DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
2. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 04/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot.
4. Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been addressed in the new rejection outlined below.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
6. The newly amended features of “if any of the plurality of the vehicles are not connected to the corresponding charger according to the corresponding charging plan, revising and setting the charging plan when the corresponding vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger afterward,” have necessitated a new reference Topon et al. (JP-2018106745-A), which upon review was found to also teach a number of other features of the independent claims and therefore has fully replaced Nishiguchi et al. (JP-2022118575-A) and this reference is no longer relied upon for the rejection of claims 1, 4, 6, and 8-10.
7. Applicant argues the dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of its/their dependency on one of the independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claim(s).
8. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1, 4, and 9-10
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topon et al. (JP-2018106745-A) in view of Fukui et al. (US-20150263541-A1) and further in view of Murai (US-20220158470-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Topon discloses a management apparatus of a charging system that controls charging of a plurality of vehicles that deliver packages, the management apparatus comprising a hardware processor that (See at least [0001 & 0005]: an operation management device [i.e., a management apparatus] and an operation planning method for electric vehicles [i.e., a plurality of vehicles that deliver packages, especially when the vehicle is used for delivering packages]. The method for managing the operation of electric vehicles, which takes into account the charging load of the charging equipment, only applies when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger [i.e., controls charging], and does not take into account electric vehicles that are in operation):
obtains operation plan information including a scheduled departure time of each vehicle, and a target state of charge (SOC) of a battery of each vehicle, the remaining SOC of the battery of each vehicle, and charging parameters related to chargers (See at least [0022 & 0027-0032]: the operational information includes the latest SOC (%) of the battery installed in the EV bus [i.e., the remaining SOC of the battery of each vehicle]. The charging equipment information means 14 stores charging equipment information relating to the charging capacity of charging equipment installed at each charging station [i.e., charging parameters related to chargers], and includes stationary battery information means 141 that stores information on stationary batteries installed at charging stations, and grid power information means 142 that stores information on power available from the grid. The grid power information means 142 stores grid power information regarding energy (electricity) available from the grid and contracted power [i.e., another charging parameters related to chargers]. The plan storage means 15 stores information on the vehicle allocation plan and charging plan formulated by the operation plan formulation means 10. The vehicle allocation plan specifies the allocation of EV buses to each service schedule [i.e., a scheduled departure time of each vehicle], and includes information that identifies each service schedule defined in the basic schedule (node ID, arrival time, departure time, etc.). The charging plan includes a target remaining power amount which is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged [i.e., a target state of charge (SOC) of a battery of each vehicle] at its charging station. Examiner notes, according to paragraph [0069] of Applicant’s specification: “the charging parameters include an available charging start time, charging equipment information, and contracted power.” The combination of the parameters above is the operation plan information);
sets, based on the obtained operation plan information, a charging plan including a charging start time and a charging end time such that charging of each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time (See at least [0032 & 0041-0045]: the charging plan includes a vehicle ID to identify the EV bus, a node ID to identify the charging station where the EV bus will be charged, an estimated arrival time when the EV bus is expected to arrive at the charging station [i.e., a charging start time], an estimated departure time when the EV bus is expected to depart from the charging station [i.e., a charging end time], an estimated remaining energy (kWh) of the EV bus upon arrival at the charging station, and a target remaining energy (kWh) [i.e., such that charging of each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time]. The target remaining power amount is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged at its charging station. The service schedules are connected by linking the arrival and departure points of each service schedule defined in the basic schedule, and one or more candidate solutions for connection methods are created. The operation planning means 10 takes into account the effective capacity and remaining power of the EV bus's battery when allocating an EV bus to each operation schedule. Specifically, each service schedule will be assigned an EV bus capable of charging the required amount of power at a charging station. The operation planning means 10 evaluates the feasibility of charging each candidate solution to which an EV bus is assigned [i.e., sets, based on the obtained operation plan information, a charging plan]);
performs charging of each vehicle in accordance with the charging plan (See at least Fig. 1, and [0032 & 0040-0046]: the charging plan includes a vehicle ID to identify the EV bus, a node ID to identify the charging station where the EV bus will be charged, an estimated arrival time when the EV bus is expected to arrive at the charging station, an estimated departure time when the EV bus is expected to depart from the charging station, an estimated remaining energy (kWh) of the EV bus upon arrival at the charging station, and a target remaining energy (kWh). The target remaining power amount is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged at its charging station. A table representing the charging plan is called a charging list. An allocation list of available EVs can be created by utilizing the existing vehicle allocation list (vehicle allocation plan) and charging list (charging plan). For charging stations that have been determined to be able to charge, the amount of power to be charged at those charging stations is calculated, and a charging list is created. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the vehicles are assigned to a charging station and when the vehicle arrives, charging of the vehicle is performed in accordance to the plan defined by the charging list) ; and
