Drawings
The drawings filed on 3/4/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/9/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “IoT” on line 6 should be “Internet of Things (IoT)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “IoT” on line 5 should be “Internet of Things (IoT)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, 10, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said time frame" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said time frame" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "said time frame" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “historical long-term records” in claims 10 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “historical long-term records” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purpose of the examination, the examiner has interpreted “historical long-term records” in claims 10 and 20 as “historical records”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "said time frame" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said time frame" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said time frame" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) mental steps involving formatting said past consumption data; generating one or more consumption profiles based on said past consumption data; and determine one or more means to deploy distributed energy resources for at least energy consumer of said plurality of energy consumers, comparing a real-time measurement of energy consumption to a predicted estimation of energy consumption, format said past consumption data; determine one or more means to deploy distributed energy resources for at least energy consumer of said plurality of energy consumers; comparing a real-time measurement of energy consumption to a predicted estimation of energy consumption (claims 1, 9, 11 and 19), these limitations as described in [0054]-[0060] is recited in high level of generality constitutes as a mental process, such as an evaluation or judgement, that can be performed in the human mind. The claim(s) also recite(s) mathematical concepts of evaluating said one or more consumption profiles to predict future consumption, said predicted estimation of energy consumption is calculated based on a combination of historical long-term records, a localized consumption forecast, and a machine learning history of energy consumption, evaluate said one or more consumption profiles to predict future consumption, said predicted estimation of energy consumption is calculated based on a combination of historical long-term records, a localized consumption forecast, and a machine learning history of energy consumption (claims 1, 10-11 and 20), these limitations as described in [0064]-[0078] constitutes details of mathematical calculations of the material model, physical properties, thus, it falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations of retrieving past consumption data, storing said one or more consumption profiles in a memory within said cloud computing infrastructure; retrieving past consumption data comprises a request sent to an application program interface prior to directing the request to a processor within the cloud computing infrastructure; wherein said past consumption data is based on one or more utility meter readings from the at least one energy consumer of said plurality of energy consumers; wherein said past consumption data is based on an average energy usage of said plurality of energy consumers within a geographical region; wherein said past consumption data is measured within a time frame; wherein said past consumption data is an average of data points within said time frame; wherein said past consumption data is energy consumption data measured at a time point within said timeframe; wherein said time frame is based on a selection of regular time intervals from at least one of seconds, minutes, hours, days, months, and years; retrieve past consumption data; a memory within said cloud computing infrastructure to store said one or more consumption profiles (claims 1-8 and 11-18) do not integrate the invention into a practical application because they represent mere data retrieval/storage, which is an insignificant extrasolution activity, the one or more IoT edge devices connected to a cloud computing infrastructure via a telecommunication network, one or more processors (claims 1 and 11) are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224-26 (2014). Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system (Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014)). Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the insignificant extra-solution activity of data retrieval/storage is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional, see mpep 2106.05(d)(II), infra applied prior art, references cited. The one or more IoT edge devices connected to a cloud computing infrastructure via a telecommunication network, one or more processors are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications, which cannot provide an inventive concept. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system (Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 11, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210123771 to Vega et al. (hereinafter “Vega”), in view of US20170005515 to Sanders et al. (hereinafter “Sanders”).
As for claim 1, Vega substantially discloses a computer-implemented method for determining an energy consumption profile of a plurality of energy consumers (Vega, see [0072], it is noted that the energy fingerprint can be interpreted as the energy consumption profile as claimed), the method comprising:
retrieving past consumption data (Vega, see [0084] and [0180]);
formatting said past consumption data (Vega, see [0084] for conversion of historical energy usage data (i.e. formatting the past consumption data));
generating one or more consumption profiles based on said past consumption data through one or more IoT edge devices connected to a cloud computing infrastructure via a telecommunication network (Vega, see [0072] for the system generating one or more energy finger print based on historical usage and see [0319] for the system being a hybrid of edge and cloud computing with telecommunication network);
storing said one or more consumption profiles in a memory within said cloud computing infrastructure (Vega, see [0197]-[0198] and [0186]); and
evaluating said one or more consumption profiles to predict future consumption (Vega, see [0288] and [0289]).
Vega does not explicitly disclose determine one or more means to deploy distributed energy resources for at least energy consumer of said plurality of energy consumers.
However, Sanders in an analogous art discloses determine one or more means to deploy distributed energy resources for at least energy consumer of said plurality of energy consumers (Sanders, see [0154]), Sanders also discloses one or more IoT edge devices connected to a cloud computing infrastructure via a telecommunication network (Sanders, see [0077], it is noted that a machine/computer implemented via the Internet-of-Things technology (IoT) can be interpreted as an IoT edge device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Sanders into the method of Vega. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to maximize cost saving for the system owners by determining charging discharging command of distributed energy resources (Sanders, see [0154])
Claim 11 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 1, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Vega further discloses one or more processors to perform the method steps (Vega, see [0080] and [0445]).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Vega further discloses said past consumption data is based on one or more utility meter readings from the at least one energy consumer of said plurality of energy consumers (Vega, see [0245]).
