DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weissman et al. US 2024/0193049 A1 [hereinafter Weissman] in view of Gunda et al. US 2022/0382640 A1 [hereinafter Gunda] and further in view of Kulaga et al. US 2020/0319979 A1 [hereinafter Kulaga]
As per claims 1 and 11, Weissman teaches a method, comprising:
selecting a backup for restoration to a target asset [paragraph 0051];
when an examination of the backup it is determined that the backup is associated with an infected file list, restoring the backup to a sandbox [paragraphs 0051-0053];
restoring the backup from the sandbox to the target asset [paragraphs 0051-0054]; and/or
restoring to the target asset, a respective last known good version of selected ones of the infected files [paragraphs 0051-0054].
In the same field of endeavor, Gunda teaches a method for backup restoration including in a sandbox, zeroing out any infected blocks of any infected files of the backup that are listed in the infected file list [paragraphs 0042-0046]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Gunda within the system of Weissman in order to enhance the security of the system by removing infected backup files.
In the same field of endeavor, Kulaga teaches system for restoring clean backup after malware attack comprising determining whether or not the backup has or is associated with an infection file list, which lists files known or suspected to be infected [paragraphs 0032 and 033].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Kulaga within the system of Weissman and Kunda in order to enhance the security of the system by determining infected files within backup data.
As per claims 3 and 13, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Weissman teaches the method wherein the backup comprises the infected file list, a changed file list, and a hierarchical catalog file list [paragraphs 0051-0054].
As per claims 4 and 14, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Weissman teaches the method wherein each of the infected file list, the changed file list, and the hierarchical catalog file list, comprises a discrete respective data structure [paragraphs 0051-0054].
As per claims 5 and 15, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Weissman teaches the method wherein the last known good version(s) are restored automatically [paragraphs 0051-0054].
As per claims 6 and 16, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Weissman teaches the method wherein after the last known good version(s) are identified, a report is generated that indicates: the infected file(s) were infected, for each file, a reason that the file was designated as infected, a date of a backup in which a respective one of the last known good versions was determined to exist, and, a respective restore status for each of the infected files [paragraphs 0051-0054].
As per claims 7 and 17, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Weissman teaches the method wherein the respective last known good versions are identified to a user by way of a user interface that enables user selection, on an individual basis, of the last known good versions [paragraphs 0051-0054].
As per claims 8 and 18, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Weissman teaches the method wherein one of the infected files indicates that a ransomware attack has taken place [paragraphs 0051-0054].
As per claims 9 and 19, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Weissman teaches the method wherein the backup comprises a changed file list that comprises a list of files that have changed since an earlier backup, preceding the backup, was taken [paragraphs 0051-0054].
As per claims 10 and 20, the combination of Weissman and Gunda teach the claim limitations as indicated above. Furthermore, Gunda teaches the method wherein the respective last known good versions are restored over those infected files whose infected blocks were zeroed out [paragraphs 0042-0046]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Gunda within the system of Weissman in order to enhance the security of the system by removing infected backup files.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BEEMNET W. DADA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435