DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species III in the reply filed on August 15, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2-3 and 5-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 15, 2025.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claims 12 and 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/595,347. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions have the features of a plurality of spans, a flexible juncture, an intermediate tower structure, a variable-speed drive assembly, at least one span motor, an alignment detector and a variable-speed drive controller.
Claims 1 and 10 correspond to the following copending application claims:
Application Claims
Copending application claims
1, 12 and 13
1
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Furthermore, Claims 1, 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,165,741; claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,917,952; claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,582,671 and claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,130,054; and claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,917,953; since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows: a plurality of spans, a flexible juncture, an intermediate tower structure, a variable-speed drive assembly, at least one span motor, an alignment detector and a variable-speed drive controller.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the variable-speed drive controller adjusts the speed of the span motor based solely on the detected state of alignment being lagging, leading, or neither lagging nor leading, without scaling a magnitude of the speed adjustment according to an amount of angular or linear misalignment between the plurality of span as amended in claim 11. In facts, the concept of “adjusts the speed of the span motor… without scaling a magnitude of the speed adjustment according to an amount of angular or linear misalignment between the plurality of span” cannot be found in the original disclosure. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claims 1, 4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “incrementally” in line 18 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “incrementally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “incrementally” is defined as “of, relating to, being, or occurring in especially small increments. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/incrementally. However, the amount or degree by which something changes over time to meet the claim limitation is not known. In other words, the term “incrementally” refers to “one of a series of regular consecutive additions.” However, the size or degree of the “regular” to meet the claim limitation is not known. Clarification is respectfully requested. Same rejection applies to all pending claims.
The term “substantial” in line 20 of claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantial” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The maximum allowable arch or curve on the alignment to meet the claim limitation is not known. Clarification is respectfully requested. Same rejection applies to all pending claims.
With respect to claim 11, the “state of alignment,” in this invention and the claims as a whole, refers to the “state of alignment” of the plurality of spans. The latter limitation “without scaling a magnitude of the speed adjustment according to an amount of angular or linear misalignment between the plurality of span,” in lines 8-9, appears to contradict the former limitation, in line 6-8, “the variable-speed drive controller adjusts the speed of the span motor based solely on the detected state of alignment (of the plurality of spans) being lagging, leading, or neither lagging nor leading.” It is unclear how to adjust the speed of the span motor based solely on the detected state of alignment of the plurality of spans without scaling…an amount of angular or linear misalignment between the plurality of span? In other words, without “scaling or measuring” the amount of angular or linear misalignment between the plurality of span, how can one “detect” the state of alignment of the plurality of spans? Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krieger et al. (US 2003/0066912. Krieger hereafter).
With respect to claim 1, Krieger discloses an irrigation system (10) irrigation system having a movement direction over (around 50) a ground surface of afield, the irrigation system comprising:
a plurality of spans (56), each having a longitudinal axis, said plurality of spans being connected at a flexible juncture (between 56 and 96) and having a state of alignment of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans (six state of alignment: 100 is leading, 100 is lagging, 100 is at speed, 60 is leading, 60 is lagging and 60 is at speed);
an intermediate tower structure (78) between the plurality of spans configured to (capable of) support the plurality of spans above the ground surface;
a variable-speed drive assembly (76) of the intermediate tower structure having a wheel (72 and 74) configured to (capable of) contact the ground surface below the irrigation system and a span motor (66) configured to (capable of) drive the wheel so as to propel the intermediate tower structure over the ground surface, a variable-speed drive controller (142) of the variable-speed drive assembly (configured for) controlling a speed of the intermediate tower structure (via the speed of the span motor) over the ground surface, and an alignment detector (138 in Figs. 2-5) of the variable-speed drive assembly configured to (capable of) detect and output the state of alignment of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans indicating: (a) a lagging state of misalignment (when 60 is lagging); or (b) a leading state of misalignment (when 60 is leading); and
said variable-speed drive controller monitoring and processing the output of the alignment detector and based on the state of alignment detected by the alignment detector: (a) incrementally increasing the speed over time of the span motor while in the lagging state of misalignment (when the potentiometer 142 detected an increasing (a new fixed higher speed) magnitude of misalignment over time based on the distance detected by the potentiometer 142); or (b) incrementally decreasing the speed over time of the span motor while in the leading state of misalignment (when the potentiometer 142 detected a decreasing (a new fixed lower speed) magnitude of misalignment over time based on the distance detected by the potentiometer 142), to thereby maintain substantial straight alignment of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans.
With respect to claim 4, Krieger discloses wherein the alignment detector comprises a switch (142 and 172 in Figs. 2-5).
With respect to claim 10, Krieger discloses wherein the variable-speed drive controller further comprises a memory (forward/reverse relay programmed in variable frequency drive module 76) storing a plurality of speed profiles (forward and reverse positions) that can be retrieved by the variable-speed drive controller and furnished to the span motor based on the output of the alignment detector (paragraph [0035]).
