DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the labels clearly in Figs. 3-5 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and 10, the claim recites “a time segment that has been run” and introduces ambiguity whether it is referring to the time segment of the current time window, or a time segment of a previous time window already run, or an intermediate time segment and a final time segment respectively, rendering the claims indefinite.
Regarding claim 3, 5, 11 and 12, the claim recites “not exactly equal” introducing ambiguity as to what degree of inequality is required, rendering the claims indefinite.
Regarding claim 4, the variable tleft(x-1) is undefined and introduces ambiguity as to whether it is referring to the time left in the current time window or only the time segment, rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “if the heating element is controlled to stop heating in the non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window the heating period of the intermediate time segment is determined…” which reads as if the calculation of heating part of the current time segment is calculated based on the non-heating part of the current time segment. However, the non-heating period follows after the heating period, and as such introduces ambiguity as to how a heating period prior to the non-heating period is calculated using the non-heating period yet to happen during a given time segment. The Examiner notes that paragraph [0072] of the instant specification details the first time segment may be used to calculate intermediate time segment, and claim 2, which claim 7 is not dependent upon, establishes that the first time segment may be used as initial values. However, claim 1 recites intermediate and first segments as different segments, which further introduces ambiguity as to how the intermediate time segment heating period calculations are determined without initial values, which renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “a previous time segment” introducing ambiguity as to which previous time segment the claim language is referring to, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claims 2 and 8-9 inherit the above deficiencies and are rejected to due to dependency upon rejected-to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsuji, et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 20200245687 A1.
Claim 1. Tsuji discloses an electronic atomization device, comprising: a heating element; and (Tsuji, Abstract “An aerosol generating apparatus includes a load that generates heat…”; Fig. 1A shows load 132.)
a control module configured to: control the heating element to heat in a heating period of a first time segment of a current time window, and […] control the heating element to heat in a heating period of an intermediate time segment of the current time window, and […] control the heating element to heat in a heating period of a final time segment of the current time window, and wherein the intermediate time segment is a different time segment than the first time segment and the final time segment in the current time window, and (Tsuji, Fig. 1A shows control unit 106; [0022] “…the circuit includes a first path and a second path that are connected in parallel to the power supply and the load, wherein the first path is used to atomize the aerosol source…”; and [0023] “The control unit is configured to provide a predetermined interval from when the switch of the first path is switched from the on-state to the off-state…”; and Fig. 5 shows atomization process having multiple intervals on the first path switch Q1 corresponding to the claimed time segments of the overall current time window, where the intermediate time segment is different from the first time segment, as annotated below.)
detect a resistance value of the heating element in a non-heating period of the first time segment of the current time window; (Tsuji, [0024] “In an embodiment, the first path has a resistance value smaller than the resistance value of the second path…”)
control the heating element to stop heating or detect the resistance value of the heating element in a non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window; and (Tsuji, [0023] “The control unit is configured to provide a predetermined interval from when the switch of the first path is switched from the on-state to the off-state…”)
wherein the heating period of the intermediate time segment and the heating period of the final time segment are respectively related to consumed energy and consumed time of a time segment that has been run. (Tsuji, [0024] “In an embodiment, the first path has a resistance value smaller than the resistance value of the second path, and the control unit is configured to distinguish between the first state and the second state on the basis of a change in the value related to the temperature of the load after functioning of the first path or during functioning of the second path” where the change in the value related to the temperature of the load corresponds to the claimed consumed energy; [0025] “In an embodiment, the control unit is configured to distinguish between the first state and the second state on the basis of a time period elapsed from when the first path or the second path functions to when the value related to the temperature of the load reaches a threshold”; and Fig. 6 step 608 and 610 shows a step in the flow chart to monitor the temperature of the load and the time period elapsed that loops back to step 608 as long as “THTR > 350°C?” and the predetermined time condition in 610 is false.
Examiner’s Note: In annotated Fig. 5 (A) above, the time segments, including the intermediate and final time segments, include a time period where Q1 is turned off and Q2 is turned on for estimation of residual quantity of the aerosol source. The estimation is explained in the flow chart in Fig. 6 where step 606 corresponds with turning off Q1 and turning on Q2, and the logic for estimation of the residual quantity of aerosol after atomization starting from step 608 dictates the heating period of the intermediate and final time segments, mainly whether the heating continues or stops due to insufficient quantity of the aerosol source, which reads on the claim as written.)
