DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 8/18/2026. Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are pending in the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 20180159809 A1) in view of Ye et al. (US 20150295863 A1, hereinafter Ye) and Wu (US 20220053083 A1).
As to independent claim 1, Xie teaches a lock screen interface message processing method (As shown in FIG. 1B, three notifications of unread message are displayed on the locked screen interface of terminal screen 102a, paragraph 0038) comprising:
obtaining one or more unread messages on a mobile terminal (the terminal 102a receives messages, paragraph 0037)
displaying the one or more unread messages on a lock screen interface of the mobile terminal (“As shown in FIG. 1B, three notifications of unread message are displayed on the terminal screen 102a, which include a first notification of unread message, a second notification of unread message and a third notification of unread message.” Paragraph 0038);
triggering an unlocked state of the mobile terminal through identifying a user as an owner of the mobile terminal (“If the user wants to read the unread message corresponding to the first notification, the user may click the second preset area A by using a finger 102b to tap the second preset area A. In an example, as shown in FIG. 1C, in step 102, when the position is located in the first preset area having the fingerprint recognition circuit, recognizing fingerprint information of the user's finger may be implemented by step 1021.” Paragraph 0038-0042, “Sometimes, the methods other than the fingerprint may be used for authenticating the user. For example, the face recognition may be used for authenticating the user to unlock the screen. For example, when a user looks at a notification of an unread message for a period of time,” paragraph 0062);
performing, after the unlocked state of the mobile terminal is triggered (“If the fingerprint information obtained by the terminal matches the pre-stored fingerprint information, it indicates that the fingerprint information is legitimate, and the user wants to unlock the terminal and not touch the screen by mistake.” Paragraph 0032), a corresponding response operation on an unread message of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface according to an operation instruction, comprising: obtaining a first selected unread message from the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface (“ In step 1031, when the fingerprint information is legitimate, a reading interface of a notification of unread message set in the second preset area corresponding to the position is opened.” Paragraph 0043, “Sometimes, unlocking the terminal screen and displaying the unread message may need separate validation processes. For example, when a notification of unread message shows on the screen of a terminal, a user may click the area where the notification displays. After that, the user's fingerprint is captured and validated and is determined to be legitimate. Then, a user interface is opened on the terminal screen to display the unread message. However, at this point, the terminal screen may be still in the lock mode.” Paragraph 0060-0061).
Xie does not appear to expressly teach displaying, when the first selected unread message requires a reply, a translucent window as a reply area below the first selected unread message on the lock screen interface without switching to an application corresponding the first selected unread message from the lock screen interface;
obtaining a reply content in the translucent window, and sending the reply content to the application corresponding to the first selected unread message;
obtaining a second selected unread message from the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface;
dragging the second selected unread message to an edge of a screen of the mobile terminal to mark the second selected unread message as read; and
after the second selected unread message is marked as read, removing the second selected unread message from the lock screen interface.
Ye teaches displaying, when the first selected unread message requires a reply, a translucent window as a reply area below the first selected unread message on the lock screen interface without switching to an application corresponding the first selected unread message from the lock screen interface (“When the new message is displayed in the form of the pop-up window, the user taps the message reply control in the pop-up window when needing to reply to the message, to send a reply instruction; as shown in FIG. 2, the user may press a reply button in the pop-up window. After the reply instruction is received, a text input box is opened in the pop-up window, and a message sending control is provided; as shown in a schematic diagram of message reply in FIG. 3,” paragraph 0045); and
obtaining a reply content in the translucent window, and sending the reply content to the application corresponding to the first selected unread message (“the user inputs, in the text input box, a reply message that needs to be sent to the other party. After input of the message is completed, the user sends out a message sending instruction by tapping the message sending control, for example, a sending button shown in FIG. 3.” Paragraph 0045, “If the system is currently in a lock state, the lock state is released temporarily, so that a related processing operation can be performed on the pop-up window; and after message processing is completed, the lock state is automatically restored without the necessity of locking the screen manually.” Paragraph 0055).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise displaying, when the first selected unread message requires a reply, a translucent window as a reply area below the first selected unread message on the lock screen interface without switching to an application corresponding the first selected unread message from the lock screen interface; obtaining a reply content in the translucent window, and sending the reply content to the application corresponding to the first selected unread message. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to cause high message processing efficiency (Ye [0004]).
