Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/2/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues the prior art fails to teach “updating…the respective confidence value using (i) a first factor corresponding to a time elapsed since a previous provision of the at least one of the plurality of messages” because Zappella discloses a value that tracks how many times a message has been sent (e.g. three times in the past week) and does not track how much time has elapsed since a previous message was transmitted (e.g., two days since the last message).
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive as Zappella discloses the updating corresponding to a time elapsed since a previous provision of a message. For example, Zappella discloses the updating corresponding to a particular time period elapsed since a previous transmission of a message to a user (Zappella, col. 9:1-20, updating confidence value based on time within a “period of time following transmission of a message”; see also col. 10:43-67, col. 11:1-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10242381 to Zappella in view of US 20190189025 to Angelopoulos.
Regarding claim 1,
Zappella teaches a method of transmitting messages across networked environments, comprising:
determining, by one or more processors, a state associated with a user of a computing device, using an activity log identifying one or more actions recorded via the computing device towards achieving a behavior endpoint for the user (col. 8:1-16, col. 9:56-57, obtaining historical action of user; col. 4:40- 56, col. 5:65-67, col. 6:1-5, obtaining recorded user actions such as browsing activities, number of clicks);
for each candidate message of a plurality of messages, prior to selecting at least one of the plurality of messages for transmission:
generating, by the one or more processors, a respective confidence value indicating a predicted effectiveness of the candidate message on the user towards achieving the behavior endpoint by applying the state and the candidate message to a model (abstract, col. 8:1-20, 9:1-65 — col. 10:1-55, fig. 2, determination of values indicating estimated expectations based on user state, selection criteria);
updating, by the one or more processors, the respective confidence value using (i) a first factor corresponding to a time elapsed since a previous provision of at least one of the plurality of messages to the computing device (col. 9:1-25, fig. 1-2, updating based on elapsed times since previous messages; see also col. 3:15-55, col. 7:50-67, col. 8:1-31, col. 10:5-67, col. 11:1-59, figs. 1-2, updating based on number of previous messages withing a predetermined period of time; col. 9:1-25) and (ii) a second factor corresponding to at least one effectiveness pattern of previous messages tracked in the activity log (col. 3:30-67, ranking factor based on effectiveness of previous messages);
selecting, by the one or more processors, from the plurality of messages, a message based on the updated confidence value for the message and the behavior endpoint corresponding to at least one objective to be achieved by the user (col. 10:15-34, fig. 2A);
transmitting, by the one or more processors, the message to the computing device associated with the user (fig. 2A, col. 9:25-43, message transmission).
Zapella fails to teach but Angelopoulos teaches:
providing, by the one or more processors, a digital therapeutic application to a user to achieve a behavior endpoint corresponding to at least one objective to be achieved by the user (¶ 12, abstract, ¶ 1, 56, digital interventions via messaging for health and wellness interventions, e.g., smoking cessation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Angelopoulos. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Angelopoulos would have been advantageous in terms of helping users achieve health goals (Angelopoulos, abstract, ¶ 1, ¶ 56).
Regarding claim 2, 12,
Zappella teaches:
receiving, by the one or more processors, from the computing device, a response identifying one or more second actions performed by the user in response to presentation of the message; and updating, by the one or more processors, the state associated with the user, based on the one or more second actions identified in the response (col. 4:40-56, col. 5:65- 67, col. 6:1-5, col. 8:1-16, col. 9:1-25, fig. 2A, recording subsequent actions and updating based on the historical data).
Regarding claim 4, 14,
Zappella teaches:
removing, by the one or more processors, a subset of messages from selection from the plurality of messages, responsive to the state associated with the user not matching a selection criterion for each of the subset of messages (col. 8:1-16, col. 9:1-25, exclusion of messages responsive to user state and selection criterion).
Regarding claim 5, 15,
Zappella teaches:
refraining, by the one or more processors, from selecting any message from the plurality of messages, responsive to the updated second confidence value for each candidate message not satisfying a respective threshold (col. 8:1-16, col. 9:1-25, exclusion of messages responsive to user state and selection criterion; ranking/scoring thresholds).
Regarding claim 6, 16,
Zappella teaches:
wherein generating the respective confidence value further comprises generating the respective first confidence value, by applying a selection criterion specified for the candidate message to the model (col. 8:1-16, col. 9:1-25, selection criterion for messages).
Regarding claim 7, 17,
Zappella teaches:
wherein updating the respective confidence value further comprises identifying an update factor to be applied to the respective confidence value, based on the time elapsed since the previous provision of at least one of the plurality of messages to the computing device (col. 8:1-16, col. 9:1-25, factor including time elapsed; see also col. 1:1-30; col. 7:50-65).
Regarding claim 8, 18,
Zappella teaches:
wherein selecting the message further comprises selecting the message from the plurality of messages, responsive to the updated respective confidence value for the message satisfying a threshold specified for the message (col. 8:1-16, col. 9:1-25, exclusion of messages responsive to user state and selection criterion; ranking/scoring thresholds).
Regarding claim 9, 19,
Zappella teaches:
wherein transmitting the message further comprises transmitting the message to the computing device associated with the user, responsive to a current time being within a time window specified for the message (col. 1:15-30, col. 3:15-30 col. 11:1-5).
Regarding claim 10, 20,
Zappella teaches:
wherein the model is established using a training dataset comprising historical response data from a plurality of users to previously presented messages (col. 3:30-40, col. 8:1-16).
Claim 11 is addressed by similar rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 21-22,
Zapella teaches:
wherein the updated respective confidence value indicates a predicted effectiveness of the candidate message on the user towards achieving the behavior endpoint (fig. 2A, col. 3:30-67).
Zapella fails to teach but Angelopoulos teaches:
wherein the one or more actions recorded via the computing device correspond to one or more digital therapeutic activities (¶ 23; see also ¶ 12, abstract, ¶ 1, 56). Motivation to include Angelopoulos is the same as presented above.
Claim 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zappella, and Angelopoulos in view of US 20120204265 to Judge.
Regarding claim 3, 13,
Zapella fails to teach but Judge teaches:
maintaining, by the one or more processors, a plurality of message objects each including a set of executable instruction defining presentation of a corresponding message, and wherein selecting the message further comprises selecting, from the plurality of message objects, a message object with which to generate the message, based on the updated respective confidence value corresponding to the message (¶ 168-171, 205, claim 1, maintaining set of instructions which define presentation of a message based on trust/confidence value of message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Judge. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Judge would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating message threat detection (Judge, ¶ 39).
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445