DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sheets joined together by glue dots by at least some of the tops of the ridges must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Also, the first sheet of paper features alternating ridges and depressions on one of its sides corresponding to respective depressions and ridges on its other side, the tops of the ridges being located in the same plane or substantially in the same plane must be shown. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second sheet." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vormwald et al. (2022/0324631).
Regarding claim 1, Vormwald discloses a shipping packaging of pouch or envelope type (Fig. 8A), comprising a front wall and a rear wall, assembled so as to define at least one inner compartment, the package comprising an opening that engages with at least one inner compartment so that at least one object can be inserted, a flap (14) with an open position in which the inner compartment is accessible through its opening, and a closed position in which the flap at least partially covers this opening, characterized in that at least one of the front and rear walls comprises at least two sheets (4, 22), a first of the sheets (22) of paper being embossed ([0027]) to form a cushioning element, the first sheet of paper has ridges on at least one of its sides corresponding to depressions on its other side, the second sheet (4) or at least a second smooth or substantially smooth sheet, with at least the portions of these two sheets placed facing the inner compartment, and are capable of being joined together solely by at least some of the tops of the ridges on one side of the first sheet being attached to the second smooth or substantially smooth sheet ([0016], [0031]). See Figs. 1-8A.
Regarding claim 3, the first sheet of paper features alternating ridges and depressions on one of its sides corresponding to respective depressions and ridges on its other side, the tops of the ridges being located in the same plane or substantially in the same plane. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 5, at least forty percent, and preferably at least sixty percent, and even more preferably at least seventy-five percent of the tops of the ridges of the first sheet of paper are joined with the second smooth or almost smooth sheet. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 6, the ridges feature a shape chosen from the group comprising domes, cones, truncated cones and combinations of these. See Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vormwald et al. (2022/0324631) in view of Deis (DE 2018110816).
Regarding claim 1, Vormwald discloses a shipping packaging of pouch or envelope type (Fig. 8A), comprising a front wall and a rear wall, assembled so as to define at least one inner compartment, the package comprising an opening that engages with at least one inner compartment so that at least one object can be inserted, a flap (34) with an open position in which the inner compartment is accessible through its opening, and a closed position in which the flap at least partially covers this opening, characterized in that at least one of the front and rear walls comprises at least two sheets (14, 18, 26), a first of the sheets (18, 26) of paper being embossed ([0027]) to form a cushioning element, the first sheet of paper has ridges on at least one of its sides corresponding to depressions on its other side, the second sheet (14) or at least a second smooth or substantially smooth sheet, with at least the portions of these two sheets placed facing the inner compartment See Figs. 1-8A. In the case that Vormwald does not disclose the joining as claimed; Dies, which is drawn to a shipping package, discloses sheets being joined together solely by at least some of the tops of the ridges on one side of the first sheet being attached to the second smooth or substantially smooth sheet ([0012]). See Fig. 5. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to join the sheets of Vormwald as disclosed by Dies in order to create various levels of rigidity.
Regarding claim 2, as modified above, at least a portion of these two sheets placed facing at least one inner compartment are joined together solely by glue dots connecting at least some of the tops of the ridges of one side of the first sheet to the second smooth or substantially smooth sheet.
Regarding claims 3, 5 and 6, Vormwald sufficiently discloses the claimed invention. See Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 4, Vormwald discloses the claimed invention except for height and thickness as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the claimed height and thickness since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, each of the front and rear walls comprises at least two sheets, a first of the sheets being embossed to form a cushioning element, the first sheet of paper comprising ridges on at least one of its sides corresponding to depressions on the other of its sides, the second sheet or at least a second of the sheets being smooth or substantially smooth, at least the portions of the two sheets being placed facing the at least one compartment, being joined (as modified above) together only by points of glue connecting the tops of the ridges of one side of the first sheet to the second smooth or substantially smooth sheet.
Regarding claim 8, Vormwald does not disclose a third sheet. Dies discloses front and rear walls each comprising three sheets, the said first sheet is embossed and is held between a smooth or substantially smooth sheet called the outer surface of the packaging and another smooth or substantially smooth sheet called the inner surface of the packaging, the portion of the first embossed sheet being placed facing at least one inner compartment which is joined solely to the smooth or substantially smooth sheet forming the outer surface of the packaging. See Figs. 5-6. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have three sheets as disclosed by Dies in order to better protect items therein.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vormwald and Deis as applied above in further view of Dworkin (US 3,860,164).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Vormwald does not discloses gussets or flap as claimed. Dworkin, which is drawn to a packaging, discloses the packaging comprising a first edge containing the opening and a second opposite edge defining the bottom of the packaging, the second edge comprising a bottom gusset (15) and the edges of the packaging connecting the first and second edges each comprising a so-called side gusset (18), the gussets being configured to give the packaging a box shape when deployed, or activated, a flap (28) being shaped to ensure this box closes in its closed position; the flap having a V-shaped cut (between 24 and 26) and crease so that a portion of the flap can be placed between the lateral gussets by folding to close the packaging, the portion then forming a lateral side of the box. See Figs. 1-3. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use gussets and flap as disclosed by Dworkin on the packaging of Vormwald in order to allow for expansion of various sized items.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734