DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 08/20/2025. Claims 1-3 and 4-19 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondal et al. (U.S. 2015/0097674 A1) in view of Weaver (U.S. 2011/0025503 A1).
Claim 1, Mondal teaches:
A vehicle (Mondal Fig. 3: 36A, 36B, Paragraph [0015], Each truck 36A and 36B is equipped with a location acquisition/communication unit 14.) comprising:
at least one tool sensor (Mondal, Fig. 1: 14), wherein each tool sensor of the at least one tool sensor is configured to detect a status of at least one associated tool (Mondal, Fig. 1: 26) at the vehicle (Mondal, Paragraphs [0015-0016], The LAU 14 is functionally equivalent to Applicant’s disclosed tool sensor (see Applicant’s Fig. 1: 14). One example status of the tool 26 is whether the tool 26 is being used. The tool 26 is determined to be “OK” and located at a truck 36, i.e. at the vehicle, if the tool 26 effectively communicates with the LAU 14 located at the truck 36 (see Mondal, Paragraph [0028]).);
the user using a display (Mondal, Fig. 1: 24, Paragraph [0045]);
at least one processor (Mondal, Fig. 1: 38) in communication with the at least one tool sensor (Mondal, Paragraph [0017], The processors 38 are generally responsible for executing computer programs stored in a data storage device 40 of the LAU 14. The LAU 14 receives sensor data via the WWAN modem 42.), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a signal indicative of the status of each tool of the at least one tool associated with the at least one tool sensor (Mondal, Paragraphs [0015-0016], The tool tag 12 periodically transmits its data, e.g. usage data, to a receiving LAU 14.); and
cause the display to display the status of each tool of the at least one tool associated with the at least one tool sensor based on the signal received from the at least one tool sensor (Mondal, Paragraph [0045], The user interface 24 displays the status of all the tools 26.); and
a transmitter that is configured to transmit signals associated with the status of each tool to a remote device (Mondal, Fig. 1: 28, 42, 46, Paragraphs [0015] and [0018-0019], The tool tag 12 includes a wireless transceiver 28 for transmitting sensor data to an LAU 14, which is remote to the tool tag 12. The LAU includes a WWAN Modem 42 and a Short Range Transceiver 46 which are capable of transmitting sensor data to a server 22 and data collection unit 16, respectively, which are remote to the LAU 14.).
Mondal does not explicitly teach:
A plurality of tool receptacles, wherein each tool is associated with a respective tool receptacle of the plurality of tool receptacles,
the vehicle comprising the display;
the at least one processor in communication with the display; and
wherein the status detected by the at least one tool sensor is a presence of the tool or an absence of the tool in the respective tool receptacle with which the tool is associated.
As per the display being comprised by the vehicle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the location of the user interface 24 to be located inside a vehicle. For example, if a user has left a job site and needs to create a report regarding a missing tool, the user is able to utilize the user interface 24 to create the report (see Mondal, Paragraph [0047]). Such a modification would not render the invention inoperable for its intended purpose and would yield predictable results. See MPEP 2144.04.
As per the at least one processor in communication with the display, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the LAU 14, and its respective processor 38, to be in communication with at least one user interface 24, via the server 22. As seen in Fig. 1, the LAU 14 communicates a WWAN Data Transfer to the server 22, which is connected to the user interface 24 via a wired/wireless data connection. Additionally, the user interface 24 is operative to display the status of the tools 26, which originate from the tool tags 12 and are received and transmitted by the LAU 14 (see Mondal, Paragraph [0018]). Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Weaver teaches:
A plurality of tool receptacles (Weaver, Figs. 1A-1C, and 5A-5B, Each drawer of the multi-drawer storage unit is one example of a receptacle. Additionally, each drawer may be equipped with a plurality of storage locations 51, which are further examples of receptacles.), wherein each tool is associated with a respective tool receptacle of the plurality of tool receptacles (Weaver, Paragraphs [0038-0040], Each tool element template 51 represents a potential tool location, whereas each drawer includes a plurality of tool element templates 51, thereby each tool, represented by a filled 53 tool element storage location, is associated with at least one receptacle, e.g. a tool element template 51 and a drawer.), wherein the status detected by the at least one tool sensor is a presence of the tool or an absence of the tool in the respective tool receptacle with which the tool is associated (Weaver, Paragraph [0041], The presence or absence of tools is determined based on empty or filled element storage locations and drawers.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Mondal by integrating the teaching of storage drawers having item tracking as taught by Weaver.