Claim 2. Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 1,
wherein the heating period and the non-heating period of the first time segment of the current time window are initial set values, or wherein the heating period and the non-heating period of the first time segment of the current time window are related to running of a plurality of time segments in a previous time window. (Tsuji, [0227] “The process starts at step 1302, and the control unit 106 acquires an initial temperature Tini of the load 132 when the user's inhalation starts and the circuit 134 of the aerosol generating apparatus 100A has functioned” where Tini of the load 132 when the user's inhalation starts corresponding to the claimed first time segment of the current time window are initial set values.)
Claim 3. Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 1,
wherein segment duration of time segments of the current time window is equal, or wherein segment duration of the time segments of the current time window is not exactly equal. (Tsuji, Fig. 5 (a) shows multiple time segments which are relatively equal to each other, as annotated above.)
Claim 5. Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 1,
wherein heating periods of time segments of the current time window are equal, or wherein heating periods of the time segments of the current time window are not exactly equal. (Tsuji, Fig. 5 (a) shows atomization time periods within multiple time segments which are relatively equal to each other, as annotated above.)
Claim 9. Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 1,
further comprising: a first switch circuit; a second switch circuit; a reference resistor; and a voltage sampling module, (Tsuji, Fig. 2 shows switch Q1 206, switch Q2 210, shunt resistor Rshunt 212, and element 112 which is a component used to acquire a value related to a temperature of the load described in paragraphs [0122]-[0123].)
wherein a first end of the second switch circuit and a first end of the first switch circuit are respectively connected to a positive end of a power supply, (Tsuji, Fig. 2 shows switches Q1 and Q2 are connected to the positive rail of power supply 110.)
wherein a second end of the second switch circuit is connected to a first end of the reference resistor, (Tsuji, Fig. 2 shows the second end of switch Q2 connected to resistor 212.)
wherein a second end of the reference resistor and a second end of the first switch circuit are respectively connected to a first end of the heating element, (Tsuji, Fig. 2 shows the second end of resistor 212 and the second end of switch Q2 are connected to the first end of load 132 corresponding to the claimed heating element.)
wherein a second end of the heating element is grounded, (Tsuji, Fig. 2 shows the second end of the load 132 connects to the negative terminal of the power supply 110.)
wherein an input end of the voltage sampling module is connected to the first end of the heating element, and (Tsuji, Fig. 2 shows the element 112 wired across shunt resistor 212, showing an input end connected below shunt resistor 212, connected to the node above the load 132.)
wherein an output end of the voltage sampling module is connected to a voltage detection end of the control module. (Tsuji, Fig. 2 shows element 112 output connected as input to the control unit 106 exemplified by the dotted line, the input corresponding to the claimed voltage detection end of the control module.)
Claim 10. Tsuji discloses a method for controlling an electronic atomization device, comprising: controlling a heating element to heat in a heating period of a first time segment of a current time window; […] controlling the heating element to heat in a heating period of an intermediate time segment of the current time window, the intermediate time segment being a different time segment than the first time segment and a final time segment in the current time window, […] controlling the heating element to heat in a heating period of the final time segment of the current time window, (Tsuji, Abstract “An aerosol generating apparatus includes a load that generates heat…”; Fig. 1A shows load 132; Fig. 1A shows control unit 106; [0022] “…the circuit includes a first path and a second path that are connected in parallel to the power supply and the load, wherein the first path is used to atomize the aerosol source…”; and [0023] “The control unit is configured to provide a predetermined interval from when the switch of the first path is switched from the on-state to the off-state…”; and Fig. 5 shows atomization process having multiple intervals on the first path switch Q1 corresponding to the claimed time segments of the overall current time window, where the intermediate time segment is different from the first time segment, as annotated above in claim 1.)
detecting a resistance value of the heating element in a non-heating period of the first time segment of the current time window; (Tsuji, [0024] “In an embodiment, the first path has a resistance value smaller than the resistance value of the second path…”)
the heating period of the intermediate time segment being related to consumed energy and consumed time of a time segment that has been run; […] the heating period of the final time segment being related to consumed energy and consumed time of a time segment that has been run. (Tsuji, [0024] “In an embodiment, the first path has a resistance value smaller than the resistance value of the second path, and the control unit is configured to distinguish between the first state and the second state on the basis of a change in the value related to the temperature of the load after functioning of the first path or during functioning of the second path” where the change in the value related to the temperature of the load corresponds to the claimed consumed energy; [0025] “In an embodiment, the control unit is configured to distinguish between the first state and the second state on the basis of a time period elapsed from when the first path or the second path functions to when the value related to the temperature of the load reaches a threshold”; and Fig. 6 step 608 and 610 shows a step in the flow chart to monitor the temperature of the load and the time period elapsed that loops back to step 608 as long as “THTR > 350°C?” and the predetermined time condition in 610 is false.
