DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The term “multifunctional carboxylic acid” does not appear in the instant specification. Rather, the term “polycarboxylic acids” appears in paragraph 36. Additionally, “multifunctional carboxylic acid” does not appear in the provisional application of the instant application which is 62/911,255, or the parent of the instant application, which is 17/072310. Thus, the term “multifunctional carboxylic acid” gets an earliest effective filing date of 3/4/2024. However, should the term be amended to recite what is present in the specification, which is polycarboxylic acids (¶23 of the 62/911,255), the term will be given the effective filing date of the provisional application, i.e. 10/5/2019.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,920,033. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US Patent 11,920,033 recites a thermoset non-isocyanate polyurethane (NIPU) foam composition comprising: a reaction product of: (a) a polycyclic carbonate, having a plurality of cyclic carbonate functional groups, ranging from 5 to 90% of the NIPU foam composition by weight; (b) a polyamine, having a plurality of amine functional groups, ranging from 5% to 90% of the NIPU foam composition by weight; and (c) a foaming ingredient configured to produce the NIPU foam composition, the foaming ingredient ranging from 0.5 to 20% of the NIPU foam composition by weight, wherein the foaming ingredient comprises a carbonate-based chemical blowing agent, wherein the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent decomposes, and the decomposition is accelerated in the presence of acids and water, wherein the NIPU foam composition has a Shore A hardness from 1 to 80, wherein the polycyclic carbonate and the polyamine form a urethane bond; and wherein characteristics of the NIPU foam composition are tunable by changing cure temperature and acid composition (claim 1). This meets instant claims 1, 9, and 11.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cyclic carbonate functional groups and the plurality of amine functional groups are provided in a functional equivalent weight (FEW) ratio in a range from 4:1 to 1:4 (claim 2). This meets instant claim 2.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cyclic carbonate functional groups and the plurality of amine functional groups are provided in a functional equivalent weight (FEW) ratio in a range from 2:1 to 1:2 (claim 3). This meets instant claim 3.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the polycyclic carbonate is bio-derived and includes a carbonated triacylglycerol (TAG) or a carbonated fatty acid methyl ester (FAME) derived from one or more natural oils (claim 4). This meets instant claim 4.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the polycyclic carbonate comprises 15 to 80% of the NIPU foam composition by weight (claim 5). This meets instant claim 5.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the polyamine is a bio-derived compound selected from the group consisting of hexamethylene diamine (HMDA), putrescine, cadaverine, chitosan/chitin, pentamethylene diamine (PMDA), decarboxylated lysine and polylysine (claim 6). This meets instant claim 6.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the polyamine comprises 15 to 80% of the NIPU foam composition by weight (claim 7). This meets instant claim 7.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the reaction product further comprises (d) a catalyst, and the catalyst is selected from the group consisting of Lewis acids and bases, phosphoric acids, carbines, phosphines, enzymes, guanidines, thioureas, triazabicyclodecene (TBD), phenylcyclohexylthiourea, and combinations thereof (claim 8). This meets instant claim 10.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent is provided with a thermal decomposition temperature from 0 to 160° C (claim 9). This meets instant claim 14.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent includes a carbonate selected from the group consisting of calcium carbonate, ammonium bicarbonate, sodium bicarbonate, potassium bicarbonate, sodium carbonate, calcite, aragonite, dolomite, kutnohorite, ankerite, magnesium carbonate, barium carbonate, potassium carbonate, zinc carbonate, copper carbonate, silver carbonate, carbonates or bicarbonates of group 1 metals, carbonates or bicarbonates of group 2 metals, carbonates of transition metals, and combinations thereof (claim 10). This meets instant claim 12.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 10 wherein the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent is selected to produce a byproduct salt configured to confer a desired protective benefit to the NIPU foam composition with the byproduct salt is a salt of a metal selected from the group of metals consisting of copper, zinc, barium, and silver (claim 11). This meets instant claim 13.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the presence of acids and water to accelerate the decomposition of the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent is provided at a loading range by weight up to 15% (claim 12). This meets the “optional accelerant” of instant claim 1 and meets instant claim 15.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the reaction product further includes a surfactant introduced with the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent, wherein the surfactant includes a member selected from the group consisting of a silicone-based surfactant, a stearate, polyethylene glycol, polyethylene oxide, a polyorganic acid, sodium dodecyl sulfate, ethylene oxide, polypropylene oxide, an alkoxylate, propylene glycol, and combinations thereof (claim 13). This meets instant claim 16.
