DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 24 June 2026 in response to the non-final rejection mailed on 24 March 2026 has been considered. Claim(s) 8-13 and 16-34 is/are pending. Claim(s) 1-7, 14, and 15 has/have been canceled. Claim(s) 16-34 has/have been added. Claim(s) 8-13 and 16-34 has/have been examined in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10, 12, 13, 30, 32, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11,206,926 B1 to Moeller.
Regarding claim 8, Moeller discloses a structural component hanger (4, Fig.3) for use with insulated concrete formworks (ICF), comprising a structural plate (10) having: a retention portion at a bottom portion thereof (lower portion of Fig.3), which is configured to receive a structural component therein (Fig.1), the retention portion including an opening (opening of channel formed by 10, 16, 18) defined on a first side by the bottom portion of the structural plate (lower portion of 10) and on a second side by a vertical support member (18), the vertical support member being parallel to and spaced from the structural plate (Fig.3), the opening being further defined on a bottom side by a support platform (16) extending between and connecting the bottom portion of the structural plate and the vertical support member (Fig.3); and a pair of flanges (22, 22), each flange extending from a respective lateral edge of the structural plate toward the side of the structural plate opposite the opening of the retention portion (Fig.3), the pair of flanges being configured to embed in a concrete wall through the ICF (capable of being embedded in concrete), wherein upon a concrete pour to form the concrete wall, the pair of flanges operates as an anchor preventing axial movement of the structural component hanger relative to the ICF (flanges would act as anchors if concrete were poured; claim is directed to the hanger and not the combination of the hanger set in concrete).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the structural component includes a ledger (6; capable of holding a ledger, the claim is directed to the hanger and not the combination of the hanger and the ledger).
Regarding claim 10, wherein each flange of the pair of flanges comprise an aperture (24) designed to allow concrete flow there-through during the concrete pour (capable of receiving concrete).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the structural component is formed as one piece (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the structural plate is configured to mount parallel to the ICF wall (capable of mounting parallel to a wall).
Regarding claim 30, wherein each flange extends from the respective lateral edge of the structural plate at a substantially orthogonal angle to the face of the structural plate (22 orthogonal to 10, Fig.3).
Regarding claim 32, wherein the structural component hanger is made of a single part which has been folded (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 34, wherein the pair of flanges is positioned in a spaced apart opposite relationship such that corresponding apertures on opposite flanges are aligned (Fig.3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,206,926 B1 to Moeller.
Regarding claims 11 and 33, Moeller does not disclose wherein each flange has a rectangular shape with a specific thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the flanges of the structural component hanger having any desired shape and size to accommodate the use of the hanger and to optimize the amount of material used to form the hanger.
Claim(s) 16-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0214932 A1 to Monty et al. in view of US 5,937,609 to Roth.
Regarding claim 16, Monty et al. disclose a system for use with insulated concrete formworks (ICF), comprising: a secondary structural component (See Figure above) including flanges (See Figure above) extending transversally therefrom, each flange including an aperture (See Figure above) disposed on a face thereof; a plurality of structural connectors (See Figure above), and a plurality of connecting pieces (See Figure above), each connecting piece having a shank portion (shank of 23, Fig.8) and a head portion (head of 23, Fig.8), the shank portion passing through a respective aperture of the secondary structural component flanges and through the corresponding structural connector (Fig.8), the head portion being larger than the respective aperture of the secondary structural component flanges such that the head portion is retained against the secondary structural component flange (Fig.8), wherein the plurality of structural connectors is configured such that upon a concrete pour to form a concrete wall, each structural connector secures the secondary structural component to the ICF and operates as an anchor preventing axial movement of the secondary structural component relative to the ICF (Fig.8).
Monty et al. disclose wherein the structural connectors are anchors but does not disclose each structural connector comprising a front surface, a rear surface, and a flange connecting the front surface to the rear surface and defining a longitudinal cavity therebetween. Monty et al. do not specifically disclose wherein each flange including an aperture disposed on a face thereof.
Roth discloses providing a concrete anchor comprising a front surface (front surface of 11, Fig.1), a rear surface (12), and a flange (13) connecting the front surface to the rear surface and defining a longitudinal cavity (interior channel) therebetween.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the system of Monty with the structural connector of Roth so to provide a concrete anchor which enables the anchor to be flush with the surface of the wall and well and not require interaction with rebar structures in order to loc the anchor within the concrete.
It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided each of the flanges of Monty with multiple apertures so to enable the structural components to be better secured to the ICF and also to prevent rotation of the structural components once installed.
Regarding claim 17, Monty discloses wherein the secondary structural component is a joist hanger (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 18, Monty discloses wherein the secondary structural component includes a retention member (See Figure above) having an opening (See Figure above) defined on two sides by vertical support members (See Figure above) and on a bottom side by a support platform (See Figure above), the flanges extending transversally from the respective vertical support members (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 19, Roth discloses wherein the rear surface of each structural connector includes an integral structure (21) defining the second aperture (15), the integral structure including a female threaded section (Fig.2) configured to mate with a corresponding male threaded portion of the connecting piece (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 20, Roth discloses wherein each structural connector has a U-shape profile (Fig.1 and 2).
Regarding claim 21, Roth discloses wherein the front surface of each structural connector defines the first aperture (28) as a clearance hole sized to permit passage of the shank portion without threaded engagement (larger than threads, Fig.4).
Regarding claim 22, Monty discloses wherein the connecting piece comprises a bolt (21).
Regarding claim 23, Monty discloses wherein the secondary structural component is an L bracket (cross section is L-shaped).
Regarding claim 24, Monty discloses wherein the structural connector is made of a single part which has been folded (See Figure above).
Regarding claim 25, Roth discloses wherein the front surface of each structural connector includes an external surface that is substantially planar (Fig. 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 26, Monty discloses wherein each connecting piece has a threaded portion at a distal end thereof (distal end of 21), Roth discloses the threaded portion mating with the rear surface of the corresponding structural connector (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 27, Monty and Roth disclose wherein each connecting piece has an elongated body extending along a longitudinal axis (bolt 21 and 17, respectively), Roth discloses the elongated body passing through the longitudinal cavity of the corresponding structural connector (Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 28, Monty discloses wherein the flanges of the secondary structural component contact a surface of an external wall of the ICF (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 29, Monty does not disclose comprising four connecting pieces connecting four corresponding structural connectors to the secondary structural component, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have secured each flange with two connecting pieces and two structural connectors therefore ensuring the system is securely fastened to the wall and the secondary structural components will not rotate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635