Double Patenting
*** Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11922034. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the U.S. Patent No. 11922034 and is covered by the U.S. Patent No. 11922034 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
U.S. Patent No. 11922034
Instant Application
1. A system, comprising: a processor; a memory coupled to the processor; a storage device coupled to the processor, the storage device including a first interface and a second interface, the storage device configured to extend the memory; and a mode switch to select a selected interface of the first interface and the second interface for a command issued by the processor,wherein the memory includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface.
1. (Previously Presented) A system, comprising: a processor; a memory coupled to the processor; and a storage device coupled to the processor, the storage device including a first interface and a second interface; wherein the storage device includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface.
2. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage device includes: storage for data; a controller to manage the data in the storage; wherein the controller is configured to process the command.
2. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage device further includes: storage for a data; a controller to manage the data in the storage; wherein the controller is configured to process a command issued by the processor.
3. The system according to claim 2, wherein the storage device further includes a host-managed device memory (HDM); and a buffer mapped from the HDM, wherein the processor may access the HDM; and the buffer may store a copy of a portion of the storage.
3. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 2, wherein the storage device further includes: a host-managed device memory (HDM); and a buffer mapped from the HDM, wherein the processor accesses the HDM; and the buffer stores a copy of a portion of the storage.
4. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage device includes a Solid State Drive (SSD).
5. The system according to claim 4, wherein the mode switch is configured to select the one of the first interface and the second interface for the command issued by the processor based at least in part on one of a parameter of an operating system, a second data in a file, a metadata of the file, or a type of the command, a data size associated with the command.
6. The system according to claim 4, further comprising a transmitter to transmit the command to the SSD using the selected interface.
7. The system according to claim 6, further comprising a modifier to modify the command based at least in part on the selected interface.
8. The system according to claim 7, wherein the modifier is configured to replace the command with a second command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second command different from the command.
4. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 1, further comprising: a mode switch to select a selected interface of the first interface and the second interface for a command issued by the processor, a modifier to modify the command based at least in part on the selected interface.
5. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 4, wherein the mode switch is configured to select the one of the first interface and the second interface for the command issued by the processor based at least in part on one of a parameter of an operating system, a second data in a file, a metadata of the file, a type of the command, or a data size associated with the command.
9. The system according to claim 7, wherein the modifier is configured to replace a first parameter of the command with a second parameter of the command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second parameter different from the first parameter.
6. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 4, wherein the modifier is configured to replace the command with a second command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second command different from the command.
7. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 4, wherein the modifier is configured to replace a first parameter of the command with a second parameter of the command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second parameter different from the first parameter.
8. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 4, wherein the command includes a command to access a data from the storage device.
9. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 4, further comprising an operating system executing on the processor, the operating system including the mode switch and the modifier.
10. The system according to claim 4, wherein the first interface includes a cache-coherent interconnect protocol.
10. (Previously Presented) The system according to claim 1, wherein the first interface includes a cache-coherent interconnect protocol.
11. A storage device, comprising: storage for data; a controller to manage the data in the storage; a first interface to receive a first command from a processor; and a second interface to receive a second command from the [[host]] processor, wherein the controller is configured to process the first command and the second command, and wherein the storage device extends a memory, andwherein the storage includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface.
11. (Previously Presented) A storage device, comprising: storage for a data; a controller to manage the data in the storage; a first interface to receive a first command from a processor; and a second interface to receive a second command from the processor, wherein the storage includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface.
12. The storage device according to claim 11, further comprising: a host-managed device memory (HDM); and a buffer mapped from the HDM, wherein the processor may access the HDM; and the buffer may store a copy of a portion of the storage.
12. (Previously Presented) The storage device according to claim 11, further comprising: a host-managed device memory (HDM); and a buffer mapped from the HDM, wherein the processor accesses the HDM; and the buffer stores a copy of a portion of the storage.
13. The storage device according to claim 12, further comprising a non- transitory storage medium including instructions to flush the buffer and reload the buffer based at least in part on the storage device receiving the second command.
