Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13 & 20 recite the limitation "each code block group (CBG)" in final paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1, 13 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: ‘a first plurality of CBGs’. Here, only a “second plurality of CGBs” are recited in aforementioned claims. Recitation of only “a second plurality of CBGs” without ‘a first plurality of CBGs’ renders a gap between elements. Furthermore, This omission renders the claims incomplete and indefinite without clarity concerning ‘a first plurality of CBGs’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12-14, 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eriksson et al. (US 2023/0397190 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13 & 20; Eriksson et al. discloses apparatuses for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)/network node and method comprising:
at least one memory (see memory fig. 2 and [0089]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (controller connected to a memory [0089]) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
receiv(ing)/transmit a code block bundle (CBB) grouping algorithm indicator (see [0010], “provided with a configuration or indication of the code block distribution, and/or provided with the code block distribution and/or associated mapping, and/or the associated resource structure/s”);
calculate a CBB configuration based on the CBB grouping algorithm indicator (see [0108], “may comprise information representing the presence and/or size of data to be transmitted (e.g., available in one or more buffers, for example provided by higher layers). The size may be indicated explicitly, and/or indexed to range/s of sizes, and/or may pertain to one or more different channel/s and/or acknowledgement processes and/or higher layers and/or channel groups/s, e.g, one or more logical channel/s and/or transport channel/s and/or groups thereof”); and
transmit(ting) /receive a first plurality of CBBs based on the calculated CBB configuration (see illustration in fig. 1, CBB1 and CBB2 being transmitted, code block distribution may map all code blocks of a code block bundle to the allocation units of a (e.g., the same, like the first or a second) signaling resource structure), wherein each code block group (CBG) of a second plurality of CBGs is associated with a subset of the first plurality of CBBs (see [0146], “It may be considered that a subpattern pertains to a subgroup like a code block group or a data block like a transport block”), wherein each CBB of the first plurality of CBBs is associated with exactly one of the second plurality of CBGs (see [0034], “code block groups (each CB may belong to only one group)”).
Regarding claim 12, Eriksson discloses apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive, via the transceiver, the CBB grouping indicator (see [0141], “The structure or mapping may in particular indicate one or more data block structures, e.g. code blocks and/or code block groups”); and transmit, via the transceiver, the first plurality of CBBs (see transmitted [0145]).
Regarding claim 14, Eriksson discloses apparatus of claim 13, wherein the CBB grouping algorithm indicator indicates a user equipment (UE) to associate code blocks (CBs) with CBGs before associating the CBGs with CBBs (see reference signaling addressed to a specific target or user equipment, which is used for “gauging and/or estimating .. transmission conditions”, therefore, before sending of CBBs).
Regarding claim 18, Eriksson discloses apparatus of claim 13, wherein the CBB grouping algorithm indicator indicates a user equipment (UE) to associate code blocks (CBs) with CBBs before associating the CBBs with CBGs (see reference signaling addressed to a specific target or user equipment, which is used for “gauging and/or estimating .. transmission conditions”, therefore, before sending of CBBs or before associating the CBBs with CBGs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson et al. (US 2023/0397190 A1) in view of (CN 110582967 A) (See examination provided copy).
Regarding claim 6, Eriksson discloses apparatus of claim 1, wherein the CBB grouping algorithm indicator indicates the UE to associate code blocks (CBs) with CBBs before associating the CBBs with CBGs, wherein, to calculate the CBB configuration based on the CBB grouping algorithm indicator, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
Eriksson does not explicitly disclose however CN 110582967 A discloses associate each CB of a third plurality of CBs with one CBB of the first plurality of CBBs; and associate each CBB of the first plurality of CBBs with one CBG of the second plurality of CBGs after the association of each CB of the third plurality of CBs with one CBB of the first plurality of CBBs (see page 17, para. 4, “the first data includes a first plurality of code blocks, and each code block of the first plurality of code blocks is independently decodable. In some embodiments, the method 400 includes sending 404 first data. In various embodiments, the method 400 includes receiving 406 a second signal from the base unit for scheduling transmission of second data. In some embodiments, the second data comprises a second plurality of code block groups of the first data, and each code block group of the second plurality of code block groups comprises a third plurality of code blocks. In some embodiments, the method 400 includes sending 408 the second data.”; therefore, where first plurality of code blocks is first data that is first data wherein second plurality of code blocks in includes and finally ‘second plurality of code block groups comprises a third plurality of code blocks’, therefore first plurality).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Eriksson with that of CN 110582967 A. Doing so would conform to well-known standards withing the field of invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson et al. (US 2023/0397190 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2022/0417919 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Eriksson discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
Eriksson does not specifically disclose however Shin discloses to transmit an indicator of a capability of the UE to associate CBBs and CBGs (see CBB and CBG [0045]) before
the reception of the CBB grouping algorithm indicator (see SHIM [0103] capability sent between UEs);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Shin with that of Eriksson. Doing so would conform to well-known methodologies in the field of mobile technology.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson et al. (US 2023/0397190 A1) in view of Qin et al. (US 2018/0278324 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Eriksson discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Eriksson does not specifically however Qin et al. discloses wherein, to transmit the first plurality of CBBs based on the calculated CBB configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to, for each CBB of the first plurality of CBBs: interleave code blocks (CBs) associated with the CBB; and transmit the interleaved CBs (see interleaves code blocks [0067]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Eriksson with that of Qin. Doing so would conform to well-known standards withing the field of invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 10, 15-17, 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Subject to complying with all other formal requirements outstanding.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643