US Patent ‘033 recites the NIPU foam composition of claim 13, wherein the surfactant is provided at a loading range by weight up to 15% (claim 14). This meets instant claim 17.
US Patent ‘033 recites a thermoset non-isocyanate polyurethane (NIPU) foam composition comprising a reaction product of: (a) a reaction product of a bio-derived polycyclic carbonate having a plurality of cyclic carbonate functional groups, a bio-derived polyamine having a plurality of amine functional groups, and a foaming ingredient configured to produce the NIPU foam composition, wherein the reaction product includes the presence of acids and water, wherein the foaming ingredient comprises a carbonate-based chemical foaming blowing agent, and wherein the polycyclic carbonate and the polyamine form a urethane bond and characteristics of the reaction product are tunable by changing cure temperature and acid composition; (b) a catalyst reacted with the polycyclic carbonate and the polyamine prior to combining with the foaming ingredient; (c) an accelerant and a surfactant provided as additional foaming ingredients configured to generate the NIPU foam having desired properties; wherein the plurality of cyclic carbonate functional group and the plurality of amine functional group are provided in a ratio in a range from 4:1 to 1:4, and wherein the desired properties of the NIPU foam include a density of the NIPU foam from 1 to 400 kg/m3. This meets instant claims 8 and 20.
With regards to the “provided to drive gas formation from cyclic carbonates to contribute to blowing gas requirements of the resulting NIPU foam composition,” the water of US Patent ‘033 will necessarily provide this intended function, as the water of US Patent ‘033 is structurally identical to the water of instant claim 18 and is it is reacted with the reactants of US Patent ‘033, which are also identical to that of instant claims 1 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 8-10, 14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “functional group” twice in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each instance of “functional group.” Claim 1, on which claim 2 depends, recites “a plurality of cyclic functional groups” and “a plurality of amine functional groups.” The claim should be amended to recite “wherein the plurality of cyclic carbonate functional groups and the plurality of amine functional groups are provided…” in order to provide proper antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the polycyclic carbonate is bio-derived and includes a carbonated triacylglycerol or a fatty acid methyl ester derived from one or more natural oils.” The claim is indefinite because a fatty acid methyl ester is not a polycyclic carbonate. The claim should be amended to recite “wherein the polycyclic carbonate is bio-derived and includes a carbonated triacylglycerol or a carbonated fatty acid methyl ester derived from one or more natural oils.”
Claims 8-9 recite “the resulting NIPU foam material” in line 1 of each of the claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Claim 1, on which claims 8-9 depend, do not recite “a resulting NIPU foam material” but recites a NIPU foam composition. Furthermore, the claim 1 is to a composition comprising components (a) through (d). A NIPU foam material is a future intended use of the recited the composition, and the density and Shore A hardness of claims 8-9, respectively, are properties of the future intended use of the composition of instant claim 1.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the reaction further includes a catalyst introduced into the reaction…” The claim is indefinite because claim 1 is to a product and does not recite a reaction, but recites a reaction product. There is in insufficient antecedent basis for “the reaction” in lines 1 and 2 of claim 10. It is unclear whether claim 10 is the same reaction product of claim 1 on which claim 10 depends or if the “reaction product” is an additional reaction product. It is also unclear when the catalyst is being added to the reaction product. The claim recites “prior to combination with the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent…” The claim raises the question: Prior to what being combined with the carbonate-based chemical foaming agent? It appears the claim is intended to mean “The NIPU foam composition of claim 1, wherein the reaction product further comprises a catalyst selected from the group consisting of…, wherein the catalyst is introduced into the reaction prior to the chemical blowing agent.” However, this is not what the claim recites, and it is not clear what Applicants actually intended. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 15 recites “wherein the reaction product includes reacting an accelerant…” The claim is indefinite because it unclear with what the accelerant is being reacted. Furthermore, the claims are to a composition, and “reacting an accelerant” is a process step.
