DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 03/16/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-10 are pending; claim 1 has been amended; claim 5 is canceled.
Claim Interpretation
The term “connected” does not have any definition in the specification. Thereof, the term is given its ordinary meaning under BRI, the term “connected” encompasses direct or indirect connection via intermediate elements (e.g. shaft, hub, gears)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the piston pushes the wave pad to move away from the friction plate after the air is passed in” in line 3-4. The claim was not enabled for the piston to push the wave pad to move away from the friction plate after the air is passed in. Base on the wands factors: (1) the level of predictability in the art: if the piston pushes the wave pad, it would cause the wave pad to be engaged with friction plate instead of move away from friction plate as claimed since the piston is on the right side of wave pad as shown in Fig.1; (2) no direction provided by the inventor how this limitation could be done.
The dependent claim is also rejected due to its dependency from claim 3.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the piston pushes the wave pad to move away from the friction plate after the air is passed in” in line 3-4. While the specification discloses “the pneumatic clutch is provided with a piston 5, and the piston is connected with an air nozzle 6 for introducing air. After the air is introduced, the piston pushes the wave pad to move away from the friction plate, so that the wave pad is separated from the friction plate.” on page 7; however, it is unclear how the piston would able to push the wave pad to move away from the friction plate. Since from the drawing Fig.1, nozzle 6 and piston 5 are located on the right side of the friction plate and wave pad, so if the piston pushes the wave pad, it would cause the wave pad move to the left and engage with friction plate instead of move away from friction plate as claimed.
The dependent claim is also rejected due to its dependency from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZUR (DE1044641B cited from IDS) in view of NILSSON (US 20160311320 A1) further view of SUZUKI (US2020/0198692)
Claim 1: MAZUR discloses an emergency steering pump (18 and 19 Fig.2) comprising:
a clutch (19) , coordinating with an engine oil pump (18) to provide oil power steering (via lines 22, 23, 13, 10, 8, 9 to steering assistance see ¶[0009], [0013]),
the clutch (19) includes a clutch outer transmission shaft (36. Note that: “shaft” does not specifically defined in the specification. Thereof, the term is given its ordinary meaning which is cylindrical element. In this case, element 36 has cylindrical part that connects to shaft 35, as shown in Fig.2.) and a clutch inner transmission shaft (43);
the pump unit (18) is provided with a pump shaft (35);
the clutch outer transmission shaft (36) is connected to a gearbox (24,25,26), the clutch inner transmission shaft (43) is connected (via 37) to a pump shaft (35), and
a clutch disc (42 with its friction linings and 41) is arranged between the clutch outer transmission shaft (36) and the clutch inner transmission shaft (43);
wherein when the clutch is not ventilated (e.g. no pressure in chamber 32), the clutch disc is in engaged sate (e.g. spring 33 force piston to engaged state), and the clutch outer transmission shaft (36) and the clutch inner transmission shaft (43) are connected in transmission (¶[009] or ¶[0015]);
when the clutch is ventilated (e.g. pressure in chamber 32), the clutch disc is in a disengaged state (piston 29 moves against spring 33), and the clutch outer transmission shaft (43) and the clutch inner transmission shaft (36) are disconnected (¶0014]: piston at its right position).
MAZUR does not disclose the pump unit is variable displacement pump; and the clutch is pneumatic clutch and the clutch outer transmission shaft arranged concentrically about the clutch inner transmission shaft.
Note: the clutch (19) of MAZUR is hydraulic actuated clutch instead of pneumatic.
NILSSON teaches a pneumatic friction clutch (2; Fig.1 and ¶[0046]) having a clutch outer transmission shaft (3) arranged concentrically about a clutch inner transmission shaft (4) with clutch pack (2) operably arranged between them.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Mazur’s clutch structure (36,38,42,41,43) with concentric shaft clutch assembly (1, 3’, 3, 2, 4) of NILSSON to improve packaging, provide more robust torque transmission path, cleanliness no risk of fluid leaks, and faster response due to compressibility and low inertia of air.
