DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 4/29/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-16 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/6/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites a “specific of between .6 and .7.” It is believed the claim should state a ”specificity.” Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (“Early Detection of Kidney Disease Using ECG Signals Through Machine Learning Based Modelling,” Examiner-cited NPL published in 2019, hereinafter Rahman).
Regarding claims 1-5, 17-19 and 21, Rahman discloses a system and method for analyzing kidney health in an individual (see title). Rahman receives 12-lead ECG data (see page 320). Cardiac data characteristics of an individual such as QRS complex amplitudes, QT interval and RR interval (i.e., heart rate) are input into a machine learning model and the machine learning model outputs an indication of the presence of CKD in a patient if, for example, the individual shows a prolonged QT interval (pages 320-322). The indication of CKD inherently means the individual has at least one of mild CKD, moderate-severe CKD, or ESRD.
Claims 1-4, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noshay et al. (US 2022/0093261, hereinafter Noshay).
Regarding claims 1-4, 10 and 21, Rahman Noshay a system and method for analyzing kidney health in an individual (see title). Rahman receives a cardiac data characteristic of an individual such as a history of cardiac ischemia or CHF are input into a machine learning model and the machine learning model outputs an indication of the presence of CKD and the stage of the CKD, including ESRD (par. 0009, 0056, 0063, 0066, Table 1). The model has a sensitivity of between 0.6 and 0.7 (see Table 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman in view of Noshay.
Regarding claims 6-9, Rahman discloses the applicant’s basic invention, as described above. Rahman also discloses that it is important that the model be accurate in the diagnosis, and that the model has an accuracy of 97.6% (see page 321). Rahman is silent as to using area under the curve (AUC) of a receiver operating characteristic (ROC) when training the model. However, Noshay discloses that AUC of a RUC is important to determine the discriminative accuracy of a machine learning model, such that a value above 0.5 ensures that the model is not just guessing, and that a value closer to 1.0 would indicate a more perfect predictive accuracy (see Table 3 and Table 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Rahman to have an AUC of ROC above 0.5 in predicting CKD stages in order to ensure predictive accuracy. With regards to the AUC specifically being 0.73-0.78, it has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). In this case, Noshay shows that an AUC is a results-effective variable whose value indicates predictive accuracy. Therefore, adjusting the AUC as needed to balance the potential consequences of false negative and false positives is not inventive, and if a value between 0.73 and 0.78 produced optimal results, then that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman or Noshay in view of Tangri (US 2023/0054069).
Both Rahman and Noshay disclose the use of machine learning models to analyze kidney health. However, both Rahman and Noshay are silent as to the machine learning model specifically being a convolutional neural network. Tangri also discloses a machine learning model to analyze kidney health, and thus is analogous art with Rahman and Noshay (see abstract). Tangri discloses that convolutional neural networks is a known type of machine learning model that can be used for this purpose (par. 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to specifically use a convolutional neural network as the machine learning model in Rahman and/or Noshay as Tangri teaches a convolutional neural networks is a known type of machine learning model in the kidney diagnosis art and thus would produce a predictable result that would not affect the overall operation or purpose of Rahman nor Noshay.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892, specifically US 2025/0099000 which also discloses a machine learning model for indicating progression of kidney disease.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796