Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto et al. (US 2021/0296964 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakamoto et al. discloses a thermal management system (heat management system 100; Fig. 1) mounted on an electrical apparatus (Para. 0024), the thermal management system (heat management system 100) comprising: a first flow path (flow path from valve 49 to pump 53; Fig. 3), a second flow path (flow path from pump 48 to valve 42 to oil cooler 45), a third flow path (flow path from valve 42 to pump 48), and a fourth flow path (flow path from pump 53 to valve 49) configured such that a heat medium flows through the first flow path, the second flow path, the third flow path, and the fourth flow path (Figs. 2 & 3); an electrical storage device (battery 51; Figs. 1 & 3) configured to exchange heat with the heat medium in the first flow path (flow path from valve 49 to pump 53; Fig. 3); a drive device (motor 55; Figs. 1 & 3) configured to exchange heat with the heat medium in the second flow path (flow path from pump 48 to valve 42 and to cooler 45) and to supply a driving force to the electrical apparatus; a radiator (radiator 41; Figs. 1 & 3) located in the third flow path (flow path from valve 42 to pump 48); a chiller device (chiller 52; Figs. 1 & 3) located in the fourth flow path (flow path from 53 to 49); and a switching device (valve 42 with valve 49; Figs. 1 & 2) configured to switch a connection state among the first flow path, the second flow path, the third flow path, and the fourth flow path (Figs. 2 & 3), wherein the switching device (valve 42 with valve 49) is configured to cause a first circuit to be formed when heating of the electrical storage device (Para. 0040) for increasing a temperature of the electrical storage device (battery 51) is performed by causing a current to flow through the electrical storage device (battery 51; Fig. 3 with valves 42 & 49 in the first valve positions), the first circuit having a first path and a second path, the first path being a path in which the heat medium circulates through the first flow path and the fourth flow path, and the second path being a path in which the heat medium circulates through the second flow path and the third flow path (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sakamoto et al. discloses the thermal management system according to claim 1. Sakamoto et al. further discloses wherein: the electrical apparatus is an electrified vehicle; and the heating of the electrical storage device is performed after a traction system of the electrified vehicle is activated (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Sakamoto et al. discloses the thermal management system according to claim 1. Sakamoto et al. further discloses comprising a control device (controller 80) configured to control the switching device (Para. 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. in view of Bellino et al. (US 2021/0023908 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Sakamoto et al. discloses the thermal management system according to claim 1. Sakamoto et al. differs from the invention as disclosed because Sakamoto et al. does not disclose wherein: the electrical storage device is configured such that external charging is performed, the external charging being charging of the electrical storage device with charging power supplied from charging equipment external to the electrical apparatus; and the heating of the electrical storage device is performed in such a manner that the temperature of the electrical storage device becomes equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature at start of the external charging.
Bellino et al., however, teaches wherein: the electrical storage device (electric machine 20) is configured such that external charging is performed, the external charging being charging of the electrical storage device with charging power supplied from charging equipment external to the electrical apparatus (Para. 0014); and the heating of the electrical storage device is performed in such a manner that the temperature of the electrical storage device becomes equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature at start of the external charging (Para. 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included wherein: the electrical storage device is configured such that external charging is performed, the external charging being charging of the electrical storage device with charging power supplied from charging equipment external to the electrical apparatus; and the heating of the electrical storage device is performed in such a manner that the temperature of the electrical storage device becomes equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature at start of the external charging as taught by Bellino et al. on the invention of Sakamoto et al. for the purpose of maximizing the efficiency of the device and preventing cycling of the compressor.
Regarding claims 6 & 7: Sakamoto et al. differs from the invention as claimed because Sakamoto et al. does not disclose wherein the electrical apparatus is an electrified vehicle; the chiller device is configured to exchange heat with an air conditioning circuit configured to adjust a cabin temperature of the electrified vehicle; and the electrical storage device and the air conditioning circuit are configured to exchange heat with each other via the chiller device when there is a heating request using the air conditioning circuit during the heating of the electrical storage device.
Bellino et al., however, teaches wherein the electrical apparatus is an electrified vehicle (Para. 0011); the chiller device (chiller 104) is configured to exchange heat with an air conditioning circuit (cooling circuit 30; Para. 0020) configured to adjust a cabin temperature of the electrified vehicle (Para. 0019); and the electrical storage device and the air conditioning circuit are configured to exchange heat with each other via the chiller device when there is a heating request using the air conditioning circuit during the heating of the electrical storage device (Paras. 0018-0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have include wherein the electrical apparatus is an electrified vehicle; the chiller device is configured to exchange heat with an air conditioning circuit configured to adjust a cabin temperature of the electrified vehicle; and the electrical storage device and the air conditioning circuit are configured to exchange heat with each other via the chiller device when there is a heating request using the air conditioning circuit during the heating of the electrical storage device as taught by Bellino et al. on the invention of Sakamoto et al. for the purpose of maximizing the efficiency of the device and preventing cycling of the compressor.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. in view of Mancini et al. (US 2019/0070924 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Sakamoto et al. discloses the thermal management system according to claim 1. Sakamoto et al. differs from the invention as claimed because Sakamoto et al. does not disclose wherein the switching device is an eight-way valve.
Mancini et al., however, teaches wherein the switching device is an eight-way valve (Para. 0108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included wherein the switching device is an eight-way valve for the purpose of directing coolant flow serving the cabin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not disclose comprising a shutoff device provided for the radiator and configured to switch between an introducing state in which introduction of outside air into the radiator is allowed and a shutoff state in which the introduction of the outside air into the radiator is shut off, wherein the shutoff device is switched to the shutoff state when the first circuit is provided. A prior art search did not uncover a reference that fairly teaches or suggest, either alone or in combination the claimed subject matter.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent corm including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not disclose comprising a first temperature sensor configured to measure the temperature of the electrical storage device; a second temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the heat medium in the first flow path; and a pump configured to circulate the heat medium in the first circuit, wherein: the pump is stopped when a measured value from the first temperature sensor is higher than a measured value from the second temperature sensor during the heating of the electrical storage device with the first circuit provided; and the pump is driven when the measured value from the first temperature sensor is equal to or less than the measured value from the second temperature sensor during the heating of the electrical storage device with the first circuit provided. A prior art search did not uncover a reference that fairly teaches or suggest, either alone or in combination the claimed subject matter.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and cited on PTO Form 892 is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613