Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the patent application filed on December 12, 2025. Claims 1-15 are currently pending. Claims 14 & 15 are new.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. JP2023-034814, filed on March 7, 2023.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
No action the part of the applicant is required at this time.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims submitted on December 12, 2025 do not overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection of the non-final rejection from September 26, 2025. While the addition of a processor is appropriate, an addition of a non-transitory computer readable medium is required.
The prior art rejections are overcome in view of the amendments made December 12, 2025. However, a new prior art rejection is made (see Response to Arguments)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 11-14, filed December 12, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-13 under 35 USC 102 & 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2023/0264582 A1, to Maeda et al., hereafter Maeda.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 10-13 of copending Application No. 18/595,498 (reference application), respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patents noted above additionally recite limitations not included in the instant application thus rendering the scope of the independent claims of this application broader than the corresponding issued patents. In other words, the entire scope of the references claims falls within the scope of the examined claims (see In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993)). To put it differently, the species or sub-genus in U.S. Patent Application Nos. 18/595,498 and 18/595,660 anticipates the claimed genus in the instant application and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it is not falling under any of the four statutory categories of invention (processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter). Specifically, the claimed “system” under the broadest reasonable interpretation, encompasses a computer program per se (often referred to as “signal per se”) thus not having a physical or tangible form (MPEP § 2106.03). Although random-access memory and magnetic tape are statutory media, carrier waves are not because they are signals similar to the transitory, propagating signals held to be non-statutory in Nuijten. 851 F.3d at 1294, 112 USPQ2d at 1133 (citing In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007)). Accordingly, because the BRI of the claims covered both subject matter that falls within a statutory category (the random-access memory), as well as subject matter that does not (the carrier waves), the claims as a whole were not directed to a statutory category and thus failed the first criterion for eligibility. Correction is requested to remedy this deficiency (e.g. by [excluding transitory signals]). Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed toward a non-statutory category of invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, & 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0264882 A1, to Maeda et al., hereafter Maeda (previously of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Maeda discloses A charging system that controls charging of a plurality of vehicles that deliver packages, the charging system comprising a processor that (Maeda [0037], [0054], & Fig. 1, Examiner Note: Maeda discloses a cooperative charging station (i.e. system) which includes a processor and memory):
obtains operation plan information including a scheduled departure time of each vehicle and a target state level of charge (SOC) of a battery of each vehicle, the remaining SOC of the battery of each vehicle, and charging parameters related to chargers (Maeda [0094], Examiner Note: Maeda discloses creating a host vehicle charging schedule (i.e. charging plan) based on the relative departure times of vehicles and the desired SOC (i.e. target SOC) of the host vehicle and the proximate vehicle. The scheduling also takes into consideration the current SOC. [0084] The scheduling further takes into consideration the draw of the vehicle on the charging station and patterns of voltage variation from the charger (i.e. charging parameters related to chargers));
sets, based on the obtained information, a charging plan including a charging start time and a charging end time of each vehicle such that charging of each vehicle is completed by the corresponding scheduled departure time (Maeda [0094], Examiner Note: Maeda discloses creating a host vehicle charging schedule (i.e. charging plan) based on the relative departure times of vehicles and the desired SOC (i.e. target SOC) of the host vehicle and the proximate vehicle. [0071] Maeda further discloses taking into consideration charging start time into the charging schedule); and
performs the charging of each vehicle in accordance with the charging plan (Maeda [0071]-[0072], Examiner Note: Maeda discloses providing the host vehicle and proximate vehicle with a charge based on the schedule).
Regarding Claim 2, Maeda discloses The charging system according to Claim 1, a wherein the processor receives a user input of information regarding the target SOC of the battery of at least one of the plurality of vehicles (Maeda [0105] & Fig. 7, Examiner Note: Maeda discloses a host vehicle receiving a broadcast message from a vehicle occupant (i.e. user input of information) which may include desired charging parameters in order to create a schedule).
