DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-temperature” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-temperature” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Although the examiner acknowledges that high temperatures are discussed in paragraph [0034] of the specification, the examiner notes that an only an example of a high temperature is provided (e.g., > 700ºC) and that the example does not appear to limit the term “high temperature” or provide a definition for the term “high temperature”.
Claims 3-9 depend on claim 1 and are rejected for inheriting the same problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 3,943,884 issued to Majkrzak (“Majkrzak”).
As for claim 1, Majkrzak discloses a passive acoustic gas wave generator (Fig. 1) of a high-temperature (col. 3, lines 30-34) gas pipe (“Plenum Chamber” in Fig. 3), the passive acoustic gas wave generator comprising:
a tube body (2) having a tube gas flow passage spanning between an inlet opening and an outlet opening (see Fig. 1), the tube body having a plurality of corrugations residing at an inner surface of the tube body (see Fig. 1); and
a support structure (”Outboard Support” in Fig. 3) extending from an outer surface of the tube body and extending to an inside surface of the high-temperature gas pipe (see Fig. 3), the support structure locating the tube gas flow passage of the tube body generally centrally with respect to a pipe gas flow passage of the high-temperature gas pipe (see Fig. 3) wherein an annular clearance resides between an outer surface of the tube body and the inside surface of the high-temperature gas pipe, the annular clearance spanning a full longitudinal extent of the tube body (see Fig. 3), and wherein the tube body has at least one smooth section residing at the inner surface of the tube body, the at least one smooth section located upstream of the plurality of corrugations (see Fig. 4), downstream of the plurality of corrugations, or both upstream and downstream of the plurality of corrugations.
As for claim 4, Majkrzak discloses a high-temperature gas pipe assembly (see Fig. 3), comprising the gas pipe and the passive acoustic gas wave generator of claim 1.
As for claim 5, the examiner notes that the claim recites the process of making the assembly and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
As for claim 6, Majkrzak discloses that the gas pipe and the passive acoustic gas wave generator constitute a tube-in-tube construction (see Fig. 3).
As for claim 7, Majkrzak discloses an acoustic gas flow meter assembly comprising the passive acoustic gas wave generator of claim 1 (see Fig. 3).
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 2,033,157 issued to Simmons (“Simmons”).
As for claim 1, Simmons discloses a passive acoustic gas wave generator of a high-temperature (page 1, left column, line 20: metallic shell) gas pipe, the passive acoustic gas wave generator comprising:
a tube body (20) having a tube gas flow passage spanning between an inlet opening (22) and an outlet opening (23), the tube body having a plurality of corrugations residing at an inner surface of the tube body (see Fig. 2); and
a support structure (39, 40) extending from an outer surface of the tube body and extending to an inside surface of the high-temperature gas pipe (see Figs. 2 and 3), the support structure locating the tube gas flow passage of the tube body generally centrally with respect to a pipe gas flow passage of the high-temperature gas pipe (see Figs. 2 and 3), wherein an annular clearance resides between an outer surface of the tube body and the inside surface of the high-temperature gas pipe, the annular clearance spanning a full longitudinal extent of the tube body (see Figs. 2 and 3), and wherein the tube body has at least one smooth section residing at the inner surface of the tube body, the at least one smooth section located upstream of the plurality of corrugations (see bottom of Fig. 4), downstream of the plurality of corrugations, or both upstream and downstream of the plurality of corrugations.
As for claim 3, Simmons discloses that the support structure (39, 40) comprises a plurality of fins (see Fig. 5) extending from the outer surface of the tube body and extending to the inside surface of the gas pipe.
As for claim 4, Simmons discloses a high-temperature gas pipe assembly, comprising the gas pipe and the passive acoustic gas wave generator of claim 1 (see Figs. 2, 3 and 5).
As for claim 5, the examiner notes that the claim recites the process of making the assembly and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
As for claim 6, Simmons discloses that the gas pipe and the passive acoustic gas wave generator constitute a tube-in-tube construction (see Figs. 2 and 3).
As for claim 7, Simmons discloses an acoustic gas flow meter assembly comprising the passive acoustic gas wave generator of claim 1 (see Figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 2,033,157 issued to Simmons (“Simmons”) in view of U.S. Patent 10,495,524 issued to Donderici et al. (“Donderici”).
As for claim 8, Simmons discloses the acoustic gas flow meter assembly as set forth in claim 7 (see the rejection of claim 7 above).
Simmons does not disclose an acoustic emission sensor located at least adjacent the passive acoustic gas wave generator, and a temperature sensor located at least adjacent the passive acoustic gas wave generator. Simmons discloses that the assembly can function as a well-bore casing (page 2, col. 2, lines 33-42).
However, Donderici discloses an acoustic emission sensor (DAS; 106; col. 13, lines 29-59) located at least adjacent the passive acoustic gas wave generator, and a temperature sensor (DTS; 106; col. 13, lines 29-59) located at least adjacent the passive acoustic gas wave generator. Donderici discloses that the sensors are used in a well-bore casing (Abstract).
Simmons and Donderici included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the sensors of Donderici with the assembly of Simmons by mounting the sensors to the assembly as suggested by Figs. 1a-1d of Donderici, and that in combination, the sensors and assembly merely perform the same function as each does separately. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the assembly of Simmons to include the sensors of Donderici to achieve the predictable result of providing sensors that can measure sounds and temperature.
As for claim 9, Simmons as modified by Donderici discloses a controller (Donderici: 308) electrically coupled to the acoustic emission sensor and electrically coupled to the temperature sensor (see Fig. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 8/20/2026 with respect to the rejections using the Mao reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-15 using the Mao reference have been withdrawn.
With respect to the Majkrzak reference and the Simmons reference, Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Majkrzak does not disclose a high-temperature gas pipe. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner has not interpreted the claim to require the high-temperature gas pipe to withstand 700ºC. Instead, the examiner notes that the pipe of Majkrzak is made of metal.
On page 6 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Simmons does not disclose a high-temperature gas pipe. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner has not interpreted the claim to require the high-temperature gas pipe to withstand 700ºC. Instead, the examiner notes that the pipe of Simmons is made of metal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853