With respect to claim 12, Krieger discloses an irrigation system (10) irrigation system having a movement direction over (around 50) a ground surface of afield, the irrigation system comprising:
a plurality of spans (56), each having a longitudinal axis, said plurality of spans being connected at a flexible juncture (between 56 and 96) and having a state of alignment of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans (six state of alignment: 100 is leading, 100 is lagging, 100 is at speed, 60 is leading, 60 is lagging and 60 is at speed);
an intermediate tower structure (78) between the plurality of spans configured to (capable of) support the plurality of spans above the ground surface;
a variable-speed drive assembly (76) of the intermediate tower structure having a wheel (72 and 74) configured to (capable of) contact the ground surface below the irrigation system and a span motor (66) configured to (capable of) drive the wheel so as to propel the intermediate tower structure over the ground surface;
a switch (142 and 172 in Figs. 2-5) of the variable-speed drive assembly having a first state indicating a lagging state of alignment (when 60 is lagging) of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans, and a second state indicating a non-lagging state of alignment (when 60 is leading) of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans; and
a variable-speed drive controller (142) of the variable-speed drive assembly (configured for) controlling the speed of the intermediate tower structure (via the speed of the span motor) over the ground surface, said variable-speed drive controller incrementally increasing the speed of the span motor (when the potentiometer 142 detected an increasing (a new fixed higher speed) magnitude of misalignment over time based on the distance detected by the potentiometer 142) over time in the first state of the switch and incrementally decreasing the speed of the span motor (when the potentiometer 142 detected a decreasing (a new fixed lower speed) magnitude of misalignment over time based on the distance detected by the potentiometer 142) over time in the second state of the switch, to thereby maintain substantial straight alignment of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans.
With respect to claim 13, Krieger discloses an irrigation system (10) irrigation system having a movement direction over (around 50) a ground surface of afield, the irrigation system comprising:
a plurality of spans (56), each having a longitudinal axis, said plurality of spans being connected at a flexible juncture (between 56 and 96) and having a state of alignment of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans (six state of alignment: 100 is leading, 100 is lagging, 100 is at speed, 60 is leading, 60 is lagging and 60 is at speed);
an intermediate tower structure (78) between the plurality of spans configured to (capable of) support the plurality of spans above the ground surface;
a variable-speed drive assembly (76) of the intermediate tower structure having a wheel (72 and 74) configured to (capable of) contact the ground surface below the irrigation system and a span motor (66) configured to (capable of) drive the wheel so as to propel the intermediate tower structure over the ground surface;
a switch (142 and 172 in Figs. 2-5) of the variable-speed drive assembly having a first state indicating a non-leading state of alignment (when 60 is lagging) of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans, and a second state indicating a leading state of alignment (when 60 is leading) of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans; and
a variable-speed drive controller (142) of the variable-speed drive assembly (configured for) controlling the speed of the intermediate tower structure (via the speed of the span motor) over the ground surface, said variable-speed drive controller incrementally increasing the speed of the span motor (when the potentiometer 142 detected an increasing (a new fixed higher speed) magnitude of misalignment over time based on the distance detected by the potentiometer 142) over time in the first state of the switch and incrementally decreasing the speed of the span motor (when the potentiometer 142 detected a decreasing (a new fixed lower speed) magnitude of misalignment over time based on the distance detected by the potentiometer 142) over time in the second state of the switch, to thereby maintain substantial straight alignment of the respective longitudinal axes of the plurality of spans.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the non-statutory double patenting rejection, the Applicant argues that the claims, as amended, are now patentably distinct from the claims of the cited co-pending application and referenced patents. The non-statutory double patenting rejection for claim 11 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment in claim 11. The non-statutory double patenting rejection for claims 1, 12 and 13 remain because even though the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as indefinite based on the terms "incrementally" and "substantial," the Applicant argues that amended claim 11 further define the terms "incrementally" and "substantial." The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the amended limitations in claim 11 violate the 35 U.S.C. §112(a) and 35 U.S.C. §112(b) requirements as elaborated above. Second, the Applicant argues that the term "incrementally" denotes stepwise speed changes applied in response to changes in alignment state. However, the rejection, as elaborated above, is how big or small of a “step” in the “stepwise” is required to meet the claim limitation? The term “incrementally” is defined as “of, relating to, being, or occurring in especially small increments. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/incrementally. How small is small? In other words, the term “incrementally” refers to “one of a series of regular consecutive additions.” However, the size or degree of the “regular” to meet the claim limitation is not known. See detailed rejection elaborated above. As for the term "substantial," the maximum allowable arch or curve on the alignment to meet the claim limitation is not known. Clarification is respectfully requested.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) rejection, the Applicant argues the limitation amended in claim 11 is not disclosed by Krieger. As elaborated above, the amended limitations in claim 11 violate the 35 U.S.C. §112(a) and 35 U.S.C. §112(b) requirements. Nevertheless, claims 1, 12 and 13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krieger. With respect to claims 1, 12 and 13, the Applicant argues that Krieger fails to disclose “dynamically updating, within a current user session, the secondary dataset by selectively recomputing only statistical outputs affected by the received user query while retaining unaffected analytical results in session memory, thereby avoiding reprocessing of the initial dataset..." Applicant's argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. No such limitations can be found in the claimed invention. The Applicant further argues that Krieger fails to disclose B “Avoidance of Full Dataset Reprocessing” and C “session-based memory retention;” "query-driven selective recomputation logic;” and "real-time updating of displayed analytical results within a single user session.” Again, Applicant's argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. No such limitations can be found in the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 April 3, 2026