DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 18/595,243. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12 are pending; claims 1-4, 6-7, 9 have been amended; claims 5, 8 are canceled; claims 11-12 are added.
Claim Interpretation
The term “connected” does not have any definition in the specification. Thereof, the term is given its ordinary meaning under BRI, the term “connected” encompasses direct or indirect connection via intermediate elements (e.g. shaft, hub, gears).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “clutch hub”; “set of spring pressure force” ; “driven friction plate”; “third bearing”; “retainer ring”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “magnetic ring” in claim 6; “clutch hub”; “retainer ring” in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “the clutch housing” in line 2 should read --a clutch housing--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the clutch disc set includes a driving friction plate and a driven friction plate, the driving friction plate is connected to the clutch outer transmission shaft, the driven friction plate is connected to the clutch inner transmission shaft, the driving friction plate and the driven friction plate are connected in transmission when the pneumatic clutch is not ventilated, by a set of spring pressure force which are equally round located between a clutch hub and the clutch inner transmission shaft.”. The specification describes when the pneumatic clutch is not ventilated, the clutch disc is in a combined state, and the clutch outer transmission shaft and the clutch inner transmission shaft are connected in transmission (see ¶[0036] from USPGPUB). However, the specification does not state/describe when the clutch is not ventilated, the clutch disc is in combined state by a set of spring pressure force as claimed.
Claim 12 recites “ wherein the pneumatic clutch is also provided with a piston, which a third bearing is installed inside of piston; the third bearing is installed on the outer side of the clutch hub, and wherein the piston is axially fixed with the clutch hub by the third bearing and a retainer ring, and wherein the clutch hub can slide axially on the clutch inner transmission shaft”. The specification discloses first bearing 11, second bearing 12 and sliding bearing 4 (see ¶[0035];[0042]) but the specification does not disclose third bearing is installed inside a piston, and clutch hub fixed to a piston by the third bearing and retainer ring.
The dependent claims are also rejected due to their dependency from claim 2.
Claims 2-4, 6, 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " wherein the clutch disc set includes a driving friction plate and a driven friction plate, the driving friction plate is connected to the clutch outer transmission shaft, the driven friction plate is connected to the clutch inner transmission shaft, and the driving friction plate and the driven friction plate are connected in transmission when the pneumatic clutch is not ventilated, by a set of spring pressure force which are equally round located between a clutch hub and the clutch inner transmission shaft.”. It is unclear what is meant by “”set of spring pressure force” when no springs are disclosed, and what “equally round located” means. It is also unclear if applicant refer “driven friction plate” as wave pad.
Claim 12 recites “ wherein the pneumatic clutch is also provided with a piston, which a third bearing is installed inside of piston; the third bearing is installed on the outer side of the clutch hub, and wherein the piston is axially fixed with the clutch hub by the third bearing and a retainer ring, and wherein the clutch hub can slide axially on the clutch inner transmission shaft”. It is unclear how third bearing can simultaneously be “inside” the piston and “on the outer side” of clutch hub, because the claim does not specify whether “outer side” refers to radially outer side, axially outer side or any other position relationship relative to the clutch hub. Further, the specification discloses piston 5 is connected to rod that pulls the sub-clutch disc (see ¶[0042] of USPGPUB); thereof, it is not unclear how the piston is fixed to clutch hub by bearing and retainer ring as claimed. Lastly, the limitation “wherein the clutch hub can slide axially on the clutch inner transmission shaft”, it is unclear because the claim and specification does not establish the relationship between the piston and clutch hub relative to clutch inner transmission shaft.
Claim 6 recites (1)- “the emergency steering pump with a clutch” in line 2. It is unclear “a clutch” refers to the pneumatic clutch or different clutch. (2)- “clutch hub” in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims are also rejected due to their dependency from claim 2.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZUR (DE1044641B cited from IDS) in view of NILSSON (US 20160311320 A1)
Claim 1: MAZUR discloses an emergency steering pump (18, 19; Fig.2) comprising:
a clutch (19) , coordinating with an engine oil steering pump (e.g. 18 is reasonable to interpreted as engine oil steering pump because 18 is part of hydraulic power steering since when pressure supplied by main steering pump 14 drops, 18 is coupled to its drive and take over the function of failed main pump 14, see ¶[0015]) to provide oil power steering (via lines 22, 23, 13, 10, 8, 9 to steering assistance see ¶[0009], [0013]),
the clutch (19) includes a clutch outer transmission shaft (38. Note that: “shaft” does not specifically defined in the specification. Thereof, the term is given its ordinary meaning which is cylindrical element. In this case, element 38 has cylindrical part as shown in Fig.2.) and a clutch inner transmission shaft (36);
the steering pump (18) is provided with a pump shaft (35);
wherein the clutch outer transmission shaft (38) is connected to (via 43, 37) a gearbox (24,25,26), the clutch inner transmission shaft (36) is connected to the pump shaft (35), and
a clutch disc (42 with its friction linings and 41) is arranged between the clutch outer transmission shaft (38) and the clutch inner transmission shaft (36);
wherein when the clutch is not ventilated (e.g. no pressure in chamber 32), the clutch disc is in engaged state (e.g. spring 33 force piston to engaged state), and the clutch outer transmission shaft (38) and the clutch inner transmission shaft (36) are connected in transmission (¶[009] or ¶[0015]);
when the clutch is ventilated (e.g. pressure in chamber 32), the clutch disc is in a disengaged state (piston 29 moves against spring 33), and the clutch outer transmission shaft (38) and the clutch inner transmission shaft (36) are disconnected (¶0014]: piston at its right position);
wherein an end of the clutch inner transmission shaft (36) is provided with an inner transmission shaft hole (e.g. hole where shaft 35 is inserted); and is connected with an outer end of the pump shaft (35) by a transmission connection (e.g. spline-as shown in Fig.2)
MAZUR does not disclose the clutch is pneumatic clutch; the clutch comprise clutch disc set; and the clutch outer transmission shaft arranged concentrically about the clutch inner transmission shaft.
