DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-25 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 5-6 recite “with a clear water sensor configured for detecting whether the clear water is empty”, wherein “the clear water” appears to mean to read as “the clear water tank”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 16, 17 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kingsun Cleaning Equipment Suzhou Co. LTD. (herein referred to as “Kingsun”, CN 1112773278; found in IDS filed 11/05/2024).
Regarding instant Claim 1, Kingsun discloses a water exchange base station, configured for automatically docking with an intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Description, Paragraph 3; water exchange base station in service station 1 with robot scrubber 2 that docks to said station 1), comprising:
a main body (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph 3; main body 21 of robot scrubber 2);
a sewage exchange port, arranged on the main body and configured for docking with a sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; body 21 comprising sewage tank 22 with sewage inlet 222 and sewage outlet 221);
a clear water exchange port, arranged on the main body and configured for docking with a clear water port of the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water pipeline and associated clean water tank 30, along with pump 32);
a first clear water connecting port, arranged on the main body and configured for connecting with an external water source (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water pipeline connection with clean water tank 30);
a first sewage connecting port, arranged on the main body and in communication with the sewage exchange port and configured for discharging a sewage to an outside (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; sewage outlet 221); and
an inlet valve, configured for controlling a clear water to enter the water exchange base station (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; Paragraph 10; water supply valve 18);
wherein when the clear water port of the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the clear water exchange port and is in a state of supplying clear water, the first clear water connecting port is in communication with the clear water exchange port, and the clear water exchange port supplies the clear water to the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph 3; Paragraph 10; see clean water exchange protocol); and
wherein the sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the sewage exchange port and is in a state of discharging sewage, the sewage in the intelligent cleaning machine is drawn out from the sewage exchange port and discharged from the first sewage connecting port to the outside (Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 7; Description, Paragraphs 3, 5 and 8; sewage receiving port 111 and outlet 221, wherein outlet 221 discharged sewage from tank to port).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kingsun further discloses wherein the main body is provided with a pump, when the sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the sewage exchange port and is in the state of discharging sewage, the pump draws out the sewage in the intelligent cleaning machine from the sewage exchanging port; the main body is provided with a sewage processing device, a sewage inlet of the sewage processing device is in communication with the sewage exchange port, and a sewage outlet of the sewage processing device is in communication with the first sewage connecting port; the sewage processing device is connected with the pump and configured for drawing out the sewage of the intelligent cleaning machine and pumping into the sewage processing device through the pump when in the state of discharging sewage (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraphs 3, 5 and 8; see pump 32, valve drive actuator and sewage tank, also suction used to introduce sewage to the sewage tank, connecting to the sewage receiving port 111).
Regarding instant Claim 16, Claim 2, upon which Claim 16 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kingsun further discloses wherein the main body is provided with a charging connector electrically connected with the pump, and the charging connector is configured for obtaining an electric energy from the intelligent cleaning machine (Description, Paragraph 3; power supply 24 used to power pump and similar units).
Regarding instant Claim 17, Claim 1, upon which Claim 17 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kingsun further discloses wherein the main body is provided therein with a battery configured for supplying power to a communication module, so that the water exchange base station is in communication with the intelligent cleaning machine before or during docking with the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3, 5 and 6; power supply 24 must be charged via charging port 15, indicating power supply 24 is a battery powering the rest of the device).
Regarding instant Claim 21, Claim 1, upon which Claim 21 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kingsun further discloses wherein the main body is provided with a second control module and a first detection module, and the second control module is electrically connected with the first detection module (Description, Paragraphs 5-7; position sensor 14 is detection module, controller 3);
the first detection module is configured for detecting whether the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the water exchange base station in place (Description, Paragraphs 5-7; position sensor 14 and location signals); and
the second control module is configured for controlling to supply the clear water to the clear water port of the intelligent cleaning machine through the clear water exchange port of the water exchange base station, and/or to collect the sewage from the sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine through the sewage exchange port of the water exchange base station; and for controlling to stop supply the clear water and/or collect the sewage according to detection information from the intelligent cleaning machine (Description, Paragraphs 5-11; see controller, position location, and discharge/water supply valve control).