Wu teaches dragging the second selected unread message to an edge of a screen of the mobile terminal to mark the second selected unread message as read (“For example, as shown in FIG. 10A, the mobile phone displays an unread message management window 14. The unread message management window 14 includes unread messages 1 and 2 from a contact A that are displayed in an area 15, unread messages 1 and 2 from a contact B that are displayed in an area 16, and an unread message 1 from a contact C that is displayed in an area 17. In a case that the user performs a sliding input (for example, an upward sliding input) in the unread message management window 14,” paragraph 0125, 0071, 0079); and
after the second selected unread message is marked as read, removing the second selected unread message from the lock screen interface (“as shown in FIG. 10B, the mobile phone deletes, from the unread message management window 14, the unread messages 1 and 2 from the contact A (that is, the unread message management window 14 currently does not display the unread messages 1 and 2 from the contact A, in other words, the unread messages 1 and 2 from the contact A are in a read state.” Paragraph 0125. 0071-0072,0079).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise dragging the second selected unread message to an edge of a screen of the mobile terminal to mark the second selected unread message as read; and after the second selected unread message is marked as read, removing the second selected unread message from the lock screen interface. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide significant convenience to users.
As to dependent claim 11, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Xie further teaches wherein the displaying of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining an unread message array based on the one or more unread messages (“the terminal receives a lot of messages, there may be a plurality of notifications of unread messages.” Paragraph 0037); and
displaying the unread message array in a bullet chatting manner on the lock screen interface (Fig. 1B, three notifications of unread message are displayed on the lock screen interface, paragraph 0038).
As to dependent claim 12, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 11, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the performing of the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction further comprises:
marking the first selected unread message on the lock screen interface as read; and
removing the first selected unread message from the unread message array.
Ye teaches marking the first selected unread message on the lock screen interface as read (“The pop-up window display module 203 marks the message corresponding to the message ID as read when receiving a marking-as-read instruction by using the control for marking a message as read,” paragraph 0060); and
removing the first selected unread message from the unread message array (“when receiving a marking-as-read instruction by using the control for marking a message as read, and closes the pop-up window.” Paragraph 0060).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise removing the selected unread message from the unread message array. One would have been motivated to improve interface efficiency.
.
Claims 18-19 are substantially the same as claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Claims 2-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Ye et al., Wu, Roh et al. (US 20150127755 A1, hereinafter Roh) and further in view of Gilad et al. (US 2015/0188869 A1, hereinafter Gilad).
As to dependent claim 2, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the displaying of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining, for each unread message of the one or more unread messages; display mode corresponding to the unread message according to a set display rule, and
displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface based on the corresponding display mode.
Roh teaches obtaining, for each unread message of the one or more unread messages; display mode corresponding to the unread message according to a set display rule (“It is possible to configure the unread received message notification window 702 and the unread sent message notification window 704 to be intuitively distinguished by using different colors;” paragraph 0105), and
displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface based on the corresponding display mode (“It is possible to configure the unread received message notification window 702 and the unread sent message notification window 704 to be intuitively distinguished by using different colors, different brightness levels or different icons, different sizes, different shapes, flashing at different intervals or one flashing and the other not flashing, etc. In other words, some visually distinguishing characteristic can be used.” Paragraph 0105).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise obtaining, for each unread message of the one or more unread messages; display mode corresponding to the unread message according to a set display rule, and displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface based on the corresponding display mode. One would have been motivated to make such a combination for allowing the user to easily differentiate and contrate on important message.
Gilad teaches object display rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise object display rule. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display and reduce screen clutter.
