DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/450,302 filed March 6,2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2024, 06/21/2024, and 02/03/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term Wi-Fi, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ho et al. (US Patent Publication No. US 20240224076 A1 and Ho hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Ho discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) (non-AP MLD) (i.e. a method for wireless communication at a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD)) Para [0007] that includes stations (STAs) (i.e. multiple client devices also referred to as wireless stations (STAs) (e.g., non-AP MLDs)) Para [0002], the method comprising: forming a link with a corresponding AP of an AP MLD ( see whole figure 4 above; i.e. To establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHZ, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands).) Para [0039] and (i.e. The STA 412 may communicate with the multiple APs via wireless communication links. As illustrated, the STA 412 may communicate with the first AP 406 via a first active link 416, whereas the STA 412 may also establish one or more additional active links with other APs as it moves closer to the other APs and away from the first AP 406.) Para [0060], wherein the AP MLD comprises a plurality of APs that form a logical AP MLD (i.e. the multiple APs form a single AP MLD (e.g., logical group/physical group)) Para [0030]; initiating a scan phase procedure over the link between the non-AP MLD and the corresponding AP to request information about the APs that form the logical AP MLD ( see whole Figure 4 above; i.e. To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates (i.e. initiating) and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102. Each STA 104 may identify, determine, ascertain, or select an AP 102 with which to associate (i.e. corresponding AP) in accordance with the scanning information obtained through the passive or active scans, and to perform authentication and association operations to establish a communication link 106 with the selected AP 102. The AP 102 assigns an association identifier (AID) to the STA 104 at the culmination of the association operations, which the AP 102 uses to track the STA 104. ) Para [0039]; and receiving a response from the corresponding AP based on the scan phase procedure (i.e. To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102. Each STA 104 may identify, determine, ascertain, or select an AP 102 with which to associate (i.e. corresponding AP) in accordance with the scanning information obtained through the passive or active scans, and to perform authentication and association operations to establish a communication link 106 with the selected AP 102. The AP 102 assigns an association identifier (AID) to the STA 104 at the culmination of the association operations, which the AP 102 uses to track the STA 104. ) Para [0039], the response including information related to roaming received by the corresponding AP from other APs of the logical AP MLD (see whole Figure 4 above, and elements 404; i.e. To facilitate scanning and discovery by the STA 412, one or more of the multiple APs may advertise communication parameters such as basic service set (BSS) parameters and/or MLD parameters associated with each of the multiple APs or a subset of the multiple APs. For example, the first AP 406 of the multiple APs may periodically broadcast communication parameters of each of the multiple APs. In some examples, the first AP 406 may advertise parameters only for APs that are members of the AP MLD 402…the first AP 406 may advertise the parameters via…a probe response frame…APs that are members of the AP MLD 402 may advertise communication parameters in a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) and/or a multi-link IE, or a neighbor report element. A co-located AP subfield setting in a BSS parameters field may indicate an APs' co-location with other APs (e.g., indicate that the AP is part of an MLE). The STA 412 may expect that member APs (e.g., first AP 406, second AP 408, and third AP 410) are neighbors of the reporting AP. While the AP MLD 402 may include multiple APs as members, any given member AP may advertise all or a subset of the multiple APs as candidate APs.) Para [0064-0065].
Regarding Claim 9, Ho suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in device form rather than method form. Ho also discloses a device (i.e., a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD), comprising: a transceiver; a memory comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to cause the non-AP MLD to perform) Para [0159]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 17, Ho suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in device form, from the view of the AP-MLD. Ho also discloses a AP-MLD (i.e. an access point, comprising: a transceiver; a memory comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the network node to perform) Para [0160]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 10, Ho discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above. Further Ho discloses determining a new AP to roam to from the other APs of the logical AP MLD based on the information related to roaming (i.e. Additionally, after association with an AP 102, a STA 104 also may periodically scan its surroundings to find a more suitable AP 102 with which to associate. For example, a STA 104 that is moving relative to its associated AP 102 may perform a “roaming” scan to find another AP 102 having more desirable network characteristics (i.e. information) such as a greater received signal strength indicator (RSSI) or a reduced traffic load.) Para [0040].
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 11, Ho discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 10, respectively, as discussed above. Further Ho discloses informing the corresponding AP about the new AP to roam to (i.e. When the STA 412 senses that signaling from a second AP 408 is stronger than the first AP 406, or if the STA 412 anticipates that the second AP 408 will provide higher quality signaling based on its location and movement of the STA 412, the first AP 406 may transfer the context and BA scoreboard to the second AP 408 and the second AP 408 may become the serving AP. ) Para [0062].