Claim 17 recites “wherein the surfactant is provided at a loading range by weight from 0 to 15%.” The claim is indefinite because claim 17 depends from claim 16, and claim 16 recites that a surfactant is present, and claim 17 includes an amount of 0% by weight, indicating that the surfactant does not have to present. It is unclear, based on claim 17, whether a surfactant is present in the reaction product, as recited in claim 16 on which claim 17 depends, or not because claim 17 includes “0wt%” indicating that no surfactant is present.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the reaction product further includes reacting water provided to…the resulting NIPU foam composition.” The claim is indefinite because it is not clear with what the water is reacting. Additionally, reacting water is a process step, while the claims are to a composition. The same issue is present in claim in claim 19. Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the resulting NIPU foam composition.” The claim does not previously refer to a resulting NIPU foam composition, nor does claim 1 on which claim 18 depends.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the reaction product further includes reaction a multifunctional carboxylic acid provided to…the resulting NIPU foam composition.” The claim is indefinite because it is not clear with what the multifunctional carboxylic acid is reacting. “Reacting a multifunctional carboxylic acid” is also a process step, while the claims are to a composition. Are the water of claim 18 and the multifunctional carboxylic acid merely the additional components (d) of instant claim 1? If so, it is suggested that claim 16 be amended to recite “The composition of claim 1, wherein the reaction product includes (d) water as the additional accelerant added with the blowing agent, and the water drives gas formation from cyclic carbonates” and claim 17 be amended to recite “The composition of claim 1, wherein the reaction product includes (d) acid as the additional accelerant added with the blowing agent, the acid includes multifunctional carboxylic acid, and the multifunctional carboxylic acid drives amide bond formation to adjust one or more mechanical properties of the NIPU foam composition.” Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the resulting NIPU foam composition.” The claim does not previously refer to a resulting NIPU foam composition, nor does claim 1 on which claim 19 depends.
Claim 20, line 7, recites “the polycyclic carbonate” and “the polyamine.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations. The claim previously refers to bio-derived polycyclic carbonate and bio-derived polyamine. Claim language must be kept consistent in order for proper antecedent basis to be present.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 recites “wherein the carbonate-based chemical blowing agent is provided in a loading by weight of 0.5 to 20%.” However, claim 1, on which claim 11 depends, already recites “a foaming ingredient…ranging from 0.5 to 20% of the NIPU composition ingredients by weight, wherein the foaming ingredient comprises a carbonate-based chemical blowing agent.” Thus, claim 11 fails to further limit its parent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, and 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speer et al. (WO 2019/164900).
Speer et al. teach a foam comprising a foam formulation comprising non-isocyanate polyurethane derived from the reaction product of at least one multifunctional cyclocarbonate and at least one multifunctional amine and a blowing agent (abstract). The foam may be a thermoset foam (¶15 and ¶49). The at least one multifunctional cyclocarbonate and at least one multifunctional amine form a urethane bond. The blowing agent is present in an amount of 5 to 35%. This overlaps the amounts of instant claims 1 and 11. The formulation including the non-isocyanate polyurethane may further comprise from 0.1 to 7% of a surfactant (¶15). The ratio of the at least one multifunctional cyclocarbonate to the at least one multifunctional amine may be 1:3 or 1:4. This meets instant claim 2.
In an Example, 50 grams of the cyclic carbonate is mixed together with 94 g of the polyamine (¶75). This forms a NIPU oligomer, which is foamed using 5 to 50% of a blowing agent, including carbonate-based chemical blowing agents such as ammonium bicarbonate, sodium bicarbonate, and potassium bicarbonate (¶28). These inherently have a thermal decomposition temperature which meet instant claim 14. When 5% of a blowing agent is added to the Example (which is the lower end point of the range of blowing agent disclosed in Speer), this corresponds to about 7.2 g of blowing agent, when the amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine are 50 g and 94 g, respectively. When 50% of a blowing agent is added to the Example (which is the lower end point of the range of blowing agent disclosed in Speer), this corresponds to about 144g of blowing agent, when the amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine are 50 g and 94 g, respectively. The amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine would be about 33% and about 62% by weight, when 5wt% blowing agent is present. The amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine would be about 17% and about 33% by weight, when 50wt% blowing agent is present. This is a range of from about 17 to about 33wt% of polycyclic carbonate and a range of from about 33% to about 62wt% of polyamine when the foams comprise 5 to 50wt% of blowing agent. The amounts of polycyclic carbonate and polyamine fall within the range of instant claims 1, 5 and 7.
The amount of foaming agent overlaps the ranges of instant claims 1 and 11. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the teachings of Speer to use an amount and type of foaming agent which meets the instant claim limitations of instant claims 1 and 11-12 because “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art…” Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
Examples of foaming agents include carbonate-based chemical blowing agents such as ammonium bicarbonate, sodium bicarbonate, and potassium carbonate. See ¶28. The blowing agent can be present in an amount of, for example, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 11%, 12%, 13%, 14%, 15%, or 20%, and any range between these. See ¶37. While Speer does not expressly recite if the “%” is by weight or by mol, both of these would be at once envisaged by one of ordinary skill in the art given the teachings of Speer.