As to dependent claim 3, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises at least one of a movement speed and a movement mode of the unread message, and the obtaining of the display mode corresponding to the unread message according to the set display rule comprises:
obtaining a source of the unread message; and obtaining the at least one of the movement speed and the movement mode of the unread message from the display rule based on the source.
Gilad teaches object display rule(“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise the set of display rule comprises: obtaining a source of the unread message; and obtaining the at least one of the movement speed and the movement mode of the unread message from the display rule based on the source. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 4, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 3, Xie further teaches wherein the performing of the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction after the unlocked state of the mobile terminal is triggered comprises:
displaying, after the unlocked state of the mobile terminal is triggered, the unread message on the lock screen interface in one of a horizontal layout form and a vertical layout form (Fig. 1B and 1D, the unread message is displayed in vertical layout form).
Xie does not appear to expressly teach performing the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction.
Ye teaches performing the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction (“the user inputs, in the text input box, a reply message that needs to be sent to the other party. After input of the message is completed, the user sends out a message sending instruction by tapping the message sending control, for example, a sending button shown in FIG. 3.” Paragraph 0045, “If the system is currently in a lock state, the lock state is released temporarily, so that a related processing operation can be performed on the pop-up window; and after message processing is completed, the lock state is automatically restored without the necessity of locking the screen manually.” Paragraph 0055).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise performing the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to cause high message processing efficiency (Ye [0004]).
As to dependent claim 5, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display font and a display colour of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining display fonts and display colours corresponding to messages of applications on the mobile terminal, wherein the messages of different applications correspond to different display fonts and different display colours; and setting the display rule based on the display fonts and the display colours corresponding to the messages of the applications on the mobile terminal.
Gilad teaches object display rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display font and a display colour of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining display fonts and display colours corresponding to messages of applications on the mobile terminal, wherein the messages of different applications correspond to different display fonts and different display colours; and setting the display rule based on the display fonts and the display colours corresponding to the messages of the applications on the mobile terminal. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 6, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises an avatar of a user who sends the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining avatars of users sending messages to the mobile terminal, wherein users corresponding to different messages correspond to different avatars.
Ye teaches obtaining avatars of users sending messages to the mobile terminal, wherein users corresponding to different messages correspond to different avatars (“The information about the message sender may be any one or any combination of a name of the message sender, a number of the message sender, an image of the message sender, an address of the message sender, and other information related to the message sender.” Paragraph 0027).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise obtaining avatars of users sending messages to the mobile terminal, wherein users corresponding to different messages correspond to different avatars. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
Hwang does not appear to expressly teach setting the display rule based on the avatars of the users sending the messages.
Gilad teaches “the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise setting the display rule based on the avatars of the users sending the messages. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 7, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining, for each application of applications on the mobile terminal, a usage frequency of the application; determining a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of a message of the application; and setting the display rule based on the display position, the display colour, the movement mode, and the movement speed of the message of the application.
Gilad teaches object display rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining, for each application of applications on the mobile terminal, a usage frequency of the application; determining a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of a message of the application; and setting the display rule based on the display position, the display colour, the movement mode, and the movement speed of the message of the application. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 8, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Xie does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising: obtaining a category of a message on the mobile terminal; determining a display mode corresponding to the category of the message; and setting the display rule based on the display mode.
Gilad teaches obtaining a category of a message on the mobile terminal; determining a display mode corresponding to the category of the message; and setting the display rule based on the display mode (“each message in messages in the group of messages is categorized and arranged in accordance with a dichotomous categorization.” Paragraph 0016).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise obtaining a category of a message on the mobile terminal; determining a display mode corresponding to the category of the message; and setting the display rule based on the display mode. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 9, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Xie does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising: obtaining a set filtering rule; and filtering the one or more unread messages based on the filtering rule.
Gilad teaches obtaining a set filtering rule; and filtering the one or more unread messages based on the filtering rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise obtaining a set filtering rule; and filtering the one or more unread messages based on the filtering rule. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 10, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 9, Xie does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising: obtaining a source and a category of a message on the mobile terminal; and setting the filtering rule based on the source and category of the message.