Regarding instant Claim 22, Kingsun discloses an intelligent cleaning machine configured for automatically docking with a water exchange base station (Figure 1; Description, Paragraph 3; water exchange base station in service station 1 with robot scrubber 2 that docks to said station 1), comprising:
a main body (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph 3; main body 21 of robot scrubber 2);
a sewage exchange port, arranged on the main body and configured for docking with a sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; body 21 comprising sewage tank 22 with sewage inlet 222 and sewage outlet 221);
a clear water exchange port, arranged on the main body and configured for docking with a clear water port of the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water pipeline and associated clean water tank 30, along with pump 32);
a first clear water connecting port, arranged on the main body and configured for connecting with an external water source (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water pipeline connection with clean water tank 30);
a first sewage connecting port, arranged on the main body and in communication with the sewage exchange port and configured for discharging a sewage to an outside (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; sewage outlet 221); and
an inlet valve, configured for controlling a clear water to enter the water exchange base station (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; Paragraph 10; water supply valve 18);
wherein when the clear water port of the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the clear water exchange port and is in a state of supplying clear water, the first clear water connecting port is in communication with the clear water exchange port, and the clear water exchange port supplies the clear water to the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph 3; Paragraph 10; see clean water exchange protocol); and
wherein the sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the sewage exchange port and is in a state of discharging sewage, the sewage in the intelligent cleaning machine is drawn out from the sewage exchange port and discharged from the first sewage connecting port to the outside (Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 7; Description, Paragraphs 3, 5 and 8; sewage receiving port 111 and outlet 221, wherein outlet 221 discharged sewage from tank to port);
wherein the intelligent cleaning machine comprises:
a shell (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; shell in outer cover/body 21 of robot scrubber 2);
a second clear water tank, arranged inside the shell (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water tank 30); and
a sewage tank, arranged inside the shell (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; sewage tank 22);
wherein the shell is provided with a clear water port in communication with the second clear water tank and a sewage port in communication with the sewage tank; the sewage port is configured for docking with the sewage exchange port of the water exchange base station to discharge sewage to an outside through the water exchange base station, and the clear water port is configured for docking with the clear water exchange port of the water exchange base station to connect an external water source through the water exchange base station and supply clear water to the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; Paragraphs 5-7; Paragraph 10; see sewage draining and water inlet valve used to drain/fill respective chambers of sewage/with water).
Regarding instant Claim 23, Claim 22, upon which Claim 23 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kingsun further discloses wherein a rechargeable battery is provided in the shell, and the shell is provided with a charging portion electrically connected to the rechargeable battery, and the charging portion is configured for supply power to a pump of the water exchange base station (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3, 5 and 6; power supply 24 must be charged via charging port 15, indicating power supply 24 is a battery powering the rest of the device; power supply powers all electrical parts of the body including pump 32).
Regarding instant Claim 24, Claim 22, upon which Claim 24 is dependent, has been rejected above. Kingsun further discloses wherein the shell is further provided with a third control module and a second detection module electrically connected with the third control module; the sewage tank is provided therein with a sewage sensor configured for detecting whether the sewage is full, and the second clear water tank is provided therein with a clear water sensor configured for detecting whether the clear water tank is empty (Description Paragraphs 9-11; liquid level sensors 5 for sewage tank 22 and clean water tank 30; see full water signals for sewage and empty signals for clear water and controller operations);
the third control module is configured for controlling the intelligent cleaning machine to enter a state of water exchanging and move to the water exchange base station after the sewage sensor detects that the sewage in the sewage tank if full, or after the clear water sensor detects that the clear water in the second water tank is empty (Description Paragraphs 9-11; see operations performed upon tanks being full or empty);
the second detection module is configured for detecting a location of the water exchange base station when the intelligent cleaning machine is in the state of water exchanging, so that the sewage port is docked with the sewage exchange port of the water exchange base station and/or the clear water port is docked with the clear water exchange port of the water exchange base station (Description, Paragraphs 5-7; position sensor 14 and location signals); and
the third control module is further configured for controlling to start and to stop discharging and/or supplying water based on detection information from the intelligent cleaning machine after the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the water exchange base station in place (Description, Paragraphs 5-11; see controller, position location, and discharge/water supply valve control).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kingsun Cleaning Equipment Suzhou Co. LTD. (herein referred to as “Kingsun”, CN 1112773278; found in IDS filed 11/05/2024) in view of Jung et al. (herein referred to as “Jung” US Pat Pub. 2012/0013907).