receives, from each vehicle, information regarding connection with the corresponding charger and monitors whether each vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger in accordance with the corresponding charging plan, and, if any of the plurality of the vehicles are not connected to the corresponding charger according to the corresponding charging plan, revising and setting the charging plan when the corresponding vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger afterward (See at least Fig. 1, and [0005 & 0034 & 0168]: the method for managing the operation of electric vehicles takes into account the charging load of the charging equipment, when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger [i.e., receives, from each vehicle, information regarding connection with the corresponding charger and monitors whether each vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger in accordance with the corresponding charging plan, especially when the vehicle is connected to the charger to perform charging according to its charging plan]. The replanning request means 17 notifies the replanning determination means 16 of a replanning request to initiate a determination of replanning. The replanning request means 17 detects changes in dynamic factors, such as changes in the energy available at charging stations, and notifies a replanning request. The replanning request means 17 is provided independently, or the vehicle information means 12, route information means 13, and charging equipment information means 14 function as the replanning request means 17. If the vehicle information means 12 functions as a rescheduling request means 17, the vehicle information means 12 notifies a rescheduling request based on delay information and remaining power of the EV bus in operation. Furthermore, if the route information means 13 functions as a replanning request means 17, the route information means 13 only needs to detect changes in fuel consumption and travel time between stopping positions and notify a replanning request. Furthermore, if the charging equipment information means 14 functions as a rescheduling request means 17, the charging equipment information means 14 only needs to detect changes in the energy available at the charging station or the remaining power of the stationary battery and notify a rescheduling request. If the operation plan needs to be revised, the number of EV buses that are allocated changes by shifting the arrival and departure times of the schedule, making it possible to create a new operation plan [i.e., revising and setting the charging plan when the corresponding vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger afterward, especially when the replanning request is issued after the vehicle being connected to the assigned charger]. Examiner notes, taking into account the charging load of the charging equipment, when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger means the vehicles are monitored and the management systems receives notification about each vehicle being connected to a charger);
Topon is silent on wherein the charging plan for each vehicle is set in accordance with a setting mode selected from a plurality of setting modes including: (i) a fastest charging mode, (ii) a low-voltage charging mode, and (iii) a variation suppression mode;
wherein (i) the fastest charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so that all the vehicles reach the respective target SOCs in the shortest overall time;
wherein (ii) the low-voltage charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs: and
wherein (iii) the variation suppression mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant.
However, Fukui teaches a battery charging management system for an automated guided vehicle. It is determined whether or not the power setting of the equipment-side control device 2 is set to the off-peak setting (OFF-PEAK ON) (a step S3). If the power setting is set to the off-peak setting (OFF-PEAK ON), it is determined whether or not the current time corresponds to a peak time period (a step S4). If it is determined that the off-peak setting is set (OFF-PEAK ON), and the current time corresponds to the peak time period, the process advances to a step S5 so that the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA is set to a lower setting voltage (e.g., 23.0 V) [i.e., the low-voltage charging mode]. If it is determined that the off-peak setting is not set (OFF-PEAK OFF), or the current time does not correspond to the peak time period, the process advances to a step S6, so that the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA is set to a normal setting voltage (e.g., 24.9 V) [i.e., wherein (i) the fastest charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so that all the vehicles reach the respective target SOCs in the shortest overall time]. the battery voltage of the automated guided vehicle 1 is obtained by communicating with the communication part 13 of the automated guided vehicle 1 (a step S7), and it is determined whether or not this battery voltage exceeds the set charging needlessness threshold voltage VA (a step S8). When the battery voltage is lower than the set charging needlessness threshold voltage VA, the charging operation starts (a step S9). If the battery voltage exceeds the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA, the charging operation is terminated (a step S12). Specifically, the charging operation is interrupted by deactivating the DC power supply 21, and the connection with the receiving contactor 13 of the automated guided vehicle 1 side is released by contracting the feeding contactor 23. Then, the charging station CS waits for arrival of the next automated guided vehicle 1 (a step S14.fwdarw.S1). As the next automated guided vehicle 1 arrives, the control sequence (the steps S1 to S13) described above is repeated. Since the set charging needlessness threshold voltage is lowered during the particularly set time period, it is possible to suppress the charging operation of the battery LB from the battery charger 3 by sufficiently operating a battery charging capability of the battery LB during a particular time period, thereby suppressing power consumption [i.e., in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs] (See at least Figs. 1-7, and [00014 & 0037-0043 & 0053]). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, lowering the charging voltage suppresses the power consumption. Lowering the charging voltage for all the vehicles that are being charged in the charging station necessarily minimizes the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs. Furthermore, by setting the charging voltage to the normal voltage outside of the peak time, all the vehicles will be charged in the shortest overall time period. As such, Fukui teaches the fastest charging mode and the low-voltage charging modes.
