DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
After further review and consideration, it has been determined that claims 21-25, 34-35, and 47-42 do not include allowable subject matter, and have been rejected as set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner is interpreting “clock spring” as a spring, formed of a ribbon, spirally wound in a plane, such that one leg of the spring is disposed radially inward of the spiral wound body, and that the other leg is disposed radially outward from the spiral wound body.
For example, see US 10422163 B1, US 20100257786 A1, and US 1493307 A.
Double Patenting
The previous double patenting rejections have been overcome by the present amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections have been overcome by the present amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23, 26, 28, 32, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fisher US 20050115348 A1 (hereinafter Fisher).
In regards to claim 21, Fisher teaches an apparatus, comprising: a spring cage (see fig 4) comprising a housing (116) and a clock spring (150 and 152) mounted in the housing, wherein the clock spring comprises a first leg (140), a second leg (154), and a spiral-wound body portion between the first leg and the second leg (body of 150 and/or 152, see fig 4); and a spindle (15, note fig 1) extending from the spring cage (towards 12), wherein the spindle is rotatable from a home position (neutral position note para 140) in each of a first rotational direction and a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (paras 60 and 63); wherein rotation of the spindle from the home position in the first rotational direction causes movement of the first leg while the second leg remains stationary (note figs 18B and), thereby deforming the clock spring such that the clock spring urges the spindle to return to the home position (paras 77-78); and wherein rotation of the spindle from the home position in the second rotational direction causes movement of the second leg while the first leg remains stationary (paras 77-78), thereby deforming the clock spring such that the clock spring urges the spindle to return to the home position (note para 140).
In regards to claim 23, Fisher teaches the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the spindle is rotatable about a longitudinal axis (note fig 1); and wherein the spindle is slidable relative to the spring cage along the longitudinal axis (at least during installation).
In regards to claim 26, Fisher teaches a spring cage (see fig 4), comprising: a housing (116); a clock spring (150 and 152; note para 73 of the instant application) mounted in the housing, the clock spring comprising a first end portion (140), a second end portion (154), and a body portion (body of 150 and/or 152) that is wound in a spiral about a longitudinal axis (axis of 124) wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are connected with one another via the body portion (in the case they contact see para 73 and fig 5; at least one hub (160) mounted in the housing for rotation about the longitudinal axis (15), the at least one hub comprising a first hub portion (left portion of 160 wrt fig 5) operable to engage the first end portion, and a second hub portion (right portion of 160 wrt fig 5) operable to engage the second end portion and a spindle (120 or the shaft of the motor 15; 15 for the purposes of claim 42) connected with the at least one hub (see fig 4 and para 71); wherein rotation of the first hub portion from a first home position (A) in a first rotational direction (clockwise) causes movement of the first end portion while the second end portion remains stationary (para 75; also take note of 18B and 18C), thereby causing the clock spring to exert a first return torque urging the first hub portion to return to the first home position (para 76); and wherein rotation of the second hub portion from a second home position in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction causes movement of the second end portion while the first end portion remains stationary (para 78), thereby causing the clock spring to exert a second return torque urging the second hub portion to return to the second home position (para 78).
In regards to claim 28, Fisher teaches spring cage of claim 26, wherein the at least one hub comprises a single hub including both the first hub portion and the second hub portion (see fig 5).
In regards to claim 32, Fisher teaches apparatus of claim 26, wherein the spindle is longitudinally slidable relative to the at least one hub (at least since it slides during assembly see fig 4).
In regards to claim 42, Fisher teaches an apparatus comprising the apparatus comprising the spring cage of claim 26, further comprising a latch mechanism (powered locking latch, see para 137) operably connected with the spring cage and configured to be actuated by rotation of the spindle (see fig 1).
Claim(s) 26-27 and 29-30, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nacy US 10752133 B2 (hereinafter Nacy).
In regards to claim 26, Nacy teaches a spring cage, comprising: a housing (at least housing of 14 seen in fig 1 in addition to 34); a clock spring (38) mounted in the housing (see fig 1), the clock spring comprising a first end portion (64), a second end portion (68), and a body portion that is wound in a spiral (see fig 4) about a longitudinal axis (axis of 32), wherein the first end portion and the second end portion are connected with one another via the body portion (see fig 3 and note fig 8); at least one hub (52 and/or 44) mounted in the housing for rotation about the longitudinal axis, the at least one hub comprising a first hub portion (44) operable to engage the first end portion, and a second hub portion (52) operable to engage the second end portion (see fig 4); and a spindle (32) connected with the at least one hub (see fig 4); wherein rotation of the first hub portion from a first home position (see figs 3) in a first rotational direction (counter clockwise from fig 3 to 5) causes movement of the first end portion while the second end portion remains stationary, thereby causing the clock spring to exert a first return torque urging the first hub portion to return to the first home position (see fig 5); and wherein rotation of the second hub portion from a second home position (see figs 3) in a second rotational direction (clockwise from figs -4) opposite the first rotational direction causes movement of the second end portion while the first end portion remains stationary, thereby causing the clock spring to exert a second return torque urging the second hub portion to return to the second home position (see figs 3-4).