Examiner’s Note: In annotated Fig. 5 (A) above, the time segments, including the intermediate and final time segments, include a time period where Q1 is turned off and Q2 is turned on for estimation of residual quantity of the aerosol source. The estimation is explained in the flow chart in Fig. 6 where step 606 corresponds with turning off Q1 and turning on Q2, and the logic for estimation of the residual quantity of aerosol after atomization starting from step 608 dictates the heating period of the intermediate and final time segments, mainly whether the heating continues or stops due to insufficient quantity of the aerosol source, which reads on the claim as written.)
controlling the heating element to stop heating or detecting a resistance value of the heating element in a non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window; and (Tsuji, [0023] “The control unit is configured to provide a predetermined interval from when the switch of the first path is switched from the on-state to the off-state…”)
Claim 11. Tsuji discloses the method of claim 10,
wherein segment duration of time segments of the current time window is equal, or wherein segment duration of the time segments of the current time window is not exactly equal. (Tsuji, Fig. 5 (a) shows multiple time segments which are relatively equal to each other, as annotated above.)
Claim 12. Tsuji discloses the method of claim 10,
wherein heating periods of time segments of the current time window are equal, or
wherein heating periods of the time segments of the current time window are not exactly equal. (Tsuji, Fig. 5 (a) shows atomization time periods within multiple time segments which are relatively equal to each other, as annotated above.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji, et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 20200245687 A1 in view of Bowen et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 20160157524 A1.
Claim 4. Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 3.
Tsuji does not explicitly disclose wherein segment duration of the intermediate time segment is determined by using Formula 1: tx=tleft(x–1)/gx (Formula 1), wherein tx is segment duration of an xth time segment, x=2, 3, …, or n–1, n is a total quantity of time segments of the current time window, gx is a set value corresponding to the xth time segment, and gx is an integer greater than 1.
Bowen discloses wherein segment duration of the intermediate time segment is determined by using Formula 1: tx=tleft(x–1)/gx (Formula 1), wherein tx is segment duration of an xth time segment, x=2, 3, …, or n–1, n is a total quantity of time segments of the current time window, gx is a set value corresponding to the xth time segment, and gx is an integer greater than 1. (Bowen, Fig. 10 box 1000 shows the method establishing a time period tp with a plurality of n time intervals, corresponding to the claimed total quantity of time segments of the current time window, each with a duration, corresponding to the claimed tx; and [0113] “The number of time intervals (n) may be predetermined, when the time period is fixed, or it may be open (e.g., continuously incremented). The duration of the time intervals may be fixed or variable, though they are typically fixed… The time intervals may be immediately adjacent to each other (e.g., in real time), or they may be separated by an off period. The time intervals may generally be considered sequential.”
Examiner’s Note: The instant specification gives the example: “x=2, g2=31; x=3, g3=30; and the rest is deduced by analogy,” therefore it may be inferred from this example that gx is merely the remaining segments left at the current xth time segment. As such, the remainder of Bowen’s “plurality of n time intervals” at a given nth interval corresponds to the claimed gx which is a number necessarily greater than 1.)
