (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 40-42, col 10, lines 44-46, col 4, lines 4-7, a second ANN to produce a second output based on a provided data set with training using training data sets including, col 6, lines 49-50, 57-59, sensor data or images, where the training data for training the second ANN is an example of a second training data set); and
a comparator receiving and comparing the first output data and second output data, theStein: e.g., col 49, lines 42-43, comparing the first and the second output to determine a feature of the surface, where the module that implements the comparison is an example of a comparator and Fig 21, a vehicle control processor is an example of a controller that controls the autonomous machine, and where determining a feature of the surface based on the first output and the result obtained from comparison interprets using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator).
Stein does not expressly disclose, but Gang, an analogous art, directed to training recognition neural network models, discloses “difference” in “configured to detect a difference between the first and second output data” (Gang: e.g., page 8, par 5, minimizing the difference between the output of the first neural network and the output of the second neural network based on the labeled image and non-tagged image data). (Note: the cited page 8, paragraph 5 corresponding to [0055] in CN 11311814A). Nonetheless, optimization of a cost or loss is a common practice in machine learning. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, having Stein and Gang before the effective filing date, to combine Stein with Gang for a motivation generating a target function of a re-identification model based on the first and the second neural networks (Gang: page 8, par 10) and avoiding the influence of jitter in the training process of the first neural network (page 9, par 6) to improve the error based NN model learning in Stein.
10. A method of controlling an autonomous machine coupled to a plurality of sensors generating input data (Stein: e.g., col 3, lines 23-27, vehicles using control processors with sensors), comprising the steps of:
inferencing to generate first output data on a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine and trained with a first training data set (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 35-38, col 10, lines 44-46, col 4, lines 4-7, a first ANN to produce a first output based on a provided data set with training using training data sets including, col 6, lines 49-50, 57-59, sensor data or images, where the training data for training the first ANN is an example of a first training data set);
inferencing to generate second output data on a second neural network deployed on the autonomous machine and trained with a second training data set (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 40-42, col 10, lines 44-46, col 4, lines 4-7, a second ANN to produce a second output based on a provided data set with training using training data sets including, col 6, lines 49-50, 57-59, sensor data or images, where the training data for training the second ANN is an example of a second training data set);
Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 42-43, comparing the first and the second output to determine a feature); and
controlling the autonomous machine using input that includes the first output data and the result of the detecting step (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 42-43, comparing the first and the second output to determine a feature of the surface, where the module that implements the comparison is an example of a comparator and Fig 21, a vehicle control processor is an example of a controller that controls the autonomous machine, and where determining a feature of the surface based on the first output and the result obtained from comparison interprets using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator).
Stein does not expressly disclose, but Gang, an analogous art, directed to training recognition neural network models, discloses “a minimum difference” in “detecting a minimum difference between the first output data and second output data” (Gang: e.g., page 8, par 5, minimizing the difference between the output of the first neural network and the output of the second neural network based on the labeled image and non-tagged image data). (Note: the cited page 8, paragraph 5 corresponding to [0055] in CN 11311814A). Nonetheless, optimization of a cost or loss is a common practice in machine learning. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, having Stein and Gang before the effective filing date, to combine Stein with Gang for a motivation generating a target function of a re-identification model based on the first and the second neural networks (Gang: page 8, par 10) and avoiding the influence of jitter in the training process of the first neural network (page 9, par 6) to improve the error based NN model learning in Stein.