SUZUKI teaches a steering assistance device (Fig.2) having pump unit (60) is variable displacement pump (see ¶[0038])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Mazur’s pump unit (18) with a variable displacement pump (60) as taught by SUZUKI in order to provide improved control over steering assistance by allowing adjustment of hydraulic output in response to operating conditions. Furthermore, substitution represents the use of known alternative pump type to achieve predictable results, namely controlled delivery of hydraulic fluid for steering assistance.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZUR (DE1044641B cited from IDS) in view of NILSSON (US 20160311320 A1) and SUZUKI (US2020/0198692) in further in view of SAND (US 2927673 A)
Claim 2: MAZUR as modified by NILSSON and SUZUKI discloses the emergency steering pump with clutch according to claim 1, wherein the clutch disc (2-NILSSON) includes a friction plate (inner plates) and a pad (outer plates), the friction plate (inner plates) is connected to (via 3’) the clutch outer transmission shaft (3), the pad (outer plates) is connected to the clutch inner transmission shaft (4), and the friction plate (inner plates) and the pad (outer plates) are connected in transmission when the pneumatic clutch is not ventilated (when clutch 2 is engaged, it transmits torque from 3 to 4, ¶[0022])
MAZUR as modified by NILSSON and SUZUKI does not disclose pad is wave pad.
SAND teaches friction clutch (Fig.2) having a wave plate (26) nested together (see claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace a pad (outer plates-NILSSON) of the modified system of MAZUR with wave plate (26) as taught by SAND in order to increase torque capacity and provide smoother engagement (col.1 lines 47-51). Furthermore, substitution a waved pad for a flat pad in friction clutch is a simple and to achieve predictable results, namely improved torque capacity and provide smoother engagement.
Claim 3 (as best understood): MAZUR as modified by NILSSON, SUZUKI and SAND discloses the emergency steering pump with a clutch according to claim 2, wherein the pneumatic clutch is provided with a piston (29-MAZUR), and the piston (29-MAZUR) is connected with an air nozzle (27-MAZUR. Under BRI, a device that directs a flow of air. As the modified device, 27 can be supplied with air instead of oil as NILSSON teaches pneumatic actuation is an alternative) for introducing air and the piston (29) pushes (as best understood, examiner interprets piston 29 moves against spring 33 cause the wave pad move away from friction plate) the wave pad (26-SAND) to move away from the friction plate (inner plates-NILSSON) after the air is passed in (pressure in chamber 32), so that the wave pad (26-SAND) is separated from the friction plate (inner plate-NILSSON).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment/Argument
1-Applicant' s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 3 under 35 USC 112 (a) and (b) have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant argued “Fig.1 was amended to show the piston moves to the right side and pulls auxiliary clutch disc 15 with wave pad also to the right side away from the friction plate. It is respectfully submitted that this does not contradict with the original disclosure because the original specification describes air pressure pushing a piston forward, which is a standard pneumatic clutch engagement or disengagement mechanism. By filling the air chamber 16 with compressed air, the piston 5 moves to the right side and pulls the auxiliary clutch disc 15 also to the right side in the direction away from the friction plate, so as to disengage the wave pad from the friction plate to disengage the clutch.”
--In response to the argument above, examiner respectfully disagrees, the term “pushes” requires press or urge forward by the piston on the wave pad. The specification does not enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to make and use a pneumatic clutch where piston directly pushes the wave pad from the friction plate because from Fig.5 as amended chamber 16 and piston 5 are located on the right side of the wave pad 2. If the piston 5 moves to the right, if piston 5 moves to the right as applicant argued, the pull rod 13 would also move right, pull the wave pad 2 away. However, claim 3 recites “the piston pushes the wave pad to move away from the friction plate” There is no pushing would move it to the right, which is away from the friction plate (since friction plate is on the left).
2-Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the feature 1.2, 1.4,1.5-1.7 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment to the claim and remarks regarding feature 1.2. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made (see rejections above)
Prior Art
WALTHER (US 1759755 A) discloses pneumatic coupling.
Chacko (US 10982723 B1) discloses a friction clutch (26; Fig.2) having a clutch outer transmission shaft (50) arranged concentrically about a clutch inner transmission shaft (46) with clutch pack (40) operably arranged between them.
Conclusion
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655A