DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 112694772 A).
Re claim 10, Wang discloses an antioxidant coating composition comprising: an inorganic acid; and a colloidal suspension comprising a hydrophobic agent in an aqueous carrier, the hydrophobic agent comprising lanthanum phosphate. (Translation – Page 4, Par. 2-3)
Re claim 11, Wang discloses wherein the inorganic acid comprises phosphoric acid. (Translation – Page 4, Par. 3)
Re claim 14, Wang discloses at least one of boric acid or boric anhydride. (Translation – Page 4, Par. 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112694772 A) in view of Poteet et al. (us 2021/0198159 A1).
Re claims 12, Wang does not teach wherein the antioxidant coating further comprises a surfactant. Poteet et al. teaches an antioxidant coating comprising a surfactant. ([0145]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the surfactant as taught by Poteet et al. to improve consistency and dispersion.
Re claim 13, Wang does do not teach wherein the antioxidant coating further comprises at least one of mono-aluminum phosphate, manganese phosphate, zinc phosphate, or potassium phosphate. Poteet et al. teaches an antioxidant coating comprising at least one of mono-aluminum phosphate, manganese phosphate, zinc phosphate, or potassium phosphate. ([0014], [0144]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include mono-aluminum phosphate provide sealing as taught by Poteet et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brown-Tseng et al. disclose an article comprising: a substrate comprising graphitic carbon or a carbon composite; and an antioxidant coating applied to at least a portion of the substrate.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWAugust 26, 2026