In regards to claim 27, Nacy teaches the spring cage of claim 26, wherein the spring cage is modular (Cambridge dictionary defines modular as “consisting of separate parts that, when combined, form a complete whole”; Nacy meets this definition) and self- contained (Oxford languages defines “self-contained” as “complete, or having all that is needed, in itself”; Nacy meets this definition).
In regards to claim 29, Nacy teaches the spring cage of claim 26, wherein the at least one hub comprises: a first hub (44) including the first hub portion; and a second hub (52) including the second hub portion; and wherein the first hub and the second hub are rotatable relative to one another (see figs 3-5).
In regards to claim 30, Nacy teaches the spring cage of claim 26, wherein the housing comprises a stop (92 and/or 86) operable to limit rotation of the at least one hub (see fig 3).
In regards to claim 33, Nacy teaches an apparatus comprising the spring cage of claim 26, further comprising a handle (considering 22 as a handle Oxford languages defines a handle as “the part by which a thing is held, carried, or controlled” 22 is the part which a thing 28 is controlled) operable to engage the at least one hub (see figs 3-5) such that the spring cage is operable to bias the handle toward a home position (see fig 3) in each of the first rotational direction and the second rotational direction (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher as applied to claim 21, 23, 26, 28, 32, and 42 above, and further in view of Ikeda et al. US 4779912 A (hereinafter Ikeda).
In regards to claim 24, Fisher teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
However, Fisher is silent on a handle coupled to the spindle.
Ikeda teaches a similar device with a handle (12) coupled (indirectly) to a spindle (41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Fisher with a handle coupled to the spindle in order to realize such as in Ikeda in order to provide for a known way of both manual and electrical locking of a vehicle door latch (see Ikeda abstract).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher as applied to claim 21, 23, 26, 28, 32, and 42 above, and further in view of KR 200356472 Y1 (hereinafter KR ‘472) and Ikeda.
In regards to claim 25 Fisher teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
However, Fisher does not teach further comprising a fastener operable to secure the spring cage to a door; wherein the housing comprises a recess formed on an outer periphery thereof, the recess operable to receive a portion of the fastener.
KR ‘472 teaches a similar device where with a fastener (346a) operable to secure the spring cage (see fig 9a). a similar housing comprises a recess (342a) formed on an outer periphery thereof, the recess operable to receive a portion of the fastener (see fig 9a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a fastener operable to secure the spring cage; wherein the housing comprises a recess formed on an outer periphery thereof, the recess operable to receive a portion of the fastener such as in KR ‘472 in order to guide the spring cage (KR ‘472 para 51).
Additionally, Fisher is silent on the mounting of the spring cage relative to a door.
Ikeda teaches a similar device mounted to a door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided Fisher on a door such as in Ikeda in order to provide for a known way of both manual and electrical locking of a vehicle door latch (see Ikeda abstract).
Claim(s) 34-35, 37-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naci in view of Premji US 5383710 A (hereinafter Premji).
In regards to claim 34, Nacy teaches a method, comprising: in response to rotation of a handle (considering 22 as a handle Oxford languages defines a handle as “the part by which a thing is held, carried, or controlled” 22 is the part which a thing 28 is controlled) from a home position (see fig 3) in a first rotational direction (clockwise see fig 4), moving a first leg (64) of a clock spring while a second leg (68) of the clock spring remains stationary (see figs 3 to 4), thereby deforming the clock spring and causing the clock spring to generate a first bias force urging the handle toward the home position (abstract); and in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (counterclockwise, see fig 5), moving the second leg of the clock spring while the first leg of the clock spring remains stationary (see fig 5), thereby deforming the clock spring and causing the clock spring to generate a second bias force urging the handle toward the home position (abstract).
However, Nacy does not teach actuating a latch mechanism in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the first rotational direction.
Premji teaches a similar device with actuating (at least by rotating relative to 91 ) a latch mechanism (at least 41 and 27) in response to rotation of a handle (24 and/or 31) from the home position in the first rotational direction (see figs 1-2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Nacy with a latch mechanism and actuating the latch mechanism in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the first rotational direction such as in Premji in order to allow for an adjustable seat with reduced backlash (see abstract).