Further, Murai teaches avoiding a variation in the state of charge to level the state of charge. This could increase the state of charge of the electric vehicle EV1 having the smallest start-time SOC at the start time from about 50% to near 90%. The third embodiment thus could suitably share the differential electric power (ΔP) depending on the demands of the users (the leaving time) while leveling the state of charge of the respective electric vehicles [i.e., wherein (iii) the variation suppression mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant]. The charging station 51 uses any charging mode, which includes normal charging (output: single-phase 100V/200V AC) or quick charging (output: maximum 500V DC) (See at least Fig. 16, and [0184 & 0309]). Examiner notes, avoiding a variation in the state of charge is variation suppression mode. Leveling the state of charge of the respective electric vehicles is minimizing the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant. Murai also teaches quick charging mode which is the equivalent to the fastest charging mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Topon, by incorporating the teachings of Fukui and Murai, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – charging systems, such that the operation management device of Topon uses multiple charging modes and creates the charging plans by setting the charging mode for all the vehicles to one of the charging modes, including the normal mode of Fukui, or the quick charging mode of Murai, to ensure all the vehicle reach their target state of charge in the shortest overall time, the low-voltage charging mode of Fukui to suppress power consumption, which minimizes the total instantaneous charging power, and avoiding variation in the state of charge mode of Murai for leveling the state of charge of the electric vehicles.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Fukui, to suppress power consumption at a particular predetermined time ([0003]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows to balance the load on the grid during peak hours.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Murai, to share the electric power depending on the demand of the user of the respective power storage elements while leveling the state of charge of the respective power storage elements ([0007]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized keeps the owner of the vehicles more satisfied with the charging service.
In regard to claim 4
, Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, teaches the management apparatus of the charging system according to Claim 1,
wherein the hardware processor detects that a total power supplied to the plurality of vehicles in unit time exceeds a threshold (See at least [0036 & 0206]: The main memory unit 115, under the control of the CPU 111 [i.e., the hardware processor], unpacks the control program stored in the external memory unit 116 and stores the data necessary for the execution of the program, the data generated by the execution of the program, and so on. It is determined whether the power used to charge the EV bus at the charging station exceeds the contracted power [i.e., a total power supplied to the plurality of vehicles in unit time exceeds a threshold], that is, whether there is a power deviation from the contract. Examiner notes, the program is executed by a CPU which is the hardware processor).
In regard to claim 9
, Topon discloses a charging method that controls charging of a plurality of vehicles that deliver packages, the charging method comprising (See at least [0001 & 0005]: an operation management device and an operation planning method [i.e., a … method] for electric vehicles [i.e., a plurality of vehicles that deliver packages, especially when the vehicle is used for delivering packages]. The method for managing the operation of electric vehicles, which takes into account the charging load of the charging equipment, only applies when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger [i.e., controls charging], and does not take into account electric vehicles that are in operation):
obtaining operation plan information including a scheduled departure time of each vehicle and a target state of charge (SOC) of a battery of each vehicle, the remaining SOC of the battery of each vehicle, and charging parameters related to chargers (See at least [0022 & 0027-0032]: the operational information includes the latest SOC (%) of the battery installed in the EV bus [i.e., the remaining SOC of the battery of each vehicle]. The charging equipment information means 14 stores charging equipment information relating to the charging capacity of charging equipment installed at each charging station [i.e., charging parameters related to chargers], and includes stationary battery information means 141 that stores information on stationary batteries installed at charging stations, and grid power information means 142 that stores information on power available from the grid. The grid power information means 142 stores grid power information regarding energy (electricity) available from the grid and contracted power [i.e., another charging parameters related to chargers]. The plan storage means 15 stores information on the vehicle allocation plan and charging plan formulated by the operation plan formulation means 10. The vehicle allocation plan specifies the allocation of EV buses to each service schedule [i.e., a scheduled departure time of each vehicle], and includes information that identifies each service schedule defined in the basic schedule (node ID, arrival time, departure time, etc.). The charging plan includes a target remaining power amount which is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged [i.e., a target state of charge (SOC) of a battery of each vehicle] at its charging station. Examiner notes, according to paragraph [0069] of Applicant’s specification: “the charging parameters include an available charging start time, charging equipment information, and contracted power.” The combination of the parameters above is the operation plan information);
setting, based on the obtained operation plan information, a charging plan including a charging start time and a charging end time such that charging of each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time (See at least [0032 & 0041-0045]: the charging plan includes a vehicle ID to identify the EV bus, a node ID to identify the charging station where the EV bus will be charged, an estimated arrival time when the EV bus is expected to arrive at the charging station [i.e., a charging start time], an estimated departure time when the EV bus is expected to depart from the charging station [i.e., a charging end time], an estimated remaining energy (kWh) of the EV bus upon arrival at the charging station, and a target remaining energy (kWh) [i.e., such that charging of each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time]. The target remaining power amount is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged at its charging station. The service schedules are connected by linking the arrival and departure points of each service schedule defined in the basic schedule, and one or more candidate solutions for connection methods are created. The operation planning means 10 takes into account the effective capacity and remaining power of the EV bus's battery when allocating an EV bus to each operation schedule. Specifically, each service schedule will be assigned an EV bus capable of charging the required amount of power at a charging station. The operation planning means 10 evaluates the feasibility of charging each candidate solution to which an EV bus is assigned [i.e., setting, based on the obtained operation plan information, a charging plan]);