13. (Previously Presented) The storage device according to claim 12, further comprising a non-transitory storage medium including instructions to flush the buffer and reload the buffer based at least in part on the storage device receiving the second command.
14. (Currently Amended) A method, comprising: receiving a command from a processor at an operating system; determining that the command accesses data on a storage device, the storage device including a first interface and a second interface; and selecting a selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on the command, wherein the storage device is configured to extend a memory, andwherein the storage device includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface.
14. (Previously Presented) A method, comprising: receiving a command from a processor; determining that the command accesses a data on a storage device, the storage device including a first interface and a second interface; and selecting a selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on the command, wherein the storage device includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface.
15. (Original) The method according to claim 14, wherein determining that the command accesses data on the storage device includes determining that the command accesses data on a Solid State Drive (SSD).
16. (Original) The method according to claim 15, wherein determining that the command accesses data on the SSD includes determining that the command accesses a host- managed device memory (HDM) of the SSD.
15. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 14, wherein determining that the command accesses the data on the storage device includes determining that the command accesses the data from a host-managed device memory (HDM) of the storage device.
17. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 15, wherein selecting the selected interface of the first interface and the second interface based at least in part on the command includes selecting the selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on one of a parameter of the operating system, a second data in a file, a metadata of the file, or a type of the command, a data size associated with the command.
16. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 14, wherein selecting the selected interface of the first interface and the second interface based at least in part on the command includes selecting the selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on one of a parameter of an operating system, a second data in a file, a metadata of the file, a type of the command, or a data size associated with the command.
18. (Original) The method according to claim 15, further comprising transmitting the command to the SSD using the selected interface.
17. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 14, further comprising transmitting the command to the storage device using the selected interface.
19. (Original) The method according to claim 18, wherein transmitting the command to the SSD using the selected interface includes modifying the command based at least in part on the selected interface.
18. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 17, wherein transmitting the command to the storage device using the selected interface includes modifying the command based at least in part on the selected interface.
20. (Original) The method according to claim 19, wherein modifying the command based at least in part on the selected interface includes replacing the command with a second command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second command different from the command.
19. (Previously Presented) The method according to claim 18, wherein modifying the command based at least in part on the selected interface includes replacing the command with a second command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second command different from the command.
Noted, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11922034 to arrive at the claims 1-19 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US JP 2005012817 A. (Lee), effective filing date of June 6, 2004, published January 13, 2005.
As to claim 1. A system, comprising:
a processor; Host processor [Fig. 1:110]; Paragraph [0003];
a memory coupled to the processor; and
Memory, e.g. 120 or 150 [Fig. 1] ; Paragraph [0003];
a storage device coupled to the processor, the storage device including a first interface and a second interface;
Memory [Fig. 1]; Paragraph [0003];
Interfaces 130; 140; 170 [Fig. 1]; Paragraph [0003];
wherein the storage device includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface: See Abstract:” To provide a communication method and a communication apparatus which can prevent one network traffic from being transmitted to another network when the apparatus that uses the same physical address and is linked to both a wired network and a wireless network, is linked to a wired network and a wireless network interface operates in adhoc mode. <P>SOLUTION: The wired/wireless composite communication method comprises (a) a step which registers the physical address of a source that transmits a received packet and management items including an identifier distinctly representing the wired network interface and wireless network interface to which the above physical address is linked, in a predetermined management register, (b) a step which receives a transmission packet from an upper hierarchy of the above communication apparatus and checks whether the physical address that is the same as the destination address of the above received transmission packet is registered in the above management register or not, and (c) a step which selectively transmits the above transmission packet through an interface among the wired network interface and wireless network interface designated by the above identifier when the above destination address is registered in the above management register.”
Paragraph [0003] “First, the wired / wireless composite communication device (or wired wireless hybrid communication device) will be described with reference to FIG. As shown in FIG. 1, a general wired / wireless composite communication apparatus includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) 110, a memory (ROM) 120, a memory (RAM) 150, and a peripheral device that can be connected to a peripheral device (not shown). An interface 160, a wired network interface 130 connectable to the wired network 140, and a wireless network interface 170 connectable to the wireless network 180 are provided. Furthermore, the wired / wireless composite communication device (or wired / wireless hybrid communication device) includes a protocol module capable of communicating with the outside in a hybrid or individual manner via a wired network interface and / or a wireless network interface. Here, all the components communicate via the bus 190.”
