DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/04/2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 8 & 11 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to CN Patent No. 110138225 . Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, & 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. Patent No. 9802493 (hereinafter Baker) in view of US Patent No. 10251227 (hereinafter Siegfried) and CN Patent No. 110138225 (Hereinafter Sha).
Regarding claim 1, Baker discloses power converter [e.g. Fig. 1, element 116] comprising: a power converter circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 201 & 202] comprising a plurality of switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, & 232] and an energy transfer device [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 238 & 244]; a controller [e.g. Fig. 2, element 204] operably coupled to the power converter circuit [e.g. Fig. 2, element DR_A_RIGHT] the controller configured to: determine operation of a unit cell [e.g. paragraph 0016, “DC/DC power converter system is digitally controlled by digital converter controller”] defined by the plurality of switches or a portion thereof [e.g. Fig 2, elements 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, & 232] the unit cell comprising first side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 226, & 228] and second side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 222, 224, 230, & 232] coupled together by the energy transfer device [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 238 & 244]; select, from a pre-defined set of modes [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system is configured to operate in a plurality of modes including at least a buck mode and a boost mode”], a mode for a cycle that transfers a controlled charge and energy between the first side and the second side [e.g. paragraph 0017, “switching inductors store energy in a first part of the operating cycle and release the stored energy in a second part of the operating cycle, while ensuring that the energy transfer takes place in the desired direction”], each mode of the pre-defined set of modes having a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Switches … may be in the ‘ON’ state for a particular duration (i.e., an “on-period”) within the switching period”] for a corresponding transfer condition [e.g. paragraph 0018, “herein a “buck” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being greater than second voltage source (V 2 ) and a “boost” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being less than second voltage source (V 2 )”]; determine operation of the plurality of switches from the selected mode [e.g. paragraph 0018, “e.g. Fig. 2, elements V1_SENSE & V2_SENSE ;paragraph 0018, “herein a “buck” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being greater than second voltage source (V 2 ) and a “boost” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being less than second voltage source (V 2 )”];”and control the plurality of switches [e.g. paragraph 0018, “When operating in boost mode, switch is ‘OFF’, switch is ‘ON’ and switches operate complimentarily.”] to operate the converter circuit according to the selected mode on a cycle-by-cycle basis [e.g. paragraph 0018, ”The rate of this switching may be referred to as the “switching frequency”. The inverse, or reciprocal, of the switching frequency may be referred to as the “switching period” or “switching cycle””],
Baker fails to discloses a transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurs when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device.
Siegfried teaches a transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurring when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device [e.g. paragraph 16, “the residual current in the inductance is zero at the time of switching”].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to further include that the transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurs when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device as taught by Siegfried to minimize losses.
Bakers also fails to disclose wherein the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein for a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer
Sha teaches wherein the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0033, “The control method for the current source type dual-transformer bidirectional DC-DC converter disclosed in the present invention selects the mode with the smallest current peak value and average value among multiple possible working modes”].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to furth include that the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein a corresponding transfer condition comprises peak current of the energy transfer as taught by Sha to improve the efficiency of the converter.
Regarding claim 2, Baker discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein the controller [e.g. Fig. 2, element 204] is configured to select the mode according to a pre-defined set of sequences [e.g. paragraph 0018 “wherein a “buck” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being greater than second voltage source (V 2 ) and a “boost” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) 110 being less than second voltage source (V 2 )”] based on different operating conditions of the energy transfer device [e.g. Fig. 2, elements I_SENSE_A, I_SENSE_B, V2_SENSE, & V1_SENSE; paragraph 0020, “Digital converter controller 204 also performs feedback measurements that are compared to the power and voltage commands. The duty cycles of drive signals sent by digital converter controller are adjusted so that the feedback values of digital converter controller substantially match the power and voltage commands.”].
Regarding claim 4, Baker discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein the unit cell [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, & 232] comprises a dual active bridge [e.g. paragraph 0014, “In the example embodiment, an application of multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system 100 is to bridge two energy storage systems of different voltages.”], wherein a primary voltage [e.g. Fig. 2, element V1] and a secondary voltage [e.g. Fig. 2, element V2] of the active bridges [e.g. paragraph 0014, “An example would be to bridge a 48V system and a 24V system in a piece of electrified construction equipment”] are switched by action of the first side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 226, & 228] and the second side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 222, 224, 230, & 232].
Regarding claim 5, Baker discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein each mode of the pre-defined set of modes [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system is configured to operate in a plurality of modes including at least a buck mode and a boost mode”] has a unique combination of a plurality of durations [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Switches may be in the ‘ON’ state for a particular duration (i.e., an “on-period”) within the switching period”] for energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Switches … may be in the ‘ON’ state for a particular duration (i.e., an “on-period”) within the switching period”] for a corresponding transfer condition defined by a geometric waveform [e.g. paragraph 0038, “pulse width modulators are configured to control respective positions of the plurality of switches”] defined by the plurality of durations and the transfer condition [e.g. paragraph 0038, “The converter controller may also be further configured to operate the first and second single phase DC/DC power converter circuits … when the first electrical bus voltage is greater than second electrical bus voltage and … in a second boost mode when the first electrical bus voltage is less than second electrical bus voltage.”].
