DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final First Office Action on the Merits in application 18/595,488, filed 3/5/2024.
Claims 1-19 were amended in the preliminary amendment.
The substitute specification filed 3/5/2024 is not entered as no mark-ed up copy was included.
Claims 1-19 are pending and examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Costa Rica on 3/27/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Costa Rican application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the grooves in the upper ends(see claims 12-17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because there are no reference numbers and therefore the specific features of the invention are not clearly defined. Reference numbers should be used in the drawings and correspondingly in the specification to clearly define each of the elements of the invention.
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 21 is not described in the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Fig. 21 is not described in the specification as required by MPEP 608.01(f).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are replete with unclear phrase. Many but not all are listed below as examples. The claims should be amended accordingly.
In claim 1, line 5, “the wings elements” has no antecedent basis and should be changed to “the wing elements”.
In claim 1, line 10,the term “exhibit” renders the metes and bound unclear and should be changed to “has” or “comprises. See claims 3, 5, 8-15 and 17 for similar phrases.
In claim 1, lines 10-11, “lines ranging from the base to the upper ends” renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear as to how the lines interrelate with the base and ends. By changing the phrase to “extending between the base and the upper ends” the rejection would be overcome.
In claim 2, “the flat base … are smooth, and free of grooves” renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear since claim 1 sets forth “the flat base includes at least one groove”. See claim 11 for similar language.
In claim 3, it is not clear how “a transverse” groove interrelates with the groove of claim 1or if they are the same.
In claim 3, it is not clear what is being referred to by “separated from another groove, and so on, covering the … profile” rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear as to how the grooves are interrelate and are located on the side walls.
In claim 3, lines 4-5, “the entire body” has no antecedent basis. See claims 4-10 and 12- 14 for similar language.
In claim 4, line 3, it is not clear if “two grooves” is referring to the grooves of claim 1 or to an additional feature of the claim. See other claims for similar phrases.
In the claims, the terms” and so on on until covering/reaching … the profile renders the metes and bounds of the claim as to what is being defined.
In claim 16, line 2, “the grooves at the upper ends” has no antecedent basis.
In claim 19, the term “manufactured in calibers” is not clear since the term appears to be directed to the thickness of the material used to make the profile and not any dimension of the profile itself. Therefore the metes and bounds of what “calibers” is referring to is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11 are rejected, as nest understood, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maisch(6,381,916; cited on PTO 892).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Maisch.
Maisch discloses a structural profile(10, see Fig. 1) for the formation of mezzanines(the profile is capable of being used as claimed and meets the functional claim limitation), the profile comprising:
a flat base(11) that bends at its ends(at 12, see Fig. 2) to form two wing elements(considered bends); two side walls(13, 13’) are formed on the wing elements(see Fig. 1) the two side walls(13, 13’) upward to form two ends or upper edges(15, 15’, see Fig. 1), which are configured as an inward fold in the shape of an inverted U(the shape of the fold between 15/13 and 15’/13’ is considered an inverted U meeting the claim limitation);
wherein said flat base(11) includes at least one groove(20) in the form of lines(see Fig. 2) that run along a longitudinal direction of the flat base; and
wherein each of said side walls(13, 13’) has grooves(16, 16’, see Figs. 1 and 2) in the form of parallel lines extending between the base(11) and the upper ends(15, 15’) and are spaced apart along said side walls(see Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Maisch discloses the structural profile as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flat base and the ends are smooth, and free of grooves in any direction(portions 13 and 13’ are smooth and free of grooves and considered to meet the claim limitation as best understood).
Regarding claims 3-5, Maisch discloses the structural profile as claimed in claim 1, wherein the side walls include a transverse groove or two or three grooves(considered 1 of grooves 16, 16’) and is separated from another groove(other of grooves 16, 16, see Figs. 1 and 2), and so on, until covering an entire the body of the profile(see Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 6, Maisch discloses the structural profile as claimed in claim 1, wherein both the base(11) and the side walls(13, 13’) include a parallel or transverse type slit(21, 21’ in the base and holes from screws in the side walls, see column 3, lines 48-53), and it is separated from another slit, and so on until it covers the entire body of the profile(see Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6-17 are rejected, as best understood, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisch.
Regarding claim 6, Maisch discloses the structural profile as claimed in claim 1, wherein both the base(11) includes a parallel or transverse type slit(21, 21’), and is separated from another slit, and so on until it covers the entire body of the profile, but the side walls lacks a specific slit.
It would have been well within the purview of a skilled artisan to have provided slits in the side walls in order to have allowed for fasteners to extend therethrough to attach the profile given the intended use of the profile and design requirements thereof.
Regarding claims 7-10, Maisch discloses the structural profile as claim in claim 1, wherein both the base(11) and the side walls(13, 13’) include parallel or transverse grooves together, and are separated from other grooves, and so on until they cover the entire body of the profile(see Fig. 1 and 2), but lacks the specific number and location of the grooves or slits.
Applicant’s disclosure lends no criticality to the specific number and location of the grooves/slits(see at least paras. [00049] and [00054] as well as numerous embodiments).
Therefore, the specific number and location of the grooves or slits is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the profile and design requirements thereof.
Regarding claims 12-17, Maisch discloses the structural profile as claimed in claim 1, Maisch discloses the use of grooves and sits on the base and side walls of the profile, but lack the upper ends having internal grooves that run throughout the entire body of said upper ends.
The use of grooves and slits along the upper end of the profile by duplicating the grooves/slits of the base/walls would have been obvious to a skilled artisan given the intended use of the profile and design requirements thereof, such as for providing more securement of the profile.
Regarding claims 18-10, Maisch discloses the structural profile as claimed in claim 1, but lacks the specific material used for the profile.
Applicant’s disclosure mends no criticality to the specific material used, see para. [0058] where multiple materials are disclosed that are “common to materials used in the mechanical sector”).
Therefore, the specific material used for the profile, and specific size thereof, is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan, through known materials and routine experimentation, given the intended use of the profile and design requirements thereof.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Howchin(2008/0110126) shows grooves in an upper and of side walls of a profile.
BETH A. STEPHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Stephan/