DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 3/5/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 20200319754 A1, hereinafter Hwang).
As to independent claim 1, Hwang discloses a lock screen interface message (Fig. 3a, lock screen interface message) processing method, comprising:
obtaining one or more unread messages on a mobile terminal (“When an electronic device receives a message, the electronic device may display a notification indicating is the presence of an unread new message on a display.” Paragraph 0006);
displaying the one or more unread messages on a lock screen interface of the mobile terminal (“For example, as shown in FIGS. 3A to 3D, the processor 120 may control a display (e.g., the display device 160 of FIG. 1) to display a new message notification on the lock screen.” Paragraph 0079); and
performing, after an unlocked state of the mobile terminal is triggered, a corresponding response operation on an unread message of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface according to an operation instruction (“For example, as shown in FIGS. 3A to 3D, the processor 120 may control a display (e.g., the display device 160 of FIG. 1) to display a new message notification on the lock screen, and the user input 301, 311, 321, and 331 for the new message notification displayed on the lock screen may be detected. According to an embodiment, the electronic device (e.g., the processor 120 or the display device 160) may display a lock release request screen in operation 253. The lock release request screen may include at least a prompt for a user input to release the lock, which may include or an authentication prompt (e.g., a message requesting input of authenticating information such as a password, pattern, pin number, or biometrics) {…..} in operation 257, the electronic device (e.g., the processor 120 and/or the display device 160 of FIG. 1) may display a new message, the display of which may occur at a first time point. According to an embodiment, the processor 120 may control the display (e.g., the display device 160) to display a message application screen including a new message corresponding to a new message notification from which a user input is detected, at a first time point. The message application screen may include, for example, at least one identification related to one or more counterpart electronic devices (e.g., phone number or a user name), a display area displaying messages transmitted/received with the at least one counterpart electronic device, and/or a message input area for composing a message for transmission.” Paragraph 0079-083).
As to dependent claim 11, Hwang discloses wherein the displaying of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining an unread message array based on the one or more unread messages (“For example, when the message is received in a locked state of the electronic device, the processor 120 may display notification information indicating the reception of a new message on the lock screen.” Paragraph 0056); and
displaying the unread message array in a bullet chatting manner on the lock screen interface ( “The notification information indicating that a new message is received may include at least one of an icon of an application corresponding to the new message, at least a portion of contents included in the new message, identification information of another electronic device (or another user) associated with the new message (e.g., a phone number, or name), or time information at which the new message is received.” Paragraph 0056).
As to dependent claim 17, Hwang discloses wherein the displaying of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal comprises: obtaining part of a message content of an unread message of the one or more unread messages (“The notification information indicating that a new message has been received may include, for example, an icon associated with an application corresponding to the new message (e.g., a messaging app), at least a portion of the content included in the new message (e.g., a textual preview), identification information (e.g., a phone number, or name) of another electronic device or another user associated with the new message (e.g., a device or sender name), or time information when the new message has been received (e.g., a timestamp). ” Paragraph 0076); and
displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal by displaying a combination of the part of the message content and an ellipsis (For example, as shown in Fig. 3A, unread message preview “Captured by Smart capture Image….” Includes part of the message content and an ellipsis).
Claims 18-19 are substantially the same as claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. in view of Roh et al. (US 20150127755 A1, hereinafter Roh) and further in view of Gilad et al. (US 2015/0188869 A1, hereinafter Gilad).
As to dependent claim 2, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach wherein the displaying of the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface of the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining, for each unread message of the one or more unread messages; display mode corresponding to the unread message according to a set display rule, and
displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface based on the corresponding display mode.
Roh teaches obtaining, for each unread message of the one or more unread messages; display mode corresponding to the unread message according to a set display rule (“It is possible to configure the unread received message notification window 702 and the unread sent message notification window 704 to be intuitively distinguished by using different colors;” paragraph 0105), and
displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface based on the corresponding display mode (“It is possible to configure the unread received message notification window 702 and the unread sent message notification window 704 to be intuitively distinguished by using different colors, different brightness levels or different icons, different sizes, different shapes, flashing at different intervals or one flashing and the other not flashing, etc. In other words, some visually distinguishing characteristic can be used.” Paragraph 0105).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise obtaining, for each unread message of the one or more unread messages; display mode corresponding to the unread message according to a set display rule, and displaying the unread message on the lock screen interface based on the corresponding display mode. One would have been motivated to make such a combination for allowing the user to easily differentiate and contrate on important message.
