DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the first scan transistor and the second scan transistor are turned-on at different times to sequentially provide the pre-charge voltage and the data voltage to the storage capacitor” which is indefinite, because the limitation appears to be written as a method step rather than as a structural limitation of the electronic device. In other words, it appears that the limitation is wholly dependent on the electronic device being used in a particular way during operation, and not on the structure of the electronic device itself. Therefore, it is unclear to what extent, if any, said limitation adds patentable weight to the claim. Dependent claims 4 and 6-20 fail to cure the deficiency. Claim 9 recites “wherein the first scan transistor received the pre-charge voltage from a common voltage line” which is likewise rejected.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the electronic device is an antenna device” which is indefinite, because claim 18 depends from claim 17 which recites “wherein the electronic device is an active matrix device.” Once a claim element is narrowed in scope, such narrowing should continue throughout the dependent claims in order to ensure clarity of the claim and avoid undisclosed and/or illogical claim limitations. In this case, claim 18 should either depend from claim 1, or claim 18 should read “wherein the active matrix device is an antenna device” if such a limitation is properly disclosed by Applicant. Dependent claims 19-20 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Serb et al. (US 2021/0004669 A1), hereinafter Serb.
Regarding claim 1, Serb discloses an electronic device (abstract, regarding a tunable CMOS circuit), comprising:
a plurality of electronic units (texel 35; fig. 3; see para. [0052] regarding a texel array), wherein each of the plurality of electronic units comprises:
a pixel circuit (stage 2 of the texel 35, as shown in fig. 3); and
a tunable component (memristor R1; fig. 3; para. [0041], regarding the memristors are one example of a tunable load), coupled to the pixel circuit (as shown in fig. 3),
wherein the pixel circuit comprises:
a storage capacitor (capacitor C2; fig. 3);
a first scan transistor (transistor M3; fig. 3), coupled to the storage capacitor (as shown in fig. 3); and
a second scan transistor (transistor M4; fig. 3), coupled to the storage capacitor (as shown in fig. 3),
wherein the first scan transistor (M3) is configured to transfer a pre-charge voltage to the storage capacitor according to the first scan signal (as shown in fig. 3, inherent by virtue of their mutual electrical connection and capabilities; see also para. [0054]), and the second scan transistor (M4) is configured to transfer a data voltage to the storage capacitor according to the second scan signal (as shown in fig. 3, inherent by virtue of their mutual electrical connection and capabilities; see also para. [0054]), wherein the first scan transistor and the second scan transistor are turned-on at different times to sequentially provide the pre-charge voltage and the data voltage to the storage capacitor (Examiner notes that the mere intent to turn the first and second scan transistors on at different times to sequentially provide the pre-charge voltage and the data voltage to the storage capacitor does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II); see also related rejection under §112(b) detailed hereinabove),
wherein the tunable component, a terminal of the first scan transistor, a terminal of the second scan transistor, and a terminal of the capacitor are coupled to a circuit node (as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Serb discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the second scan transistor (M4) is coupled to a data line to receive the data voltage (as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Serb discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the pre-charge voltage is equal to or less than a maximum voltage of the data voltage, and the pre-charge voltage is equal to or larger than a minimum voltage of the data voltage (Examiner notes that the mere intent to use a pre-charge voltage of any particular size does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II); see related rejection under §112(b) detailed hereinabove).
Regarding claim 7, Serb discloses the invention in claim 6, and further discloses wherein the pre-charge voltage is a fixed voltage (Examiner notes that the mere intent to use a pre-charge voltage of any particular size does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II); see related rejection under §112(b) detailed hereinabove).
Regarding claim 8, Serb discloses the invention in claim 7, and further discloses wherein the pre-charge voltage is within a first preset range corresponding to a center of a voltage range of the data voltage (Examiner notes that the mere intent to use a pre-charge voltage of any particular size does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II); see related rejection under §112(b) detailed hereinabove).