In regards to claim 35, Nacy teaches a method, comprising: in response to rotation of a handle (considering 22 as a handle Oxford languages defines a handle as “the part by which a thing is held, carried, or controlled” 22 is the part which a thing 28 is controlled) from a home position (see fig 3) in a first rotational direction (clockwise see fig 4), moving a first leg (64) of a clock spring while a second leg (68) of the clock spring remains stationary (see figs 3 to 4), thereby deforming the clock spring and causing the clock spring to generate a first bias force urging the handle toward the home position (abstract); and in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (counterclockwise, see fig 5), moving the second leg of the clock spring while the first leg of the clock spring remains stationary (see fig 5), thereby deforming the clock spring and causing the clock spring to generate a second bias force urging the handle toward the home position (abstract) wherein the handle is engaged with the clock spring via a spindle (Nacy: 32, see fig 6)
However, Nacy is silent on wherein the method further comprises axially sliding the spindle relative to the clock spring.
Premji teaches a similar spindle comprises axially sliding the spindle relative to the clock spring (50 at least slides relative to 48 during assembly as 38 is not assembled with 50; see fig 4 and Col 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the method of Nacy further comprises axially sliding the spindle relative to the clock spring in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of assembling a spindle (see Premji fig 4 and Col 27-30)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Nacy with a latch mechanism and actuating the latch mechanism in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the first rotational direction such as in Premji in order to allow for an adjustable seat with reduced backlash (see abstract).
In regards to claim 37, Nacy in view of Premji teaches the method of claim 34, wherein moving the first leg of the clock spring while the second leg of the clock spring remains stationary comprises rotating a hub (Nacy: 44 and 52; note para 73 of the instant app) such that the hub moves the first leg of the clock spring in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the first rotational direction (Nacy: see figs 3 and 4).
In regards to claim 38, Nacy in view of Premji teaches the method of claim 37, wherein moving the second leg of the clock spring while the first leg of the clock spring remains stationary comprises rotating the hub such that the hub moves the second leg of the clock spring in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the second rotational direction (Nacy: see figs 3 and 5).
In regards to claim 41, Nacy in view of Premji teaches the method of claim 34, wherein the handle is engaged with the clock spring via a spindle (Nacy: 32, see fig 6).
However, Nacy is silent on wherein the method further comprises axially sliding the spindle relative to the clock spring.
Premji teaches a similar spindle comprises axially sliding the spindle relative to the clock spring (50 at least slides relative to 48 during assembly as 38 is not assembled with 50; see fig 4 and Col 27-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the method of Nacy further comprises axially sliding the spindle relative to the clock spring in order to provide for a well-known and conventional way of assembling a spindle (see Premji fig 4 and Col 27-30)
*** Below is a separate interpretation of claims 34 and 37 for the purposes of claims 39-40.
In regards to claim 34, Nacy teaches a method, comprising: in response to rotation of a handle (considering 22 as a handle Oxford languages defines a handle as “the part by which a thing is held, carried, or controlled” 22 is the part which a thing 28 is controlled) from a home position (see fig 3) in a first rotational direction (counter clockwise see fig 5), moving a first leg (68) of a clock spring while a second leg (64) of the clock spring remains stationary (see figs 3 and 5), thereby deforming the clock spring and causing the clock spring to generate a first bias force urging the handle toward the home position (abstract); and in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (clockwise, see fig 4), moving the second leg of the clock spring while the first leg of the clock spring remains stationary (see figs 3-4), thereby deforming the clock spring and causing the clock spring to generate a second bias force urging the handle toward the home position (abstract).
However, Nacy does not teach actuating a latch mechanism in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the first rotational direction.
Premji teaches a similar device with actuating (at least by rotating relative to 91 ) a latch mechanism (at least 41 and 27) in response to rotation of a handle (24 and/or 31) from the home position in the first rotational direction (see figs 1-2 and 4).
In regards to claim 37, Nacy in view of Premji teaches the method of claim 34, wherein moving the first leg of the clock spring while the second leg of the clock spring remains stationary comprises rotating a hub (Nacy: 52) such that the hub moves the first leg of the clock spring in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the first rotational direction (Nacy: see figs 3 and 5).
In regards to claim 39, Nacy in view of Premji teaches the method of claim 37, wherein moving the second leg of the clock spring while the first leg of the clock spring remains stationary comprises rotating a second hub (44) such that the second hub moves the second leg of the clock spring in response to rotation of the handle from the home position in the second rotational direction (see figs 3-4).
In regards to claim 40, Nacy in view of Premji teaches the method of claim 39, wherein the hub remains stationary during rotation of the second hub (Nacy: see figs 3-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 200336669 Y1 – teaches a similar spring cage without a clock spring.
/PETER H WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675