Note: the clutch (19) of MAZUR is hydraulic actuated clutch instead of pneumatic.
NILSSON teaches a disc package (2) having a clutch outer transmission shaft (3) arranged concentrically about a clutch inner transmission shaft (4) with clutch pack (2) operably arranged between them; and hydraulic piston can be replaced with pneumatic actuator (¶[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ pneumatic actuation as taught by Nilsson as alternative to hydraulic actuation for actuating the Mazur clutch. Substitution of pneumatic actuation for Mazur’s hydraulic actuation constitutes of known alternative actuator to operate the same clutch control function. In making the modification, one of ordinary skill would have retain Mazur’s fail-safe operating principle. Thus with pneumatic pressure substituted for Mazur’s hydraulic actuating pressure, the modified clutch would be engaged when not ventilated and disengaged when ventilated as required by claim 1. Furthermore, by modify Mazur’s clutch to employ with concentric shaft clutch assembly (1, 3’, 3, 2, 4) of NILSSON to provide a compact coaxial friction disc clutch arrangement.
Claim 11: MAZUR as modified by NILSSON discloses the emergency steering pump with clutch according to claim 1, wherein the connection is e.g. spline-as shown in Fig.2 of MAZUR).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAZUR (DE1044641B cited from IDS) in view of NILSSON (US 20160311320 A1) and in further in view of Kremer (US 9109641)
Claim 2(as best understood): MAZUR as modified by NILSSON discloses the emergency steering pump with clutch according to claim 1, wherein the clutch disc set (2-NILSSON) includes a driving friction plate (inner plates) and a driven friction plate (outer plates), the driving friction plate (inner plates) is connected to (via 3’) the clutch outer transmission shaft (3), the driven friction plate (outer plates) is connected to the clutch inner transmission shaft (4), and the driving friction plate (inner plates) and the driven friction plate (outer plates) are connected in transmission when the pneumatic clutch is not ventilated (when clutch 2 is engaged, it transmits torque from 3 to 4, ¶[0022]).
MAZUR as modified by NILSSON does not disclose a set of spring pressure force which are equally round (e.g. limitation “a set of spring pressure force which are equally round” as best understood is interpreted as encompass a plurality of circumferential distribute resilient force on clutch disc) located between a clutch hub and the clutch inner transmission shaft
Kremer teaches a friction clutch pack (40; Fig.1) having a driving plates (46) and resilient waved driven plate (48); wherein the waved driven plates (48) located between a clutch hub (56) and inner transmission shaft (36) includes a plurality of sinusoidal waves (82) distributed about the annular friction plate (48) and resiliently deform upon compression of clutch pack thereby provide spring force to restore or separate the friction plate (48,46) when the compressive force is reduced.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the waved friction plates as taught by Kremer into the friction clutch of Mazur as modified by Nilsson in order to provide resilient separation of the friction plates and improve clutch operation.
Claim 3: MAZUR as modified by NILSSON, and Kremer discloses the emergency steering pump with a clutch according to claim 2, wherein the pneumatic clutch is provided with a piston (29-MAZUR), and the piston (29-MAZUR) is connected with an air nozzle (27-MAZUR. Under BRI, a device that directs a flow of air. As the modified device, 27 can be supplied with air instead of oil as NILSSON teaches pneumatic actuation is an alternative) for introducing air and the piston (29) causes (e.g. piston 29 moves against spring 33 cause the wave pad move away from friction plate) the driven friction plate (48-Kremer) to move away from the driving friction plate (inner plates-NILSSON) after the air is passed in (pressure in chamber 32), so that the driven friction plate (48-Kremer) is separated from the friction plate (inner plate-NILSSON).
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The previous rejections under 35 USC 112(a) and (b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to claim 3.
Applicant’s remarks with respect to the previous rejections under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are not persuasive. Although applicant states the claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the allowable subject matter of claim 8, claim 8 previously depended upon claim 7; however, the amended claim 1 does not incorporate the full allowable subject matter which includes the limitation of claim 7 and 8. Thereof, upon consideration, the rejection(s) over Mazur in view of Nilsson is/are maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655A
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655