DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 5/11/26.
In the response Applicant amended claim(s) 1-4, 6, 19, 21-22.
Claim(s) 5, 7-8, 20 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are withdrawn.
Currently, claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 19, 21-23 is/are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6, 9 allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samec et al. (2017/0365101) in view of Wendt (NPL: Binocular luster – A review).
Re Claim 19,
Samec discloses a method for generating a shimmering effect for multimedia applications, comprising the steps of:
presenting a first visual stimulus to a user’s left eye; simultaneously presenting at least a second visual stimulus to the viewer's right eye (¶¶0500-0501; the presented images may provide for chromatic rivalry by differing in color configurations); and
wherein the first visual stimulus and the at least second visual stimulus are configured such that the user’s brain cannot resolve the first visual stimulus and second visual stimulus into a single coherent image, thereby producing binocular rivalry and the perception of shimmer in the user (Fig 2, 11, ¶¶0418-0419, 0500-0501; the display system may be configured to perform visual perception tests such as binocular rivalry-based tests by providing stimuli that may include a different image displayed to each eye, which may create conflict in processing visual input in the brain).
Samec does not explicitly disclose presenting different color to different eye and utilizing the perception of shimmer in video or file special effects to enhance visual content.
However, Wendt teaches presenting different color to different eye and utilizing the perception of shimmer in video or file special effects to enhance visual content (pg 1-9; binocular luster can be produced when the two eyes receive different color stimuli). Wendt further teaches such a configuration generates a lustrous sensation for the user (pg 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Wendt into the system of Samec in order to generate a lustrous sensation for the user.
Re Claim 21,
Samec discloses the first color comprises a primary color and/or wherein the first visual stimulus and the at least second visual stimulus comprise complementary colors to enhance the perception of shimmer (¶¶0500-0501).
Re Claim 22,
Samec discloses the first visual stimulus and the at least second visual stimulus include geometric shapes and/or wherein the first visual stimulus and the at least second visual stimulus comprise a narrative in video or film (¶¶0500-0501).
Re Claim 23,
Samec discloses adjusting the intensity of stimulus presented (¶¶0441, 0659).
Response to Arguments
Applicant is advised that should the instant application be found allowable, withdrawn claim 10-18 will be needed to be cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19, 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715