DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to communication submitted on 03/05/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, and extra post solution without integrating it into a practical application Claims 1-20 are ineligible. The claim(s) recite(s) “computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the elevator safety control unit to perform: obtain, upon a restoration of a power supply of the elevator system , status information indicative of a current safety status of at least one safety space of the elevator system from an elevator safety detection system; receive, from a remote elevator service entity, a reset command comprising an instruction to reset the safety mode of the elevator system; and reset the safety mode of the elevator system in response to receiving the reset command, if the obtained status information fulfills a predefined criterion.”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because these are merely data gathering with an extra post solution without integrating it into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea (organizing human activity and mental processes) without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1 and 12 the claim(s) recite(s) “a method and/or a processor, to cause the elevator safety control unit to perform these steps and wherein the processing unit and/or the method steps are configured to cause the elevator safety control unit to perform: obtain, upon a restoration of a power supply of the elevator system , status information indicative of a current safety status of at least one safety space of the elevator system from an elevator safety detection system; receive, from a remote elevator service entity, a reset command comprising an instruction to reset the safety mode of the elevator system; and reset the safety mode of the elevator system in response to receiving the reset command, if the obtained status information fulfills a predefined criterion”. The obtained and received data information as to obtain status information indicative of a current safety status receive, from a remote elevator service entity, a reset command reset the safety mode of the elevator system in response to receiving the reset command, if the obtained status information fulfills a predefined criterion could be performed by mental processes and is merely organizing human activity. However, these limitations constitute mental processes, which are recognized judicial exceptions. See Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014); MPEP 2106.04.
The claim further recites additional elements, such as “a processing unit” and “safety control unit” … “obtain status information” … and “receiving the reset command”, however, these additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because: The “a processing unit” is recited at a high level of generality and serves as a generic computing device for implementing the abstract idea. The “processor” is a well-known device for collecting image data, therefore, it is no more than using well-known generic hardware as a tool to collect data. The courts have held that utilizing well-known and conventional tool to perform abstract tasks do not supply “significantly more”. The grouping of "mathematical concepts" in the 2019 PEG is not limited to formulas or equations, and in fact specifically includes "mathematical calculations" as an exemplar of a mathematical concept. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. Thus, limitation recites a concept that falls into the "mathematical concept"
Accordingly, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F. 3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (improvement to computer architecture); Diehr, 450 U.S. 175 (1981) (transformation); MPEP 2106.05.
Therefore, claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
For purposes of office action, these limitations will be interpreted as a sensor or radar taking measurements or data to further remove or filter unwanted signals, interference or ambiguous reading from the measurement data from the sensor or radar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite as presented “a reset command comprising an instruction to reset the safety mode of the elevator system ; and resetting the safety mode of the elevator system in response to receiving the reset command, if the obtained status information fulfills a predefined criterion.”, However, said reset command appear to be (only) provided upon receiving a reset request, which requests is (only) provided if the obtained status information fulfills the predefined criterion which is unclear and vague of what are the actions taken when no criterion is met and where said features further make un unclear further claims such claim 4 wherein the reset request itself is subject to said predefined criterion.
The claims also relate to a method for resetting a safety mode, wherein the safety mode is caused by a power cycle of the elevator system. It is not clear why it is relevant that the safety mode is caused by a power cycle of the elevator system. It is also possible that the safety mode was already "active" at the moment of the power interruption, for example when a maintenance personnel is present in the shaft at the moment of the power interruption. Whether or not the safety mode is caused by a power cycle of the elevator system does also not appear to be relevant in view of the actual method steps defined in claim 1. This appears to be confirmed by claim 8. According to claim 8, which is dependent on claim 1, the safety mode constitutes a person-in-shaft or safety space arrangement safety mode. Claim 8 therefore suggests that the safety mode is not caused by a power cycle of the elevator system, as stated in claim 1, but caused by a person entering the shaft. This in unclear and vague.
