DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 03/05/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-46 were cancelled and claims 47-66 was newly added. Claims 47-66 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 and 10/10/2025 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: possible typos, for example, para. [0047] states “breask cancer”; other typos may exist.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 47-49, 54-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover mental process (concept performed in a human mind, including as observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion, organizing human activity and mathematical concepts and calculations). The claim(s) recite(s) a method for analyzing a biological sample obtained from a subject. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps do not add meaningful limitations to be considered specifically applied to a particular technological problem to be solved .The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps of the claimed invention can be done mentally and no additional features in the claims would preclude them from being performed as such except for the generic computer elements at high level of generality (i.e., processor, memory).
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 47-49, 54-56 are directed to an abstract idea as shown below:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories? YES. Claim(s) 47 is/are directed to a method, i.e. process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? YES, the claims are directed toward a mental process (i.e. abstract idea).
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
The method in claim 47 comprise a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind (or generic computers or components configured to perform the method) and, therefore, an abstract idea.
Regarding Claim(s) 47: the method recites the steps (functions) of:
analyzing the plurality of planar images, to identify a diseased cell from the sample of cell (mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind; the human can look at the image and identify a disease from the sample);
These limitations, as drafted, is a simple process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind or by a human. The Examiner notes that under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper" to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, "methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’" 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same).
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to affect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claim(s) 47 does/do not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. Claim(s) 47 recite(s) the further limitations of:
(a) contacting a sample of cells of the biological sample with a plurality of detection moieties, wherein the plurality of detection moieties comprises (i) a first detection moiety exhibiting specific binding to a first target ligand, wherein the binding to the first target ligand results in staining, and (ii) a second detection moiety exhibiting specific binding to a second target ligand, wherein the binding to the second target ligand results in staining (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; a human using common biological testing tools to stain the cells, or using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea);
(b) subsequent to (a), imaging the biological sample via selective plane image microscopy, to obtain a plurality of planar images of the sample of cells, wherein the plurality of planar images comprises: (i) a first image indicative of presence or absence of the first target ligand in the sample of cells based on staining or lack of staining by the first detection moiety, and (ii) a second image indicative of presence or absence of the second target ligand in the sample of cells based on staining or lack of staining by the second detection moiety (insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity of generating data) OR (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea);
(c) analyzing the plurality of planar images, to identify a diseased cell from the sample of cells. (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea);
These limitations are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general action or change being taken based on the results of the acquiring step) and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Further, the claims are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Claim(s) 47 does/do not recite any additional elements that are not well-understood, routine or conventional. The use of a computer to obtaining and analyzing, as claimed in Claim(s) 47 is a routine, well-understood and conventional process that is performed by computers.
Thus, since Claim(s) 47 is/are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that Claim(s) 47 is/are not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C 101.
Regarding claim 48: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): wherein the analyzing comprises determining that a cell of the sample of cells comprises the first target ligand but not the second target ligand (mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind; a human mind can analyze the sample) OR (organizing of human activity) OR (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea).
Regarding claim 49: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): wherein the analyzing comprises determining that a cell of the sample of cells comprises the first target ligand and the second target ligand (mental process including observation and evaluation, and can be done mentally in the human mind; a human mind can analyze the sample) OR (organizing of human activity) OR (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea).
Regarding claim 54: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): wherein the first image and the second image are substantially from a common plane of the sample of cells (insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity of generating data) OR (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea).
Regarding claim 55: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): wherein the first image and the second image are contiguous cross-sectional images of the sample of cells (insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity of generating data) OR (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea).
Regarding claim 56: the additional limitations do not integrate the mental process into practical application or add significantly more to the mental process. The limitation(s): wherein the imaging comprises scanning the sample of cells with a plurality of laser sheet light sources (insignificant pre/post-solution extra activity of generating data) OR (generic computers or components configured to perform the method; using a generic computer or components as a tool to perform an abstract idea).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 47-50, 53-59, 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2015/0362411 A1, 2015, as cited in IDS filed 10/10/2025).