Gilad teaches object display rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise object display rule. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display and reduce screen clutter.
As to dependent claim 3, The lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises at least one of a movement speed and a movement mode of the unread message, and the obtaining of the display mode corresponding to the unread message according to the set display rule comprises:
obtaining a source of the unread message; and obtaining the at least one of the movement speed and the movement mode of the unread message from the display rule based on the source.
Gilad teaches object display rule(“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise the set of display rule comprises: obtaining a source of the unread message; and obtaining the at least one of the movement speed and the movement mode of the unread message from the display rule based on the source. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 4, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 3, Hwang further teaches wherein the performing of the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction after the unlocked state of the mobile terminal is triggered comprises:
displaying, after the unlocked state of the mobile terminal is triggered, the unread message on the lock screen interface in one of a horizontal layout form and a vertical layout form (Fig. 3A-D, after the unlocked state of the device is triggered, the unread message is displayed in vertical layout form); and
performing the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction (“a message input area for composing a message for transmission.” Paragraph 0079-083).
As to dependent claim 5, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display font and a display colour of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining display fonts and display colours corresponding to messages of applications on the mobile terminal, wherein the messages of different applications correspond to different display fonts and different display colours; and setting the display rule based on the display fonts and the display colours corresponding to the messages of the applications on the mobile terminal.
Gilad teaches object display rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display font and a display colour of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining display fonts and display colours corresponding to messages of applications on the mobile terminal, wherein the messages of different applications correspond to different display fonts and different display colours; and setting the display rule based on the display fonts and the display colours corresponding to the messages of the applications on the mobile terminal. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 6, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Hwang further teaches wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises an avatar of a user who sends the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining avatars of users sending messages to the mobile terminal, wherein users corresponding to different messages correspond to different avatars(Fig. 3A-D, the unread message may include the avatar of the sender).
Hwang does not appear to expressly teach setting the display rule based on the avatars of the users sending the messages.
Gilad teaches “the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise setting the display rule based on the avatars of the users sending the messages. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 7, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining, for each application of applications on the mobile terminal, a usage frequency of the application; determining a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of a message of the application; and setting the display rule based on the display position, the display colour, the movement mode, and the movement speed of the message of the application.
Gilad teaches object display rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise wherein the display mode corresponding to the unread message comprises a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of the unread message, and the method further comprises: obtaining, for each application of applications on the mobile terminal, a usage frequency of the application; determining a display position, a display colour, a movement mode, and a movement speed of a message of the application; and setting the display rule based on the display position, the display colour, the movement mode, and the movement speed of the message of the application. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 8, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 2, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising: obtaining a category of a message on the mobile terminal; determining a display mode corresponding to the category of the message; and setting the display rule based on the display mode.
Gilad teaches obtaining a category of a message on the mobile terminal; determining a display mode corresponding to the category of the message; and setting the display rule based on the display mode (“each message in messages in the group of messages is categorized and arranged in accordance with a dichotomous categorization.” Paragraph 0016).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise obtaining a category of a message on the mobile terminal; determining a display mode corresponding to the category of the message; and setting the display rule based on the display mode. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 9, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising: obtaining a set filtering rule; and filtering the one or more unread messages based on the filtering rule.
Gilad teaches obtaining a set filtering rule; and filtering the one or more unread messages based on the filtering rule (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise obtaining a set filtering rule; and filtering the one or more unread messages based on the filtering rule. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
As to dependent claim 10, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 9, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising: obtaining a source and a category of a message on the mobile terminal; and setting the filtering rule based on the source and category of the message.