For purposes of office action, these limitations will be interpreted as any lack of service and or failure within the elevator system by means of a system status including data information from elevator peripherals to further judge when to reset the elevator system, power or disconnection of a system safety feature.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 109879132 A) and/or as alternative being anticipated by Lence-Barreiro (US 20090218178 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 12, Li shows (Figs. 1-9) and discloses a method and system for resetting a safety mode (i.e. fault processing mode) of an elevator system (see abstract), wherein the safety mode is caused by a power cycle of the elevator system (implicit as a power reset to recover the failed recording using an algorithm, may be a specific percentage or low - - high index, for example, correlation by analyzing the failure data with the historical database of failure data is obtained, see Description), the method comprising:
a processing unit (elevator fault remote processing system 1) comprising at least one processor (implicit); and
a memory unit (implicit) comprising at least one memory including computer program code (i.e. diagnostic program generates a diagnostic report of the server itself, the remote monitoring client is intelligent terminal with a visual interface … a control main board is usually direct current main power supply is converted and output. the control main board is the core of the whole elevator control cabinet realizes the centralized control of the elevator operating program, gathers all device input signal of the elevator control cabinet, and executing the corresponding output control, see Description); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the elevator safety control unit (see Description, i.e. a data storage remote monitoring server can monitor the elevator operating data received through the fault sensing and diagnostic program and analysis, and may be received according to the management requirements in the database… correlation by analyzing the failure data with the historical database of failure data is obtained) to perform:
obtaining, upon a restoration of a power supply of the elevator system, status information indicative of a current safety status of at least one safety space of the elevator system from an elevator safety detection system (i.e. the control main board restarting device 54 driving the second restart circuit 53 the main power supply 11, the main power supply state comprises a power state and power-off state, when the main power supply state into the power supply state by the off status jumping, the second restart circuit 53 delaying turning on the main power supply 11 to the line of said control main board 12 supply power, see Description);
receiving from a remote elevator service entity a reset command comprising an instruction to reset the safety mode of the elevator system (elevator remote fault processing system , i.e. control main board restarting device connected in communication with the remote control device, the power reset device further comprises a second reset circuit, the main power supply is connected with the control main board electrically through the second restart circuit the control main board restarting device circuit is electrically connected with the second restart; when said control main board restarting device receiving the power supply reset command through the remote control device, see Description and claims); and
resetting the safety mode of the elevator system in response to receiving the reset command, if the obtained status information fulfills (i.e. elevator controlling each device in the cabinet can obtain normal working power supply, are matched to control the operation of the elevator. For the power reset device 5, whenever receiving the remote reset command sent by the remote monitoring client, then it can carry out the corresponding power source resetting action, firstly cutting off the main power supply to the elevator control circuit of the cabinet power supply; then delaying recovery main power supply to the elevator control device in the cabinet, which can realize the power reset operation of the elevator control cabinet, the control cabinet is electrified again, each processing device re-works according to the preset processing step, therefore, for the internal structure of the power reset device; The invention is not limited, is to be understood to those skilled in the art based on design of the structure of a power reset device, see Description) a predefined criterion (i.e. a data storage remote monitoring server can monitor the elevator operating data received through the fault sensing and diagnostic program and analysis, and may be received according to the management requirements in the database, see Description).
In regards to claim 1, Lence-Barreiro further shows (Figs. 1-4) and discloses a method for resetting a safety mode (par. 6) of an elevator system (49), wherein the safety mode is caused by a power cycle of the elevator system (implicit as a power source 62 and faulty power source, pars. 4 and 6), the method comprising:
obtaining, upon a restoration of a power supply of the elevator system, status information indicative of a current safety status of at least one safety space of the elevator system from an elevator safety detection system (i.e. whenever the monitor 50 senses a malfunction for which a re-boot may be useful in either providing a cure or causing additional information relative to the status and conditions of the elevator to assist in determining the cure., par. 40);
receiving from a remote elevator service entity (i.e. remote elevator monitoring equipment 50) a reset command comprising an instruction to reset the safety mode of the elevator system (pars. 31-40); and
resetting the safety mode of the elevator system in response to receiving the reset command, if the obtained status information fulfills (i.e. If the power source 62 is not a problem, then a test 106 determines whether there is a software problem. If so, the expert will communicate a power on reset to the main controller 56 through the remote elevator monitor 50. The apparatus will typically be set up so that the power will remain off for some significant fraction of a minute or other suitable interval, and then the relay will be operated so as to restore power to the controller, thereby achieving a conventional POR of the computer. This will cause at least some change in what is being reported by the remote elevator monitor 50, par. 31).
In regards to claim 2, Lence-Barreiro further discloses wherein the resetting the safety mode of the elevator system comprises turning the elevator system from the safety mode into a limited operational mode, in which at least a limited operation of the elevator system is allowed (pars. 31-32) .