Regarding claim 6, Baker discloses the power converter of claim 2, wherein the pre-defined set of sequences comprises analytical formulation for the different operating conditions [e.g. paragraph 0020, “Digital converter controller also performs feedback measurements that are compared to the power and voltage commands.”], including at least one of output current, switching period, rms currents, and device losses [e.g. paragraph 0020, “The duty cycles of drive signals sent by digital converter controller are adjusted so that the feedback values of digital converter controller substantially match the power and voltage commands.”].
Regarding claim 7, Baker discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein each cycle is self-contained and decoupled from another cycle [e.g. paragraph 0019, “In one embodiment, a control algorithm (described below) generates, and corrects, duty cycles of switches”].
Regarding claim 11, Baker discloses a method comprising: determining operation of a unit cell mode [e.g. paragraph 0018, “e.g. Fig. 2, elements V1_SENSE & V2_SENSE ;paragraph 0018, “herein a “buck” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being greater than second voltage source (V 2 ) and a “boost” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being less than second voltage source (V 2 )”] defined by the plurality of switches or a portion thereof of a power converter circuit comprising a plurality of switches and an energy transfer device, the unit cell comprising first side switches and second side switches coupled together by the energy transfer device; selecting, from a pre-defined set of modes [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system is configured to operate in a plurality of modes including at least a buck mode and a boost mode”], a mode for a cycle that transfers a controlled charge and energy between the first side and the second side [e.g. paragraph 0017, “switching inductors store energy in a first part of the operating cycle and release the stored energy in a second part of the operating cycle, while ensuring that the energy transfer takes place in the desired direction”], each mode of the pre-defined set of modes having a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Switches … may be in the ‘ON’ state for a particular duration (i.e., an “on-period”) within the switching period”] for a corresponding transfer condition [e.g. paragraph 0020, “The duty cycles of drive signals sent by digital converter controller are adjusted so that the feedback values of digital converter controller substantially match the power and voltage commands.”]; and determining operation of the plurality of switches from the selected mode[e.g. paragraph 0018, “e.g. Fig. 2, elements V1_SENSE & V2_SENSE ;paragraph 0018, “herein a “buck” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being greater than second voltage source (V 2 ) and a “boost” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being less than second voltage source (V 2 )”]; and controlling the plurality of switches [e.g. paragraph 0018, “When operating in boost mode, switch is ‘OFF’, switch 218 is ‘ON’ and switches operate complimentarily.”] to operate the converter circuit according to the mode on a cycle-by-cycle basis [e.g. paragraph 0018, ”The rate of this switching may be referred to as the “switching frequency”. The inverse, or reciprocal, of the switching frequency may be referred to as the “switching period” or “switching cycle”].
Baker fails to discloses a transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurs when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device.
Siegfried teaches a transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurring when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device [e.g. paragraph 16, “the residual current in the inductance is zero at the time of switching”].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to further include that the transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurs when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device as taught by Siegfried to minimize losses.
Bakers also fails to disclose wherein the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein each mode comprises a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer for a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer
Sha teaches wherein the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein each mode comprises a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer for a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0033, “The control method for the current source type dual-transformer bidirectional DC-DC converter disclosed in the present invention selects the mode with the smallest current peak value and average value among multiple possible working modes”].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to furth include that the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein each mode comprises a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer for a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer as taught by Sha to improve the efficiency of the converter.
Regarding claim 12, Baker discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the selecting of the mode is according to a pre-defined set of sequences [e.g. paragraph 0018 “wherein a “buck” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being greater than second voltage source (V 2 ) and a “boost” mode is defined by first voltage source (V 1 ) being less than second voltage source (V 2 )”] based on different operating conditions of the energy transfer device [e.g. Fig. 2, elements I_SENSE_A, I_SENSE_B, V2_SENSE, & V1_SENSE; paragraph 0020, “Digital converter controller 204 also performs feedback measurements that are compared to the power and voltage commands. The duty cycles of drive signals sent by digital converter controller are adjusted so that the feedback values of digital converter controller substantially match the power and voltage commands.”].
Regarding claim 14, Baker discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the unit cell [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, & 232] comprises a dual active bridge [e.g. paragraph 0014, “In the example embodiment, an application of multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system is to bridge two energy storage systems of different voltages.”], wherein a primary voltage [e.g. Fig. 2, element V1] and a secondary voltage [e.g. Fig. 2, element V2]of the active bridges [e.g. paragraph 0014, “An example would be to bridge a 48V system and a 24V system in a piece of electrified construction equipment”] are switched by action of the first side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 226, & 228] and the second side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 222, 224, 230, & 232].
