DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 21—40 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Final Rejection. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 04/02/2026 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Specification
The specification objections made in the Non-Final Rejection on 02/06/2026 are
withdrawn in light of the amendments to the Specification filed on 03/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30—32, 34 & 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0080810 A1 to Weiss (Weiss hereafter) in view of U.S Patent Application 2006/0163236 A1 to Mazon (Mazon hereafter).
As per claim 30, Weiss teaches:
A changing pad system for a child (100—Fig.1B; para [0095]), the changing pad system comprising:
a main body defining a receiving area configured to support the child (104—Fig.1B; para [0095]), wherein the main body is configured to detect at least one parameter pertaining to the child (202—Fig.2A; para [0122]) and includes:
a base with a changing surface configured to warm the child (108—Fig.1B; para [0095]);
a guide extending vertically from the base (106A & 106B—Fig.1B; para [0151]); and a rim at a top end of the main body (105 & 107—Fig.1B; para [0114]) such that the guide extends between the base and the rim (106A & 106B—Fig.1B; para [0151]);
and a display surface supported (116—Fig.1; para [0111]).
Weiss does not teach: a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area.
Mazon teaches a display surface supported by the rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area (28-Fig.1; para [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Mazon (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a built in circuitry capable of adjusting parameters of the changing pad that is easily accessible as taught in Mazon (para [0013]).
As per claim 31, Weiss (as modified) teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 30, further comprising: a strap configured to extend across the changing surface and thereby secure the child within the receiving area (115—Fig.1B ; para [0117]).
As per claim 32, Weiss (as modified) teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 31, further comprising: a retraction system configured to stow or tighten the strap (115—Fig.1B ; para [0117]: strap in stowed configuration).
As per claim 34, Weiss (as modified) teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 30, wherein the guide includes a concave configuration (Fig.3F generally shown concave).
As per claim 35, Weiss (as modified) teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 34, wherein guide includes an upper end and a lower end, the lower end being offset from the upper end along a lateral dimension of the main body (106A & 106B—Fig.1B; para [0151]: upper and lower end generally shown), wherein the lateral dimension extends in orthogonal relation to and is less than a length of the main body (109—Fig.1B; para [0115]: lateral dimension extends less than a length of the body).
Claim(s) 21—29, 33 & 36—40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0080810 A1 to Weiss in view of U.S Patent Application 2021/0293607 to Bottomly (Bottomly hereafter) in view of U.S Patent Application U.S Patent Application 2006/0163236 A1 to Mazon.
As per claim 21, Weiss teaches:
A changing pad system for a child (100—Fig.1B; para [0095]), the changing pad system comprising:
a main body (104—Fig.1B; para [0095]), including:
a base defining a changing surface (108—Fig.1B; para [0095]);
a rim at a top end of the main body (105 & 107—Fig.1B; para [0114]) such that the main body defines a receiving area for a child extending from the base to the rim (104—Fig.1B; para [0095]), wherein the rim extends continuously about the receiving area (105 & 107—Fig.1B; para [0114]);
and a guide feature extending between the base and the rim such that the rim is located vertically above the base (106A & 106B—Fig.1B; para [0151]),
wherein the guide feature includes a concave configuration (Fig.3F generally shown); a sensor system integrated with the main body and configured to detect at least one parameter (202—Fig.2A; para [0122]) and a display surface supported by the main body (116—Fig.1; para [0111]).
Weiss does not teach; a lighting system integrated with the main body and configured to illuminate the receiving area such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area, wherein the display surface provides a user interface to view at least one of data and alerts.
Bottomly teaches; and a lighting system integrated with the main body and configured to illuminate the receiving area (para [0053]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to make the changing process easier or more convenient as taught in Bottomly (para [0053]).
Weiss (as modified) does not teach such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area, wherein the display surface provides a user interface to view at least one of data and alerts.
Mazon teaches such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area (28-Fig.1; para [0010]), wherein the display surface provides a user interface to view at least one of data and alerts (28-Fig.1; para [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area) and Mazon (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a built in circuitry capable of adjusting parameters of the changing pad that is easily accessible as taught in Mazon (para [0013]).
As per claim 22, Weiss teaches: The changing pad system of claim 21.
Weiss does not teach wherein the display surface is supported by the rim.
Mazon teaches wherein the display surface is supported by the rim (28-Fig.1; para [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area) and Mazon (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a built in circuitry capable of adjusting parameters of the changing pad that is easily accessible as taught in Mazon (para [0013]).
As per claim 23, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 22, wherein the display surface is configured to receive input including at least one of diaper change occurrences, feeding information, a sleep schedule, a development milestone, a weight of the child, a height of the child, and a head circumference of the child (para [0295-296]).
As per claim 24, Weiss teaches: The changing pad system of claim 22.
Weiss does not teach wherein the display surface extends vertically from the rim.
Mazon teaches wherein the display surface extends vertically from the rim (28-Fig.1; para [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area) and Mazon (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a built in circuitry capable of adjusting parameters of the changing pad that is easily accessible as taught in Mazon (para [0013]).
As per claim 25, Weiss teaches: The changing pad system of claim 21.
Weiss does not teach, further comprising: a sound system integrated with the main body and configured to provide audio.
Bottomly teaches, further comprising: a sound system integrated with the main body and configured to provide audio (para [0035]: speaker).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with : a sound system integrated with the main body and configured to provide audio) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided with : a sound system integrated with the main body and configured to provide audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to make the changing process easier or more convenient as taught in Bottomly (para [0053]).