In regards to claim 3, Lence-Barreiro further discloses wherein in the limited operational mode a movement of an elevator car of the elevator system (49) to a top floor, a bottom floor , and/or at least one other floor is prevented (implicit) (see pars. 7, 13 and 34, i.e. There are certain elevator modes (such as V.I.P. service) or parameters (such as timer periods) which may be altered. If the car has tripped the upper or lower travel limit switch, the car can be determined safe (e.g., empty or door closed) and then moved to a floor, doors opened and an announcement made; then the corresponding highest or lowest floor disabled from service. Maintenance, such as brake service may be ordered. Or, if the car operates the limit switch properly, no further action need be taken).
In regards to claims 4 and 16-17, Li discloses comprising: providing to the remote elevator service entity a reset request in response to determining that the obtained status information fulfills the predefined criterion, and receiving from the remote elevator service entity the reset command, in response to providing the reset request to the remote elevator service entity (obtaining remote spot inspection data, remote power resetting execution data, and stored in the database according to the monitoring requirement selectively, it can realize systematic management of the fault processing history. by detecting the fault state, may further generate fault detection report and statistics report for further updating and storing the data information can be reset by power mode to release in the database, and for the reset data of the fault collection is increased, which is good for subsequent improvement of diagnosis precision of the reset fault algorithm in the database. the remote monitoring client, can log the remote fault processing process the database which stores the information that, based on statistical data, alarm list listing the fault state, and aiming to remotely power restart command. in the process of resetting the power remote, remote monitoring client can instantly receiving power restart process and information, real-time confirmation process and result for management personnel. feeding back the power supply reset operation is completed, the remote monitoring client also can obtain the fault processing result, and can timely successful releasing of the fault information is not pushed to the maintainer, see Description).
In regards to claim 5 , Li discloses wherein the reset request comprises or is complemented with the status information obtained from the elevator safety detection system (see Description, i.e. opening at least one of security verification, the security verification comprises car passenger status warning confirmation items and/or warning items to perform remote resetting and/or remote monitoring client identity verification… the control main board restarting device 54 driving the second restart circuit 53 the main power supply 11, the main power supply state comprises a power state and power-off state, when the main power supply state into the power supply state by the off status jumping, the second restart circuit 53 delaying turning on the main power supply 11 to the line of said control main board 12 supply power.).
In regards to claims 6 and 18-20, Li discloses 1, wherein the elevator safety detection system comprises at least one imaging sensor device, at least sensor device, and/or a plurality of safety contacts (see Description, i.e. When the remote monitoring server diagnoses the control cabinet of elevator running data that there is an abnormality in the diagnosis report in addition to providing fault data, fault types, in the remote monitoring server can firstly detecting probability of fault data whether is fault can be reset, and given by a power reset to recover the failed recording using an algorithm, may be a specific percentage or low - - high index, for example, correlation by analyzing the failure data with the historical database of failure data is obtained. Further, also can be the target car monitoring data analysis result to the taken… the car monitoring device connected in communication with the remote control device, the remote control device can be the car monitoring device obtains the car monitoring data, monitoring data of the car comprises a car passenger image and/or audio data).
In regards to claim 7, Li discloses, wherein the reset command is a manual reset command issued manually in the remote elevator service entity (i.e. Therefore, only notification technology field personnel to go to the control cabinet fault mark to manual operation, by closing and restarting control cabinet power supply to perform fault processing, therefore, it is necessary to spend a lot of time, the fault processing process completely depends on manual finishing… in this process, also can report to the remote monitoring client terminal by a diagnostic program generates a diagnostic report of the server itself, the remote monitoring client is intelligent terminal with a visual interface, further can manually input specific data or instruction by the manager or technical staff., see Description).
In regards to claim 8, Li discloses wherein the safety mode of the elevator system comprises a person-in-shaft safety mode or a safety space arrangement safety mode (implicit as S331 remote monitoring server diagnostic car passenger state according to the received car monitoring data… Further, also can be the target car monitoring data analysis result to the taken -, for example, by the car shot by the real-time image judging passenger number, contained in the diagnosis report content, content makes the diagnosis report can contain much information of the policy, to the client the operator a readability of the reference, can improve reliability and safety speed and remote reset command decision implementation., see Description).