Regarding claim 15, Baker discloses the method of claim 11, wherein each mode of the pre-defined set of modes [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system is configured to operate in a plurality of modes including at least a buck mode and a boost mode”] has a unique combination of a plurality of durations [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Switches may be in the ‘ON’ state for a particular duration (i.e., an “on-period”) within the switching period”] for energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Switches … may be in the ‘ON’ state for a particular duration (i.e., an “on-period”) within the switching period”] for a corresponding transfer condition defined by a geometric waveform [e.g. paragraph 0038, “pulse width modulators are configured to control respective positions of the plurality of switches”] defined by the plurality durations and the transfer condition [e.g. paragraph 0038, “The converter controller may also be further configured to operate the first and second single phase DC/DC power converter circuits … when the first electrical bus voltage is greater than second electrical bus voltage and … in a second boost mode when the first electrical bus voltage is less than second electrical bus voltage.”].
Regarding claim 16, Baker discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the pre-defined set of sequences comprises analytical formulation for the different operating conditions [e.g. paragraph 0020, “Digital converter controller also performs feedback measurements that are compared to the power and voltage commands.”], including at least one of output current, switching period, rms currents, and device losses [e.g. paragraph 0020, “The duty cycles of drive signals sent by digital converter controller are adjusted so that the feedback values of digital converter controller substantially match the power and voltage commands.”].
Claim 9, 10, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. Patent No. 9802493 (hereinafter Baker) in view of US Patent No. 10251227 (hereinafter Siegfried), CN Patent No. 110138225 (Hereinafter Sha), and US 20210344283 A1 (Hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 9, Baker fails to disclose wherein the power converter circuit is configured as a universal minimal converter.
Zhou teaches wherein the power converter circuit is configured as a universal minimal converter [e.g. paragraph 0186, “MST HPEBB LRUs 603 . 3 , 603 . 4 , 603 . 5 of FIGS. 8, 9 and 10) enables the HPEBB LRU to be field-configurable for switching for power conversion modes between any of AC/AC, DC/DC, AC/DC and DC/AC”].
It would be obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker such that the power converter of claim 1 further includes wherein the unit cell is universally configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter, and wherein the controller and power converter circuit are configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter as taught by Zhou to save costs and reduce volume.
Regarding claim 10, Baker fails to disclose wherein the unit cell is universally configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter, and wherein the controller and power converter circuit are configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter.
Zhou teaches wherein the unit cell is universally configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter, and wherein the controller and power converter circuit are configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter [e.g. paragraph 0186, “MST HPEBB LRUs 603 . 3 , 603 . 4 , 603 . 5 of FIGS. 8, 9 and 10) enables the HPEBB LRU to be field-configurable for switching for power conversion modes between any of AC/AC, DC/DC, AC/DC and DC/AC”].
It would be obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker such that the power converter of claim 1 further includes wherein the unit cell is universally configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter, and wherein the controller and power converter circuit are configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter as taught by Zhou to save costs and reduce volume.
Regarding claim 19, Baker fails to disclose wherein the unit cell is universally configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter, and wherein the controller and power converter circuit are configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter.
Zhou teaches, wherein the unit cell is universally configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter, and wherein the controller and power converter circuit are configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter [e.g. paragraph 0186, “MST HPEBB LRUs 603 . 3 , 603 . 4 , 603 . 5 of FIGS. 8, 9 and 10) enables the HPEBB LRU to be field-configurable for switching for power conversion modes between any of AC/AC, DC/DC, AC/DC and DC/AC”].
It would be obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker such that the method of claim 11 further includes wherein the unit cell is universally configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter, and wherein the controller and power converter circuit are configurable and reconfigurable as an AC/DC converter, a DC-DC converter, and a DC/AC converter as taught by Zhou to save costs and reduce volume.
Claim(s) 3 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. Patent No. 9802493 (hereinafter Baker) in view of US Patent No. 10251227 (hereinafter Siegfried), US Patent No. 10020729 (hereinafter Masnri), and CN Patent No. 110138225 (Hereinafter Sha).
Regarding claim 3, Baker fails to disclose a power converter of claim 2, wherein the selection of modes is based on state logic.
Masnri teaches a power converter wherein the selection of modes is based on state logic [e.g. paragraph 0031, “output a Ilim_slope value 344 as a second (potential) alternative reset signal to logic 'OR' gate 345, which ultimately triggers the reset 330 of the R-S flip-flop 310 instead of first (potential) reset signal 327”; Fig. 4, selection of elements 508, 510, & 512].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to further include a power converter of claim 2, wherein the selection of modes is based on state logic as taught by Masnri to minimize wasted energy in the system.