As per claim 26, Weiss teaches: The changing pad system of claim 21.
Weiss does not teach, further comprising: a warming system configured to adjust a temperature of the changing surface.
Bottomly teaches, further comprising: a warming system configured to adjust a temperature of the changing surface (para [0033-35]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a warming system configured to adjust a temperature of the changing surface) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided with a warming system configured to adjust a temperature of the changing surface. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to make the changing process easier or more convenient as taught in Bottomly (para [0053]).
As per claim 27, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 21, wherein the changing pad system is configured such that the at least one parameter includes data relating to at least one of lighting, temperature, safety warnings, a weight of the child, a size of the child, and a heart rate of the child (para [0296]).
As per claim 28, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 21, further comprising: a strap configured to extend across the changing surface to thereby secure the child within the receiving area (115—Fig.1B ; para [0117]).
As per claim 29, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 28, further comprising: a retraction system configured to: stow the strap; tighten the strap; and/or secure the strap during use (para [0117]).
As per claim 33, Weiss teaches: The changing pad system of claim 30.
Weiss does not teach, further comprising: a sound system integrated with the main body and configured to provide sound; and a lighting system integrated with the main body and configured to illuminate the changing surface.
Bottomly teach, further comprising: a sound system integrated with the main body and configured to provide sound (para [0050] & [0053]); and a lighting system integrated with the main body and configured to illuminate the changing surface (para [0050] & [0053]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a sound system supported by the main body and configured to provide sound) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to make the changing process easier or more convenient as taught in Bottomly (para [0053]).
As per claim 36, Weiss teaches:
A changing pad system for a child (100—Fig.1B; para [0095]), the changing pad system comprising:
a main body (104—Fig.1B; para [0095]) configured to detect at least one parameter including at least one of environmental data and data pertaining to the child (202—Fig.2A; para [0122]), wherein the main body includes:
a base (108—Fig.1B; para [0095]); a guide feature (106A & 106B—Fig.1B; para [0151])extending from the base to a rim (105 & 107—Fig.1B; para [0114]) so as to define a receiving area (104—Fig.1B; para [0095]) for the child extending between the base and the rim (105 & 107—Fig.1B; para [0114]), wherein the rim extends continuously about the receiving area and is spaced vertically from the base (105 & 107—Fig.1B; para [0114]); and
a changing surface positioned within the receiving area and configured to warm the child (108—Fig.1B; para [0095]), wherein the guide feature includes an upper end extending from the rim and a lower end extending from the changing surface (106A & 106B—Fig.1B; para [0151]: upper and lower end generally shown), the lower end being offset from the upper end along a lateral dimension of the main body (109—Fig.1B; para [0115]); and a display surface supported and configured to display the at least one parameter (2200—Fig.22).
Weiss does not teach a sound system supported by the main body and configured to provide sound a display surface supported by the rim.
Bottomly teaches: a sound system supported by the main body and configured to provide sound (para [0050]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a sound system supported by the main body and configured to provide sound) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to make the changing process easier or more convenient as taught in Bottomly (para [0053]).
Weiss (as modified) does not teach a display surface supported by the rim.
Mazon teaches a display surface supported by the rim (28-Fig.1; para [0010]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Weiss (directed to a diaper changing station provided with a main body and sensor system) and Bottomly (directed to a diaper changing system provided with an illuminating system configured to illuminate a receiving area) and Mazon (directed to a diaper changing system provided with a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area) and arrived at a diaper changing system provided a display surface supported by the main body rim such that the display surface is located externally of the receiving area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a built in circuitry capable of adjusting parameters of the changing pad that is easily accessible as taught in Mazon (para [0013]).
As per claim 37, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 36, wherein the changing pad system is configured such that the at least one parameter includes data relating to at least one of lighting, temperature, safety warnings, a weight of the child, a size of the child, and a heart rate of the child (para [0296]).
As per claim 38, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 36, wherein the display surface is configured to receive input including at least one of diaper change occurrences, feeding information, a sleep schedule, a development milestone, a weight of the child, a height of the child, and a head circumference of the child (2206—Fig.22; para [0296]).
As per claim 39, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 36, further comprising: a strap connected to the rim and configured to extend across the changing surface and thereby secure the child within the receiving area (115—Fig.1B ; para [0117]).
As per claim 40, Weiss teaches:
The changing pad system of claim 36, further comprising: a riser extending from the base (204—Fig.3E ; para [0117]) and configured to tilt an end of the main body to elevate a head of the child (204—Fig.3E ; para [0117]: generally shown head of child may be elevated and tilted relative to ground via riser).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg.1—4 , filed 03/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 30-32, 34 and 35 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Claim(s) 30—32, 34 & 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0080810 A1 to Weiss in view of U.S Patent Application 2006/0163236 A1 to Mazon.
Claim(s) 21—29, 33 & 36—40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2018/0080810 A1 to Weiss in view of U.S Patent Application 2021/0293607 to Bottomly in view of U.S Patent Application U.S Patent Application 2006/0163236 A1 to Mazon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application 2016/0302586 A1 to Sandbothe et al. teaches Systems and methods define a stimulation pattern for a juvenile product utilizing a mobile device that executes a mobile application that is linked to the juvenile product. The method comprises the step of recognizing, by the mobile device when executing the mobile app, the user-defined stimulation pattern for the juvenile product.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 06/01/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673