In regards to claim 9, Li discloses wherein the predefined criterion comprises that the at least one safety space of the elevator system is empty (implicit as -, for example, by the car shot by the real-time image judging passenger number, contained in the diagnosis report content, content makes the diagnosis report can contain much information of the policy, to the client the operator a readability of the reference … the security verification comprises car passenger status warning confirmation items and/or warning items to perform remote resetting and/or remote monitoring client identity verification).
In regards to claim 10, Li discloses, wherein the power cycle comprises a sequence of power events, wherein the sequence of the power events comprises at least a power outage of the elevator system and the restoration of the power supply of the elevator system after the power outage (i.e. the main power supply state comprises state and power-off state, and when the main power supply state into the power supply state by the off status jumping, the second delayed restart circuit turns on the main power supply circuit of said control main board power suppl, see Description).
Lence-Barreiro also discloses claim 10, see pars. 5-8.
In regards to claim 11, Li discloses, comprising setting elevator system into the safety mode in response to detecting the power cycle of the elevator system (hen the remote monitoring client terminal performing remote reset command, a power reset device capable of automatically performing the elevator control reset of the cabinet power supply. elevator remote fault processing system and method provided by this invention can based on the remote monitoring of elevator fault, the fault type can be reset to release by the elevator control cabinet for remote processing, which solves the problem that the traditional elevator fault remote monitoring system after diagnosing the fault, control cabinet field in need technical personnel to manually execute the inconvenient problem caused by the elevator control cabinet power supply reset. by performing remote reset operation on the elevator control cabinet, it can greatly reduce the time of the fault processing and improves the efficiency of the elevator fault processing, remote processing system of elevator fault further, provided by the invention can fully consider security verification, reduces the remote fault processing accident safety possible. developing an elevator fault remote processing system and control method provides, besides, this invention also can be further systemic history management and remote spot inspection of elevator fault, greatly reducing the fault processing time and labour investment, effectively improves the efficiency of the elevator safety management, which is convenient for management work of the elevator fault, see Description)
In regards to claim 13, Li shows (Figs. 1-9) and discloses a remote reset system for resetting a safety mode of an elevator system (elevator fault remote processing system 1), wherein the safety mode is caused by a power cycle of the elevator system (power-off state, and when the main power supply state into the power supply state by the off status jumping, the second delayed restart circuit turns on the main power supply circuit of said control main board power supply, see Description), the system comprising: an elevator safety detection system (in the remote monitoring server can firstly detecting probability of fault data whether is fault can be reset, and given by a power reset to recover the failed recording using an algorithm), a remote elevator service entity (remote monitoring server) and an elevator safety control unit according to claim 12.
In regards to claims 14-15, Li shows (Figs. 1-9) and discloses computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method according to any of claim 1 and a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method according to any of claims 1 (i.e. diagnostic program generates a diagnostic report of the server itself, the remote monitoring client is intelligent terminal with a visual interface … a control main board is usually direct current main power supply is converted and output. the control main board is the core of the whole elevator control cabinet realizes the centralized control of the elevator operating program, gathers all device input signal of the elevator control cabinet, and executing the corresponding output control, see Description).
Related Prior Arts
9. The following related prior arts made of record are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art and may be applied alone or in combination for rejection of the claims.
WOS et al. (US 20190330015 A1) discloses when a presence is detected in the safety zone the operability of the elevator 204 is not completely disabled where all power is removed from the elevator 204 when the normal mode is switched to the safety mode, as in elevator systems that use safety chains. Also, unlike breaking a safety chain, the elevator car 204 does not have to be manually reset by maintenance personnel to allow power to the elevator car 204 to resume operation. In other embodiments, the elevator car 204 can be configured to be manually reset to restore power to the particular elevator car 204 to resume normal operation.
CENTODUCATI (EP 1422182 A1) discloses a safety feature (mechanism for activating the parachute in an elevator with reduced pit), when the distance between the bottom of the elevator car and the bottom of the pit decreases under a minimum safety value, wherein the operation of releasing and/or retracting said mechanism is made by a remote manual operation, performable from outside the elevator shaft. The mechanism according to the preceding claim, wherein said manual operation acts on electric contacts which control an electromechanical device for releasing and/or retracting said mechanism. The mechanism according to the preceding claim, wherein the electric contact operation for releasing said mechanism is caused by the manual unblocking, from outside the elevator shaft, of the floor door lock. The mechanism according to the preceding claims, wherein the released and the retracted positions are electrically controlled.
Conclusion
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/Primary Examiner Engineer, Art Unit 2837