Regarding claim 47, Zhang teaches A method for analyzing a biological sample obtained from a subject (Zhang, [0072], reproduced below:
. “Staining” shows that analyzing a biological sample obtained from a subject will occur at some point), the method comprising:
(a) contacting a sample of cells of the biological sample with a plurality of detection moieties (Zhang, see nearest image above: “multiple mixtures of different labeling
agents (e.g., fluorophore-labeled antibodies)”. Which are being interpreted to involve “plurality of detection moieties” that contact “a sample of cells of the biological sample”), wherein the plurality of detection moieties comprises
(i) a first detection moiety exhibiting specific binding to a first target ligand (Zhang, see nearest image above, “fluorophore-labeled antibodies” and “staining of multiple antibodies” show “specific binding to a first target ligand” otherwise everything in the cell would get stained, defeating the purpose of staining the desired targets. “Multiple” is being interpreted as involving “a first target ligand”), wherein the binding to the first target ligand results in staining (Zhang, see nearest image above, “staining of multiple antibodies”), and
(ii) a second detection moiety exhibiting specific binding to a second target ligand (Zhang, see nearest image above, “fluorophore-labeled antibodies” and “staining of multiple antibodies” show “specific binding to a second target ligand” otherwise everything in the sample would get stained, defeating the purpose of staining the desired targets. “Multiple” is being interpreted as involving “a second target ligand”), wherein the binding to the second target ligand results in staining (Zhang, see nearest image above, “staining of multiple antibodies”);
(b) subsequent to (a) (Zhang, [0065], reproduced below:
. Which shows imaging is subsequent to staining), imaging the biological sample (Zhang, see nearest image below, “tissue chamber”) via selective plane image microscopy (Zhang, [0064], reproduced below:
. “selective plane illumination microscopy (SPIM) technology”), to obtain a plurality of planar images of the sample of cells (Zhang, see nearest image above, “the tissue chamber 18 can have a cylindrical and rotatable configuration to enable 360-degree viewing of the tissue sample”. Which is being interpreted as using the SPIM to obtain planar images of the sample of cells from the tissue chamber.), wherein the plurality of planar images comprises:
(i) a first image indicative of presence or absence of the first target ligand in the sample of cells based on staining or lack of staining by the first detection moiety (Zhang, see [0072] image above, “different labeling agents” and “staining” show that the staining result in the presence or absence of the first target ligand because the stain will or will not stain), and
(ii) a second image indicative of presence or absence of the second target ligand in the sample of cells based on staining or lack of staining by the second detection moiety (Zhang, see [0072] image above, “different labeling agents” and “staining” show that the staining result in the presence or absence of the first target ligand because the stain will or will not stain); and
(c) analyzing the plurality of planar images (Zhang, [0078]: “Advantageously, the tissue samples can be directly imaged without disassembling the system”. “Imaged” is being interpreted as involving the planar images captured using SPIM as cited in [0064] above), to identify a diseased cell from the sample of cells (Zhang, [0078]: “the method 70 can find application in the early detection of breast cancer”. Which is being interpreted as involving “identify a diseased cell from the sample of cells”).
Regarding claim 48, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the analyzing comprises determining that a cell of the sample of cells comprises the first target ligand but not the second target ligand (Zhang, [0072]: “With multiple inlet channels 20, different regions of the tissue sample can receive multiple mixtures of different labeling agents (e.g., fluorophore-labeled antibodies)”. Which shows that in the course of experimentation, the first target ligand could be stained and the second target ligand is not present enough to cause staining. This is another purpose of staining, to see if a desired target is present).
Regarding claim 49, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the analyzing comprises determining that a cell of the sample of cells comprises the first target ligand and the second target ligand (Zhang, [0074]: “By quenching fluorescence of a labeled molecule, the same fluorescent channel (e.g., red, yellow or green) can be used to label another target analyte”. Which shows both first and second target ligands are capable of having fluorescence, or staining.).
Regarding claim 50, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the analyzing comprises comparing (i) a distribution of the staining of the first target ligand by the first detection moiety in the first image (Zhang, [0074]: “By quenching fluorescence of a labeled molecule, the same fluorescent channel (e.g., red, yellow or green) can be used to label another target analyte”. Which shows both first and second target ligands are capable of having florescence, or staining.) and (ii) a distribution of the staining of the second target ligand by the second detection moiety in the second image (Zhang, [0074]: “By quenching fluorescence of a labeled molecule, the same fluorescent channel (e.g., red, yellow or green) can be used to label another target analyte”. Which shows both first and second target ligands are capable of having fluorescence, or staining).