Gilad teaches obtaining a source and a category of a message on the mobile terminal; and setting the filtering rule based on the source and category of the message (“the collection of object display rules 114 include system- and user-specified display rules. In some embodiments, system-provided rules are determined by the user interface object displaying system 106 (e.g., default display rules), and user-specified rules are customized (e.g., added, removed, or modified) by a user.” Paragraph 0039).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise obtaining a source and a category of a message on the mobile terminal; and setting the filtering rule based on the source and category of the message. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display.
Claim 20 is substantially the same as claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale as above.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. in view of Yang et al. (US 20190018586 A1, hereinafter Yang).
As to dependent claim 12, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 11, Hwang further teaches wherein the performing of the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction comprises:
obtaining a selected unread message from the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface (“FIGS. 3A to 3D, the processor 120 may control a display (e.g., the display device 160 of FIG. 1) to display a new message notification on the lock screen, and the user input 301, 311, 321, and 331 for the new message notification displayed on the lock screen may be detected;” paragraph 0079);
marking the selected unread message on the lock screen interface as read (the unread message marked read);
displaying, when the selected unread message requires a reply, a reply area on the lock screen interface (“The message application screen may include, for example, at least one identification related to one or more counterpart electronic devices (e.g., phone number or a user name), a display area displaying messages transmitted/received with the at least one counterpart electronic device, and/or a message input area for composing a message for transmission.” Paragraph 0083);
obtaining a reply content in the reply area, and sending the reply content to an application corresponding to the selected unread message (“a message input area for composing a message for transmission.” Paragraph 0083); and
removing the selected unread message from the unread message array (After the user compose a message and transmit, the unread message 301 is removed and no longer displayed on the lock screen).
Hwang does not appear to expressly teach removing the selected unread message from the unread message array.
Yang teaches removing the selected unread message from the unread message array (“in response to detecting user input 5100, or in response to detecting successfully exceeding the predefined distance-based threshold, notification 5098 is cleared or considered to have been read.” Paragraph 0218).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise removing the selected unread message from the unread message array.. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to reduce screen clutter.
As to dependent claim 13, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 11, Hwang further teaches wherein the performing of the corresponding response operation on the unread message on the lock screen interface according to the operation instruction comprises:
obtaining a plurality of selected unread messages from the unread messages on the lock screen interface (“FIGS. 3A to 3D, the processor 120 may control a display (e.g., the display device 160 of FIG. 1) to display a new message notification on the lock screen, and the user input 301, 311, 321, and 331 for the new message notification displayed on the lock screen may be detected;” paragraph 0079);
Hwang does not appear to expressly teach marking the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read; and removing the plurality of selected unread messages from the unread message array.
Yang teaches marking the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read; and removing the plurality of selected unread messages from the unread message array (“FIG. 5NN illustrates display of an exemplary short version notification 5098 displayed while the device is in a locked state and displaying locked-state user interface 5000. FIG. 5OO illustrates an exemplary user input 5100 directed to short version notification 5098. For example, user input 5100 is a leftward drag or swipe gesture detected on short version notification 5098.. as shown in FIG. 5PP. In some embodiments, in response to detecting user input 5100, or in response to detecting successfully exceeding the predefined distance-based threshold, notification 5098 is cleared or considered to have been read.” paragraph 0218, examiner notes this can be done on plurality of unread messages displayed on the lock screen).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise marking the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read; and removing the plurality of selected unread messages from the unread message array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display and reduce screen clutter.
As to dependent claim 14, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 13, Hwang further teaches wherein the marking of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read comprises: marking, in response to a drag operation for dragging the plurality of selected unread messages to an edge of a screen of the mobile terminal, the unread messages corresponding to the drag operation as read.
Yang teaches wherein the marking of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read comprises: marking, in response to a drag operation for dragging the plurality of selected unread messages to an edge of a screen of the mobile terminal, the unread messages corresponding to the drag operation as read (“FIG. 5NN illustrates display of an exemplary short version notification 5098 displayed while the device is in a locked state and displaying locked-state user interface 5000. FIG. 5OO illustrates an exemplary user input 5100 directed to short version notification 5098. For example, user input 5100 is a leftward drag or swipe gesture detected on short version notification 5098.. as shown in FIG. 5PP. In some embodiments, in response to detecting user input 5100, or in response to detecting successfully exceeding the predefined distance-based threshold, notification 5098 is cleared or considered to have been read.” paragraph 0218).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise wherein the marking of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read comprises: marking, in response to a drag operation for dragging the plurality of selected unread messages to an edge of a screen of the mobile terminal, the unread messages corresponding to the drag operation as read. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display and reduce screen clutter.
