DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to Applicant’s response filed 03/19/2026.
Application filed: 03/04/2024
Applicant’s PgPUB: 2025/0278348
Claims:
Claims 1, 2, 4-11 and 13-22 are pending.
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are independent.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 13 and 19 are amended.
Claims 3 and 12 are canceled.
IDS:
Previous IDS:
IDS filed 05/30/2024 has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s response, filed 03/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11 and 13-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive to overcome the prior rejection. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0161723 A1 to Taleck et al. (“Taleck”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-11 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 1, the newly amended claim includes the language, “… aggregating the log data at the network layer … and without storing the log data … generating deduplicated log data without storing the log data …”. Applicant’s specification discusses “not storing log data” in two (2) locations, paragraphs 0033 and 0066.
Paragraph 0033 (in part):
“The system of the present disclosure can more effectively consume data streams which include logs associated with the computing system by directly aggregating duplicative logs on a network layer and deduplicating the logs without the need to save the raw log data.”
Paragraph 0066 (in part):
“Ephemerally receiving log data may include allowing the raw log data pushed (e.g., transmitted) from the plurality of clients 201A-C to persist at the network layer 102 for a short period of time without storing the raw log data.”
While both paragraphs discuss “not storing raw log data”, paragraph 0066 provides greater clarity that the raw log data (RLD) is allowed to “persist” but then states “without the need to save the raw log data”. This sentence is in conflict with itself. By virtue of the RLD persisting is the allowing the RLD to be stored. The concept of storage is not defined by time. Whether data is held long term or short term is irrelevant. The data is still held or stored.
The claim amendments provided appear to not be supported entirely by the specification. According to the specification, the RLD is stored, but not permanently stored (i.e., it is allowed to persist).
Further, the specification discusses not storing raw log data as opposed to just log data.
For the purposes of this Office Action, Examiner will interpret the phrase “without the need to log data” as only temporarily holding the data to deduplicate before forwarding onward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 11, 13-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0057752 A1 to Tofano (“Tofano”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,509 B1 to Lashgari et al. (“Lashgari”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0161723 A1 to Taleck et al. (“Taleck”).
As to claim 1, Tofano discloses:
a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, from one or more client devices (Fig. 1, Client devices, 114), log data comprising a plurality of logs indicative of metrics associated with a computing system, wherein the log data is received by an aggregation layer provided as part of a network layer, the network layer deployed to network infrastructure that is different than the one or more servers (Fig. 1, (service computing devices) Cluster, 106, Service Computing Device, 102, Storage, 108, Storage Controllers, 132, Storage Devices, 144)) (¶0050-¶0058 – Tofano teaches client devices sending data (i.e. log data indicative of metrics) to the cluster for deduplication;
in response to aggregating the log data, generating deduplicated log data [without storing the log data,] the deduplicated log data comprising one or more unique logs indicative of unique metrics associated with the computing system (¶0076 – Tofano teaches fter a deduplication data portion has been classified as a unique deduplication data portion, the entire data content is stored in the storage and the data-portion identifier for the unique deduplication data portion is also added to the deduplication index.); and
transmitting the deduplicated log data from the aggregation layer to the one or more servers of the computing system (Fig. 1, Storage Controllers 132; ¶0051-¶0054 – Tofano teaches storage 108 used for storage capacity for the cluster (i.e., aggregation layer))
Lashgari discloses what Tofano does not expressly disclose.
Lashgari discloses:
aggregating the log data at the network layer using the aggregation layer [and without storing the log data,] using one or more aggregation parameters (col. 21 ll. 27-36 – Lashgari teaches aggregating log data for analytics and other uses.; col. 27 ll. 11-21 – Lashgari teaches using a similarity score (i.e., parameter) to determine if deduplication is needed on a log), wherein the one or more aggregation parameters are configurable to increase or decrease a level of deduplication (col. 2 ll. 45-59 – Lashgari teaches modifying a level of similarity (i.e. aggregation parameter) used for identifying duplicates during a deduplication process (i.e., increase/decrease level of deduplication);
Tofano and Lashgari are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to deduplication.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate modifying levels of deduplication as discussed in Lashgari with the deduplication network system as discussed in Tofano by adding the functionality of Lashgari to the system/method of Tofano in order to allow the system to adjust to needed levels of deduplication (Lashgari, col. 2 ll. 45-59).
Taleck discloses what Tofano and Lashgari do not expressly discloses.
Taleck discloses:
aggregating the log data at the network layer using the aggregation layer and without storing the log data (¶0074 – Taleck teaches The data cache 117 is a storage area for caching deduplicated chunks. Data of chunks corresponding to a file for which the write request is made from the NAS client 210 is deduplicated and temporarily stored in the data cache 117 and then, incorporated into an object and stored in the cloud storage 240. When the capacity of the data cache 117 is decreased by storing chunks, chunks that are stored in the cloud storage 240 and infrequently accessed from the NAS client 210 are deleted from the data cache 117)
generating deduplicated log data without storing the log data (¶0074 – Taleck teaches The data cache 117 is a storage area for caching deduplicated chunks. Data of chunks corresponding to a file for which the write request is made from the NAS client 210 is deduplicated and temporarily stored in the data cache 117 and then, incorporated into an object and stored in the cloud storage 240. When the capacity of the data cache 117 is decreased by storing chunks, chunks that are stored in the cloud storage 240 and infrequently accessed from the NAS client 210 are deleted from the data cache 117)
Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to deduplication.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate temporary storage for processing/deduplicating data as discussed in Taleck with modifying levels of deduplication as discussed in Lashgari with the deduplication network system as discussed in Tofano by adding the functionality of Taleck to the system/method of Tofano and Lashgari in order to compares incoming data with the data already stored, and only stores the portions of the incoming data that do not match data already stored in the data storage system (Taleck, ¶0005).