Examples of the surfactant of Speer include silicone surfactants (¶38) which can be present in amounts of from 0.1 to 15% (¶40). This meets instant claims 16-17. The formulation for making the foams of Speer may further include catalysts and foaming agents. See ¶44. An expressly named example of catalyst includes tetramethylguanidine. See ¶46. This meets instant claim 10.
Speer teaches that the multifunctional cyclocarbonates are reacted with an excess of multifunctional amines to form amine-terminated polyurethane oligomers which can be cured by a kinetically faster and more exothermic reaction (¶48).
The foams have a density of less than or equal to 80 kg/m3, such as, for example 1 pcf, which is 16.02 kg/m3, which falls within the range of instant claim 8 (¶66).
The accelerant of instant claims 1 and 15 is optional and can be present in an amount of 0wt%.
Speer teach a method in which a polycyclic carbonate and a polyamine are mixed and form a liquid-product, which is a gel matrix having urethane bonds. See ¶75. Speer teaches that a blowing agent is added to the portion containing the multifunctional carbonate and the multifunctional amine (see ¶50). Speer teaches that the ratio of the at least one multifunctional cyclocarbonate to the at least one multifunctional amine may be 1:3 or 1:4. This meets instant claim 20.
Regarding the term “bio-derived” in instant claim 20, this is a product-by-process limitation. Case law holds that:
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
To the extent that the process limitations in a product-by-process claim do not carry weight absent a showing of criticality, the reference discloses the claimed product in the sense that the structure of Speer, i.e. the urethane formed by reacting a polycyclic carbonate having a plurality of cyclic carbonate and a polyamine having a plurality of amine functional groups to form a urethane, the urethane of which is foamed using, for example, a carbonate-based foaming agent, is seen to be no different from that indicated by the claims.
Regarding steps (b) and (c) of instant claim 20, Speer teaches that the formulation for making a foam includes a catalyst (¶46) which is added before the foaming agent (¶96). Water is also added to the foam formulations (¶56) in amounts of 2% or 3% (see ¶97 and ¶101) as well as a surfactant (¶38) and including acids including boric acid (¶46). The cure promoter, such as boric acid, is added in amounts of 0.1 to 7wt%. The amount of water and surfactant such as boric acid meet “accelerant” of claim 15 and surfactant of instant claims 16-17. These also meet the “reacting water” of instant claim 18; “accelerant” and “surfactant” of step (c) of claim 20. The cure promoter such as boric acid is present in amounts of, for example, 2.5wt%. See ¶47.
The water added in Speer is identical to the instantly claimed water and will necessarily perform the intended use of “to drive gas formation from cyclic carbonates to contribute blowing gas requirements” as recited in instant claim 18, by virtue of an identical component being reacted with identical reactants to form an identical product as recited in the instant claims.
Regarding instant claims 16-17, the surfactant is added to the “second part” of Speer, the second part of which is the reaction product of the at least one multifunctional cyclocarbonate to the at least one multifunctional and the blowing agent. Thus, the surfactant is “introduced with the blowing agent” in Speer.
Regarding the “Shore A” hardness of instant claim 9, embodiments of Speer are identical to that of instant claim 1 and 20. These embodiments will necessarily have the same properties as the foams of the instant claims, including the Shore A hardness of instant claim 9, and the property “wherein one or more characteristics of the NIPU foam are tunable by changing cure temperature, acid composition, and/or water content” in instant claims 1 and 20. The burden is shifted to Applicants to provide factually supported objective evidence which demonstrates the contrary. MPEP 2112 states “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 1-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkes et al. (US 2004/0230009) and further in view of Speer et al. (WO 2019/164900).
Wilkes et al. teach nonisocyanate polyurethanes produced used carbonated soybean oil (¶19-20). Carbonated soybean oil is a bio-derived polycyclic carbonate which meets instant claim 4 and the bio-derived polycyclic carbonate of instant claim 20. See ¶32 of Wilkes et al. The nonisocyanate polyurethanes of Wilkes are produced by reacting the carbonated soybean oil with an amine having functionality of at least two (making it a polyamine). See ¶35. The nonisocyanate polyurethanes (NIPU) are used to produce foams (¶37). An expressly named example of amine used to produce the NIPU of Wilkes is hexamethylene diamine. This meets instant claim 6. As shown in Figure 4, the amine is reacted with the cyclic carbonate in a 1:1 ratio. This meets instant claims 2-3 and the ratio of instant claim 20.
