Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 2 and 17 be found allowable, claims 6 and 19 respectively will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: line 19, “a said temperature” should read “said temperature”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierksmeier (10801408) in view of Kacprowski (US-Pub 2019/0115518) and Snyder (10443499).
Regarding claim 1, Dierksmeier discloses an aircraft propulsion system, comprising: a thermal engine (10, fig 1) configured to produce thrust; wherein the thermal engine is a gas turbine engine that is disposed within a nacelle (fig 1, casing that surrounds the fan blades), the gas turbine engine including a fan section (fig 1, upstream of compressor 14 is a fan section), a compressor section (14, fig 1), a combustion section (16, fig 1), and a turbine section (18, fig 1), and an engine casing (casing surrounding the engine core 14-18, fig 1) disposed radially outside of the compressor section, the combustion section, and the turbine section; an electrical energy storage device (col 10, lines 29-40); and an electrical energy generating device (28, fig 1) having a first fluid conduit (32, fig 1), a second fluid conduit (36, fig 1), and a thermoelectric generator (thermoelectric section, fig 1), wherein the TEG is disposed between the first fluid conduit and the second fluid conduit with a first side (34, fig 1) of the TEG adjacent the first fluid conduit and a second side (35, fig 1) of the TEG adjacent the second fluid conduit, and wherein the first side of the TEG is in thermal communication with the first fluid conduit, and the second side of the TEG is in thermal communication with the second fluid conduit, and wherein the TEG generator is configured to produce electrical energy as a function of a temperature difference across the TEG between the first side of the TEG and the second side of the TEG (72, fig 5); wherein the first fluid conduit is configured to contain a first fluid flow (22, fig 1), and the second fluid conduit is configured to contain a second fluid flow (24, fig 1), and wherein during operation of the propulsion system the first fluid flow is at a first temperature and the second fluid flow is at a second temperature, and the first temperature is higher than the second temperature, thereby producing a said temperature difference across the TEG between the first side of the TEG and the second side of the TEG (this represents intended use of the system, the first temperature is temperature of the first fluid will be higher during operation as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize due to the waste heat from the engine), wherein the electrical energy that is produced by the TEG is directed to the electrical energy storage device (col 10, lines 29-40), wherein an annular bypass duct (area between casing surrounding 16 and outer nacelle surrounding the fan, fig 1) is defined between the engine casing and an interior structure of the nacelle (inner nacelle wall facing towards the centerline 25, fig 1), and the bypass duct is configured to contain a bypass flow during operation of the propulsion system (air from the fan flows outside of the engine casing inside of the nacelle which forms the bypass flow).
Dierksmeier does not disclose wherein the TEG is within the compressor section, wherein the second fluid flow is the bypass flow, wherein the bypass duct is the second fluid conduit, wherein the TEG is disposed with the interior structure of the nacelle.
Kacprowski teaches a thermoelectric generator for a gas turbine engine lubrication system (1, fig 3), wherein the TEG is located within the compressor section (fig 6, the dotted line after fan 120 can be shown which separates the fan and the compressor sections, the TEG of fig 3 being located in the location behind said line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the TEG location disclosed by Dierksmeier by locating the TEG in the compressor section based on the teachings of Kacprowski. Doing so would allow for the thermoelectric generator to be located right next the heat producing components of the gear systems, allowing for the hottest oil to produce the largest possible temperature gradient.
Snyder teaches a thermoelectric generator (112, fig 1c), wherein the first fluid conduit (134, fig 1c) is a lubrication system (col 3, lines 59-66, hot oil is a lubrication fluid) and the second flow duct (B, fig 1) is a bypass duct (144 is the bypass air stream, fig 1c) and the TEG is disposed with the interior structure of the nacelle (108, fig 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second fluid flow conduit disclosed by Dierksmeier as modified by Kacprowski by using the bypass duct as the second fluid conduit, and the bypass airstream as the second fluid flow by placing the TEG on the interior structure of the nacelle based on the teachings of Snyder. Doing so would allow for would allow for a greater heat differential between the first and second fluid, as fuel has a fixed heat load that it can receive (col 1, lines 25-60), as suggested by Snyder.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Dierksmeier as modified by Kacprowski and Snyder discloses wherein the propulsion system includes a lubrication system (22, fig 1, Dierksmeier) configured to cycle a lubricant flow within the propulsion system, and wherein the first fluid flow is the lubricant flow (col 3, lines 59-66, hot oil is a lubrication fluid, Snyder).
Regarding claim 5, Dierksmeier as modified by Snyder discloses wherein the annular bypass duct is the second fluid conduit (144, fig 1c, Snyder).