Regarding instant Claim 25, Kingsun recites an intelligent cleaning machine water exchange system (Figure 1; Description, Paragraph 3; water exchange base station in service station 1 with robot scrubber 2 that docks to said station 1), comprising:
a water exchange base station comprising:
a main body (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph 3; main body 21 of robot scrubber 2);
a sewage exchange port, arranged on the main body and configured for docking with a sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; body 21 comprising sewage tank 22 with sewage inlet 222 and sewage outlet 221);
a clear water exchange port, arranged on the main body and configured for docking with a clear water port of the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water pipeline and associated clean water tank 30, along with pump 32);
a first clear water connecting port, arranged on the main body and configured for connecting with an external water source (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water pipeline connection with clean water tank 30);
a first sewage connecting port, arranged on the main body and in communication with the sewage exchange port and configured for discharging a sewage to an outside (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; sewage outlet 221); and
an inlet valve, configured for controlling a clear water to enter the water exchange base station (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; Paragraph 10; water supply valve 18);
wherein when the clear water port of the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the clear water exchange port and is in a state of supplying clear water, the first clear water connecting port is in communication with the clear water exchange port, and the clear water exchange port supplies the clear water to the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph 3; Paragraph 10; see clean water exchange protocol); and
wherein the sewage port of the intelligent cleaning machine is docked with the sewage exchange port and is in a state of discharging sewage, the sewage in the intelligent cleaning machine is drawn out from the sewage exchange port and discharged from the first sewage connecting port to the outside (Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 7; Description, Paragraphs 3, 5 and 8; sewage receiving port 111 and outlet 221, wherein outlet 221 discharged sewage from tank to port);
an intelligent cleaning machine comprising:
a shell (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; shell in outer cover/body 21 of robot scrubber 2);
a second clear water tank, arranged inside the shell (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; clear water tank 30); and
a sewage tank, arranged inside the shell (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; sewage tank 22);
wherein the shell is provided with a clear water port in communication with the second clear water tank and a sewage port in communication with the sewage tank; the sewage port is configured for docking with the sewage exchange port of the water exchange base station to discharge sewage to an outside through the water exchange base station, and the clear water port is configured for docking with the clear water exchange port of the water exchange base station to connect an external water source through the water exchange base station and supply clear water to the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; Paragraphs 5-7; Paragraph 10; see sewage draining and water inlet valve used to drain/fill respective chambers of sewage/with water); and
a cleaning base station (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3, 5 and 6; power supply 24 must be charged via charging port 15, indicating power supply 24 is a battery powering the rest of the device; power supply powers all electrical parts of the body including pump 32);
wherein the water exchange base station is configured for supplying water to the intelligent cleaning machine, or for drawing out the sewage in the intelligent cleaning machine when the intelligent cleaning machine is automatically docked with the water exchange base station, and the cleaning base station is configured for supplying a power to the intelligent cleaning machine and for collecting a dust in the intelligent cleaning machine (Figure 1; Figure 2; Description, Paragraph 3; Paragraphs 5-7; Paragraph 10; see sewage draining and water inlet valve used to drain/fill respective chambers of sewage/with water and power charging).
However, Kingsun is silent on the cleaning base removing dust.
Jung discloses a robot cleaner, maintenance station and cleaning system having the same in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a robot/intelligent machine for cleaning operations (Abstract). Jung further provides a cleaning base that removes dust from a robot cleaner 20 for the purposes of removing the dust for maintenance/cleaning purposes (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 5A; Paragraph [0190]; Paragraph [0191]; Paragraph [0195]; Paragraph [0200]; dust removal unit 90 via suction port 92a and robot cleaner 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cleaning base and the intelligent cleaning machine of Kingsun to further configure said cleaning base to remove dust as taught by Jung because Jung discloses the intelligent cleaning machine of Kingsun could be cleaned of dust for maintenance/cleaning purposes (Kingsun, Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 5A; Paragraph [0190]; Paragraph [0191]; Paragraph [0195]; Paragraph [0200]; dust removal unit 90 via suction port 92a and robot cleaner 20).
.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 3 (upon which Claims 4-15 are dependent) and Claim 18 (19 and 20) both contain limitations that—when considered with what has been considered the most pertinent prior art with respect to the instant claims—are considered allowable at this time. Claims 3 and 18 are ultimately dependent on Claim 1, which is rejected; therefore, the objections are made. A more detailed reasons for allowance will be provided upon allowance of the entire claim set.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lepper et al. (herein referred to as “Lepper”, US 4262191) recites a digital electronic steam humidifier control that comprises a water level sensor using positive and negative inputs similar to that recited in Claim 20 (Abstract; Figures 1-2; Col. 15, Lines 21-48). However, no rejection can be made due to the dependency of Claim 20 on Claim 18, which is considered allowable for its subject matter.
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 06/26/2026