Regarding Claim 6, Maeda discloses The charging system according to Claim 1wherein the processor obtains a scheduled work time of at least one of the plurality of vehicles, and sets the charging plan such that the charging of the at least one of the plurality of vehicles is completed until a time earlier by at least the scheduled work time than the scheduled departure time (Maeda [0090]-[0091], Examiner Note: Maeda discloses determining the order of charging (i.e. charging plan) priority which based on being completed before the scheduled departure time).
Regarding Claim 7, Maeda discloses The charging system according to Claim 1, wherein, when the charging of at least one of the plurality of vehicles based on the set charging plan is interrupted, the processor revises the charging plan (Maeda [0089], Examiner Note: Maeda discloses adjusting an existing charging schedule if, for example, the host vehicle is being charged by a host charging schedule, the charging may be interrupted (i.e. error) to be replaced by a cooperative charging schedule with the proximate vehicle (from at least one of the plurality of vehicles)).
Regarding Claim 11, Maeda discloses A vehicle connectable to the charging system according to Claim 1, the vehicle comprising: a display section that displays a rate of progress indicating a charge amount with respect to a full charge or a rate of progress indicating the charge amount with respect to a target level of charge (Maeda [0110], Examiner Note: Maeda discloses the operator of the host vehicle being alerted of a proximate vehicle schedule including charging speed (i.e. rate of progress of charge)).
Regarding Claim 12, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 1, and it has been determined that claim 12 does not teach or define any new limitations in view of claim 1. Therefore, claim 12 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 1, and it has been determined that claim 13 does not teach or define any new limitations in view of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Maeda discloses The charging system according to claim 1, wherein the processor notifies a terminal device of the set charging plan for each vehicle, and if there is a vehicle among the plurality of vehicles that cannot be charged to reach the target SOC by the scheduled departure time, notifies the terminal device of error information (Maeda [0116], Examiner Note: Maeda discloses that when the host vehicle is not capable of reaching the desired SOC, the cooperative charging schedule may send a counter-parameter (i.e. error information) to reduce the charging speed of the proximate vehicle to compensate).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0264882 A1, to Maeda et al., hereafter Maeda (previously of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2024/0177544 A1, to Matsuda (previously of record).
Regarding Claim 3, Maeda discloses The charging system according to Claim 1,
However, Maeda does not specifically disclose wherein the processor obtains the target SOC of the battery of each vehicle based on the operation plan including at least one of a planned travel route, a scheduled travel distance, and/or a scheduled travel time of each of the plurality of vehicles in a next operation.
wherein the processor obtains the target SOC of the battery of each vehicle based on the operation plan including at least one of a planned travel route, a scheduled travel distance, and/or a scheduled travel time of each of the plurality of vehicles in a next operation (Matsuda [0101] & Fig. 12, Examiner Note: Matsuda teaches delivery route being used in order to determine the charging schedule and therefore the state of charge region (i.e. target level of charge)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to modify the charging schedule for cooperative vehicles of Maeda with the collection of target level of charge based on the delivery route of Matsuda in order to ensure the high reliability that the target state of charge of the vehicle will be successful (Matsuda [0101]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0264882 A1, to Maeda et al., hereafter Maeda (previously of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2015186338 A, to Shirasu (previously of record).
Regarding Claim 4, as shown above, Maeda discloses The charging system according to Claim 1,
However, Maeda does not specifically disclose wherein the processor sets a charging plan of each vehicle such that a total charging power for the plurality of vehicles does not exceed a threshold.
Shirasu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor sets a charging plan of each vehicle such that a total charging power for the plurality of vehicles does not exceed a threshold (Shirasu [0018], Examiner Note: Shirasu teaches having an upper limit of total charging power of each vehicle, and therefore total cumulative charging power which can be decreased which would result in setting a shorter charging period for each vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to modify the charging schedule for cooperative vehicles of Maeda with the total charging maximum of Shirasu in order to prevent a blackout in the facility (Shirasu [0018]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0264882 A1, to Maeda et al., hereafter Maeda (previously of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2022/0144121 A1, to Grunkemeyer et al., hereafter Grunkemeyer (previously of record).