Regarding claim 53, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the biological sample is not subjected to enrichment for the diseased cell prior to (b) (Zhang, [0080]: “Tissue samples were formalin-fixed and provided ‘as-is’ (mouse mammary tissue)”. “As-is” is being interpreted as involving “biological sample is not subjected to enrichment for the diseased cell”).
Regarding claim 54, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the first image and the second image are substantially from a common plane of the sample of cells (Zhang, [0064]: “In other instances, the imaging modality 64 can include any microscope that includes selective plane illumination microscopy (SPIM) technology and/or is configured to perform SPIM. In this instance, the tissue chamber 18 can have a cylindrical and rotatable configuration to enable 360-degree viewing of the tissue sample”. Which is being interpreted as involving “substantially from a common plane of the sample of cells”; [0074]: “can be used to label another target analyte”. When combined, is being interpreted as involving first and second image).
Regarding claim 55, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the first image and the second image are contiguous cross-sectional images of the sample of cells (Zhang, [0022], reproduced below:
; Fig. 9, which shows the left image containing two contiguous cross-sectional sample preview with the two orthogonal plane outlines towards the center of the image. Then the two right images being two contiguous cross-sectional images being interpreted as involving first and second image).
Regarding claim 56, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the imaging comprises scanning the sample of cells with a plurality of laser sheet light sources (Zhang, [0064]: “a light-sheet based microscope”, which is being interpreted as involving “a plurality of laser sheet light sources”).
Regarding claim 57, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the first detection moiety comprises an antibody (Zhang, [0072]: “staining of multiple antibodies”. Examiner notes this is part of an “OR” phrase, so only one option needs to be considered. “Multiple” is being interpreted as involving first and second detection moiety) or an antigen-binding fragment thereof.
Regarding claim 58, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the second detection moiety comprise an antibody (Zhang, [0072]: “staining of multiple antibodies”. Examiner notes this is part of an “OR” phrase, so only one option needs to be considered. “Multiple” is being interpreted as involving first and second detection moiety) or an antigen-binding fragment thereof.
Regarding claim 59, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the first cell type is a differentiated cell type (Zhang, [0080]: “Tissue samples were formalin-fixed and provided ‘as-is’ (mouse mammary tissue)”. “mouse mammary tissue” is being interpreted as involving “differentiated cell type”).
Regarding claim 62, Zhang teaches The method of claim 60, wherein the first target ligand comprises cytokeratin (CK) (Zhang, [0022]: “red=anti-cytokeratin 8”, which is being interpreted as involving cytokeratin).
Claim(s) 47-54, 56-62, 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddy (“Abstract 6440: Circulating tumor cell detection and characterization with the novel RareScopeTM technology”, August 2020).
The Examiner notes that Reddy et al (“Abstract 6440: Circulating tumor cell detection and characterization with the novel RareScopeTM technology”, https://doi.org/10.1158/1538-7445.AM2020-6440) was published on 15 August 2020 before the effective filing date of the application (EFD of instant) making the Reddy et al NPL prior art under 102(a)(1). The inventorship of the reference NPL is not identical to the inventorship of the current application (or a subset of the inventors of the application).
Regarding claim 47, Reddy teaches A method for analyzing a biological sample obtained from a subject (Reddy, pg 1-2, Abstract, reproduced below:
. “unbiased CTC detection and phenotypic characterization”), the method comprising:
(a) contacting a sample of cells of the biological sample with a plurality of detection moieties (Reddy, see nearest image above, “Cells from the SK-BR-3 breast cancer cell line were spiked in the buffy coat from healthy donor blood and fluorescently immunostained”. “fluorescently immunostained” is being interpreted as involving “contacting a sample of cells” and “detection moieties”), wherein the plurality of detection moieties comprises (i) a first detection moiety exhibiting specific binding to a first target ligand (Reddy, see nearest image above, “fluorescently immunostained for CD45 pan leucocyte”, which is being interpreted as involving a first target ligand), wherein the binding to the first target ligand results in staining (Reddy, see nearest image above, “fluorescently immunostained for CD45 pan leucocyte”), and (ii) a second detection moiety exhibiting specific binding to a second target ligand (Reddy, see nearest image above, “fluorescently immunostained for …cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”. Which is being interpreted as involving “second detection moiety” and “second target ligand”), wherein the binding to the second target ligand results in staining (Reddy, see nearest image above, “fluorescently immunostained”);