The motivation would be to perform an inventory check on tools with a minimum loss of time for conforming all tools are present (see Weaver, Paragraph [0043]).
Claim 2, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the status of each tool detected by the at least one tool sensor is either a presence of the tool or an absence of the tool (Mondal, Paragraph [0028], Additionally, the usage of the tool 26 is transmitted by the tool tag 12 to update the status of the tool, which functionally indicates the presence of the tool (see Mondal, Paragraphs [0015-0016]).).
Claim 4, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein at least one tool receptacle is configured to receive only one tool (Weaver, Paragraphs [0038-0040], Each tool element template 51 is configured to receive one tool.).
Claim 5, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 4, wherein each tool receptacle of the at least one tool receptacle is sized to receive only one tool (Weaver, Paragraphs [0038-0040], Each tool element template 51 is configured to receive one tool.).
Claim 6, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 5, wherein the at least one tool receptacle defines a shape that corresponds to an outer perimeter of the only one tool (Weaver, Paragraphs [0038-0040], The shape of each tool element template 51 is configured for the shape of an outer perimeter of the tool.).
Claim 7, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein at least one tool receptacle is configured to receive at least two tools (Weaver, Paragraph [0035], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for each drawer to be capable of storing at least two tools, e.g. Fig. 5B: 53.).
Claim 8, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 7, wherein the at least one tool sensor comprises at least two sensors that are each configured to detect a presence of a respective tool of the at least two tools (Weaver, Fig. 4, Paragraph [0037], Each sensor element of sensor platform 43 is activated to capture the collection of grid cell mosaics 23.).
Claim 9, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein at least a first tool sensor of the at least one tool sensor comprises a wireless sensor that is configured to detect a tag associated with the wireless sensor (Mondal, Paragraph [0018], The WWAN Modem 42 of the LAU 14 is functionally equivalent to a wireless sensor that is configured to detect transmissions from a tool tag 12. The tool tag 12 is associated with the WWAN Modem 42 since the tool tag 12 is assigned to one or multiple LAUs 14 (see Mondal, Paragraph [0017]).).
Claim 10, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 9, further comprising a tool (Mondal, Fig. 1: 26), wherein the tool comprises the tag associated with the wireless sensor (Mondal, Fig. 1: 12, Paragraph [0013], The tool tag 12 is attachable to or positioned within tool 26.).
Claim 11, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 10, wherein the wireless sensor is configured to communicate with the tag via Bluetooth low energy (BLE) or radio frequency identification (RFID) (Mondal, Paragraph [0015], The tool tag 12 is configured to transmit radio messages via the short range wireless transceiver 28 to the LAU 14. The wireless transceiver 28 utilizes Bluetooth (see Mondal, Paragraph [0013]).).
Claim 12, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 9, wherein the wireless sensor comprises a plurality of sensor elements that are configured to cooperate to define a mesh region (Mondal, Paragraph [0020], The LAU 14 includes a WWAN modem 42 and a short range transceiver 46 that enables communication with other LAUs 14 and data collection units 16, which forms a network that is functionally equivalent to a mesh region because the other LAUs 14 may relay data and forward the relayed data.), wherein the wireless sensor is configured to detect a location of the tag within the mesh region (Mondal, Paragraph [0019], The LAU 14 associates a GPS coordinate with the location of the tool tag 12 when it is within communication range of the tool tag 12.).
Claim 13, Mondal in view of Weaver teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1.
Mondal in view of Weaver does not specifically teach:
Wherein at least a first tool sensor of the at least one tool sensor comprises a mechanical switch, a pressure sensor, or an optical sensor.
Mondal in view of Weaver teaches:
Wherein at least a first inventory tag reader comprises a mechanical switch, a pressure sensor, or an optical sensor (Mondal, Fig. 1: 70, Paragraph [0023], The bar code reader 70 is capable of optically reading barcodes, other 2D codes, QR codes, or the like.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the LAUs 14 to include the functionality of the inventory tag reader 20.
