Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 1, “ID response”, should read, “ID response frame”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Counterman (US 2019/0289465 A1), hereinafter, “Counterman” in view of Estes et al. (US 2017/0012711 A1), hereinafter, “Estes”.
Regarding Claim 1, Counterman discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a powered wireless device, an identification (ID) request frame to a second device
receiving an ID response frame from the
securely communicating, by the powered wireless device using the network address, with the network server to obtain authorization and data from the network server with which to establish
Counterman fails to disclose that the second device is an ambient power (AMP device) for authenticating the powered wireless device. While Counterman discloses Mobile device using the encrypted identification and access token in order to connect to Third Party device for receiving the content, Counterman fails to disclose establishing an encrypted wireless communication session with the AMP device.
Estes discloses authentication system for an ambient power (AMD device) for authentication of a powered wireless device prior to establishing encrypted wireless communication session between an AMD device and a powered wireless device (See, Fig. 2 and Paragraphs 0049 and 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply, the teaching of Counterman for authentication of mobile device using a server, for authentication of powered wireless device by an ambient power device and further establish encrypted wireless communication session with AMP device as taught by Estes in order to provide authentication and secure communication between AMP device and Counterman using a server which may free up processing from the limited resources available in a typical AMP device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Counterman in view of Estes and further in view of Gravelle et al. (US 2009/0096584 A1), hereinafter, “Gravelle”.
Regarding Claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Counterman and Estes does not explicitly disclose wherein the ID response further comprises cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data, the method further comprising, in response to failing to verify the CRC data, terminating a procedure of establishing an authenticated and encrypted communication session between the powered wireless device and the AMP device.
However, using CRC is well-known in the art for data transmission verification. Gravelle discloses a message comprising cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data and in response to failing to verify the CRC data, terminating a procedure of establishing an authenticated and encrypted communication session between two devices (See, Paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use, with the ID response in the system of Counterman and Estes, cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data and in response to failing to verify the CRC data, terminating a procedure of establishing an authenticated and encrypted communication session as taught by Gravelle in order to detect transmission error and to maintain the security of the communication session.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-21 are allowed.
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wichmann et al. (US 2015/0185716 A1).
Chen et al. (US 2018/0283913 A1).
Greene et al. (US 2019/0181674 A1).
Nitzani et al. (US 2021/0247727 A1).
Starsinic et al. (US 2024/0155315 A1).
Saini et al. (US 2024/0357348 A1).
/YOGESH PALIWAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435