DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an analog-to-digital subsystem configured to” in claim 1.
“a control subsystem configured to” in claims 1, 6-8, 18-21, 24.
“a digital-to-analog subsystem configured to” in claim 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the analog output of the one or more subarrays”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. No output from the subarrays is recited, much less an analog output”
Claims 4 and 6 recite operational cycles of radar. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. While, generally, radars have a duty cycle of transmit and receive operations, there is no active recitation of system scheduling/timing/operation where signals are transmitted, then received, then processed. The only seeming “operational cycle” claimed is the performance of plural processing algorithms, and in this case there is no recurring cycle being claimed.
For the purpose of Examination, Examiner will interpret the claim to mean subsequent radar duty cycles of transmitting, receiving, and processing.
Claim 14 recites that the data “can be processed”. The passive recitation of the ability to process the data but not necessarily the actual processing being carried out renders the claim indefinite.
A Broadest Reasonable Interpretation of “can be processed” would merely be a generic computer processor capable of processing data.
Claim 16 recites “the digital-to-analog subsystem”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claim 1 from which claim 16 depends recites instead “an analog to digital subsystem”.
Claim 16 recites “the digital-to-analog subsystem is a modular subsystem that can be replaced by an alternative digital-to-analog subsystem.” The use of “can” makes it impossible to ascertain the scope of the claim, and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the limitations following “can” are required limitations for the invention.
A Broadest Reasonable interpretation of this limitation would merely be the ability to swap any generic DAC circuit with another DAC circuit.
Claim 16 recites “an alternative digital to analog subsystem”. It is impossible to ascertain the scope of an “alternative” system.
A Broadest Reasonable interpretation of this limitation would merely be any generic DAC circuit.
Claim 13 and 17 recites “a wide portion of the RF spectrum.” It is impossible to ascertain the scope of this limitation. No criteria are set forth which would determine what “a wide portion of the RF spectrum” comprised.
A Broadest Reasonable interpretation of this limitation would merely be any bandwidth in the RF spectrum.
Claim 18 recites “antenna weights”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. While claim 1 does recite an electronically steered array, there is no recitation of antenna weighting.
Additional claims are rejected at least for their dependence upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter.
A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only the statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellum (US 2018/0095161) in view of Milligan (US 2012/0032833).
Claim 1: Kellum discloses a multi-purpose radar system comprising: one or more subarrays of electronically steered transmit/receive elements (para 0047)
a digital signal processing subsystem comprising a plurality of digital processing elements and a memory subsystem comprising one or more memories (para 0033-0038)
a control subsystem configured to direct the digital signal processing subsystem to perform a plurality of different processing algorithms on the data stored in the memory subsystem (para 0039-0043)
Kellum does not explicitly disclose an analog-to-digital subsystem configured to receive the analog output of the one or more subarrays and to store a digital representation of the analog output into the memory subsystem, but does disclose an implicit recitation of analog reception and digital processing (para 0047 describing receiving an analog radar signal, and para 0053 describing digital down-conversion of the radar and communications signals for digital processing)
In the same field of endeavor, Milligan discloses a multi-purpose radar system for executing radar and communications application processing resource management (fig 3 para 0040-0045) comprising a digital signal processing subsystem, an analog-to-digital conversion subsystem, and a memory subsystem for storing output from the analog-to-digital subsystem (para 0035-0038).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Milligan, in order to process radar and communication signals in a conventional manner with digital signal processors.
Claim 2: Kellum discloses the multi-purpose radar system is configured to simultaneously perform multiple different applications having different respective processing algorithms, each of the multiple different applications correspond to a different type of application (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 3: Kellum discloses simultaneously performing multiple different applications comprises directing the digital signal processing subsystem to perform multiple different processing algorithms on the same set of data stored in the memory subsystem (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 4: Kellum discloses simultaneously performing multiple different applications comprises directing the digital signal processing subsystem to perform multiple different processing algorithms over consecutive operational cycles of the radar (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 5: Kellum discloses simultaneously performing multiple different applications comprises cycling between two or more processing algorithms over consecutive operational cycles of the radar (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 6: Kellum discloses the control subsystem is configured to dynamically select a next processing algorithm for a next application on each operational cycle (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 7: Kellum discloses the control subsystem is configured to select a next processing algorithm while digital signal processing subsystem is processing data for a current processing algorithm (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications).
