DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The term “embeds” recited in claim 1 not defined in the applicant’s disclosure. The term is interpreted to mean “encloses”.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a mononuclear cell separating unit” in claim 1; “a blood storing unit” in claim 2; “a separating agent storing unit” in claim 3; “a driving unit” in claim 5; “a slave unit” in claim 6; “a second driving unit” in claim 12; “a second slave unit” in claim 13.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanabe et al. (already of record, US 2018/0245041; hereinafter “Tanabe”).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Tanabe discloses a method for processing cells, comprising: providing a cell processing apparatus comprising a mononuclear cell separating unit (FIG. 34: vessel (203); [0339]), a housing that embeds the mononuclear cell separating unit such that the mononuclear cell separating unit is entirely disposed inside the housing (a cassette-like casing (259) enclosing the mononuclear cell separating unit (203); FIG. 34; [0353] to [0354]), a waste liquid storage, which is disposed outside the housing and is configured to store
waste liquid (FIG. 34: waste liquid storage section (228) disposed outside the casing (259); [0345] and [0353]-[0354]), and a waste liquid solution-feeding channel connecting the mononuclear cell separating unit and the waste liquid storage (FIG. 34; effluent from mononuclear cell separating unit (203) is transferred to waste liquid storage section (228) via channel (226) communicating with the waste liquid storage section (228) disposed outside the casing (259); [0345]); separating, in the mononuclear cell separating unit, a mononuclear cell from blood or a
blood cell (mononuclear cell is separated from blood or a blood cell using separating agent; [0340]); and transferring waste liquid from the mononuclear cell separating unit to the waste liquid storage through the waste liquid solution-feeding channel (effluent from mononuclear cell separating unit (203) is transferred to waste liquid storage section (228); [0345]).
Regarding claim 2, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a blood storing unit, which stores the blood or the blood cell and is disposed inside the housing (FIG. 34: blood storing unit (201) disposed within the casing (259); [0354]), and a blood solution-feeding channel connecting the mononuclear cell separating unit and
the blood storing unit (FIG. 1: channel 202; [0339]), and wherein the method further comprises transferring the blood or the blood cell from the blood storing unit to the mononuclear cell separating unit through the blood solution-feeding channel ([0339]).
Regarding claim 3, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a separating agent storing unit, which stores a separating agent suitable for separating
the mononuclear cell from the blood or the blood cell and is disposed outside the housing (FIG. 34: separating agent storing device (205) disposed outside the casing (259); [0340]), and a separating agent solution-feeding channel connecting the mononuclear cell separating
unit and the separating agent storing unit (FIG. 34: channel 206), and wherein the method further comprises transferring the separating agent from the separating agent storing unit to the mononuclear cell separating unit through the separating agent solution-feeding channel ([0340]).
Regarding claim 4, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a filter, which is disposed inside the housing (FIG. 34: mononuclear cell purifying filter (210) disposed within the casing (259); [0340]), and a mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel connecting the mononuclear cell
separating unit and the filter (FIG. 34: channel (208); [0340]), and wherein the method further comprises transferring a supernatant containing the mononuclear cell from the mononuclear cell separating unit to the filter through the mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel, and filtering the supernatant to remove components other than the mononuclear cell (mononuclear cell-containing supernatant in the mononuclear cell separating unit (203) is sent to a mononuclear cell purifying filter through a mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel (208); [0340]).
Regarding claim 5, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a driving unit, which is disposed outside the housing and is configured to flow a liquid in the mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel (FIG. 34: pump (209) disposed outside the casing (259); [0340]), and wherein the method further comprises operating the driving unit to transfer the supernatant from the mononuclear cell separating unit to the filter through the mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel ([0340]).
Regarding claim 7, Tanabe further discloses wherein the driving unit is attached to an outer wall of the housing (pump (209) is coupled to an outer surface of casing (259) and coupled to the mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel (208)).
Regarding claim 8, Tanabe further discloses wherein the housing comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a resin, glass, and a metal (casing made of a resin; [0353]).