17. A controller for controlling one or more autonomous machines each coupled to a plurality of sensors generating input data (Stein: e.g., col 3, lines 23-27, vehicles with sensors, where Fig 2, 21 or 28, a module in the computing device or the image and control processor is an example of a controller), the controller comprising:
a first neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a first training data set and configured to generate first output data after processing a set of input data (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 35-38, col 10, lines 44-46, col 4, lines 4-7, a first ANN to produce a first output based on a provided data set with training using training data sets including, col 6, lines 49-50, 57-59, sensor data or images, where the training data for training the first ANN is an example of a first training data set);
a second neural network deployed on the autonomous machine, trained with a second training data set and configured to generate second output data after processing said set of input data (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 40-42, col 10, lines 44-46, col 4, lines 4-7, a second ANN to produce a second output based on a provided data set with training using training data sets including, col 6, lines 49-50, 57-59, sensor data or images, where the training data for training the second ANN is an example of a second training data set); and
a means for comparing the first output data and second output data Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 42-43, comparing the first and the second output to determine a feature of the surface, where the module that implements the comparison is an example of a comparator and Fig 21, a vehicle control processor is an example of a controller that controls the autonomous machine, and where determining a feature of the surface based on the first output and the result obtained from comparison interprets using input that includes the first output data and the result of the comparator).
Stein does not expressly disclose, but Gang, an analogous art, directed to training recognition neural network models, discloses “a minimum difference” in “detect a minimum difference between the first and second output data and produce a result” (Gang: e.g., page 8, par 5, minimizing the difference between the output of the first neural network and the output of the second neural network based on the labeled image and non-tagged image data). (Note: the cited page 8, paragraph 5 corresponding to [0055] in CN 11311814A). Nonetheless, optimization of a cost or loss is a common practice in machine learning. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, having Stein and Gang before the effective filing date, to combine Stein with Gang for a motivation generating a target function of a re-identification model based on the first and the second neural networks (Gang: page 8, par 10) and avoiding the influence of jitter in the training process of the first neural network (page 9, par 6) to improve the error based NN model learning in Stein.
2 and 18, wherein the first neural network and the second neural network are deployed in different memory spaces (Stein: e.g., col 15, lines 5-10, Fig 4 or 11, the first neural networks and the second neural network (e.g., DNN) determining, respectively, the gamma and motion of an object).
11, wherein the first neural network and the second neural network are deployed in different memory spaces on the autonomous machine (Stein: e.g., col 15, lines 5-10, Fig 4 or 11, the first neural networks and the second neural network (e.g., DNN) on the vehicle determining, respectively, the gamma and motion of an object).
3 and 19, wherein the first and second neural networks are deployed on different virtual machines (Stein: e.g., col 15, lines 5-10, Fig 4 or 11, the first neural networks and the second neural network (e.g., DNN) executed on separate modules for accomplishing different tasks interprets the first and second neural networks are deployed on different virtual machines).
12, wherein the first and second neural networks are deployed on different virtual machines on the autonomous machine (Stein: e.g., col 15, lines 5-10, Fig 4 or 11, the first neural networks and the second neural network (e.g., DNN) on the vehicle executed on separate modules for accomplishing different tasks interprets the first and second neural networks are deployed on different virtual machines).
4, 13 and 20, wherein the one or more autonomous machines includes multiple autonomous machines, and the first neural network is deployed on one of the autonomous machines and the second neural network is deployed on another of the autonomous machines (Stein: e.g., col 15, lines 5-10, Fig 4 or 11, the first neural networks , block 412, and the second neural network, block 1112, executed by different modules on one or more processors, where a module on a processor is an example of an autonomous machine).
5. The controller of claim 1, wherein the comparator is further configured to detect a minimum difference between the first output data and the second output data and produce the result (Gang: e.g., page 8, par 5, minimizing the difference between the output of the first neural network and the output of the second neural network).
8 and 14, wherein the first and second training data sets are identical to each other (Stein: e.g., col 49, lines 33-35, obtained sequence of images to the first and the second neural networks).
9 and 16, wherein each of the one or more autonomous machines is an autonomous land vehicle (Stein: e.g., Fig 2, a land vehicle).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LiWu Chang whose telephone number is (571)270-3809, Email: li-wu.chang@uspto.gov . The examiner can normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Miranda M Huang can be reached on (571)270-7092. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LI WU CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2124 November 29, 2025