Claim 8: Kellum discloses the control system is configured to perform a real-time resource allocation process to determine which resources to allocate to each of the multiple different application types (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 9: Kellum discloses performing the resource allocation process comprises determining an amount of processing time to allocate to each of the multiple different application types (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 10: Kellum discloses performing the resource allocation process comprises allocating no processing resources to one of the application types (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications i.e. if no radar or communication signal is required the scheduler would not allocate resources to such an application)
Claim 11: Kellum discloses performing the resource allocation process comprises reducing processing resources for one of the applications over one or more operational cycles (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications i.e. if no radar or communication signal is required the scheduler would not allocate resources to such an application)
Claim 13: Kellum discloses the memory subsystem is configured to store an entire range window of data over a wide portion of RF spectrum (para 0040, 0046, 0047)
Claim 14: Kellum discloses the range window stored by the memory subsystem is over 100 km of range and can be processed at full bandwidth of the multi-purpose radar system (para 0008, 0023, 0040, 0046, 0047 disclosing the use of the system in EW, comms, IFF, UAV and other deployments which frequently measure targets at or beyond 100km range)
Claim 15: Kellum discloses a digital-to-analog subsystem that is configured to generate arbitrary waveforms (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications as well as waveform generation for multiple such applications and digital to analog conversion)
Claim 16: Kellum discloses the digital-to-analog subsystem is a modular subsystem that can be replaced by an alternative digital-to-analog subsystem (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications as well as waveform generation for multiple such applications and digital to analog conversion)
Claim 17: Kellum discloses the one or more subarrays of electronically steered transmit/receive elements are configured to capture a wide portion of the RF spectrum (para 0040, 0046, 0047)
Claim 18: Kellum discloses the control subsystem is configured to: determine a malfunction of the multi-purpose radar system; and in response to determining the malfunction, reconfigure antenna weights (para 0033-0046, and 0047)
Claim 19: Kellum discloses the control subsystem is configured to select a different processing algorithm for a particular application type (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 20: Milligan discloses the control subsystem is configured to: detect electromagnetic interference in a receive signal of the analog-to-digital subsystem; and in response to detecting electromagnetic interference, select a different waveform for transmit by the one or more subarrays (para 0009, 0032, 0045)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Milligan, in order to avoid interference between transmit and receive signals.
Claim 21: Milligan discloses the control subsystem is configured to: detect electromagnetic interference in a receive signal of the analog-to-digital subsystem; and in response to detecting electromagnetic interference, select a different resource allocation for a subsystem of the multi-purpose radar system. (para 0009, 0032, 0045)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Milligan, in order to avoid interference between transmit and receive signals.
Claim 22: Kellum discloses selecting a different processing algorithm comprises switching from a searching or tracking algorithm to an algorithm for communicating data wirelessly (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications)
Claim 23: Kellum discloses the multi-purpose radar system is configured to simultaneously perform two or more of the following applications: aircraft detection, aircraft tracking, communications, weather monitoring, or interceptor guidance (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications, para 0008, 0023, 0040, 0046, 0047 disclosing the use of the system in EW, comms, IFF, UAV and other deployments)
Claim 24: Kellum discloses the control subsystem is configured to integrate results of one or more processing algorithms with processing results received from one or more other multi-purpose radar systems to ensure time and phase alignment coherency (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications to operate synchronously)
Claim 25: Kellum discloses the multi-purpose radar system is configured to perform at least one type of application simultaneously (para 0033-0046 describing the resource scheduler and assignment of processing between radar and communications applications to operate simultaneously)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Kellum (US 2018/0095161).