As to claim 2. The system according to claim 1, wherein the storage device further includes:
storage for a data; [0007]; “The data is stored in a storage area such as 120…”
a controller to manage the data in the storage; [Lee: Claim 26];
wherein the controller (Network Interface Card; Fig. 1) is configured to process a command issued by the processor; [Lee: Claim 26];
Memory cells for storing data in memory 130 [Fig. 1]; [0019-0023].
a controller to manage the data in the storage; [Lee: Claim 26];
wherein the controller is configured to process a command issued by the processor; [Lee: Claim 26].
[Lee: Claim 26] “The processor determines whether one of the management items includes the same physical address as the destination address included in the transmission packet, and is the same as the destination address of the first and second network interfaces. 30. The wired wireless hybrid communication apparatus according to claim 29, wherein the transmission packet is controlled to be transmitted through an interface designated by a management item having a physical address.”
As to claim 4. The system according to claim 1, further comprising: a mode switch to select a selected interface of the first interface and the second interface for a command issued by the processor, a modifier to modify the command based at least in part on the selected interface; See: “After the initialization process in step S700, the LAN driver checks the operation mode / operation state of the wired network interface 510 and the wireless network interface 530. In particular, whether or not the wireless communication mode is an ad hoc mode (ad-hoc). (S710). If the wireless communication mode is not the ad hoc mode, steps S720 and S730 are not performed.
When the wireless communication mode is the ad hoc communication mode, the management module 540 is activated (S720), and the control module 560 is activated (S730).
FIG. 8 is a flowchart for explaining a communication method according to the present embodiment when the wireless communication mode is the ad hoc mode. As shown in FIG. 8, the management module 540 according to the present embodiment uses the received packet, generates the management list shown in FIG. 6, and registers the physical address of the source included in the received packet (S800). Hereinafter, the generation and registration process (S800) of the management list according to the present embodiment will be described in more detail with reference to FIG. The management list according to the present embodiment is digital data stored in a storage device such as a hard disk drive (HDD).
First, as shown in FIG. 9, when the wired / wireless composite communication apparatus according to the present embodiment is driven and the wireless communication mode is the ad hoc mode, when the management module 540 is activated, the storage unit 550 initializes the management list. (S900).
The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Note that the access according to the present embodiment can be performed through information such as system use, connection to a communication device or server, file browsing, file saving, file deletion, or file modification. Information processing to be processed is generically called.”
Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915.
As to claim 5. The system according to claim 4, wherein the mode switch is configured to select the one of the first interface and the second interface for the command issued by the processor based at least in part on one of a parameter of an operating system, a second data in a file, a metadata of the file, a type of the command, or a data size associated with the command; See: “ The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915.”
As to claim 6. The system according to claim 4, wherein the modifier is configured to replace the command with a second command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second command different from the command; “See: The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915.”
As to claim 7. The system according to claim 4, wherein the modifier is configured to replace a first parameter of the command with a second parameter of the command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second parameter different from the first parameter; See: “The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Note that the access according to the present embodiment can be performed through information such as system use, connection to a communication device or server, file browsing, file saving, file deletion, or file modification. Information processing to be processed is generically called. Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915.”
As to claim 8. The system according to claim 4, wherein the command includes a command to access a data from the storage device; See: “Next, if the physical address represents broadcast transmission or multicast transmission, the address checking unit 544 simply transmits the received packet to the upper layer without performing step S920 or step S930 (S950), and the physical address is unidirectional. When representing the cast transmission, the storage unit 550 is referred to, and it is checked whether or not the source physical address (MAC address or the like) of the packet included in the received packet is registered in the management list (S920). In step S920, if the packet does not depend on whether it is unicast, broadcast, and / or multicast, step S915 is not executed. In addition, the step S915 may be performed only for a transmission method selected from unicast, multicast, and / or broadcast, and not performed for a transmission method that is not selected. Note that the access according to the present embodiment can be performed through information such as system use, connection to a communication device or server, file browsing, file saving, file deletion, or file modification. Information processing to be processed is generically called.”