performing charging of each vehicle in accordance with the charging plan (See at least Fig. 1, and [0032 & 0040-0046]: the charging plan includes a vehicle ID to identify the EV bus, a node ID to identify the charging station where the EV bus will be charged, an estimated arrival time when the EV bus is expected to arrive at the charging station, an estimated departure time when the EV bus is expected to depart from the charging station, an estimated remaining energy (kWh) of the EV bus upon arrival at the charging station, and a target remaining energy (kWh). The target remaining power amount is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged at its charging station. A table representing the charging plan is called a charging list. An allocation list of available EVs can be created by utilizing the existing vehicle allocation list (vehicle allocation plan) and charging list (charging plan). For charging stations that have been determined to be able to charge, the amount of power to be charged at those charging stations is calculated, and a charging list is created. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the vehicles are assigned to a charging station and when the vehicle arrives, charging of the vehicle is performed in accordance to the plan defined by the charging list); and
receiving, from each vehicle, information regarding connection with the corresponding charger, and monitoring whether each vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger in accordance with the corresponding charging plan, and, if any of the plurality of the vehicles are not connected to the corresponding charger according to the corresponding charging plan, revising and setting the charging plan when the corresponding vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger afterward (See at least Fig. 1, and [0005 & 0034 & 0168]: the method for managing the operation of electric vehicles takes into account the charging load of the charging equipment, when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger [i.e., receiving, from each vehicle, information regarding connection with the corresponding charger, and monitoring whether each vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger in accordance with the corresponding charging plan, especially when the vehicle is connected to the charger to perform charging according to its charging plan]. The replanning request means 17 notifies the replanning determination means 16 of a replanning request to initiate a determination of replanning. The replanning request means 17 detects changes in dynamic factors, such as changes in the energy available at charging stations, and notifies a replanning request. The replanning request means 17 is provided independently, or the vehicle information means 12, route information means 13, and charging equipment information means 14 function as the replanning request means 17. If the vehicle information means 12 functions as a rescheduling request means 17, the vehicle information means 12 notifies a rescheduling request based on delay information and remaining power of the EV bus in operation. Furthermore, if the route information means 13 functions as a replanning request means 17, the route information means 13 only needs to detect changes in fuel consumption and travel time between stopping positions and notify a replanning request. Furthermore, if the charging equipment information means 14 functions as a rescheduling request means 17, the charging equipment information means 14 only needs to detect changes in the energy available at the charging station or the remaining power of the stationary battery and notify a rescheduling request. If the operation plan needs to be revised, the number of EV buses that are allocated changes by shifting the arrival and departure times of the schedule, making it possible to create a new operation plan [i.e., revising and setting the charging plan when the corresponding vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger afterward, especially when the replanning request is issued after the vehicle being connected to the assigned charger]. Examiner notes, taking into account the charging load of the charging equipment, when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger means the vehicles are monitored and the management systems receives notification about each vehicle being connected to a charger);
Topon is silent on wherein the charging plan for each vehicle is set in accordance with a setting mode selected from a plurality of setting modes including: (i) a fastest charging mode, (ii) a low-voltage charging mode, and (iii) a variation suppression mode;
wherein (i) the fastest charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so that all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs in the shortest overall time;
wherein (ii) the low-voltage charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs; and
wherein (iii) the variation suppression mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant.
However, Fukui teaches a battery charging management system for an automated guided vehicle. It is determined whether or not the power setting of the equipment-side control device 2 is set to the off-peak setting (OFF-PEAK ON) (a step S3). If the power setting is set to the off-peak setting (OFF-PEAK ON), it is determined whether or not the current time corresponds to a peak time period (a step S4). If it is determined that the off-peak setting is set (OFF-PEAK ON), and the current time corresponds to the peak time period, the process advances to a step S5 so that the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA is set to a lower setting voltage (e.g., 23.0 V) [i.e., the low-voltage charging mode]. If it is determined that the off-peak setting is not set (OFF-PEAK OFF), or the current time does not correspond to the peak time period, the process advances to a step S6, so that the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA is set to a normal setting voltage (e.g., 24.9 V) [i.e., wherein (i) the fastest charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so that all the vehicles reach the respective target SOCs in the shortest overall time]. the battery voltage of the automated guided vehicle 1 is obtained by communicating with the communication part 13 of the automated guided vehicle 1 (a step S7), and it is determined whether or not this battery voltage exceeds the set charging needlessness threshold voltage VA (a step S8). When the battery voltage is lower than the set charging needlessness threshold voltage VA, the charging operation starts (a step S9). If the battery voltage exceeds the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA, the charging operation is terminated (a step S12). Specifically, the charging operation is interrupted by deactivating the DC power supply 21, and the connection with the receiving contactor 13 of the automated guided vehicle 1 side is released by contracting the feeding contactor 23. Then, the charging station CS waits for arrival of the next automated guided vehicle 1 (a step S14.fwdarw.S1). As the next automated guided vehicle 1 arrives, the control sequence (the steps S1 to S13) described above is repeated. Since the set charging needlessness threshold voltage is lowered during the particularly set time period, it is possible to suppress the charging operation of the battery LB from the battery charger 3 by sufficiently operating a battery charging capability of the battery LB during a particular time period, thereby suppressing power consumption [i.e., in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs] (See at least Figs. 1-7, and [00014 & 0037-0043 & 0053]). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, lowering the charging voltage suppresses the power consumption. Lowering the charging voltage for all the vehicles that are being charged in the charging station necessarily minimizes the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs. Furthermore, by setting the charging voltage to the normal voltage outside of the peak time, all the vehicles will be charged in the shortest overall time period. As such, Fukui teaches the fastest charging mode and the low-voltage charging modes.