The motivation would be to further enhance the tracking capabilities of the LAUs 14 by enabling inventory management of other tools 62 that may be present for a given user and/or job.
Claim 14, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, further comprising an alarm (Mondal, Paragraphs [0015] and [0036-0039], A plurality of different types of alerts may be generated and sent to users.), wherein the vehicle is configured to activate the alarm based on the status of at least one tool and an event indicative of operation of the vehicle (Mondal, Paragraphs [0015] and [0036-0039], Dependent on data from the LAUs 14 within the vehicle(s), the alert and reporting module 94 generates and reports alerts. Thus, the vehicle having an LAU 14 is configured to activate the generated alerts via the alert and reporting module 94. The status of the tool includes a situation in which the tool is traveling in the vehicle, i.e. the status of the tool is indicative of operation of the vehicle (see Mondal, Paragraph [0014]).).
Claim 15, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 14, wherein the event indicative of operation of the vehicle comprises one of: the vehicle being started; or the vehicle being shifted out of park; or movement of the vehicle (Mondal, Paragraph [0014], The motion sensor is capable of sensing whether the tool 26 is traveling, i.e. moving, with the vehicle.).
Claim 16, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, further comprising an input device (Mondal, Fig. 1: 24) in communication with the at least one processor, wherein the input device is configured to receive an input from an operator, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, based on the input from the operator, one of: silence an alarm; or override a status of a first tool (Mondal, Paragraph [0034], One example function is the user manually assigning or reassigning a tool to any group, which is functionally equivalent to overriding a status of the first tool.).
Claim 17, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
A system (Mondal, Figs. 1 and 3) comprising: a vehicle as in claim 1 (Mondal, Fig. 3: 34); and a remote computing device (Mondal, Figs. 1 and 3: 24) in communication with the transmitter of the vehicle (Mondal, Figs. 1 and 3, The LAUs 14 of each vehicle 36 communicate with user interfaces 24 via server 22 via network 44.), wherein the remote computing device comprises a display (Mondal, Paragraph [0047], A plurality of user interfaces 24 may be utilized, e.g. for each worker of a crew, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for a subsequent user interface 24 not located within the vehicle 36 to be interpretable as a remote computing device. It is further noted that server 22 also has a user interface 78 that enables a user/administrator to interact with the server’s software and hardware resources (see Mondal, Paragraph [0025]).), wherein the remote computing device is configured to display on the display of the remote computing device the status of each tool (Mondal, Paragraph [0045]).
Claim 18, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The system of claim 17, further comprising a dispatch input device in communication with the remote computing device, wherein the remote computing device is configured to receive a dispatcher input from the dispatch input device, wherein the remote computing device is configured to cause the at least one processor of the vehicle to one of: silence an alarm; or override a status of a first tool (Mondal, Paragraph [0034], One example function is the user manually assigning or reassigning a tool to any group, which is functionally equivalent to overriding a status of the first tool. Thus, the manual input into user interface 24 is a dispatcher input, wherein the user interface 24 is/includes an input device for inputting the manual assignment).
Claim 19, Mondal in view of Weaver further teaches:
The vehicle of claim 1, wherein the at least one tool sensor comprises a plurality of tool sensors (Weaver, Fig. 3, Paragraph [0028], A plurality of stationary sensors are mounted to the drawer.), and wherein teach tool sensor is associated with and configured to detect a presence or absence of a respective tool of the plurality of tools (Weaver, Paragraph [0041], The presence or absence of tools is determined based on empty or filled element storage locations and drawers.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Applicant’s argument on Page 7 that the combination of Mondal with Weaver seeks to replace the LAU of Mondal with the non-contact sensors of Weaver, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, the Applicant’s claimed invention defines at least one tool sensor, which is interpretable as the system having more than one sensor, as evidenced by Applicant’s new claim 19. The Examiner’s rejection did not disclose the combination as a substitution, but rather an integration, i.e. additive. Therefore, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that such a modification would change the principle of operation of Mondal, e.g. taking away functionality of Mondal. Furthermore, the integration of Mondal with Weaver would thus be additive by providing additional functionality for purposes of locating and/or tracking tools.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES J YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686