DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 12 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 7 recite “being 4-6 inches wider than traditional non-electric vehicle frames.” As there is no single standard vehicle frame width, attempting to reference a vehicle frame width in regard to a “traditional” frame width renders the claims indefinite. The metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be established with an unknown and unknowable variable base measurement. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "said second s-bend" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said second s-bend" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (CN110949514), cited by Applicant. In regard to claims 1 and 7, Kaneko discloses a unitary electric vehicle chassis comprising at least one s-bend aft of a front axle (Figs. 1 and 2, item 4B), frame rails (Figs. 1 and 2, item 3) configured to accommodate battery packs mounted on isolators inside the frame rails (Figs. 1 and 2, item 140), said s-bend allowing for front wheel steering angles greater than if rails were straight (Fig. 1).
In regard to claims 2 and 8, Kaneko discloses a second s-bend directing the frame outward to accommodate additional components and to increase the strength of the overall frame (Figs. 1 and 2 , item 71).
In regard to claims 3 and 9, Kaneko discloses wherein a second s-bend is positioned aft of said first s-bend (Figs. 1 and 2).
In regard to claims 4 and 10, Kaneko discloses wherein the increased width of the frame facilitates the accommodation of battery packs required for operation of the electric vehicle (Fig. 1).
In regard to claims 5 and 11, Kaneko discloses wherein the frame further comprises mounting provisions for rear springs underneath the frame rails for extra support and improved packaging efficiency (Fig. 1, item 33).
In regard to claims 6 and 12, Kaneko discloses wherein a cross member is provided for front spring mounting to the frame (Fig. 1, item 31).
Kaneko does not disclose specific frame width dimensions. In regard to claims 1 and 7, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an overall width of the frame, at its widest, being 4-6 inches wider than traditional non-electric vehicle frames, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Katayama et al. (9,227,582) disclose a vehicle mounting structure for batteries;
Gonzlez Mendivil et al. (11,541,935) disclose a vehicle frame;
Caliskan et al. (11,745,573) disclose an integrated frame and battery pack.
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613