Further, Murai teaches avoiding a variation in the state of charge to level the state of charge. This could increase the state of charge of the electric vehicle EV1 having the smallest start-time SOC at the start time from about 50% to near 90%. The third embodiment thus could suitably share the differential electric power (ΔP) depending on the demands of the users (the leaving time) while leveling the state of charge of the respective electric vehicles [i.e., wherein (iii) the variation suppression mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant]. The charging station 51 uses any charging mode, which includes normal charging (output: single-phase 100V/200V AC) or quick charging (output: maximum 500V DC) (See at least Fig. 16, and [0184 & 0309]). Examiner notes, avoiding a variation in the state of charge is variation suppression mode. Leveling the state of charge of the respective electric vehicles is minimizing the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant. Murai also teaches quick charging mode which is the equivalent to the fastest charging mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Topon, by incorporating the teachings of Fukui and Murai, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – charging systems, such that the operation management device of Topon uses multiple charging modes and creates the charging plans by setting the charging mode for all the vehicles to one of the charging modes, including the normal mode of Fukui, or the quick charging mode of Murai, to ensure all the vehicle reach their target state of charge in the shortest overall time, the low-voltage charging mode of Fukui to suppress power consumption, which minimizes the total instantaneous charging power, and avoiding variation in the state of charge mode of Murai for leveling the state of charge of the electric vehicles.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Fukui in regard to claim 1.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Murai in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 10
, Topon discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a program causing a computer to perform a process that controls charging of a plurality of vehicles that deliver packages, the process comprising (See at least Fig. 11, and [0001 & 0005 & 0035-0036]: an operation management device and an operation planning method for electric vehicles [i.e., a plurality of vehicles that deliver packages, especially when the vehicle is used for delivering packages]. The method for managing the operation of electric vehicles, which takes into account the charging load of the charging equipment, only applies when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger [i.e., controls charging], and does not take into account electric vehicles that are in operation. This operation management system is implemented by using a computer as the basic hardware. The computer device comprises a CPU 111, an input unit 112, a display unit 113, a communication unit 114, a main memory unit 115, and an external memory unit 116 [i.e., a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium], which are connected to each other via a bus 117 so that they can communicate with one another. The main memory unit 115, under the control of the CPU 111, unpacks the control program stored in the external memory unit 116 [i.e., storing therein a program causing a computer to perform a process] and stores the data necessary for the execution of the program, the data generated by the execution of the program, and so on):
obtaining operation plan information including a scheduled departure time of each vehicle and a target state of charge (SOC) of a battery of each vehicle, the remaining SOC of the battery of each vehicle, and charging parameters related to chargers (See at least [0022 & 0027-0032]: the operational information includes the latest SOC (%) of the battery installed in the EV bus [i.e., the remaining SOC of the battery of each vehicle]. The charging equipment information means 14 stores charging equipment information relating to the charging capacity of charging equipment installed at each charging station [i.e., charging parameters related to chargers], and includes stationary battery information means 141 that stores information on stationary batteries installed at charging stations, and grid power information means 142 that stores information on power available from the grid. The grid power information means 142 stores grid power information regarding energy (electricity) available from the grid and contracted power [i.e., another charging parameters related to chargers]. The plan storage means 15 stores information on the vehicle allocation plan and charging plan formulated by the operation plan formulation means 10. The vehicle allocation plan specifies the allocation of EV buses to each service schedule [i.e., a scheduled departure time of each vehicle], and includes information that identifies each service schedule defined in the basic schedule (node ID, arrival time, departure time, etc.). The charging plan includes a target remaining power amount which is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged [i.e., a target state of charge (SOC) of a battery of each vehicle] at its charging station. Examiner notes, according to paragraph [0069] of Applicant’s specification: “the charging parameters include an available charging start time, charging equipment information, and contracted power.” The combination of the parameters above is the operation plan information);