Claim 26: Kellum discloses A method performed by a radar system in an environment, the method comprising:
obtaining, by an antenna array of the radar system, radio frequency detections from one or more objects in the environment (para 0047)
identifying, by a digital signal processing subsystem of the radar system, a first subset of the radio frequency (RF) detections for processing during a first period of time (para 0033-0046);
processing, during the first period of time and by the digital signal processing subsystem of the radar system, the first subset of radio frequency detections to identify objects from the one or more objects in the environment associated with a first application of the radar system (para 0033-0046);
while processing the first subset of radio frequency detections for the first application of the radar system during the first period of time, identifying a second subset of the radio frequency detections for processing during a second period of time, wherein the second subset of radio frequency detections are associated with a second application of the radar system (para 0033-0046);
processing, during the second period of time and by the digital signal processing subsystem of the radar system, the second subset of radio frequency detections to identify objects from the one or more objects in the environment associated with the second application of the radar system (para 0033-0046); and
generating radar data related to one or more identified objects from the one or more objects based on processing the first subset of radio frequency detections and the second subset of radio frequency detections (para 0033-0046);
Claim 27: Kellum discloses determining, from an ordered list of applications, a sequence of waveforms corresponding to a plurality of beams, wherein the ordered list of applications comprises at least one of (i) different instances of an identical application, or (ii) an instance of different applications; generating, from the sequence of waveforms, the plurality of beams for transmit by the antenna array of the radar system; obtaining, through the antenna array of the radar system, received signals associated with the transmitted plurality of beams; and processing, for each beam of the transmitted plurality of beams and according to the ordered list of applications, a subset of the received signals associated with the beam (para 0033-0047);
Claim 28: Kellum discloses identifying a subset of beams from the transmitted plurality of beams that share an identical application type; and providing detections associated with the subset of the received signals that share the identical application type (para 0033-0047);
Claim 29: Kellum discloses the ordered list of radar applications is based on data received from one or more interfaces of the radar system (para 0033-0047);
Claim 30: Kellum discloses generating the plurality of beams for transmit comprises steering the beams at one or more positions of an environment of the radar system based on the sequence of waveforms (para 0033-0047);
Claim 31: Kellum discloses One or more computer storage media encoded with instructions that are operable, when executed by data processing apparatus (para 037), to cause the data processing apparatus to perform operations comprising:
obtaining, by an antenna array of the radar system, radio frequency detections from one or more objects in the environment (para 0047)
identifying, by a digital signal processing subsystem of the radar system, a first subset of the radio frequency detections for processing during a first period of time (para 0033-0047);
processing, during the first period of time and by the digital signal processing subsystem of the radar system, the first subset of radio frequency detections to identify objects from the one or more objects in the environment associated with a first application of the radar system (para 0033-0047);
while processing the first subset of radio frequency detections for the first application of the radar system during the first period of time, identifying a second subset of the radio frequency detections for processing during a second period of time, wherein the second subset of radio frequency detections are associated with a second application of the radar system (para 0033-0047);
processing, during the second period of time and by the digital signal processing subsystem of the radar system, the second subset of radio frequency detections to identify objects from the one or more objects in the environment associated with the second application of the radar system (para 0033-0047);; and
generating radar data related to one or more identified objects from the one or more objects based on processing the first subset of radio frequency detections and the second subset of radio frequency detections (para 0033-0047);
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellum (US 2018/0095161) in view of Milligan (US 2012/0032833) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Damnjanovic (US 2023/0314561).
Claim 12: Kellum in view of Milligan does not specifically discloses the plurality of digital processing elements are graphics processing units and the memory subsystem is one or more integrated memories of the graphics processing units.
In the same field of endeavor, Damnjanovic discloses a system for operating a radar device within a wireless network, wherein processing elements are graphics processing units and the memory subsystem is one or more integrated memories of the graphics processing units (para 0026)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as GPU’s have a well-known benefit of being capable of simultaneous parallel processing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited references disclose the state of the art in radar and communications shared circuitry including processing schemes for resource allocation.
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648