DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 10/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks filed on 10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the Examiner acknowledges Merzhaeuser does not explicitly teach wherein the spar member of the second part of the spar structure is at least partly received in a conductive jacket. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hibbard (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2007/0074892) teaching a conductive jacket enclosing a spar member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merzhaeuser (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0072189) in view of Hibbard (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2007/0074892).
As per claim 1, Merzhaeuser discloses a spar structure (60, 40; figure 5) for a wind turbine blade, the spar structure comprising a first part (60; figure 4) and a second part (40; figure 3), the first and second part being releasably coupled to each other (as shown; figure 2), wherein the second part of the spar structure comprises a spar member (beam structure 40), wherein the first part (60; figure 4) of the spar structure comprises a sheath (as shown; figure 5) for at least partly enclosing the second part of the spar structure (receiving section 60 for receiving beams structure 40 of the first blade segment 30; paragraph [0038]), the sheath being a conductive sheath for a lightning protection system of the wind turbine blade (spar caps 68, 70 and webs 72 forming the sheath are made of carbon fiber which is conductive material; paragraphs [0040], [0042]), and wherein the sheath is box-shaped (as shown; figure 5).
Merzhaeuser does not explicitly teach wherein the spar member of the second part of the spar structure is at least partly received in a conductive jacket.
Hibbard (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2007/0074892) is a related prior art in that it deals with potential equalizing, i.e., lightning protection, of a wind turbine blade. Hibbard teaches wherein a spar member is received in a conductive jacket (spar 44 enclosed by metal ribbon 20, contact enhancing layer 22 and cover layer 24 made of conductive material; figure 8; paragraph [0057]). Hibbard also teaches that the conductivity of carbon fibres transverse to the length direction of the fibre is relatively bad (paragraphs [0004]-[0005]) and the conducting metal ribbon 20, contact enhancing layer 22 and cover layer 24 are made of material of high conductivity and relatively inert towards chemical attack from other materials and provides contact enhancement (paragraphs [0056], [0057]). Therefore, in order to provide better potential equalization, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Merzhaeuser’s spar member to incorporate Hibbard’s metal ribbon, contact enhancing layer and cover layer (conductive jacket) because as Hibbard teaches, providing a means of potential equalizing prevents the risk of flashover (paragraph [0003]), good electrical contact needs to be established between the members to be eqaulised (paragraph [0005]), the metal ribbon, contact enhancing layer and cover layer are made of material of high conductivity and relatively inert towards chemical attack from other materials and provides contact enhancement (paragraphs [0056], [0057]) and they are oriented orthogonal to the carbon fibers of the spar which would improve potential equalizing within the spar substantially (paragraph [0069]).
As per claim 3, Merzhaeuser, in view of Hibbbard, discloses the spar structure according to claim 1, wherein the spar structure comprises at least one locking pin for releasably coupling the first part to the second part of the spar structure through aligned respective locking apertures in each of the first and second part of the spar structure (via pinned connection at joint slots 50 and 52; figure 3; paragraph [0037]).
As per claim 4, Merzhaeuser, in view of Hibbbard, discloses the spar structure according to claim 1, wherein the spar member comprises a spar beam (beam structure 40; paragraph [0036]).
As per claim 5, Merzhaeuser, in view of Hibbbard, discloses the spar structure according to claim 1, wherein the spar member comprises a spar box (beam structure is formed as a box-type structure; paragraph [0036]).
As per claim 6, Merzhaeuser, in view of Hibbbard, discloses the spar structure according to claim 5, wherein the spar box comprises at least one spar beam and at least one spar flange (spar caps 46, 48; figure 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745