setting, based on the obtained operation plan information, a charging plan including a charging start time and a charging end time such that charging of each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time (See at least [0032 & 0041-0045]: the charging plan includes a vehicle ID to identify the EV bus, a node ID to identify the charging station where the EV bus will be charged, an estimated arrival time when the EV bus is expected to arrive at the charging station [i.e., a charging start time], an estimated departure time when the EV bus is expected to depart from the charging station [i.e., a charging end time], an estimated remaining energy (kWh) of the EV bus upon arrival at the charging station, and a target remaining energy (kWh) [i.e., such that charging of each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time]. The target remaining power amount is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged at its charging station. The service schedules are connected by linking the arrival and departure points of each service schedule defined in the basic schedule, and one or more candidate solutions for connection methods are created. The operation planning means 10 takes into account the effective capacity and remaining power of the EV bus's battery when allocating an EV bus to each operation schedule. Specifically, each service schedule will be assigned an EV bus capable of charging the required amount of power at a charging station. The operation planning means 10 evaluates the feasibility of charging each candidate solution to which an EV bus is assigned [i.e., setting, based on the obtained operation plan information, a charging plan]);
performing charging of each vehicle in accordance with the charging plan (See at least Fig. 1, and [0032 & 0040-0046]: the charging plan includes a vehicle ID to identify the EV bus, a node ID to identify the charging station where the EV bus will be charged, an estimated arrival time when the EV bus is expected to arrive at the charging station, an estimated departure time when the EV bus is expected to depart from the charging station, an estimated remaining energy (kWh) of the EV bus upon arrival at the charging station, and a target remaining energy (kWh). The target remaining power amount is the target value for the amount of remaining power an EV bus will have after being charged at its charging station. A table representing the charging plan is called a charging list. An allocation list of available EVs can be created by utilizing the existing vehicle allocation list (vehicle allocation plan) and charging list (charging plan). For charging stations that have been determined to be able to charge, the amount of power to be charged at those charging stations is calculated, and a charging list is created. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the vehicles are assigned to a charging station and when the vehicle arrives, charging of the vehicle is performed in accordance to the plan defined by the charging list); and
receiving, from each vehicle, information regarding connection with the corresponding charger, and monitoring whether each vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger in accordance with the corresponding charging plan, and if any of the plurality of the vehicles are not connected to the corresponding charger according to the corresponding charging plan, revising and setting the charging plan when the corresponding vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger afterward (See at least Fig. 1, and [0005 & 0034 & 0168]: the method for managing the operation of electric vehicles takes into account the charging load of the charging equipment, when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger [i.e., receiving, from each vehicle, information regarding connection with the corresponding charger, and monitoring whether each vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger in accordance with the corresponding charging plan, especially when the vehicle is connected to the charger to perform charging according to its charging plan]. The replanning request means 17 notifies the replanning determination means 16 of a replanning request to initiate a determination of replanning. The replanning request means 17 detects changes in dynamic factors, such as changes in the energy available at charging stations, and notifies a replanning request. The replanning request means 17 is provided independently, or the vehicle information means 12, route information means 13, and charging equipment information means 14 function as the replanning request means 17. If the vehicle information means 12 functions as a rescheduling request means 17, the vehicle information means 12 notifies a rescheduling request based on delay information and remaining power of the EV bus in operation. Furthermore, if the route information means 13 functions as a replanning request means 17, the route information means 13 only needs to detect changes in fuel consumption and travel time between stopping positions and notify a replanning request. Furthermore, if the charging equipment information means 14 functions as a rescheduling request means 17, the charging equipment information means 14 only needs to detect changes in the energy available at the charging station or the remaining power of the stationary battery and notify a rescheduling request. If the operation plan needs to be revised, the number of EV buses that are allocated changes by shifting the arrival and departure times of the schedule, making it possible to create a new operation plan [i.e., revising and setting the charging plan when the corresponding vehicle is connected to the corresponding charger afterward, especially when the replanning request is issued after the vehicle being connected to the assigned charger]. Examiner notes, taking into account the charging load of the charging equipment, when each electric vehicle under management is connected to a charger means the vehicles are monitored and the management systems receives notification about each vehicle being connected to a charger);
Topon is silent on wherein the charging plan for each vehicle is set in accordance with a setting mode selected from a plurality of setting modes including: (i) a fastest charging mode, (ii) a low-voltage charging mode, and (iii) a variation suppression mode;
wherein (i) the fastest charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so that all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs in the shortest overall time:
wherein (ii) the low-voltage charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs; and
wherein (iii) the variation suppression mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant.