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 12 and Claim 18, Ho discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Ho discloses wherein the scan phase procedure comprises an active probing procedure (i.e. To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102. ) Para [0039], the active probing procedure comprising: transmitting a probe request to the corresponding AP (i.e. To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102. Each STA 104 may identify, determine, ascertain, or select an AP 102 with which to associate (i.e. corresponding AP) in accordance with the scanning information obtained through the passive or active scans, and to perform authentication and association operations to establish a communication link 106 with the selected AP 102. The AP 102 assigns an association identifier (AID) to the STA 104 at the culmination of the association operations, which the AP 102 uses to track the STA 104. ) Para [0039]; receiving a probe response from the corresponding AP based on the probe request (i.e. To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102. Each STA 104 may identify, determine, ascertain, or select an AP 102 with which to associate (i.e. corresponding AP) in accordance with the scanning information obtained through the passive or active scans, and to perform authentication and association operations to establish a communication link 106 with the selected AP 102. The AP 102 assigns an association identifier (AID) to the STA 104 at the culmination of the association operations, which the AP 102 uses to track the STA 104. ) Para [0039], the probe response including information related to roaming received by the corresponding AP from the other APs of the logical AP MLD (see whole Figure 4 above, and elements 404; i.e. To facilitate scanning and discovery by the STA 412, one or more of the multiple APs may advertise communication parameters such as basic service set (BSS) parameters and/or MLD parameters associated with each of the multiple APs or a subset of the multiple APs. For example, the first AP 406 of the multiple APs may periodically broadcast communication parameters of each of the multiple APs. In some examples, the first AP 406 may advertise parameters only for APs that are members of the AP MLD 402…the first AP 406 may advertise the parameters via…a probe response frame…APs that are members of the AP MLD 402 may advertise communication parameters in a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) and/or a multi-link IE, or a neighbor report element. A co-located AP subfield setting in a BSS parameters field may indicate an APs' co-location with other APs (e.g., indicate that the AP is part of an MLE). The STA 412 may expect that member APs (e.g., first AP 406, second AP 408, and third AP 410) are neighbors of the reporting AP. While the AP MLD 402 may include multiple APs as members, any given member AP may advertise all or a subset of the multiple APs as candidate APs.) Para [0064-0065]; and transmitting a reduced probe request to the other APs of the logical AP MLD (i.e. the first AP 406 may advertise the parameters via…a probe response frame.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 13 and Claim 19, Ho discloses all the limitations of claims 4, 12, and 18, respectively, as discussed above. Further Ho discloses wherein the probe request comprises a frame that encapsulates one or more probe request frames or one or more fields of the probe request frames (i.e. To support MLO techniques, an AP MLD and a STA MLD may exchange (i.e. probe request or response) supported STA/MLO capability information (such as supported aggregation type or supported frequency bands, among other information). For example, an STA capability may be provided to an AP as a communication parameter. Such STA capabilities may include bandwidth(s) (BW) that the STA can communicate over, modulation and coding scheme(s) (MCS) that the STA is capable of using, an indication of a number of spatial streams (NSS) the STA supports, what 802.11 amendment the STA supports (e.g., HE, EHT, UHR), whether the STA supports capabilities such as: spatial reuse, target wake time and its variants (e.g., individual, broadcast, restricted, multi-link operation (collocated)), what multilink mode (e.g., multi link single radio (MLSR, enhanced c(MLSR), multi link multi radio (MLMR), enhanced MLMR, non-simultaneous transmit receive (NSTR)/STR) is supported by the STA, whether the STA supports TID-to-link mapping, and any other suitable information. In some examples, the exchange of information may occur via a beacon signal, a probe request or probe response, an association request or an association response frame, a dedicated action frame, or an operating mode indicator (OMI)) Para [0056-0057].