Regarding claim 10, Dierksmeier discloses wherein the TEG is configured to use a Seebeck effect (col 6, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 16, Dierksmeier discloses a method of generating electrical energy within a propulsion system of an aircraft (72, fig 5), the comprising: providing a propulsion system having a thermal engine (10, fig 1), wherein the thermal engine is a gas turbine engine that is disposed within a nacelle (fig 1, casing that surrounds the fan blades), the gas turbine engine including a fan section (fig 1, upstream of compressor 14 is a fan section), a compressor section (14, fig 1), a combustion section (16, fig 1), and a turbine section (18, fig 1), and an engine casing (casing surrounding the engine core 14-18, fig 1) disposed radially outside of the compressor section, the combustion section, and the turbine section; providing an electrical energy storage device (col 10, lines 29-40), providing an electrical energy generating device (28, fig 1) having a first fluid conduit (32, fig 1), a second fluid conduit (36, fig 1), and a thermoelectric generator (34, 35, fig 1), wherein the TEG is disposed between the first fluid conduit and the second fluid conduit with a first side (34, fig 1) of the TEG adjacent the first fluid conduit and a second side (35, fig 1) of the TEG adjacent the second fluid conduit, and wherein the first side of the TEG is in thermal communication with the first fluid conduit, and the second side of the TEG is in thermal communication with the second fluid conduit, and wherein the TEG generator is configured to generate electrical energy as a function of a temperature difference across the TEG between the first side of the TEG and the second side of the TEG (72, fig 5); and using the electrical energy generating device to generate electrical energy by: directing a first fluid flow (22, fig 1) through the first fluid conduit during operation of the propulsion system, wherein the first fluid flow is at a first temperature; and directing a second fluid flow (24, fig 1) through the second fluid conduit during operation of the propulsion system, wherein the second fluid flow is at a second temperature, and the first temperature is higher than the second temperature, thereby producing the temperature difference across the TEG between the first side of the TEG and the second side of the TEG, which in turn causes the TEG to generate electrical energy (col 11, lines 30-40), storing the electrical energy generated by the electrical energy generating device in the electrical energy storage device (col 10, lines 29-40).
Dierksmeier does not disclose wherein the TEG is within the compressor section, wherein the second fluid flow is the bypass flow, wherein the bypass duct is the second fluid conduit, wherein the TEG is disposed with the interior structure of the nacelle.
Kacprowski teaches a thermoelectric generator for a gas turbine engine lubrication system (1, fig 3), wherein the TEG is located within the compressor section (fig 6, the dotted line after fan 120 can be shown which separates the fan and the compressor sections, the TEG of fig 3 being located in the location behind said line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the TEG location disclosed by Dierksmeier by locating the TEG in the compressor section based on the teachings of Kacprowski. Doing so would allow for the thermoelectric generator to be located right next the heat producing components of the gear systems, allowing for the hottest oil to produce the largest possible temperature gradient.
Snyder teaches a thermoelectric generator (112, fig 1c), wherein the first fluid conduit (134, fig 1c) is a lubrication system (col 3, lines 59-66, hot oil is a lubrication fluid) and the second flow duct (B, fig 1) is a bypass duct (144 is the bypass air stream, fig 1c) and the TEG is disposed with the interior structure of the nacelle (108, fig 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second fluid flow conduit disclosed by Dierksmeier as modified by Kacprowski by using the bypass duct as the second fluid conduit, and the bypass airstream as the second fluid flow by placing the TEG on the interior structure of the nacelle based on the teachings of Snyder. Doing so would allow for would allow for a greater heat differential between the first and second fluid, as fuel has a fixed heat load that it can receive (col 1, lines 25-60), as suggested by Snyder.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Dierksmeier as modified by Kacprowski and Snyder discloses wherein the propulsion system includes a lubrication system (22, fig 1, Dierksmeier) configured to cycle a lubricant flow within the propulsion system, and wherein the first fluid flow is the lubricant flow (col 3, lines 59-66, hot oil is a lubrication fluid, Snyder).
Regarding claim 20, Dierksmeier discloses wherein the propulsion system is a hybrid electric propulsion system (col 1, lines 60-64) and the TEG is configured to use a Seebeck effect (col 6, lines 10-15).
Claims 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dierksmeier in view of Kacprowski, Snyder, and Miller (10711693).