As to dependent claim 15, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 13, Hwang further teaches wherein the obtaining of the plurality of selected unread messages from the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface comprises:
determining, in response to a click operation on an unread message of the unread messages, the unread message corresponding to the click operation as one of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface (“the processor 120 may detect a user input requesting display of a new message. The user input may include at least one of a single touch input, a double touch input, a long touch input, a press touch input, or a drag input that is applied to the new message notification.” Paragraph 0076).
Hwang does not appear to expressly teach wherein the obtaining of the plurality of selected unread messages from the one or more unread messages on the lock screen interface comprises:
the marking of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read comprises:
marking, in response to a click operation on a close button on the lock screen interface, the selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read.
Yang teaches determining, in response to a click operation on an unread message of the unread messages, the unread message corresponding to the click operation as one of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface (user input 5124 is detected, directed to notification 5122.); and
the marking of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read comprises:
marking, in response to a click operation on a close button on the lock screen interface, the selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read (“clearing a notification marks the event or communication associated with the notification as read or reviewed in an application associated with the notification.” Paragraph 0229).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise determining, in response to a click operation on an unread message of the unread messages, the unread message corresponding to the click operation as one of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface; and the marking of the plurality of selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read comprises: marking, in response to a click operation on a close button on the lock screen interface, the selected unread messages on the lock screen interface as read. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user control over data display and reduce screen clutter.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. in view of Fang (US 20210337061 A1).
AS to dependent claim 16, Hwang teaches the lock screen interface message processing method according to claim 1, Hwang does not appear to expressly teach wherein the obtaining of the one or more unread messages on the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining a luminescence state of a screen of the mobile terminal; and
obtaining, when the luminescence state indicates that the screen is on, the one or more unread messages.
Fang teaches wherein the obtaining of the one or more unread messages on the mobile terminal comprises:
obtaining a luminescence state of a screen of the mobile terminal (“At block S13, the current state of the electronic device is detected. The state may be the screen locked state or the screen unlocked state. In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the current state of the electronic device can be detected by the operating system interface.” Paragraph 00076-0078, this implies lighting state); and
obtaining, when the luminescence state indicates that the screen is on, the one or more unread messages (“at block S12, the message list is configured to be displayed in response to that the electronic device is in the screen locked state, i.e., the message list is displayed on the screen locked interface of the electronic device using screen lock message technology” paragraph 0079)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hwang to comprise obtaining a luminescence state of a screen of the mobile terminal; and obtaining, when the luminescence state indicates that the screen is on, the one or more unread messages. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve message display.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li US 20210152685 A1 teaches when there is an unread notification message, the terminal displays the second lock screen interface in response to the successful authentication on the captured fingerprint information. . In this way, when there is an unread notification message, the second lock screen interface is displayed, to provide an entrance that can quickly visit the unread notification message to the user, so that the lock screen interface displayed by the terminal is closer to a use requirement of the user, thereby improving user experience.
Xie US 20180159809 teaches when there is a notification of unread message displayed on a terminal screen, obtaining a reading operation instruction, where the reading operation instruction includes a position at which a click on the terminal screen is taken place; when the position is located in a first preset area having a fingerprint recognition circuit, receiving fingerprint information on the terminal screen and recognizing fingerprint information received; and when the fingerprint information is determined to be legitimate, opening a reading interface corresponding to the notification of the unread message and displaying the unread message using the reading interface.
Kim US 20150347811 A1 teaches a controller is configured to switch a screen of the touch display unit to a home screen from a lock screen by unlocking the display device, wherein if a notification event is detected when the fingerprint is contacted.
Jueng et al. US 20160299556 A1 when the user applies a long touch input to a notification message 730 of notifying a message received event of a message application, a popup window 740 that shows part of the received message content may be displayed while the long touch input is applied.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171