Regarding claim 13, Baker fails to disclose the method of claim 12, wherein the selection is based on state logic.
Masnri teaches a power converter wherein the selection of modes is based on state logic [e.g. paragraph 0031, “output a Ilim_slope value 344 as a second (potential) alternative reset signal to logic 'OR' gate 345, which ultimately triggers the reset 330 of the R-S flip-flop 310 instead of first (potential) reset signal 327”; Fig. 4, selection of elements 508, 510, & 512].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to further include a power converter of claim 2, wherein the selection of modes is based on state logic as taught by Masnri to minimize wasted energy in the system.
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. Patent No. 9802493 (hereinafter Baker) in view of US Patent No. 10251227 (hereinafter Siegfried), US Patent No. 8698354 (hereinafter Ghosh), and CN Patent No. 110138225 (Hereinafter Sha).
Regarding claim 18, Baker fails to disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the power converter circuit comprises a transformer as the energy transfer device.
Ghosh teaches that the power converter circuit [e.g. Fig. 10, combination of elements 101, 124, 126, 128, & 130] comprises a transformer as the energy transfer device [e.g. Fig. 10, elements 136 & 138].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker for the method of claim 11 to further include wherein the power converter circuit comprises a transformer as the energy transfer device as taught by Ghosh to reduce thermal stress, control scheme, and manufacturing costs.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US. Patent No. 9802493 (hereinafter Baker) in view of US Patent No. 10251227 (hereinafter Siegfried) and US Patent No. 11157430 (hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 20, Baker discloses a controller that: determine operation of a unit cell [e.g. paragraph 0019, “Control parameters within digital converter controller are configurable to adjust the performance of multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system”] defined by the plurality of switches or a portion thereof [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, & 232] of a power converter circuit [e.g. Fig. 1, element 116] comprising a plurality of switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 222, 224, 226, 228, 230, & 232] and an energy transfer device [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 238 & 244], the unit cell comprising first side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 218, 220, 226, & 228] and secondary side switches [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 222, 224, 230, & 232] coupled together by the energy transfer device [e.g. Fig. 2, elements 238 & 244]; select, from a pre-defined set of modes [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Multiphase bidirectional DC/DC power converter system is configured to operate in a plurality of modes including at least a buck mode and a boost mode”], a mode for a cycle that transfers a controlled charge and energy between the first side and the second side [e.g. Fig. 2, element 201; paragraph 0017, “switching inductors store energy in a first part of the operating cycle and release the stored energy in a second part of the operating cycle”], each mode of the pre-defined set of modes having a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0018, “Switches may be in the ‘ON’ state for a particular duration (i.e., an “on-period”) within the switching period”] for a corresponding transfer condition [e.g. paragraph 0020, “The duty cycles of drive signals sent by digital converter controller are adjusted so that the feedback values of digital converter controller substantially match the power and voltage commands”]; and determine operation of the plurality of switches from the selected mode [e.g. paragraph 0020, “Digital converter controller receives power/current and voltage commands from a system communication interface communicatively coupled to, for example, but, not limited to, a vehicle controller (not shown)”]; and controlling the plurality of switches [e.g. paragraph 0018, “When operating in boost mode, switch is ‘OFF’, switch is ‘ON’ and switches operate complimentarily.”] to operate the converter circuit according to the mode on a cycle-by-cycle basis [e.g. paragraph 0018, ”The rate of this switching may be referred to as the “switching frequency”. The inverse, or reciprocal, of the switching frequency may be referred to as the “switching period” or “switching cycle””].
Baker fails to discloses a transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurs when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device.
Siegfried teaches a transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurring when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device [e.g. paragraph 16, “the residual current in the inductance is zero at the time of switching”].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to further include that the transition from a current cycle to a next cycle occurs when there is no residual energy in the energy transfer device as taught by Siegfried to minimize losses.
Baker also fails to disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon.
Yu teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions stored thereon [e.g. paragraph 0009, “Another aspect of the invention is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon sequences of computer-executable instructions for operating a DC-DC converter system”].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to further include a non-transitory computer readable medium with instructions stored thereon as taught by Yu to increase the cost savings of the system.
Bakers also fails to disclose wherein the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein each mode comprises a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer for a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer
Sha teaches wherein the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein each mode comprises a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer for a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer [e.g. paragraph 0033, “The control method for the current source type dual-transformer bidirectional DC-DC converter disclosed in the present invention selects the mode with the smallest current peak value and average value among multiple possible working modes”].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Baker to furth include that the modes are selected for minimization of peak current, and wherein each mode comprises a unique combination of a plurality of durations for energy transfer for a corresponding transfer condition comprising peak current of the energy transfer as taught by Sha to improve the efficiency of the converter.
Conclusion
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JARED RAYMOND HAUSMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2838