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 14 and Claim 20, Ho discloses all the limitations of claims 4, 12, and 18, respectively, as discussed above. Further Ho discloses wherein the probe response comprises one or more information fields present in a probe response frame (i.e. To support MLO techniques, an AP MLD and a STA MLD may exchange (i.e. probe request or response) supported STA/MLO capability information (such as supported aggregation type or supported frequency bands, among other information). For example, an STA capability may be provided to an AP as a communication parameter. Such STA capabilities may include bandwidth(s) (BW) that the STA can communicate over, modulation and coding scheme(s) (MCS) that the STA is capable of using, an indication of a number of spatial streams (NSS) the STA supports, what 802.11 amendment the STA supports (e.g., HE, EHT, UHR), whether the STA supports capabilities such as: spatial reuse, target wake time and its variants (e.g., individual, broadcast, restricted, multi-link operation (collocated)), what multilink mode (e.g., multi link single radio (MLSR, enhanced c(MLSR), multi link multi radio (MLMR), enhanced MLMR, non-simultaneous transmit receive (NSTR)/STR) is supported by the STA, whether the STA supports TID-to-link mapping, and any other suitable information. In some examples, the exchange of information may occur via a beacon signal, a probe request or probe response, an association request or an association response frame, a dedicated action frame, or an operating mode indicator (OMI)) Para [0056-0057] received by the corresponding AP from the other APs of the logical AP MLD (i.e. first AP 406 may advertise parameters (i.e. information) only for APs that are members of the AP MLD 402…the first AP 406 may advertise the parameters via…a probe response frame…APs that are members of the AP MLD 402 may advertise communication parameters in a reduced neighbor report (RNR) information element (IE) and/or a multi-link IE, or a neighbor report element. A co-located AP subfield setting in a BSS parameters field may indicate an APs' co-location with other APs (e.g., indicate that the AP is part of an MLE). The STA 412 may expect that member APs (e.g., first AP 406, second AP 408, and third AP 410) are neighbors of the reporting AP. While the AP MLD 402 may include multiple APs as members, any given member AP may advertise all or a subset of the multiple APs as candidate APs.) Para [0064-0065.
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 15, Ho discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above. Further Ho discloses wherein the scan phase procedure comprises: identifying one of the STAs of the non-AP MLD as a designated scanner (i.e. Each STA 104 may identify, determine, ascertain, or select an AP 102 with which to associate in accordance with the scanning information obtained through the passive or active scans, and to perform authentication and association operations to establish a communication link 106 with the selected AP 102.) Para [0039]; informing the corresponding AP about the designated scanner (i.e. The AP 102 assigns an association identifier (AID) to the STA 104 at the culmination of the association operations, which the AP 102 uses to track the STA 104.) Para [0039]; and performing an active scanning procedure via the designated scanner (i.e. To establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHZ, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands)…To perform active scanning, a STA 104 generates and sequentially transmits probe requests on each channel to be scanned and listens for probe responses from APs 102.) Para [0039].
Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 16, Ho discloses all the limitations of claims 7 and 15, respectively, as discussed above. Further Ho discloses wherein the active scanning procedure comprises transmitting, to the corresponding AP, a frame that includes information about a current configuration of the designated scanner (i.e. To establish a communication link 106 with an AP 102, each of the STAs 104 is configured to perform passive or active scanning operations (“scans”) on frequency channels in one or more frequency bands (for example, the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHZ, 6 GHz or 60 GHz bands). To perform passive scanning, a STA 104 listens for beacons, which are transmitted by respective APs 102 at a periodic time interval referred to as the target beacon transmission time (TBTT) (measured in time units (TUs) where one TU may be equal to 1024 microseconds (us)) (i.e. scanning duration). ) Para [0039] and (i.e. In certain aspects, an AID may be assigned at initialization of each STA. For example, the STA 412 may have an association identifier (AID) assigned by the first AP 406 (e.g., when the STA 412 joins the network). The AID may identify the STA within an area such as a BSS, and may be used as an address or a part of an address, and may be shorter than other addresses of the STA 412 such as an IP address or a MAC address (i.e. STA identifier). For example, an AID may be a length of 3-4 characters. The AID may be included in a frame to uniquely identify a sender or receiver of a message. For example, the AID may be included in a MAC header to identify a transmitting STA when the AID may be used for addressing a frame. Further, a PPDU header may include an AID or a partial AID that may be used as an early indication of an intended receiver of the frame. Advantageously, such a PPDU header may permit early termination of processing a received PPDU that is indicated to be for different receiver.) Para [0069].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ho et al. (US 20240224076 A1) “MULTI-AP ASSOCIATION IDENTIFIERS MANAGEMENT” (July 4, 2024) discloses multiple access point (AP) association with a single station (STA) to provide a seamless transition (e.g., little to no service interruption during an active link transfer). Some aspects more specifically relate to an AP multi-link device (MLD) and multiple AP members of the AP MLD, and their communications with the STA.
Naik et al. (US 20240155713 A1) “RECONFIGURING LINK CHARACTERISTICS WHILE MAINTAINING LINKS” (May 9, 2024) discloses a first and second wireless communication device establishing a plurality of wireless communication links that are based on or associated with a set of characteristics such as capabilities of the first and second wireless communication devices and association parameters. The first wireless communication device may transmit, to the second wireless communication device, a request to update one of the characteristics while maintaining each wireless communication link of the plurality of wireless communication links. The second wireless communication device may transmit a response to the request that includes an indication about updating the characteristic. Then if the response includes an indication to update the characteristic, the first and second wireless communication devices may communicate according to the updated characteristic.
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647