(b) subsequent to (a) (Reddy, see nearest image above, “normal cells were mixed with immobilization medium and scanned with the RareScope”), imaging the biological sample via selective plane image microscopy (Reddy, see nearest image above, “The RareScope (QCDx LLC, Farmington CT) is designed to scan all nucleated cells from a patient's blood sample for unbiased CTC detection and phenotypic characterization. Fluorescence Light Sheet Microscopy…”. “RareScope” is being interpreted as involving “selective plane image microscopy”), to obtain a plurality of planar images of the sample of cells (Reddy, see nearest image above, “Fluorescence Light Sheet Microscopy offers 3-dimensional visualization of immobilized, morphologically intact cells either live or fixed and selected target cells can be isolated for downstream genomic and expression analyses”), wherein the plurality of planar images comprises: (i) a first image indicative of presence or absence of the first target ligand in the sample of cells based on staining or lack of staining by the first detection moiety (Reddy, see nearest image above, “Digitized, 3D-images of each preparation were reviewed by two scientists and cancer cells were identified as…”. Which is being interpreted as involving “presence or absence of the first target ligand” because either a staining or no staining would occur. Non-limiting example would be “immunostained for CD45 pan leucocyte”), and (ii) a second image indicative of presence or absence of the second target ligand in the sample of cells based on staining or lack of staining by the second detection moiety (Reddy, see nearest image above, “Digitized, 3D-images of each preparation were reviewed by two scientists and cancer cells were identified as…”. Which is being interpreted as involving “presence or absence of the second target ligand” because either a staining or no staining would occur. Non-limiting example would be using “immunostained for cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”); and
(c) analyzing the plurality of planar images (Reddy, see nearest image above, “Digitized, 3D-images of each preparation were reviewed by two scientists and cancer cells were identified as…”. The review is being interpreted as involving analyzing), to identify a diseased cell from the sample of cells (Reddy, see nearest image above, “Digitized, 3D-images of each preparation were reviewed by two scientists and cancer cells were identified as…”. Identified cancer cells are being interpreted as involving identifying “a diseased cell”).
Regarding claim 48, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the analyzing comprises determining that a cell of the sample of cells comprises the first target ligand but not the second target ligand (Reddy, see Abstract image above, “fluorescently immunostained”, shows that the first staining may occur while the second does not. PHOSITA would know this happens).
Regarding claim 49, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the analyzing comprises determining that a cell of the sample of cells comprises the first target ligand and the second target ligand (Reddy, see Abstract image above, “fluorescently immunostained for CD45 pan leucocyte, cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”. PHOSITA would know that if both staining occur, then the predictable result would be both first and second target ligand are involved).
Regarding claim 50, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the analyzing comprises comparing (i) a distribution of the staining of the first target ligand by the first detection moiety in the first image (Reddy, see Abstract image above, “fluorescently immunostained for CD45 pan leucocyte, cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”. “CD45 pan leucocyte” is being interpreted as a non-limiting example involving “staining of the first target ligand by the first detection moiety in the first image”) and (ii) a distribution of the staining of the second target ligand by the second detection moiety in the second image (Reddy, see Abstract image above, “fluorescently immunostained for CD45 pan leucocyte, cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”. “CD45 pan leucocyte” is being interpreted as a non-limiting example involving “staining of the second target ligand by the second detection moiety in the second image”).
Regarding claim 51, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the diseased cell is a circulating tumor cell (CTC) (Reddy, see Abstract image above, “Circulating tumor cells (CTC)”).
Regarding claim 52, Reddy teaches The method of claim 51, wherein the CTC is associated with a solid tumor (Reddy, see Abstract image above, “Circulating tumor cells (CTC) are released by tumors in blood and lymphatic systems and are responsible for the creation of metastasis”. Which is being interpreted as involving solid tumor).
Regarding claim 53, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the biological sample is not subjected to enrichment for the diseased cell prior to (b) (Reddy, see Abstract image above, “Fluorescence Light Sheet Microscopy offers 3-dimensional visualization of immobilized, morphologically intact cells either live or fixed”. “Live or fixed” is being interpreted as involving “not subjected to enrichment”).
Regarding claim 54, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the first image and the second image are substantially from a common plane of the sample of cells (Reddy, Abstract, “Fluorescence Light Sheet Microscopy offers 3-dimensional visualization of immobilized, morphologically intact cells either live or fixed”. Which is being interpreted as involving first and second image as part of the 3D visualization).