As to claim 2, Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 1, and
Tofano discloses:
wherein the log data has at least one of:
(i) a higher throughput than the deduplicated log data or
(ii) a higher cardinality than the deduplicated log data (¶0075 – Tofano teaches classifying data portions as unique or duplicate after deduplication which indicates the log data pre-deduplication would have higher cardinality (i.e., number of elements in a group) than post-deduplication).
As to claim 4, Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 1, and
Tofano discloses:
wherein the aggregation layer filters the log data at the network layer to avoid storing or processing the log data using the one or more servers (Fig. 1, Service Computing Device; ¶0040 – Tofano teaches deduplicating information which would avoid the processing of the deduplicated information).
As to claim 5, Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 1, and
Tofano discloses:
further comprising:
accessing the deduplicated log data from the computing system (0034 – Tofano teaches all data that is stored in the cluster storage 108 may be accessed through any of the service computing devices 102 in the cluster 106, regardless of physical storage topology.); and
Lashgari discloses:
computing analytics data based on the deduplicated log data, the analytics data being associated with the log data (col. 21 ll. 27-36 – Lashgari teaches aggregating log data for analytics and other uses.; col. 27 ll. 11-21 – Lashgari teaches using a similarity score (i.e., parameter) to determine if deduplication is needed on a log).
The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 1.
As to claim 6, Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 1, and
Tofano discloses:
wherein the one or more aggregation parameters comprises metadata associated with the plurality of logs (¶0043 – Tofano teaches For example, the computer-readable media 120 may store data, metadata, data structures, and/or other information … used by the deduplication components).
As to claim 7, Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 6, and
Lashgari discloses:
wherein the metadata comprises at least one of:
(i) a time stamp (col. 20 ll. 43-49 – Lashgari teaches use of timestamps for log data) or
(ii) a log type associated with respective logs of the plurality of logs.
The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 1.
As to claim 10, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 11, similar rejection as to claim 2.
As to claim 13, similar rejection as to claim 4.
As to claim 14, similar rejection as to claim 5.
As to claim 15, similar rejection as to claim 6.
As to claim 16, similar rejection as to claim 7.
As to claim 19, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 20, similar rejection as to claim 2.
As to claim 21, Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 1, and
Tofano discloses:
further comprising:
storing the deduplicated log data in a storage system of the computing system (Fig. 1, Storage devices 144; ¶0051-¶0054 – Tofano teaches storage used for storage capacity for the cluster (i.e., aggregation layer)).
As to claim 22, similar rejection as to claim 21.
Claims 8, 9, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0057752 A1 to Tofano (“Tofano”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,509 B1 to Lashgari et al. (“Lashgari”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0161723 A1 to Taleck et al. (“Taleck”) in further view of U.S. Patent 10,754,834 B1 to Patil et al. (“Patil”).
As to claim 8, Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 1, and
Patil discloses what Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck do not expressly discloses:
Patil discloses:
further comprising:
determining the aggregation layer is unavailable to receive additional log data (Fig. 2, col. 5 ll. 52-col. 6 ll. 19 – Patil teaches determining if the fingerprint database (i.e, aggregation layer) is available and if not, storing data in the storage data unit in backup storage); and
based on determining the aggregation layer is unavailable to receive the additional log data, transmitting the additional log data to the computing system (Fig. 2, col. 5 ll. 52-col. 6 ll. 19 – Patil teaches determining if the fingerprint database (i.e, aggregation layer) is available and if not, storing data in the storage data unit in backup storage).
Tofano, Lashgari, Taleck and Patil are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to deduplication.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate system bypass as discussed in Patil with modifying levels of deduplication as discussed in Lashgari with the deduplication network system as discussed in Tofano by adding the functionality of Patil to the system/method of Tofano, Lashgari and Taleck in order to allow data to be stored regardless of the status of a deduplication process (Patil, col. 2 ll. 52-64).
As to claim 9, Tofano, Lashgari, Taleck and Patil discloses:
computer-implemented method of claim 8, and
Patil discloses:
wherein determining the aggregation layer is unavailable to receive the additional log data comprises determining one or more faults associated with the aggregation layer, wherein the one or more faults are indicative of a fault tolerance (Fig. 2, col. 5 ll. 52-col. 6 ll. 19 – Patil teaches determining if the fingerprint database (i.e, aggregation layer) is available and if not, storing data in the storage data unit in backup storage. Error codes are used to determine the problem with accessing the fingerprint database, so when there is a problem with accessing the fingerprint database, it is bypassed which is indicative of fault tolerance because if the fingerprint database is not accessible, it is bypassed which shows that the fault tolerance of the system is available/unavailable.). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 8.
As to claim 17, similar rejection as to claim 8.
As to claim 18, similar rejection as to claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PgPUB 2021/0132824 to Furuta et al. – Furuta teaches teaches write request is made from the NAS client is deduplicated and temporarily stored in the data cache 117 and then, incorporated into an object and stored in the cloud storage.
/TAYLOR A ELFERVIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445