While Wilkes teaches that nonisocyanate polyurethanes are used to produce foams (¶37), Wilkes et al. do not expressly teach the type or amount of foaming agent used to produce said foams. Wilkes does not expressly recite the weight% of the carbonated soybean oil and amine having functionality of at least two (making it a polyamine). Wilkes does not expressly recite the density of foams produced using nonisocyanate polyurethanes. Wilkes does not expressly teach that the compositions, which are to used to foams, comprise a catalyst; accelerant; or surfactant.
However, Speer et al. teach a foam comprising a foam formulation comprising non-isocyanate polyurethane derived from the reaction product of at least one multifunctional cyclocarbonate and at least one multifunctional amine and a blowing agent (abstract). The foam may be a thermoset foam (¶15 and ¶49). The at least one multifunctional cyclocarbonate and at least one multifunctional amine form a urethane bond. The blowing agent is present in an amount of 5 to 35% of a blowing agent. The formulation including the non-isocyanate polyurethane may further comprise from 0.1 to 7% of at least one surfactant (¶15), with examples including boric acid and silicone-based surfactants. This meets instant claims 16-17 and the surfactant of instant claim 20. The formulations can further include water (¶56) in amounts of 2% or 3% (see ¶97 and ¶101). This meets the optional accelerant of instant claim 1; the water of instant claim 18; the accelerant of claim 15; and the accelerant of instant claim 20. A further example includes boric acid.
The water of Speer is structurally identical to the water of instant claim 18 and is used to produce an identical product, a non-isocyanate foam. The water of Speer, therefore, will necessarily perform the intended function of “driving gas formation from cyclic carbonates to contribute to blowing gas requirements of the resulting NIPU foam composition” as recited in instant claim 18. The burden is shifted to Applicants to provide evidence of the contrary. The water also meets the accelerant of instant claim 20, which is also “configured to generate the NIPU foam composition having desired properties,” by virtue of the same material (water) being selected to be added to the foams of Speer.
In an Example, 50 gram of the cyclic carbonate is mixed together with 94 g of the polyamine (¶75). This forms a NIPU oligomer, which is foamed using 5 to 50% of a blowing agent, including carbonate-based chemical blowing agents such as ammonium bicarbonate, sodium bicarbonate, and potassium bicarbonate (¶28). These meet instant claim 12 and each have a thermal decomposition temperature which meet instant claim When 5% of a blowing agent is added to the Example (which is the lower end point of the range of blowing agent disclosed in Speer), this corresponds to about 7.2 g of blowing agent, when the amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine are 50 g and 94 g, respectively. When 50% of a blowing agent is added to the Example (which is the lower end point of the range of blowing agent disclosed in Speer), this corresponds to about 144g of blowing agent, when the amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine are 50 g and 94 g, respectively. The amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine would be about 33% and about 62% by weight, when 5wt% blowing agent is present. The amounts of cyclic carbonate and polyamine would be about 17% and about 33% by weight, when 50wt% blowing agent is present. This is a range of from about 17 to about 33wt% of polycyclic carbonate and a range of from about 33% to about 62wt% of polyamine when the foams comprise 5 to 50wt% of blowing agent. The amounts of polycyclic carbonate and polyamine fall within the range of instant claims 1, 5 and 7. The amount of foaming agent overlaps the ranges of instant claims 1 and 11.
It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the teachings of Speer to use an amount and type of foaming agent which meets the instant claim limitations of instant claims 1 and 11-12 because “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art…” Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See MPEP 2123.
Examples of foaming agents include carbonate-based chemical blowing agents such as ammonium bicarbonate, sodium bicarbonate, and potassium carbonate. See ¶28. The blowing agent can be present in an amount of, for example, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 11%, 12%, 13%, 14%, 15%, or 20%, and any range between these. See ¶37. While Speer does not expressly recite if the “%” is by weight or by mol, both of these would be at once envisaged by one of ordinary skill in the art given the teachings of Speer.
Examples of the surfactant of Speer include silicone surfactants (¶38) which can be present in amounts of from 0.1 to 15% (¶40). The formulation for making the foams of Speer may further include catalysts and foaming agents. See ¶44. An expressly named example of catalyst includes tetramethylguanidine. See ¶46. This meets instant claim 10.
The foams have a density of less than or equal to 80 kg/m3, such as, for example 1 pcf, which is 16.02 kg/m3, which falls within the range of instant claim 8 (¶66).