Regarding claim 56, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the imaging comprises scanning the sample of cells with a plurality of laser sheet light sources (Reddy, Abstract, “RareScope” and “Fluorescence Light Sheet Microscopy offers 3-dimensional visualization”, which is being interpreted as involving “plurality of laser sheet light sources”).
Regarding claim 57, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the first detection moiety comprises an antibody or an antigen-binding fragment thereof (Reddy, Abstract, non-limiting example of “cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”).
Regarding claim 58, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the second detection moiety comprise an antibody (Reddy, Abstract, non-limiting example of “cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”) or an antigen-binding fragment thereof.
Regarding claim 59, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the first cell type is a differentiated cell type (Reddy, Abstract, “morphologically intact cells either live or fixed”. Which is being interpreted as involving “differentiated cell type”).
Regarding claim 60, Reddy teaches The method of claim 59, wherein the first cell type is an epithelial cell (Reddy, Abstract, non-limiting example of “cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”. PHOSITA would know this shows an epithelial cell is involved).
Regarding claim 61, Reddy teaches The method of claim 60, wherein the first target ligand comprises epithelial cellular adhesion molecule (EpCAM) (Reddy, Abstract, “EpCAM“).
Regarding claim 62, Reddy teaches The method of claim 60, wherein the first target ligand comprises cytokeratin (CK) (Reddy, Abstract, non-limiting example of “cytokeratins 7&8 (CK)”).
Regarding claim 66, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the biological sample is derived from a blood sample of the subject (Reddy, Abstract, “The RareScope (QCDx LLC, Farmington CT) is designed to scan all nucleated cells from a patient's blood sample for unbiased CTC detection and phenotypic characterization”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 51, 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Lee (US 2014/0094383 A1, 2014).
Regarding claim 51, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the diseased cell
However, Zhang does not appear to explicitly teach circulating tumor cell (CTC). Though teaches “a variety of mutations associated with diseases such as tumora and cancers” ([0073]).
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches
is a circulating tumor cell (CTC) (Lee, [0003]: “Capturing and identifying circulating tumor cells (CTCs) in human blood or body fluid samples, i.e. `liquid biopsy` has gained a great deal of interest in recent years”).
Zhang and Lee are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Zhang) to include circulating tumor cell (CTC) (as taught by Lee) because the combination provides an improvement to patient outcomes (Lee, Abstract).
Regarding claim 66, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the biological sample
However, Zhang does not appear to explicitly teach blood sample of the subject.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches
is derived from a blood sample of the subject (Lee: [0048]: “Thus, while serum can be separated from a blood sample and run on the chip and array, the separation is not required”. Which shows blood sample of the subject).
Zhang and Lee are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Zhang) to include blood sample of the subject (as taught by Lee) because the combination provides an improvement to patient outcomes (Lee, Abstract).
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as modified by Lee, in view of Goodman (US 2019/0113423 A1, 2016, as cited in IDS filed 10/10/2025).
Regarding claim 52, Zhang teaches The method of claim 51, wherein the CTC
However, Zhang and Lee does not appear to explicitly teach solid tumor.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Goodman teaches
is associated with a solid tumor (Goodman, [0309]: “Additional examples of mutations or genomic alterations associated with solid tumors that may be detected”).
Zhang, Lee, and Goodman are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy with CTC detection (as taught by Zhang and Lee) to include solid tumor (as taught by Goodman) because the combination provides an improvement to tumor cell evaluation (Goodman, [0005]).
Claim(s) 60, 61, 63-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Goodman.
Regarding claim 60, Zhang teaches The method of claim 59, wherein the first cell type is an
However, Zhang does not appear to explicitly teach circulating tumor cell (CTC).
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Goodman teaches
epithelial cell (Goodman, [0092]: “The methods of the invention can be used to characterize a cancer or metastasis thereof, including without limitation… epithelial neoplasms”. Which is being interpreted as involving “epithelial cell”).
Zhang and Goodman are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Zhang) to include epithelial cell (as taught by Goodman) because the combination provides an improvement to tumor cell evaluation (Goodman, [0005]).
Regarding claim 61, Zhang teaches The method of claim 60, wherein the first target ligand comprises epithelial cellular adhesion molecule (EpCAM) (Goodman, [0270]: “EpCam”).