However, Fukui teaches a battery charging management system for an automated guided vehicle. It is determined whether or not the power setting of the equipment-side control device 2 is set to the off-peak setting (OFF-PEAK ON) (a step S3). If the power setting is set to the off-peak setting (OFF-PEAK ON), it is determined whether or not the current time corresponds to a peak time period (a step S4). If it is determined that the off-peak setting is set (OFF-PEAK ON), and the current time corresponds to the peak time period, the process advances to a step S5 so that the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA is set to a lower setting voltage (e.g., 23.0 V) [i.e., the low-voltage charging mode]. If it is determined that the off-peak setting is not set (OFF-PEAK OFF), or the current time does not correspond to the peak time period, the process advances to a step S6, so that the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA is set to a normal setting voltage (e.g., 24.9 V) [i.e., wherein (i) the fastest charging mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so that all the vehicles reach the respective target SOCs in the shortest overall time]. the battery voltage of the automated guided vehicle 1 is obtained by communicating with the communication part 13 of the automated guided vehicle 1 (a step S7), and it is determined whether or not this battery voltage exceeds the set charging needlessness threshold voltage VA (a step S8). When the battery voltage is lower than the set charging needlessness threshold voltage VA, the charging operation starts (a step S9). If the battery voltage exceeds the charging needlessness threshold voltage VA, the charging operation is terminated (a step S12). Specifically, the charging operation is interrupted by deactivating the DC power supply 21, and the connection with the receiving contactor 13 of the automated guided vehicle 1 side is released by contracting the feeding contactor 23. Then, the charging station CS waits for arrival of the next automated guided vehicle 1 (a step S14.fwdarw.S1). As the next automated guided vehicle 1 arrives, the control sequence (the steps S1 to S13) described above is repeated. Since the set charging needlessness threshold voltage is lowered during the particularly set time period, it is possible to suppress the charging operation of the battery LB from the battery charger 3 by sufficiently operating a battery charging capability of the battery LB during a particular time period, thereby suppressing power consumption [i.e., in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs] (See at least Figs. 1-7, and [00014 & 0037-0043 & 0053]). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, lowering the charging voltage suppresses the power consumption. Lowering the charging voltage for all the vehicles that are being charged in the charging station necessarily minimizes the total instantaneous charging power at any time during the period until all the vehicles reach their respective target SOCs. Furthermore, by setting the charging voltage to the normal voltage outside of the peak time, all the vehicles will be charged in the shortest overall time period. As such, Fukui teaches the fastest charging mode and the low-voltage charging modes.
Further, Murai teaches avoiding a variation in the state of charge to level the state of charge. This could increase the state of charge of the electric vehicle EV1 having the smallest start-time SOC at the start time from about 50% to near 90%. The third embodiment thus could suitably share the differential electric power (ΔP) depending on the demands of the users (the leaving time) while leveling the state of charge of the respective electric vehicles [i.e., wherein (iii) the variation suppression mode is a mode in which the charging plan is set so as to minimize the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant]. The charging station 51 uses any charging mode, which includes normal charging (output: single-phase 100V/200V AC) or quick charging (output: maximum 500V DC) (See at least Fig. 16, and [0184 & 0309]). Examiner notes, avoiding a variation in the state of charge is variation suppression mode. Leveling the state of charge of the respective electric vehicles is minimizing the variation in remaining SOC among the vehicles at each time instant. Murai also teaches quick charging mode which is the equivalent to the fastest charging mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify/combine the invention of Topon, by incorporating the teachings of Fukui and Murai, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – charging systems, such that the operation management device of Topon uses multiple charging modes and creates the charging plans by setting the charging mode for all the vehicles to one of the charging modes, including the normal mode of Fukui, or the quick charging mode of Murai, to ensure all the vehicle reach their target state of charge in the shortest overall time, the low-voltage charging mode of Fukui to suppress power consumption, which minimizes the total instantaneous charging power, and avoiding variation in the state of charge mode of Murai for leveling the state of charge of the electric vehicles.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Fukui in regard to claim 1.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Murai in regard to claim 1.
11. Claim(s) 5, and 7
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topon et al. (JP-2018106745-A) in view of Fukui et al. (US-20150263541-A1) and further in view of Murai (US-20220158470-A1) and further in view of Nishiguchi et al. (JP-2022118575-A).
In regard to claim 5
, Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, teaches the management apparatus of the charging system according to Claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, is silent on wherein the hardware processor obtains a time for preparation work for each vehicle and sets the charging plan such that the preparation work for each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time.
However, Nishiguchi teaches the plan creation unit 13 assigns a charger 42 and a charging time to each vehicle 5 so that the charging time of each vehicle 5 is not concentrated in one time slot. The plan creation unit 13 assigns a charger 42 and a charging time to each vehicle 5 using the return time of the vehicle 5 on that day and the operation plan for the next day. At this time, the plan creation unit 13 assigns a charging time to each vehicle 5 so that each vehicle 5 is charged between the return time and the time when the vehicle 5 is in time for its first operation on the following day. The operation plan for the next day is the scheduled departure time (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0044-0045]). Examiner notes, Applicants’ specification has not provided a concise definition for preparation work. In the relevant paragraph [0181], the specification mentions: “In addition, in charging system CS according to the present embodiment, the setting section obtains a time for preparation work for each of the plurality of vehicles and sets a charging plan such that the preparation work for the plurality of vehicles is completed by scheduled departure times of the plurality of vehicles. As a result, since the work time is a major component of operation plan information, a charging plan can be accurately set on the basis of the work time.” As such, the preparation work is considered to be the time that is required for assigning a charger and the charging time of the vehicle. As mentioned above, the vehicles are charged before its first operation on the following day. That is, the preparation work for the plurality of vehicles is completed by the scheduled departure time
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, by incorporating the teachings of Nishiguchi, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – charging systems, such that the vehicles are charged before their first operation on the following day.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Nishiguchi, to improve accuracy of a charge plan (See at least [0006]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to be charge and ready on time.