Regarding claim 9, Serb discloses the invention in claim 6, and further discloses wherein the first scan transistor (M3) receives the pre-charge voltage from a common voltage line shared with the plurality of electronic units on a same row and/or a same column (as shown in figs. 1 and 3; Examiner notes that the mere intent to have the first scan transistor (M3) receive the pre-charge voltage from a common voltage line shared with the plurality of electronic units on a same row and/or a same column does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II); see related rejection under §112(b) detailed hereinabove).
Regarding claim 10, Serb discloses the invention in claim 6, and further discloses wherein the pre-charge voltage is within a second preset range corresponding to a center of a voltage range of a first voltage, wherein the first voltage is a current data voltage plus a previous data voltage divided by 2 (Examiner notes that the mere intent to use a pre-charge voltage of any particular size does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II); see related rejection under §112(b) detailed hereinabove).
Regarding claim 11, Serb discloses the invention in claim 6, and further discloses wherein the first scan transistor and the second scan transistor are coupled to a data line (as shown in figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 12, Serb discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the tunable component (R1) is controlled by a control signal corresponding to the data voltage (Examiner notes that the mere intent to control the tunable component by a control signal corresponding to the data voltage does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II); see related rejection under §112(b) detailed hereinabove).
Regarding claim 13, Serb discloses the invention in claim 12, and further discloses wherein the tunable component is a voltage-controlled component (Examiner notes that the mere intent to control the tunable component by voltage does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II)).
Regarding claim 14, Serb discloses the invention in claim 12, and further discloses wherein the tunable component is a capacitance tunable component (Examiner notes that the mere intent to control the tunable component by capacitance does not structurally distinguish the invention from the prior art, see MPEP §2114(II)).
Regarding claim 15, Serb discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the pixel circuit further comprises: a driving circuit (formed by transistors M5 and M6), coupled to the tunable component (as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Serb discloses the invention in claim 15, and further discloses wherein the driving circuit is a voltage driver (para. [0042], regarding the current draw of the second CMOS stage M3/M4 is maximised when the voltage at node ‘MID’ Vmid is such that both M3 and M4 are simultaneously maximally open; this will occur at a predetermined fixed voltage value Vpk; the voltage value Vpk is determined by the sizing of M3 and M4; to a weaker degree, the voltage value Vpk may also be dependent on the sizing of M5; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Serb discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the electronic device is an active matrix device (as shown in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Serb discloses the invention in claim 17, and further discloses wherein the electronic device is an antenna device (as attached to the antenna module 40 as shown in fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a) Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b) Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c) Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d) Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serb et al. (US 2021/0004669 A1), hereinafter Serb.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Serb discloses the invention in claim 18, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the antenna device is a liquid crystal antenna (claim 19); or wherein the antenna device is a varactor antenna (claim 20).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the invention such that the antenna device is a liquid crystal antenna or a varactor antenna, since the equivalence of generic antennas and liquid crystal/varactor for their use in the antenna art and the selection of any known equivalents to liquid crystal/varactor antennas would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner notes that liquid crystal/varactor antennas are well-known and conventionally used antenna alternatives, and Applicant offers no criticality for one type of antenna over another (see para. [0020]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on April 1, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (Remarks, pp. 6-8) that Serb fails to anticipated claim 1 as amended, specifically wherein the first and second scan transistors are operated so as to be turned on at different times to sequentially provide the pre-charge voltage and the data voltage to the storage capacitor. Examiner agrees. However, as noted the related rejection under §112(b), a specific method of operating an apparatus disclosed in the prior art holds little, if any, patentable weight when it comes to an apparatus claim. In this case, claim 1 and all remaining claims are apparatus claims, which are an imperfect setting for capturing a specific manner of operating an apparatus that is otherwise already disclosed in the prior art. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 and its depends under §102 over Serb remains relevant, because the prior art of Serb could be used in such a manner and the claim cannot actually require such a particular method of operation. Dependent claims 4 and 6-20 likewise remain rejected under §102/§103 as detailed hereinabove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648