Regarding claim 63, Zhang teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the second cell type is a
However, Zhang does not appear to explicitly teach stem cell type.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Goodman teaches
stem cell type (Goodman, [0018]: “In certain embodiments, the cellular or extracellular components are selected from the group consisting of: immune cell markers; cancer stem cell markers”. Which is being interpreted as involving “a stem cell type”).
Zhang and Goodman are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Zhang) to include stem cell type (as taught by Goodman) because the combination provides an improvement to tumor cell evaluation (Goodman, [0005]).
Regarding claim 64, Zhang teaches The method of claim 63, wherein the first cell type is a mesenchymal cell (Goodman, [0243]: “as well as cells of mesenchymal origin, including mesenchymal stem cells and their differentiated progeny”).
Regarding claim 65, Zhang teaches The method of claim 64, wherein the second target ligand comprises vimentin (Vim) (Goodman, [0260]: “Cancer-associated fibroblasts may be identified by expression of markers such as vimentin”).
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddy, in view of Zhang.
The Examiner notes that Reddy et al (“Abstract 6440: Circulating tumor cell detection and characterization with the novel RareScopeTM technology”, https://doi.org/10.1158/1538-7445.AM2020-6440) was published on 15 August 2020 before the effective filing date of the application (EFD of instant) making the Reddy et al NPL prior art under 102(a)(1). The inventorship of the reference NPL is not identical to the inventorship of the current application (or a subset of the inventors of the application).
Regarding claim 55, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47,
However, Reddy does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the first image and the second image are contiguous cross-sectional images of the sample of cells. Though, Reddy teaches 3D visualization and light sheet microscopy.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches
wherein the first image and the second image are contiguous cross-sectional images of the sample of cells (Zhang, Fig. 9, which shows the left image containing two contiguous cross-sectional sample previews with the two orthogonal plane outlines towards the center of the image. Then the two right images being two contiguous cross-sectional images being interpreted as involving first and second image).
Reddy and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Reddy) to include cross-sectional images of the sample of cells (as taught by Zhang) because the combination provides an improvement to cellular analysis (Zhang, [0005]).
Claim(s) 63-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddy, in view of Zhang.
The Examiner notes that Reddy et al (“Abstract 6440: Circulating tumor cell detection and characterization with the novel RareScopeTM technology”, https://doi.org/10.1158/1538-7445.AM2020-6440) was published on 15 August 2020 before the effective filing date of the application (EFD of instant) making the Reddy et al NPL prior art under 102(a)(1). The inventorship of the reference NPL is not identical to the inventorship of the current application (or a subset of the inventors of the application).
Regarding claim 63, Reddy teaches The method of claim 47, wherein the second cell type is a …
However, Reddy does not appear to explicitly teach stem cell type.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Goodman teaches
stem cell type (Goodman, [0018]: “In certain embodiments, the cellular or extracellular components are selected from the group consisting of: immune cell markers; cancer stem cell markers”. Which is being interpreted as involving “a stem cell type”).
Reddy and Goodman are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Reddy) to include stem cell type (as taught by Goodman) because the combination provides an improvement to tumor cell evaluation (Goodman, [0005]).
Regarding claim 64, Reddy teaches The method of claim 63, wherein the first cell type is a
However, Reddy does not appear to explicitly teach mesenchymal cell.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Goodman teaches
mesenchymal cell (Goodman, [0243]: “as well as cells of mesenchymal origin, including mesenchymal stem cells and their differentiated progeny”).
Reddy and Goodman are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Reddy) to include mesenchymal cell (as taught by Goodman) because the combination provides an improvement to tumor cell evaluation (Goodman, [0005]).
Regarding claim 65, Reddy teaches The method of claim 64, wherein the second target ligand comprises
However, Reddy does not appear to explicitly teach vimentin.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Goodman teaches
vimentin (Vim) (Goodman, [0260]: “Cancer-associated fibroblasts may be identified by expression of markers such as vimentin”).
Reddy and Goodman are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to diseased cell detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for diseased cell detection using light-sheet microscopy (as taught by Reddy) to include vimentin (as taught by Goodman) because the combination provides an improvement to tumor cell evaluation (Goodman, [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chow (US 2018/0299442 A1) discloses circulating tumor cell detection using light-sheet microscopy.
Kuhn et al (US 2021/0190783 A1) discloses circulating tumor cell detection using light microscopy with lasers (potentially interpreted as light-sheet microscopy).
/J.B.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2667 /MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667