Regarding claim 9, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a vessel, which is disposed inside the housing (FIG. 34: factor introducing device (213) disposed within the casing (259); [0342]), and a preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel connecting the mononuclear cell
separating unit and the vessel (FIG. 34: channels (211); [0342]), and wherein the method further comprises transferring a supernatant containing the mononuclear cell from the mononuclear cell separating unit to the vessel through the preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel, and introducing an inducing factor into the mononuclear cell in the vessel ([0342]).
Regarding claim 10, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a vessel, which is disposed inside the housing (FIG. 34: factor introducing device (213) disposed within the casing (259); [0342]), and a preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel connecting the filter and the vessel (mononuclear purifying filter (210) coupled to factor introducing device (213) via channel (211); [0342]), and wherein the method further comprises transferring the supernatant filtered by the filter to the vessel through the preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel, and introducing an inducing factor into the mononuclear cell in the vessel ([0340], [0342]).
Regarding claim 11, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a factor storage, which is disposed outside the housing and stores the inducing factor (FIG. 34: factor storing device (214) disposed outside the casing (259);), and a factor solution-feeding channel connecting the vessel and the factor storage (FIG. 34: channel (215); [0342]), and wherein the method further comprises transferring the inducing factor from the factor storage to the vessel by the factor solution-feeding channel ([0342]).
Regarding claim 12, Tanabe further discloses wherein the cell processing apparatus further comprises a second driving unit, which is disposed outside the housing and is configured to flow a liquid in the preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel (FIG. 34: channel 211 is coupled to a pump (212) that is disposed outside the casing (259); [0342]), and wherein the method further comprises operating the second driving unit to transfer the
supernatant from the mononuclear cell separating unit to the vessel through the preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel ([0342]).
Regarding claim 14, Tanabe further discloses wherein the second driving unit is attached to an outer wall of the housing (pump (212) is coupled to an outer surface of casing (259) and coupled to the mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel (211)).
Regarding claim 15, Tanabe further discloses wherein the vessel comprises a tube ([0342]).
Regarding claim 16, Tanabe further discloses wherein the vessel comprises a tube ([0342]).
Regarding claim 17, Tanabe further discloses wherein the driving unit comprises a tubing pump ([0339]).
Regarding claim 18, Tanabe further discloses wherein the second driving unit comprises a tubing pump ([0339]).
Regarding claim 19, Tanabe further discloses wherein the inducing factor is introduced into the mononuclear cell by RNA lipofection ([0342]).
Regarding claim 20, Tanabe further discloses wherein the inducing factor is included in a vector ([0342]).
Therefore, Tanabe meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1-5, 7-12 and 14-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe as applied to claims 5 and 12 above, and further in view of Arai et al (JPH-04254748-A; with English machine translation; hereinafter “Arai”).
Regarding claim 6, Tanabe discloses the method according to claim 6. Tanabe does not explicitly disclose a slave unit, which is disposed inside the housing and is connected to the mononuclear cell solution-feeding channel, and wherein the driving unit and the slave unit are configured such that driving force from the driving unit is transmitted to the slave unit. Arai discloses a cassette (FIGS. 1-4: cassette mount (11)) comprising an interior having a solution-feeding channel (52) coupled to a pump head (4). A rotating shaft (12) is arranged exterior of the cassette and coupled to the pump head (FIGS. 1-4). In view of Arai, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pump of Tanabe with the pump of Arai to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known pumping means for another for the predictable result of conveying fluid through the device.
Regarding claim 13, Tanabe discloses the method according to claim 12. Tanabe does not explicitly disclose a second driving unit, which is disposed outside the housing and is configured to flow a liquid in the preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel, and wherein the method further comprises operating the second driving unit to transfer the
supernatant from the mononuclear cell separating unit to the vessel through the preintroduction cell solution-feeding channel. Arai discloses a cassette (FIGS. 1-4: cassette mount (11)) comprising an interior having a solution-feeding channel (52) coupled to a pump head (4). A rotating shaft (12) is arranged exterior of the cassette and coupled to the pump head (FIGS. 1-4). In view of Arai, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second pump of Tanabe with the pump of Arai to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known pumping means for another for the predictable result of conveying fluid through the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanaami (JP 2004-212361) discloses a substrate comprising a plurality of chambers. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LIBAN M HASSAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7636. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM.
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799