As to claim 9. The system according to claim 4, further comprising an operating system executing on the processor, the operating system including the mode switch and the modifier; See: “Note that the access according to the present embodiment can be performed through information such as system use, connection to a communication device or server, file browsing, file saving, file deletion, or file modification. Information processing to be processed is generically called.” See also response to claim 6 above.
As to claim 11. A storage device, comprising: storage for a data; a controller to manage the data in the storage; a first interface to receive a first command from a processor; and a second interface to receive a second command from the processor, wherein the storage includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface; See rejection above to claim 1.
As to claim 14. A method, comprising: receiving a command from a processor; determining that the command accesses a data on a storage device, the storage device including a first interface and a second interface; and selecting a selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on the command, wherein the storage device includes at least one physical address accessible via both the first interface and the second interface; See rejection above to claim 1.
As to claim 16. The method according to claim 14, wherein selecting the selected interface of the first interface and the second interface based at least in part on the command includes selecting the selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on one of a parameter of an operating system, a second data in a file, a metadata of the file, a type of the command, or a data size associated with the command. See: “Note that the access according to the present embodiment can be performed through information such as system use, connection to a communication device or server, file browsing, file saving, file deletion, or file modification. Information processing to be processed is generically called.”
As to claim 17. The method according to claim 14, further comprising transmitting the command to the storage device using the selected interface; See: “The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915.”
As to claim 18, The method according to claim 17, wherein transmitting the command to the storage device using the selected interface includes modifying the command based at least in part on the selected interface; See: “After the initialization process in step S700, the LAN driver checks the operation mode / operation state of the wired network interface 510 and the wireless network interface 530. In particular, whether or not the wireless communication mode is an ad hoc mode (ad-hoc). (S710). If the wireless communication mode is not the ad hoc mode, steps S720 and S730 are not performed.
When the wireless communication mode is the ad hoc communication mode, the management module 540 is activated (S720), and the control module 560 is activated (S730).
FIG. 8 is a flowchart for explaining a communication method according to the present embodiment when the wireless communication mode is the ad hoc mode. As shown in FIG. 8, the management module 540 according to the present embodiment uses the received packet, generates the management list shown in FIG. 6, and registers the physical address of the source included in the received packet (S800). . Hereinafter, the generation and registration process (S800) of the management list according to the present embodiment will be described in more detail with reference to FIG. The management list according to the present embodiment is digital data stored in a storage device such as a hard disk drive (HDD).
First, as shown in FIG. 9, when the wired / wireless composite communication apparatus according to the present embodiment is driven and the wireless communication mode is the ad hoc mode, when the management module 540 is activated, the storage unit 550 initializes the management list. (S900).
The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Note that the access according to the present embodiment can be performed through information such as system use, connection to a communication device or server, file browsing, file saving, file deletion, or file modification. Information processing to be processed is generically called.”
Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915.
As to claim 19. The method according to claim 18, wherein modifying the command based at least in part on the selected interface includes replacing the command with a second command based at least in part on the selected interface, the second command different from the command; See response to claim 6 above.
As to claim 20. The method according to claim 14, wherein:
receiving the command from the processor includes receiving, at an operating system, the command from the processor; [Lee: Claim 26];
determining that the command accesses the data on a storage device includes determining, by the operating system, that the command accesses the data on the storage device See: “ The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915;” and
selecting the selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on the command includes selecting, by the operating system, the selected interface of the first interface or the second interface based at least in part on the command; See: “ The interface identifier included in the management list is an identifier indicating whether the received packet is received via the wired network interface 510 or the wireless network interface 530, and is set to 1 or 2. The That is, the interface identifier indicates the network interface connected to the physical address. As described above, the interface identifier “2” represents the wired interface 510 and “1” represents the wireless interface 530. Returning to FIG. 8 again, referring to FIG. 8, when the control module 560 is activated after the management list is generated, the packet transmission unit 562 in the control module 560 receives the transmission packet transmitted from the upper layer to the network. It is checked whether or not it has been done (S810).