Tsuji and Bowen are analogous art because they are related to the control of an electronic atomization device. Tsuji differs from the claimed invention only in that it does not explicitly disclose calculating the current time segment duration by taking the remaining duration of the current time window and dividing by an arbitrary integer greater than 1. However, according to paragraphs [0034] and [0071] of the instant specification, Formula 1 calculates the segment duration tx by taking the remaining duration of the current time window tleft(x-1) and dividing by an arbitrary set integer gx, greater than 1, that corresponds with the xth time segment. The instant specification gives the example: x=2, g2=31; x=3, g3=30; and the rest is deduced by analogy, therefore it may be inferred from this example that gx is merely the remaining segments left at the current xth time segment, which is an integer greater than 1 that decreases as each time segment in the current time window passes. Bowen teaches an electronic atomization device where a controller performs a heating operation across a time period tp, which is divided into a plurality of n sequential time intervals i. As the time interval i is incremented, the remaining plurality of n sequential time intervals decreases, corresponding to the claimed formula as written.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control module that controls the time segments taught by Tsuji with the method of dividing the current time window into a plurality of n sequential time intervals I as taught by Bowen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because partitioning an overall heating period into discrete sequential intervals allows the controller to regulate operational parameters such as dosage, proportional temperature and applied power during each interval or determine overall dose of vapor generated over the entire time period, leading to more accurate vaporization of material.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji, et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 20200245687 A1 in view of Liu et al., CN 112403405 A.
Claim 6. Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 1.
Tsuji does not explicitly disclose wherein the heating period of the intermediate time segment and the heating period of the final time segment are respectively related to actual power of a previous time segment, remaining duration of the current time window, and remaining energy of the current time window.
Liu discloses wherein the heating period of the intermediate time segment and the heating period of the final time segment are respectively related to actual power of a previous time segment, remaining duration of the current time window, and remaining energy of the current time window. (Liu, [00119] shows a step that calculates the real-time adjustment parameter of the heating element 110 according to the real-time current and real-time voltage; and [00129] describes reducing the duty cycle of the PWM control signal, thus lowering the power of heating element 110, based on a reduction ratio between 1%-10% of the preset duty cycle.
Examiner’s Note: the duty cycle is the heating period of the interval, therefore decreasing the duty cycle by a ratio of 1%-10% successively decreases the power and energy within the remaining duration of the current interval, which corresponds to the claimed remaining duration of the current time window.)
Tsuji and Liu are analogous art because they are related to the control of the electronic atomization device. Tsuji differs from the claimed invention only in that it does not explicitly disclose the intermediate and final time segments are related to a power of a previous time segment, remaining duration of the current time window, and remaining energy of the current time window. Liu teaches an electronic atomization device wherein the control module acquires real-time current and voltage to calculate actual power output (Liu, [0119]). Liu teaches sampling data from a previous iteration of “real-time” parameters of the time segment in order to calculate current “real-time” power, and thus decrease the duty cycle ratio by 1%-10% successively during the remaining intervals in order to avoid a sharp drop in power of the heating element 110 that affect the atomization heating control and effects, and instead achieve a relatively stable decrease in power and current directed to the heating element(Liu, [00129]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller algorithm of Tsuji with the “real-time” algorithmic sampling of parameters in order to calculate “real-time” power for the purpose of feedback control as taught by Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to achieve a relatively stable decrease in power and current directed to the heating element and avoid a sharp drop in power or current that negatively affect the atomization of a given substance.
Claim 7. Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 6,
Pt(x–1)A is first actual power of the heating element in a heating period of an (x–1)th time segment, Pt(x–1)B is second actual power of the heating element in a non-heating period of the (x–1)th time segment, and Eleft(x–1) is a remaining energy of the current time window. (Tsuji, Fig. 5 (A) shows Q1 has a duty cycle with a Power during the atomization period, and a Power during the estimation of residual quantity period which is a non-heating period, corresponding to the claimed Pt(x–1)A and Pt(x–1)B respectively.)
wherein tx is segment duration of an xth time segment, x=2, 3, …, or n–1, n is a total quantity of time segments of the current time window,
Tsuji does not explicitly disclose wherein, if the heating element is controlled to stop heating in the non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window, the heating period of the intermediate time segment is determined by using Formula 2: tleft(x–1)*Pt(x–1)A*txA/tx=Eleft(x–1) (Formula 2), wherein, if the resistance value of the heating element is detected in the non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window, the heating period of the intermediate time segment is determined by using Formula 3: tleft(x–1)*(Pt(x–1)A*txA+Pt(x–1)B*(tx–txA))/tx=Eleft(x–1) (Formula 3), txA is a heating period of the xth time segment, tleft(x–1) is a remaining duration of the current time window.