Regarding steps (b) and (c) of instant claim 20, Speer teaches that the formulation for making a foam includes a catalyst (¶46) which is added before the foaming agent (¶96). Water is also added to the foam formulations (¶56) in amounts of 2% or 3% (see ¶97 and ¶101) as well as a surfactant (¶38) and including acids including boric acid (¶46). The cure promoter, such as boric acid, is added in amounts of 0.1 to 7wt%. The amount of water and surfactant such as boric acid meet “accelerant” of claim 15 and surfactant of instant claims 16-17. These also meet the “reacting water” of instant claim 18; “accelerant” and “surfactant” of step (c) of claim 20. The cure promoter such as boric acid is present in amounts of, for example, 2.5wt%. See ¶47.
Speer teaches that a blowing agent is added to the portion containing the multifunctional carbonate and the multifunctional amine (see ¶50). The formulations are then allowed to foam and cure (¶77).
Both Wilkes and Speer relate to the field of non-isocyanate polyurethanes used to produce, for example, foams. While Wilkes specifically discloses foams (see ¶37), Wilkes does not specify the amount or type of foaming agents to use, or what other components to use when producing a NIPU foam. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to Speer, which is from the same field of endeavor as Wilkes, to determine the amount and type of foaming agent to use to produce NIPU foams. This includes foaming agents such as ammonium bicarbonate, sodium bicarbonate, and potassium carbonate (see ¶28), which are used in amounts of, for example, 5%, 6%, 7%, 8%, 9%, 10%, 11%, 12%, 13%, 14%, 15%, or 20%, and any range between these. See ¶37. While Speer does not expressly recite if the “%” is by weight or by mol, both of these would be at once envisaged by one of ordinary skill in the art given the teachings of Speer. Using this amount and type of foaming agent produces foams having a density which meets instant claim 8. See ¶66 of Speer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a catalyst such as boric acid and/or tetramethylguanidine, added to the reaction of a cyclocarbonate and multifunctional amine before a foaming agent, as disclosed in Speer, in the formulations of Wilkes, in order to increase the rate of cure of the formulations of Wilkes et al. See ¶47 of Speer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was made to add an amount and type of surfactant as disclosed in Speer to the non-isocyanate polyurethane foams of Wilkes in order to stabilize foam-forming compositions such as those disclosed in ¶37 of Wilkes et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the wt% of multifunctional cyclocarbonate and multifunctional amine as disclosed in Speer, and the method of Speer of forming and curing a gel, in the invention of Wilkes in order to provide foams having a desired density and high compressive strength. See ¶67 and examples of Speer.
Regarding the term “bio-derived” in claims 6 and 20, this is a product-by-process limitation. Case law holds that:
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
To the extent that the process limitations in a product-by-process claim do not carry weight absent a showing of criticality, the reference discloses the claimed product in the sense that the structure of Wilkes in view of Speer, i.e. the urethane formed by reacting a polycyclic carbonate having a plurality of cyclic carbonate and a polyamine having a plurality of amine functional groups to form a urethane, the urethane of which is foamed using, for example, a carbonate-based foaming agent, is seen to be no different from that indicated by the claims. The burden is shifted to Applicants to provide evidence of the contrary. MPEP 2112 states “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Embodiments of Wilkes in view of Speer are identical to that of instant claim 1 and 20. These embodiments will necessarily have the same properties as the foams of the instant claims, including the Shore A hardness of instant claim 9, and “wherein characteristics of the NIPU foam composition are tunable by changing cure temperature, acid composition, and/or water content.” The burden is shifted to Applicants to provide factually supported objective evidence which demonstrates the contrary. MPEP 2112 states “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
There are no prior art rejections over instant claim 13 or 19. However, claim 13 is rejected under Obvious Double Patenting as indicated above. Should a proper Terminal Disclaimer be filed and approved, or the claims be amended in a manner in which claim 13 is no longer Obvious Double Patenting over US Patent No. 11,920,033, claim 13 would then be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 19 is indefinite for the reasons discussed above. Should Applicant’s overcome the indefinite rejection, claim 19 would then be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is that described above, i.e. Speer et al. (WO 2019/164900) and Wilkes et al. (US 2004/0230009) which fail to teach a carbonate-based foaming agent which contains a metal selected from the group consisting of copper, zinc, barium, and silver. Speer et al. (WO 2019/164900) and Wilkes et al. (US 2004/0230009) further fail to teach a multifunctional carboxylic acid (or a polycarboxylic acid), let alone one which is intended to drive amide bond formation with amines to adjust one or more mechanical properties of the resulting NIPU composition.
Conclusion
/K. BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766