When the packet transmission unit 562 receives a transmission packet from an upper layer, the inventory checking unit 564 of the control module 560 first determines whether the type of the destination address (or destination MAC address) indicates unicast transmission, or multicast or broadcast. It is checked which of the transmissions is represented (S830). Note that step S830 is not necessarily performed for the same reason as step S915.”
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US JP 2005012817 A. (Lee), effective filing date of June 6, 2004, , published January 13, 2005, in view of Smaldone et al. US 10452544 B1 (Smaldone), effective filing date of September 27, 2017.
As to claims 3 and 12, Lee does not disclose a host-managed device memory (HDM); and a buffer mapped from the HDM, wherein the processor accesses the HDM; and the buffer stores a copy of a portion of the storage.
Smaldone discloses wherein a host-managed device memory (HDM); and a buffer mapped from the HDM, wherein the processor accesses the HDM; and the buffer stores a copy of a portion of the storage; (Smaldone: (18)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Smaldone’s features of “Once flushed, the requesting node's 110 host-side cache 150 fetches a copy of the file system object from the peer node 110 that has the most recent copy of the file system object. In addition, file buffer cache 125 (e.g. 125A) can periodically flush (FIG. 1A, (3)) a most recent version of FSO 130 (e.g, FSO 130A) from buffer cache 125 (e.g., 125A). Although buffer cache 125 need not be aware of host-side 150, HST Coherency Mgt. 140 can detect flush messages from buffer cache 125, intended to flush to storage array 250, intercept those messages, and store the flushed FSO 130 to host-side cache 150 (e.g. 150A) as FSO 155. Host-side cache 150 can, in turn, periodically and independently from buffer cache 125, flush (FIG. 1A, (4)) a most recent version of FSO 155 (e.g. FSO 155A) to storage array 250. For purposes of continuing with the example that a flush from buffer cache 125 is initiated by a write (FIG. 1B, (1)) operation from application 115 (e.g. 115A), and for description of FIG. 1B, it is presumed that flush operation (FIG. 1B, (2)) from buffer cache 125 is in response to a read request (FIG. 1B, (1)). (Smaldone: (18)).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that they will invalidate any older versions of the same file system object (FSO) that may currently reside there; (Smaldone: (18)).
As to claim 10, Lee does not disclose wherein the first interface includes a cache-coherent interconnect protocol.
Smaldone discloses wherein the first interface includes a cache-coherent interconnect protocol; (Smaldone:(18)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Smaldone’s features “host-side cache coherency management layer is introduced that coordinates synchronization of writes and write invalidations within the host-side cache 150. The host-side cache 150 can operate independently from the clustered/distributed file system (C/DFS) 100 and a storage device 250, such as a storage array, coupled to the C/DFS 100. When a write is issued by a file system of a node 110 of C/DFS file system 100, the file system of the node 110 notifies peer file system nodes 110 to invalidate their local file system buffer caches 125. These writes will eventually be flushed from the node's file system buffer cache 125 to the node's host-side cache 150.” (Smaldone: (18)).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that they will invalidate any older versions of the same file system object (FSO) that may currently reside there; (Smaldone:(18)).
As to claim 13, Lee does not disclose a non-transitory storage medium including instructions to flush the buffer and reload the buffer based at least in part on the storage device receiving the second command.