Claim 13 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 3, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Vega further discloses said past consumption data is measured within a time frame (Vega, see [0195]).
Claim 15 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 5, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vega, in view of Sanders, further in view of US20170063967 to Kitchen et al. (hereinafter “Kitchen”).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Vega further discloses retrieving past consumption data (Vega, see [0084] and [0180]). The combination of Vega and Sanders does not explicitly disclose a request sent to an application program interface prior to directing the request to a processor within the cloud computing infrastructure. However, Kitchen in an analogous art discloses a request sent to an application program interface prior to directing the request to a processor within the cloud computing infrastructure (Kitchen, see [0113]-[0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Kitchen into the above combination of Vega and Sanders. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to enable end-users to integrate and use their previously-standalone Internet-connected devices with each other as well as with their service provider-based service (Kitchen, see [0022]).
Claim 12 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 2, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Claim(s) 4, 6-8, 14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vega, in view of Sanders, further in view of US20110282506 to Amram et al. (hereinafter “Amram”).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Vega and Sanders does not explicitly disclose said past consumption data is based on an average energy usage of said plurality of energy consumers within a geographical region. However, Amram in an analogous art discloses said past consumption data is based on an average energy usage of said plurality of energy consumers within a geographical region (Amram, see [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Amram into the above combination of Vega and Sanders. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to attribute utility consumption to actual consumption sources in the dwelling, which would provide high-resolution utility information to the consumer and would enable the consumer to see utility consumption in context, and create awareness of efficient utility consumption (Amram, see [0007]).
Claim 14 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 4, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Amram further discloses wherein said past consumption data is an average of data points within said time frame (Amram, see [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Amram into the above combination of Vega and Sanders. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to attribute utility consumption to actual consumption sources in the dwelling, which would provide high-resolution utility information to the consumer and would enable the consumer to see utility consumption in context, and create awareness of efficient utility consumption (Amram, see [0007]).
Claim 16 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 6, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Vega further discloses wherein past consumption data is energy consumption data measured at a time point within said timeframe (Vega, see [0245]).
Claim 17 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 7, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 7.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Vega further discloses wherein said time frame is based on a selection of regular time intervals from at least one of seconds, minutes, hours, days, months and years (Vega, see [0195]).
Claim 18 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 8, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vega, in view of Sanders, further in view of US20150198962 to Shiel.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Vega further discloses generating one or more consumption profiles comprises comparing measurements (Vega, see [0085]). The combination of Vega and Sanders does not explicitly disclose comparing a real-time measurement of energy consumption to a predicted estimation of energy consumption. However, Shiel in an analogous art discloses comparing a real-time measurement of energy consumption to a predicted estimation of energy consumption (Shiel, see [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Shiel into the above combination of Vega and Sanders. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to alert the building operator to the likelihood of out-of-control situation (Shiel, see [0023]).
Claim 19 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 9, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 9.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Vega further discloses said predicted estimation of energy consumption is calculated based on a combination of historical records, a localized consumption forecast, and a machine learning history of energy consumption (Vega, see [0288] and [0289]).
Claim 20 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim 10, it is therefore rejected under similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US20130166479 discloses a method and apparatus for calculating energy revenues of electric power devices based on real time pricing is provided. The energy revenue calculating apparatus may synchronize time between the energy revenue calculating apparatus and at least one of a real time energy pricing information providing server and a time information providing server, based on time information received from at least one of the real time energy pricing information providing server and the time information providing server, synchronize an energy sale price stored in the energy revenue calculating apparatus with an energy sale price, based on energy sale price information received from the real time energy pricing information providing server, and calculate energy revenues for a predetermined time period, based on the received energy sale price information and information about an amount of energy that flows into and out of the plurality of electric power devices.
US20140277797 discloses a system and process/method is provided, which economically optimizes the dispatch of various electrical energy resources. The disclosed process/method is linked to and communicates with various sources of input data, including but not limited to, EMS/SCADA legacy Energy Management Systems (EMS), legacy Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) Systems, Demand Response (DR) and Distributed Energy Resources (DER) monitor, control, schedule, and lifecycle management systems (DR/DER Management System), and Energy Markets, electrical energy commodity trading systems (Trading Systems), and Operations System (OPS) in order to compute optimal day-ahead, day-of, and real-time schedules of various durational length for generation, demand response and storage resources while taking into account bilateral contracts and market-based trade opportunities.
US20090187284 discloses a system, method and computer program product for processing utility data of a power grid is provided. In one embodiment, the system includes a datamart comprised of a plurality of physical databases storing utility data, a plurality of applications comprising an automated meter application configured to process power usage data from a plurality of automated meters, a power outage application configured to identify a location of a power outage, and a power restoration application configured to identify a location of a power restoration. The system may include an analysis engine comprising a plurality of analysis objects with each analysis object configured to process data to provide a specific analysis, wherein said analysis engine is accessible via one or more of the plurality of applications, and the system may include a report module configured to receive an output from the analysis engine and to output a report. The plurality of applications may also include a fault analysis application, a transformer analysis application, a theft detection application, a power flow application, a substation automation application, a load shed application and others.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117