In regard to claim 7
, Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, teaches the charging system according to Claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, is silent on a terminal apparatus, the terminal apparatus comprising:
a terminal-side hardware processor that receives input of the operation plan information from a user and transmits the operation plan information to the management apparatus.
However, Nishiguchi teaches the operation plan is information indicating the time when each vehicle 5 is operated, and is received by the EMS 10 [i.e., a terminal apparatus ] from another device via the communication unit 11, or an input by the user [i.e., receives input of the operation plan information from a user]. The charging/discharging plan is a charging/discharging plan for the entire charging system 1 [i.e., the management apparatus] including the charging plan for the vehicle 5 , and is created by the plan creation unit 13 (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0022-0023 & 0044-0045]). Examiner notes, as illustrated by Fig. 1, EMS 10 is computer or server, which is the terminal side processor. Furthermore, as mentioned above, EMS 10 creates the charging/discharging plan for the entire charging system 1. The charging system 1 must necessarily receive the charging/discharging plan to be able to operate. The plan creation unit 13, which creates the charging/discharging plan, is a subsystem of EMS 10. That means, EMS 10, or the terminal side hardware, transmits the operation plan information to the management apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, by incorporating the teachings of Nishiguchi, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – charging systems, such that a terminal is used to receive input from a user and then creates a charging plan and transmit the plan to the charging management system.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Nishiguchi in regard to claim 5.
12. Claim(s) 6
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topon et al. (JP-2018106745-A) in view of Fukui et al. (US-20150263541-A1) and further in view of Murai (US-20220158470-A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US-20180170202-A1).
In regard to claim 6
, Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, teaches the management apparatus of the charging system according to Claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, is silent on wherein the hardware processor sets the charging plan in accordance with a number, weight, or type of a package or packages, a skill level of a driver, a type of house in a delivery area, or the presence or absence of a fixture.
However, Kim teaches the electric vehicle further includes an air conditioner configured to be operated upon receiving power from the battery; and the server determines whether the air conditioner needs to operate in advance on the basis of the event information, calculate the amount of additional power used in the air conditioner [i.e., a fixture], and change the charging start time on the basis of the power amount [i.e., sets the charging plan in accordance with a number, weight, or type of a package or packages, a skill level of a driver, a type of house in a delivery area, or the presence or absence of a fixture] (See at least [0022]). Examiner notes, according to paragraph [0041] of Applicant’s specification: “The target level of charge also increases as power used by a fixture increases. When the outside temperature is lower or higher than a certain temperature range, power consumption of an air conditioner increases, resulting in a larger target level of charge.” Accordingly, an air conditioner was interpreted as a fixture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, by incorporating the teachings of Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – charging systems, such that the charging time of the vehicle, which is an element of the charging plan, is set based on the presence of a fixture, such as an air conditioner.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Kim, to efficiently use electricity by changing a time needed for battery charging, and drive an air conditioner of the vehicle in preparation for a weather situation such as intense cold or intense heat, thereby increasing user convenience and safety of a vehicle driver who rides in the vehicle (See at least [0008]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to be ready on time while ensuring there is enough charge for operating the air conditioner.
13. Claim(s) 8
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topon et al. (JP-2018106745-A) in view of Fukui et al. (US-20150263541-A1) and further in view of Murai (US-20220158470-A1) and further in view of Seo et al. (KR-20140118364-A).
In regard to claim 8
, Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, teaches a vehicle connectable to the charging system according to Claim 1, the vehicle comprising (See at least [0010]: the operation management system [i.e., charging system according to Claim] controls multiple registered electric vehicles [i.e., a vehicle connectable to the charging system] to operate according to a predetermined schedule):
a display that displays a percentage of a charge amount with respect to a full charge or a percentage of the charge amount with respect to the corresponding target SOC.
Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, is silent on a display that displays a percentage of a charge amount with respect to a full charge or a percentage of the charge amount with respect to the corresponding target SOC.
However, Seo teaches an apparatus and method for managing a charge of an electric vehicle, and more particularly, a display apparatus provided with a display installed adjacent to a charging port of an electric vehicle. The battery remaining amount information represented by the percentage of full charge is enlarged and displayed in an appropriate area such as the left side of the display 110, and an appropriate area such as the right side of the display 110 (See at least Figs. 1, 2(a)-2(b), and p. 2 & 4). Examiner notes, Figs. 2(a) and 2(b) show the percentage of a charge amount with respect to a full charge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the invention of Topon, as modified by Fukui and Murai, by incorporating the teachings of Seo, with a reasonable expectation of success, as all inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – charging management, such that the display shows the remaining percentage to the target state of charge.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Seo, controlling charging operation of the electric vehicle according to a charging condition input by a user (p. 2) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the user to be have an overview of the charging operation and plan accordingly.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
King et al. (US-20140277869-A1) teaches a method and a system for controlling an electric vehicle while connected to an external power source.
Kobayashi et al. (US-20120161692-A1) teaches a charging control system.
Yumita et al. (US-20240190284-A1) teaches a management apparatus that manages charging of electrified vehicles with at least one charger.
/P.J.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661