Regarding Claim 8, as shown above, Maeda discloses The charging system according to Claim 7,
However, Maeda does not specifically disclose wherein, in a case where the setting section revises the charging plan, the setting section sets the charging plan such that no charging is performed for a certain period of time for the at least one of the plurality of vehicles whose charging has been interrupted.
Grunkemeyer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, in a case where the setting section revises the charging plan, the setting section sets the charging plan such that no charging is performed for a certain period of time for the at least one of the plurality of vehicles whose charging has been interrupted (Grunkemeyer [0046], Examiner Note: Grunkemeyer teaches when the electric vehicle stops charging, the electric vehicle will begin charging again at another time (i.e. a certain period of time) which can be overnight (i.e. when the work is not occurring)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to modify the charging schedule for cooperative vehicles of Maeda with the charging reschedule of Grunkemeyer in order to minimize the electrical load and peak capacity impacts (Grunkemeyer [0003]).
Regarding Claim 9, as shown above, Maeda in view of Grunkemeyer teaches The charging system according to Claim 8, wherein the certain period of time is a scheduled work time set for the at least one of the plurality of vehicles whose charging has been interrupted (Grunkemeyer [0046], Examiner Note: Grunkemeyer teaches when the electric vehicle stops charging, the electric vehicle will begin charging again at another time (i.e. a certain period of time) which can be overnight (i.e. when the work is not occurring)).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0264882 A1, to Maeda et al., hereafter Maeda (previously of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2023/0118740 A1, to Iguchi et al., hereafter Iguchi (newly of record).
Regarding Claim 10, Maeda discloses A management terminal connectable to the charging system according to Claim 1,
However, Maeda does not specifically disclose the management terminal comprising: a function section that presents the scheduled departure time, the target level of charge, or a time for preparation work of each of the plurality of vehicles to the charging system or a function section that obtains, from the charging system, a charge amount of at least one of the plurality of vehicles or a scheduled connection time at which at least one of the plurality of vehicles is scheduled to be connected to the charging system, and a scheduled charging end time of at least one of the plurality of vehicles in the charging plan.
Iguchi teaches the management terminal comprising: a function section that presents the scheduled departure time, target SOC, or a time for preparation work for at least one of the plurality of vehicles to the charging system or a function section that obtains, from the charging system, a charge amount of at least one of the plurality of vehicles or a scheduled connection time at which at least one of the plurality of vehicles is scheduled to be connected to the charging system, and a scheduled charging end time of at least one of the plurality of vehicles in the charging plan (Iguchi [0045], Examiner Note: Iguchi discloses the display terminal displaying information regarding the delivery plan, charging result, and charging plan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to modify the charging schedule for cooperative vehicles of Maeda with the presentation of charging data on the display terminal of Iguchi in order to allow a terminal user to see and respond to any notification (Iguchi [0043]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0264882 A1, to Maeda et al., hereafter Maeda (previously of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2025/0033517 A1, to Hancock et al., hereafter Hancock (newly of record).
Regarding Claim 15, Maeda discloses The charging system according to claim 1,
However, Maeda does not specifically disclose wherein the target SOC of the battery of a vehicle that is equipped with a refrigeration system is set higher than the target SOC of the battery of a vehicle that is not equipped with the refrigeration system.
Hancock, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the target SOC of the battery of a vehicle that is equipped with a refrigeration system is set higher than the target SOC of the battery of a vehicle that is not equipped with the refrigeration system (Hancock [0139], Examiner Note: Hancock discloses considering freight management specific needs such as refrigeration when adding energy from a charging schedule).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success, to modify the charging schedule for cooperative vehicles of Maeda with the freight management specific needs of Hancock in order to optimize delivery management for shipping needs and energy needs (Hancock [0139])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T DOWLING/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669