Gilad teaches obtaining a source and a category of a message on the mobile terminal; and setting the filtering rule based on the source and category of the message (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise obtaining a source and a category of a message on the mobile terminal; and setting the filtering rule based on the source and category of the message. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
Claim 20 is substantially the same as claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Ye et al., Wu, and further in view of LI (US 20150121312 A1).
As to dependent claim 15, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Xie does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising:
determining, in response to a click operation on an unread message of the unread messages, the unread message corresponding to the click operation as a third selected unread message on the lock screen interface; and
marking, in response to a click operation on a close button on the lock screen interface, the third selected unread message on the lock screen interface as read.
LI teaches determining, in response to a click operation on an unread message of the unread messages, the unread message corresponding to the click operation as a third selected unread message on the lock screen interface (“The operation of the user on the preview contents may be any one of hand gestures such as single-click, double-click and slide, where the hand gestures may be contact gestures or non-contact gestures. Again in the example where the preview contents are the latest 3 pieces of unread SMS information” paragraph 0058; and
marking, in response to a click operation on a close button on the lock screen interface, the third selected unread message on the lock screen interface as read (“After the preview contents have been processed by the mobile terminal, the processed preview contents may be displayed distinguishingly or not displayed any more by the mobile terminal. For example, after marking a piece of SMS information as read status, the mobile terminal changes the background color of the list item containing the SMS information from blue to gray;” paragraph 0066).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise determining, in response to a click operation on an unread message of the unread messages, the unread message corresponding to the click operation as a third selected unread message on the lock screen interface; and marking, in response to a click operation on a close button on the lock screen interface, the third selected unread message on the lock screen interface as read. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Ye et al., Wu, and further in view of Fang (US 20210337061 A1).
AS to dependent claim 16, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the obtaining of the one or more unread messages on the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining a luminescence state of a screen of the mobile terminal; and
obtaining, when the luminescence state indicates that the screen is on, the one or more unread messages.
Fang teaches wherein the obtaining of the one or more unread messages on the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining a luminescence state of a screen of the mobile terminal (“At block S13, the current state of the electronic device is detected. The state may be the screen locked state or the screen unlocked state. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the current state of the electronic device can be detected by the operating system interface.” Paragraph 00076-0078, this implies lighting state); and
obtaining, when the luminescence state indicates that the screen is on, the one or more unread messages (“at block S12, the message list is configured to be displayed in response to that the electronic device is in the screen locked state, i.e., the message list is displayed on the screen locked interface of the electronic device using screen lock message technology” paragraph 0079)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise obtaining a luminescence state of a screen of the mobile terminal; and obtaining, when the luminescence state indicates that the screen is on, the one or more unread messages. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to lower battery consumption.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Ye et al., Wu, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 20200319754 A1, hereinafter Hwang
As to dependent claim 17, Xie teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Xie does not appear to expressly teach wherein the displaying of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal comprises: obtaining part of a message content of an unread message of the one or more unread messages; and
displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal by displaying a combination of the part of the message content and an ellipsis.
Hwang teaches wherein the displaying of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal comprises: obtaining part of a message content of an unread message of the one or more unread messages (“The notification information indicating that a new message has been received may include, for example, an icon associated with an application corresponding to the new message (e.g., a messaging app), at least a portion of the content included in the new message (e.g., a textual preview),” paragraph 0076) ; and
displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal by displaying a combination of the part of the message content and an ellipsis (Fig. 3B, unread message “Captured by Smart capture Image ….” Includes an ellipsis).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to comprise obtaining part of a message content of an unread message of the one or more unread messages; and displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal by displaying a combination of the part of the message content and an ellipsis. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve interface efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior arts arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xu et al. US 20210409536 A1 Notification Processing Method and Electronic Device.
Zhou et al. US 20220224665 A1 Notification Message Preview Method and Electronic Device.
Dascola et al. US 20190342252 A1 Methods and Graphical User Interfaces for Proactive management of notifications.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171