Smaldone discloses wherein a non-transitory storage medium including instructions to flush the buffer and reload the buffer based at least in part on the storage device receiving the second command; (Smaldone:(18)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Smaldone’s features “These writes will eventually be flushed from the node's file system buffer cache 125 to the node's host-side cache 150. At that time, coherency logic of the host-side cache 150 for the node 110, issues an invalidation message host-side caches 150 of peer nodes 110 in the C/DFS 100, so that they will invalidate any older versions of the same file system object (FSO) that may currently reside there. A read from any file system node 110 is an example action that can cause the host-side cache 150 of any other node 110 that currently holds an unwritten copy of the requested FSO in its file system buffer cache 125 to flush the copy of the FSO to the node's host-side cache 150. This flush causes invalidations, similar to the write case. Once flushed, the requesting node's 110 host-side cache 150 fetches a copy of the file system object from the peer node 110 that has the most recent copy of the file system object. In addition, file buffer cache 125 (e.g. 125A) can periodically flush (FIG. 1A, (3)) a most recent version of FSO 130 (e.g, FSO 130A) from buffer cache 125 (e.g., 125A). Although buffer cache 125 need not be aware of host-side 150, HST Coherency Mgt. 140 can detect flush messages from buffer cache 125, intended to flush to storage array 250, intercept those messages, and store the flushed FSO 130 to host-side cache 150 (e.g. 150A) as FSO 155. Host-side cache 150 can, in turn, periodically and independently from buffer cache 125, flush (FIG. 1A, (4)) a most recent version of FSO 155 (e.g. FSO 155A) to storage array 250. For purposes of continuing with the example that a flush from buffer cache 125 is initiated by a write (FIG. 1B, (1)) operation from application 115 (e.g. 115A), and for description of FIG. 1B, it is presumed that flush operation (FIG. 1B, (2)) from buffer cache 125 is in response to a read request (FIG. 1B, (1)).” (Smaldone: (18)).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that they will invalidate any older versions of the same file system object (FSO) that may currently reside there; (Smaldone: (18)).
As to claim 15. Lee does not disclose wherein determining that the command accesses the data on the storage device includes determining that the command accesses the data from a host-managed device memory (HDM) of the storage device.
Smaldone discloses wherein determining that the command accesses the data on the storage device includes determining that the command accesses the data from a host-managed device memory (HDM) of the storage device; (Smaldone: (18)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Smaldone’s features “a host-side cache 150 and host-side cache coherency management layer is introduced that coordinates synchronization of writes and write invalidations within the host-side cache 150. The host-side cache 150 can operate independently from the clustered/distributed file system (C/DFS) 100 and a storage device 250, such as a storage array, coupled to the C/DFS 100. When a write is issued by a file system of a node 110 of C/DFS file system 100, the file system of the node 110 notifies peer file system nodes 110 to invalidate their local file system buffer caches 125. These writes will eventually be flushed from the node's file system buffer cache 125 to the node's host-side cache 150. At that time, coherency logic of the host-side cache 150 for the node 110, issues an invalidation message host-side caches 150 of peer nodes 110 in the C/DFS 100, so that they will invalidate any older versions of the same file system object (FSO) that may currently reside there. A read from any file system node 110 is an example action that can cause the host-side cache 150 of any other node 110 that currently holds an unwritten copy of the requested FSO in its file system buffer cache 125 to flush the copy of the FSO to the node's host-side cache 150. This flush causes invalidations, similar to the write case. Once flushed, the requesting node's 110 host-side cache 150 fetches a copy of the file system object from the peer node 110 that has the most recent copy of the file system object. In addition, file buffer cache 125 (e.g. 125A) can periodically flush (FIG. 1A, (3)) a most recent version of FSO 130 (e.g, FSO 130A) from buffer cache 125 (e.g., 125A). Although buffer cache 125 need not be aware of host-side 150, HST Coherency Mgt. 140 can detect flush messages from buffer cache 125, intended to flush to storage array 250, intercept those messages, and store the flushed FSO 130 to host-side cache 150 (e.g. 150A) as FSO 155. Host-side cache 150 can, in turn, periodically and independently from buffer cache 125, flush (FIG. 1A, (4)) a most recent version of FSO 155 (e.g. FSO 155A) to storage array 250. For purposes of continuing with the example that a flush from buffer cache 125 is initiated by a write (FIG. 1B, (1)) operation from application 115 (e.g. 115A), and for description of FIG. 1B, it is presumed that flush operation (FIG. 1B, (2)) from buffer cache 125 is in response to a read request (FIG. 1B, (1)) ; (Smaldone: (18)).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to coordinates synchronization of writes and write invalidations within the host-side cache; (Smaldone: (18)).
Conclusion
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168