Liu discloses wherein, if the heating element is controlled to stop heating in the non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window, the heating period of the intermediate time segment is determined by using Formula 2: tleft(x–1)*Pt(x–1)A*txA/tx=Eleft(x–1) (Formula 2), (Liu, [00119] details the successively reduced duty cycle of the PWM is applied to the electric power directed to the heater, corresponding to the claimed Pt(x–1)A*txA/tx, which is applied over the interval, corresponding to the claimed remaining duration of the current time window tleft(x–1).)
wherein, if the resistance value of the heating element is detected in the non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window, the heating period of the intermediate time segment is determined by using Formula 3: tleft(x–1)*(Pt(x–1)A*txA+Pt(x–1)B*(tx–txA))/tx=Eleft(x–1) (Formula 3), and (Tsuji, Fig. 5 (A) shows the non-heating estimation of residual quantity period part of the time segment which is simply the time segment duration which corresponds to tx minus the heating or on portion of the duty cycle txA over the duration of the time segment, which corresponds to the (tx–txA))/tx of Formula 3. The figure also shows that the non-heating portion of the time segment has a Power, corresponding to the claimed Pt(x–1)B; and Liu, [00119] details the successively reduced duty cycle of the PWM is applied to the electric power directed to the heater, which corresponding to the claimed tleft(x–1)* Pt(x–1)B*(tx–txA))/tx portion of Formula 3.)
txA is a heating period of the xth time segment, tleft(x–1) is a remaining duration of the current time window, (Liu, [00129] describes reducing the duty cycle of the PWM control signal, thus lowering the power of heating element 110, based on a reduction ratio between 1%-10% of the preset duty cycle.
Examiner’s Note: since txA is a heating period of the xth time segment, txA/tx of Formula 2 and 3 corresponds to the duty cycle as taught by Liu. The duty cycle is the heating period of the interval, therefore decreasing the duty cycle by a ratio of 1%-10% successively decreases the power and energy within the remaining duration of the current interval, which corresponds to the claimed remaining duration of the current time window, as taught by Liu.)
Regarding the conditional “if” statements in claim 7, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2111.04 (II). In this case, the claim language “if the heating element is controlled to stop heating in the non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window” and “if the resistance value of the heating element is detected in the non-heating period of the intermediate time segment of the current time window” recites a condition of intended use. The required structure is a control module programmed to determine the intermediate heating period using Formula 2 and 3, which accounts for power consumed during heating Pt(x–1)A and power consumed during non-heating Pt(x–1)B over their respective period of the intermediate time segment. Tsuji teaches sequential time segments comprising of a heating period with a duty cycle labeled “atomization”, and a non-heating period labeled “estimation of residual quantity” in the annotated figure of claim 1. In both instances, Tsuji delivers a Power to the heating element via Q1 during the “on” duty cycle, and via Q2 during the “off” duty cycle through Rshunt and the load 132, into ground. Liu teaches an electronic atomization device wherein the control module calculates power and dynamically adjusts the PWM duty cycle to maintain steady Power output over a time interval. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Tsuji algorithm of Tsuji with the “real-time” algorithmic sampling of parameters in order to calculate “real-time” power for the purpose of feedback control as taught by Liu using the parameters that exist during the operation of Tsuji. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to achieve a relatively stable decrease in power and current directed to the heating element and avoid a sharp drop in power or current that negatively affect the atomization of a given substance.
Claim 8. Modified Tsuji discloses the electronic atomization device of claim 6,
wherein the heating period of the final time segment is determined as follows: if first actual power of the heating element in a heating period of a penultimate time segment is greater than or equal to a ratio of the remaining energy to the remaining duration of the current time window, the ratio is used as the heating period of the final time segment; and (Liu, [00119] shows a step that calculates the real-time adjustment parameter of the heating element 110 according to the real-time current and real-time voltage; and [00129] describes reducing the duty cycle of the PWM control signal, thus lowering the power of heating element 110, based on a reduction ratio between 1%-10% of the preset duty cycle.
Examiner’s Note: the duty cycle is the heating period of the interval, therefore decreasing the duty cycle by a ratio of 1%-10% successively decreases the power and energy within the remaining duration of the current interval.)
if the first actual power of the heating element in the heating period of the penultimate time segment is less than the ratio of the remaining energy to the remaining duration of the current time window, the remaining duration is used as the heating period of the final time segment. (Liu, “[0050] In the third stage, power is provided to heat the heating element at a preset temperature and constant temperature.”)
Conclusion
/K.B.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761