DETAILED ACTION
In view of the appeal brief filed on 12/10/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/MELENIE L GORDON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1651
Status of the Claims
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Claims 2-29 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 2-26, and of species Escherichia coli and a nitrogen fertilizer, in the reply filed on 8/23/2024 and 10/1/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-16, 18-19 (a nitrogen fertilizer such as urea has a burst release rate, which is the opposite of control release rate and steady release rate, and a nitrogen fertilizer is elected), 22-23 and 25-29 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 2-7, 17, 20-21 and 24 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of Escherichia coli and a nitrogen fertilizer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-7, 17, 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Sabbadini et al (US 2015/0218254 A1; 8/6/2015. Cited on IDS) as evidenced by Sachs et al (J. Membrane Biol. 2006;212:71-82.).
The instant claims recite a minicell composition, comprising: a minicell having encapsulated within said minicell a fertilizer.
Sabbadini teaches compositions and methods for the production and use of minicells (para 0014) comprising Escherichia coli (a prokaryotic cell, a gram-negative bacterium, para 0205) (para 0244), at least one carrier including lactose and mannose (an agriculturally acceptable carrier) (para 0968, 0970, 0977), and urea (a nitrogen fertilizer) (para 0977), wherein said compositions can be formulated as liquid, dry composition, or powder (para 0972, 0977), and said minicells can be used in agricultural studies (para 0672). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that urea moves through bacterial membranes by passive diffusion, as evidenced by Sachs (p.72 col right – para 4). Since urea moves through biological membranes via passive diffusion, said minicells of Sabbadini can contain urea. Urea moves in and out of minicells, the minicells exhibit a burst release rate due to the rapid, initial discharge of urea outside of the minicells.
Therefore the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 2-7, 17, 20-21 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 33 and 49-56 of U.S. Patent No 11,649,265 (referred to as the ‘265 patent) in view of Sabbadini et al (US 2015/0218254 A1; 8/6/2015. Cited on IDS) as evidenced by Sachs et al (J. Membrane Biol. 2006;212:71-82.).
Claims 1-7, 33 and 49-56 of the ‘265 patent recite an anucleated cell composition comprising: an intact anucleated cell having encapsulated within said cell at least one non-expressed agricultural compound. The minicell composition further comprises at least one agriculturally acceptable carrier, wherein the minicell is derived from Escherichia coli, and the minicell exhibits a burst release rate of the agricultural compound. The minicell composition is formulated as a liquid, dry composition, powder, granule, seed coating, drench, in-furrow composition, or foliar spray.
‘265 patent does not teach the agricultural compound is a nitrogen fertilizer including urea, as recited in claims 21 and 24.
However, ‘265 patent does teach a minicell composition. Sabbadini teaches compositions and methods for the production and use of minicells (para 0014) comprising urea (a nitrogen fertilizer) (para 0977). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that urea moves through bacterial membranes by passive diffusion, as evidenced by Sachs (p.72 col right – para 4). Since urea moves through biological membranes via passive diffusion, said minicells of Sabbadini can contain urea.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate urea (a nitrogen fertilizer), since ‘265 patent and Sabbadini both disclose a minicell composition, Sabbadini and Sachs disclose the minicell composition can contain urea (a nitrogen fertilizer). Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited references and routine practice to incorporate urea (a nitrogen fertilizer) with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a minicell composition.
Claims 2-7, 17, 20-21 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 16-19 and 21 of U.S. Patent No 11,970,518 B2 (referred to as the ‘518 patent) in view of Sabbadini et al (US 2015/0218254 A1; 8/6/2015. Cited on IDS) as evidenced by Sachs et al (J. Membrane Biol. 2006;212:71-82.).
Claims 1-6, 16-19 and 21 of the ‘518 patent recite a minicell composition comprising a minicell having encapsulated within said minicell an agrochemical. The minicell composition further comprises at least one agriculturally acceptable carrier, wherein the minicell is derived from Escherichia coli, and the minicell exhibits a burst release rate of the agrochemical. The minicell composition is formulated as a liquid, dry composition, powder, granule, seed coating, drench, in-furrow composition, or foliar spray.
‘518 patent does not teach the agrochemical is a nitrogen fertilizer including urea, as recited in claims 21 and 24.
However, ‘518 patent does teach a minicell composition comprises a minicell having encapsulated within said minicell an agrochemical. Sabbadini teaches compositions and methods for the production and use of minicells (para 0014) comprising urea (a nitrogen fertilizer) (para 0977). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it was well-known in the art that urea moves through bacterial membranes by passive diffusion, as evidenced by Sachs (p.72 col right – para 4). Since urea moves through biological membranes via passive diffusion, said minicells of Sabbadini can contain urea.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate urea (a nitrogen fertilizer), since ‘518 patent and Sabbadini both disclose a minicell composition, Sabbadini and Sachs disclose the minicell composition can contain urea (a nitrogen fertilizer). Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited references and routine practice to incorporate urea (a nitrogen fertilizer) with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a minicell composition.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759