Regarding claim 11, Dierksmeier discloses a hybrid electric propulsion system for an aircraft, comprising: a thermal engine (10, fig 1), wherein the thermal engine is a gas turbine engine that is disposed within a nacelle (fig 1, casing that surrounds the fan blades), the gas turbine engine including a fan section (fig 1, upstream of compressor 14 is a fan section), a compressor section (14, fig 1), a combustion section (16, fig 1), and a turbine section (18, fig 1), and an engine casing (casing surrounding the engine core 14-18, fig 1) disposed radially outside of the compressor section, the combustion section, and the turbine section; an electric power storage unit (col 10, lines 29-40); and an electrical energy generating device (28, fig 1) having a first fluid conduit (32, fig 1), a second fluid conduit (35, fig 1), and a thermoelectric generator (34, 35, fig 1), wherein the TEG is disposed between the first fluid conduit and the second fluid conduit with a first side (34, fig 1) of the TEG adjacent the first fluid conduit and a second side (35, fig 1) of the TEG adjacent the second fluid conduit, and wherein the first side of the TEG is in thermal communication with the first fluid conduit, and the second side of the TEG is in thermal communication with the second fluid conduit, and wherein the TEG generator is configured to produce electrical energy as a function of a temperature difference across the TEG between the first side of the TEG and the second side of the TEG (72, fig 5); wherein the first fluid conduit is configured to contain a first fluid flow (22, fig 1), and the second fluid conduit is configured to contain a second fluid flow (24, fig 1), and wherein during operation of the HEP system the first fluid flow is at a first temperature and the second fluid flow is at a second temperature, and the first temperature is higher than the second temperature, thereby producing the temperature difference across the TEG between the first side of the TEG and the second side of the TEG (this represents intended use of the system, the first temperature is temperature of the first fluid will be higher during operation as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize due to the waste heat from the engine), wherein the electrical energy that is produced by the TEG is directed to the electrical energy power storage unit (col 10, lines 29-40, the power produced is sent to the load which can include a power storage device).
Dierksmeier does not disclose an electric motor; and a gearbox in communication with the thermal engine and the electric motor, wherein the TEG is within the compressor section at an interior structure of the nacelle.
Kacprowski teaches a thermoelectric generator for a gas turbine engine lubrication system (1, fig 3), wherein the TEG is located within the compressor section (fig 6, the dotted line after fan 120 can be shown which separates the fan and the compressor sections, the TEG of fig 3 being located in the location behind said line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the TEG location disclosed by Dierksmeier by locating the TEG in the compressor section based on the teachings of Kacprowski. Doing so would allow for the thermoelectric generator to be located right next the heat producing components of the gear systems, allowing for the hottest oil to produce the largest possible temperature gradient.
Snyder teaches a thermoelectric generator (112, fig 1c), wherein the first fluid conduit (134, fig 1c) is a lubrication system (col 3, lines 59-66, hot oil is a lubrication fluid) and the second flow duct (B, fig 1) is a bypass duct (144 is the bypass air stream, fig 1c) and the TEG is disposed with the interior structure of the nacelle (108, fig 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second fluid flow conduit disclosed by Dierksmeier as modified by Kacprowski by using the bypass duct as the second fluid conduit, and the bypass airstream as the second fluid flow by placing the TEG on the interior structure of the nacelle based on the teachings of Snyder. Doing so would allow for would allow for a greater heat differential between the first and second fluid, as fuel has a fixed heat load that it can receive (col 1, lines 25-60), as suggested by Snyder.
Miller teaches a thermal engine (10, fig 2) which is part of a hybrid propulsion system which generates electrical energy with a thermal electric generator (70, fig 1) which comprises an electric motor (72, fig 2), and a gearbox (76, fig 2), the gearbox in communication with the thermal engine and the electric motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the propulsion system disclosed by Dierksmeier by using a hybrid system with an electric motor and a gearbox connected to the electric motor and the thermal engine of the based on the teachings of Miller. Doing so would allow for the thermoelectric generator to rotate the engine after it has been shut down to reduce rotor bowing (col 3, lines 15-30), as suggested by Miller.
Regarding claim 12, Dierksmeier discloses a lubrication system (22, fig 1) configured to cycle a lubricant flow within the HEP system, wherein the first fluid flow is the lubricant flow.
Regarding claim 14, Dierksmeier as modified by Kacprowski, Snyder, and Miller discloses wherein an annular bypass duct (area between casing surrounding 16 and outer nacelle surrounding the fan, fig 1, Dierksmeier) is defined between the engine casing and an interior structure of the nacelle (inner nacelle wall facing towards the centerline 25, fig 1, Dierksmeier), and the bypass duct is configured to contain a bypass flow during operation of the propulsion system (air from the fan flows outside of the engine casing inside of the nacelle which forms the bypass flow), wherein the second flow may be any auxiliary engine system (11, fig 40-45, Dierksmeier), and a lubrication system (22, fig 1, Dierksmeier) configured to cycle a lubricant flow within the propulsion system, wherein the first fluid flow is the lubricant flow, wherein the lower temperature flow duct (B, fig 1a, Snyder) is a bypass duct and the lower temperature flow is a bypass flow (144, fig 1c, Snyder).
Regarding claim 15, Dierksmeier discloses wherein the TEG is configured to use a Seebeck effect (col 6, lines 10-15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the objections(s) of claim(s) 4, 14, 16, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Snyder does not disclose wherein the TEG is within the compressor section. This argument is not persuasive as Snyder is not being used to teach this limitation. It is merely being used to teach placing the TEG with the nacelle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741